DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement filed 4/3/2024 has been considered and is included in the file.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, lines 7, 9, and 11, “arranged covering” should be changed to --arranged to cover--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2011/0089719) in view of Parlow et al. (US 2016/0185300).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki et al. discloses a pillar garnish assembly for a vehicle (Fig. 1), the pillar garnish assembly comprising: a pillar garnish (2) adapted to be provided on a front surface of a pillar (13) of the vehicle (Fig. 1); and a corner garnish (8) coupled to the pillar garnish (Fig. 1), wherein the corner garnish is adapted to cover a pillar corner disposed adjacent to the pillar of the vehicle (Fig. 1).
Yamazaki et al. does not explicitly disclose the corner garnish pivotally coupled to the pillar garnish and adapted to pivot relative to the pillar garnish about a pivot axis.
Parlow et al., like Yamazaki et al., teaches a pillar garnish assembly and further teaches a corner garnish pivotally coupled to the pillar garnish and adapted to pivot relative to the pillar garnish about a pivot axis (paragraphs [0020]-[0022], Figs. 5a-5b show living hinges (34) providing a pivot axis for the corner garnish).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pillar garnish assembly of Yamazaki et al. to provide a pivotally coupled connection as taught by Parlow et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of allowing movement of the corner garnish.
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the pillar garnish assembly of claim 1, and teaches (references to Parlow et al.) the assembly further includes a hinge (34) arranged between the pillar garnish and the corner garnish and to pivotally couple the corner garnish to the pillar garnish.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the pillar garnish assembly of claim 2, and teaches (references to Parlow et al.) wherein the hinge is a living hinge (34).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the pillar garnish assembly of claim 1, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) the assembly further comprises a seal (3) arranged at an interface of the pillar garnish (2) and the corner garnish (8) to prevent a contact of an outer surface of the corner garnish with the pillar garnish during pivoting of the corner garnish relative to the pillar garnish (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the pillar garnish assembly of claim 1, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) the assembly further comprises a first engagement structure (14) secured to the pillar garnish to enable coupling of the pillar garnish with the pillar, and a second engagement structure secured to the corner garnish to couple to couple the corner garnish with the pillar corner (paragraph [0032], Yamazaki et al. notes the corner garnish is fixed, but does not express specifically how it is fixed).
Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. does not explicitly teach there are a plurality of each engagement structure. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the amount of engagement structure to further strengthen the hold between the two components. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F. 2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Adding additional engagement structures does as expected, produce additional hold between the two components.
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the pillar garnish assembly of claim 5, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) wherein the pillar garnish includes an outer garnish section (portion further away from (14)) and an inner garnish section (portion closer to (14) on the opposite side of (2a)) arranged beneath the outer garnish section, wherein the first engagement structures are secured to the inner garnish section (Figs. 4, 9, 10 show this configuration).
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the pillar garnish assembly of claim 5, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) wherein the plurality of first engagement structures includes a plurality of first clips (14). Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of second engagement structures includes a plurality of second clips. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second engagement structures to be second clips. Using a known technique of clips as engagement structures would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, since they would have recognized that applying the known technique of Yamazaki et al. would yield predictable results for engaging components.
Regarding claim 8, Yamazaki et al. discloses a vehicle (Fig. 1, (1)), comprising: a pair of pillars (13); a windshield (7) arranged between the pair of pillars (Fig. 1); at least one pillar corner (outer panel) arranged adjacent to an associated pillar of the pair of pillars and extending in a longitudinal direction from the associated pillar (Fig. 1), wherein the pillar corner (outer panel) is disposed between the associated pillar (13), a door (11), and a fender (6) of the vehicle (Fig. 1); and a pillar garnish assembly arranged covering the associated pillar and the at least one pillar corner (Fig. 1), the pillar garnish assembly comprises a pillar garnish (2) arranged covering a front surface of the associated pillar (13) of the vehicle (Fig. 1); and a corner garnish (8) arranged covering the at least one pillar corner (Fig. 1).
Yamazaki et al. does not explicitly disclose the corner garnish pivotally coupled to the pillar garnish, wherein the corner garnish is adapted to pivot relative to the pillar garnish about a pivot axis extending parallel to an edge of the associated pillar.
Parlow et al., like Yamazaki et al., teaches a vehicle with a pillar garnish assembly and further teaches a corner garnish pivotally coupled to the pillar garnish, wherein the corner garnish is adapted to pivot relative to the pillar garnish about a pivot axis extending parallel to an edge of the associated pillar (paragraphs [0020]-[0022], Figs. 5a-5b show living hinges (34) providing a pivot axis for the corner garnish).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle of Yamazaki et al. to provide a pivotally coupled connection as taught by Parlow et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of allowing movement of the corner garnish.
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 8, and teaches (references to Parlow et al.) the vehicle further includes a hinge (34) arranged between the pillar garnish and the corner garnish and to pivotally couple the corner garnish to the pillar garnish.
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 9, and teaches (references to Parlow et al.) wherein the hinge is a living hinge (34).
Regarding claim 11, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 8, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) the vehicle further comprises a seal (3) arranged at an interface of the pillar garnish (2) and the corner garnish (8) to prevent a contact of an outer surface of the corner garnish with the pillar garnish during pivoting of the corner garnish relative to the pillar garnish (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 8, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) the vehicle further comprises a first engagement structure (14) secured to the pillar garnish to enable coupling of the pillar garnish with the associated pillar, and a second engagement structure secured to the corner garnish to couple to couple the corner garnish with the at least one pillar corner (paragraph [0032], Yamazaki et al. notes the corner garnish is fixed, but does not express specifically how it is fixed).
Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. does not explicitly teach there are a plurality of each engagement structure. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the amount of engagement structure to further strengthen the hold between the two components. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F. 2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Adding additional engagement structures does as expected, produce additional hold between the two components.
Regarding claim 13, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 12, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) wherein the pillar garnish includes an outer garnish section (portion further away from (14)) and an inner garnish section (portion closer to (14) on the opposite side of (2a)) arranged beneath the outer garnish section, wherein the first engagement structures are secured to the inner garnish section (Figs. 4, 9, 10 show this configuration).
Regarding claim 14, Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 12, and teaches (references Yamazaki et al.) wherein the plurality of first engagement structures includes a plurality of first clips (14). Yamazaki et al. as modified by Parlow et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of second engagement structures includes a plurality of second clips. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second engagement structures to be second clips. Using a known technique of clips as engagement structures would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, since they would have recognized that applying the known technique of Yamazaki et al. would yield predictable results for engaging components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the method steps have not been found in the prior art.
References Yamazaki et al. (US 2011/0089719) and Parlow et al. (US 2016/0185300) teach a corner garnish and pillar garnish, however, they do not teach the method steps of installing the assembly to a vehicle body as recited in claim 15.
This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP § 1302.14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Hein (US 2016/0288736) teaches a corner garnish connected to a pillar garnish. Reed (US 2007/0278809) teaches a living hinge for a panel portion of a vehicle. Sasaki (US 2014/0306480) teaches a corner garnish below and closer to the windshield of the vehicle under the pillar garnish. Rogge et al. (US 2016/0325696) teaches a corner garnish connected to a pillar garnish. Takahashi (US 11254363) teaches a corner garnish connection to a pillar garnish. Zeng et al. (CN 116639058) teaches a corner garnish below a pillar garnish. Kim et al. (KR 20180120003) teaches a door garnish assembly with a living hinge. Tahara (JP 2020147067) teaches a front pillar vehicle structure. Hasegawa (JP 2004255915) teaches a corner garnish connected to a pillar garnish.
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643