DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 18-20 with an earliest effective filing date of 4/6/23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0292056 published on 9/15/22) in view of Moore et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,769,794 patented on 8/3/10).
With respect to claim 1, the Hu reference teaches an information processing method, comprising:
in response to a first operation event on the nodes in the directory tree on the user interface, selecting a target node on the user interface (a target file is selected S302 [Figure 3 and paragraph 57]);
in response to a second operation event on the target node, performing a bulk operation corresponding to the second operation event on a target document corresponding to the target node (the file names for all of the files in a file set are changed in response to the selected file’s name being changed [paragraph 57 and Figure 3]);
wherein the target document comprises at least two documents (the additional files whose names are changed are all the files in the file set which are at least two files [paragraph 57 and Figure 3]), and the target node comprises at least two nodes corresponding to the at least two documents (each of the files appears in the displayed directory structure [Figure 3]).
The Hu reference does not explicitly recite displaying a directory tree corresponding to documents on a user interface of a document repository, wherein the user interface comprises a directory region and a document region, the directory tree is displayed in the directory region, the documents are displayed in the document region, and the directory tree comprises nodes displayed according to a hierarchical relationship of the documents, and each of the nodes corresponds to at least one document. The Moore reference teaches displaying a directory tree corresponding to documents on a user interface of a document repository, wherein the user interface comprises a directory region and a document region, the directory tree is displayed in the directory region, the documents are displayed in the document region, and the directory tree comprises nodes displayed according to a hierarchical relationship of the documents, and each of the nodes corresponds to at least one document (files are organized in a hierarchical directory with the directory structure being displayed in a directory region and the files associated with a selected directory displayed in a separate region [Figure 146 and col. 137 lines 14-48]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu with the display of Moore. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by providing them with more relevant information.
With respect to claim 2, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. In addition, the Hu reference teaches that wherein in response to a first operation event on the nodes in the directory tree, selecting a target node, comprises: in response to a triggered operation on a first control, entering a preset state; and in the preset state, selecting the target node in response to a selecting operation of the nodes in the directory tree (the user can select an option to rename files with the same name under the same level directory S402 [Figure 4 and paragraph 66] which opens a window to select the files to rename [Figure 5 and paragraphs 67-74]); or, in response to a first preset operation performed based on a first node in the directory tree, entering the preset state and selecting the target node based on the first node.
With respect to claim 3, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 2 as described above. Additionally, the Hu reference teaches satisfying at least one of the following: the first control being displayed on top of the directory region where the directory tree is located; the first preset operation performed based on the first node in the directory tree, comprising: triggering a preset button in a case where the first node is selected (the user selects a command from a command list to rename files with the same name that are under a same level directory [Figure 4 and paragraph 66]); selecting the target node based on the first node, comprising: selecting all nodes between the first node and a node corresponding to a document currently viewed; after entering the preset state, in a case where a page is refreshed, exiting the preset state; after entering the preset state, in a case where the first preset operation is performed based on the first node in the directory tree, selecting the target node based on the first node.
With respect to claim 5, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Additionally, the Hu reference teaches at least one of the following: in a case where a parent node is selected, all child nodes under the parent node being automatically selected; or, in a case where the parent node is deselected, the all child nodes under the parent node are automatically deselected; or, displaying a number of a manually selected node at a preset location (the user can manually select a number of files at the target directory level [paragraphs 74 & 75]); or, in a case where a number of a selected node reaches a preset node number, another node in the directory tree being not allowed to be selected; or, in a case where a selected node comprises a shortcut node and the shortcut node includes a child node, the child node under the shortcut node being not allowed to be selected; or, in a case where a preset button is triggered in a case where a first node is selected, all nodes between the first node and a node corresponding to a document currently viewed being selected.
With respect to claim 7, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. In addition, the Hu reference teaches that wherein in response to a second operation event on the target node, performing a bulk operation corresponding to the second operation event on a target document corresponding to the target node, comprises: displaying a list of an operation option in response to a triggering operation on a second control; in response to a selecting operation on a target operation option, performing a bulk operation corresponding to the target operation option on the target document (a user selects an option to rename files S402 [Figure 4 and paragraph 66] and several files are displayed for selecting to rename [Figure 5 and paragraphs 74 & 75]); or, in response to the target node being dragged to a second node in the directory tree, moving the target document to a location corresponding to the second node.
With respect to claim 9, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 7 as described above. In addition, the Hu reference teaches satisfying at least one of the following: in a case where no node is selected, the operation option being not allowed to be selected (the file must be selected before the operation options are displayed [paragraph 57]); the location corresponding to the second node to which the target document is moved being different from a location of the target document and a location of a subordinate of the target document before the target document being moved.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, the claims represent the information processing device, electronic apparatus, and computer-readable storage medium embodiment of claim 1 and recite no further significant limitations. Therefore, the limitations of claims 18 and 19 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 and are likewise rejected on the same basis.
With respect to claim 20, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. In addition, the Moore reference teaches that for the second operation event, an operation contained in the second operation event is automatically recorded to a recent operation list, the recent operation list being configured to allow viewing of a latest operation to facilitate rollback (the system enables the users to ‘undo’ operations [col. 27 line 61 to col. 28 line 3]).
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 10-14 with an earliest effective filing date of 4/6/23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0292056 published on 9/15/22) in view of Moore et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,769,794 patented on 8/3/10) and further in view of Passy (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0272184 published on 9/2/21).
With respect to claim 6, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. The Hu and Moore references do not explicitly recite that in response to a second operation event on the target node, performing a bulk operation corresponding to the second operation event on a target document corresponding to the target node, comprises: in response to the second operation event on the target node, performing the bulk operation on a document in the target document that the target node corresponds to for which a current user has a first preset permission. The Passy reference teaches that in response to a second operation event on the target node, performing a bulk operation corresponding to the second operation event on a target document corresponding to the target node, comprises: in response to the second operation event on the target node, performing the bulk operation on a document in the target document that the target node corresponds to for which a current user has a first preset permission (ownership of products can be transferred in bulk [paragraph 120] and products include documents [paragraph 79]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu and Moore with the transfer option of Passy. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by giving them greater control over their files.
With respect to claim 8, the Hu and Moore references teach all of the limitations of claim 7 as described above. Additionally, the Hu reference teaches that the operation option comprises:
a moving option, configured to identify a third node and move the target node to the third node, thereby moving the target document to a location corresponding to the third node (a command option includes ‘cut’ [Figure 4 and paragraph 66]);
a creating shortcut option, configured to identify a fourth node and create a shortcut node for the target node at the fourth node (a command option includes ‘copy a path’ and ‘copy a relative path’ [Figure 4 and paragraph 66]);
a creating copy option, configured to identify a fifth node and creating a node corresponding to a copy of the target document at the fifth node, thereby creating the copy of the target document at a location corresponding to the fifth node (a command option includes ‘copy’ [Figure 4 and paragraph 66]);
a deleting option, configured to delete the target node, thereby deleting the target document (a command option includes ‘delete’ [Figure 4 and paragraph 66]).
The Hu and Moore references do not explicitly recite a transferring ownership option, configured to transfer ownership of the target document to a specified user. The Passy reference teaches a transferring ownership option, configured to transfer ownership of the target document to a specified user (ownership of products can be transferred in bulk [paragraph 120] and products include documents [paragraph 79]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu with the transfer option of Passy. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by giving them greater control over their files.
With respect to claim 10, the Hu, Moore, and Passy references teach all of the limitations of claim 8 as described above. In addition, the Hu reference teaches that the target operation option is the moving option and the method satisfies at least one of the following: in a case where a document that a current user does not have moving permission is in the target document, the moving option being not allowed to be selected; in a case where the current user does not have second preset permission for the location corresponding to the third node, the target document being not allowed to be moved to the location corresponding to the third node; a node of another document repository that does not adopt the directory tree being not allowed to be identified as the third node; the location corresponding to the third node to which the target document is moved being different from a location of the target document and a location of a subordinate of the target document before the target document being moved (the files are in a level directory with a plurality of levels [paragraph 41] and the files can be moved from one location to another [paragraph 66]); in a process of moving the target document, another document in the document repository being in an immovable state; in a case where a document that the current user does not have third preset permission is in the target document, the document that the current user does not have the third preset permission being not allowed to be moved. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu with the transfer option of Passy. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by giving them greater control over their files.
With respect to claim 11, the Hu, Moore, and Passy references teach all of the limitations of claim 8 as described above. Additionally, the Hu reference teaches that
the target operation option is the deleting option and the method satisfies at least one of the following: in a case where a document that a current user does not have deleting permission is in the target document, the deleting option being not allowed to be selected; in a process of deleting the target document, the target document being in an operational state (the selected file can be deleted [paragraph 66]); in the process of deleting the target document, in a case where the target document is moved to another location in the document repository, the target document being still deleted; in the process of deleting the target document, in a case where the target document is moved to another document repository, deleting the target document moved to the another document repository failing; in a case where a node that the current user does not have fourth preset permission is in the target node, the node that the current user does not have the fourth preset permission being not allowed to be deleted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu with the transfer option of Passy. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by giving them greater control over their files.
With respect to claim 12, the Hu, Moore, and Passy references teach all of the limitations of claim 8 as described above. In addition, the Hu reference teaches that the target operation option is the creating shortcut option and the method satisfies at least one of the following: in a case where a current user does not have fifth preset permission for the fourth node, the current user being not allowed to create the shortcut node of the target node at the fourth node; a node of another document repository that does not adopt the directory tree being not allowed to be identified as the fourth node; the fourth node where the shortcut node is created being different from the target node and a child node of the target node; in a process of creating the shortcut node of the target document, the target document being in an operational state (a command option includes ‘copy a path’ and ‘copy a relative path’ [Figure 4 and paragraph 66]); in a case where the target document is deleted in the process of creating the shortcut node of the target document, creating the shortcut node of the deleted target document failing; in a case where the target node comprises an existing shortcut node, copying the existing shortcut node in the target node to the fourth node; in the case where the target node comprises the existing shortcut node, the current user does not need to have permission to view a document to which the existing shortcut node corresponds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu with the transfer option of Passy. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by giving them greater control over their files.
With respect to claim 13, the Hu, Moore, and Passy references teach all of the limitations of claim 8 as described above. Additionally, the Hu reference teaches that the target operation option is the creating copy option and the method satisfies at least one of the following: in a case where a document that a current user does not have permission to create a copy is in the target document, the creating copy option being not allowed to be selected; in a case where the current user does not have sixth preset permission to the location corresponding to the fifth node, the copy of the target document at the location corresponding to the fifth node being not allowed to be created; a node of another document repository that does not adopt the directory tree being not allowed to be identified as the fifth node; a location corresponding to the fifth node where a created document copy is located being not belonged to a subordinate of the target document (the files are in a level directory with a plurality of levels [paragraph 41] and a command option includes ‘copy’ [Figure 4 and paragraph 66]); before creating the copy of the target document, calculating estimated time, in a case where the estimated time is less than preset time, the copy of the target document being allowed to be created, in a case where the estimated time is not less than the preset time, displaying reminder information, and after the reminder information is confirmed, creating the copy of the target document.
With respect to claim 14, the Hu, Moore, and Passy references teach all of the limitations of claim 8 as described above. In addition, the Hu reference teaches at least one of the following: in a case where the bulk operation corresponding to the second operation event on the target document is successful, sending a first prompt message (after the modification is completed a modification result is displayed for the user [paragraph 50]); in a case where the bulk operation on a part of documents of the target document is successful, sending a second prompt message, and sending a result notification message to a current user and/or an owner of the target document through a preset communication client; in a case where the bulk operation on the target document fails, sending a third prompt message.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 with an earliest effective filing date of 4/6/23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0292056 published on 9/15/22) in view of Moore et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,769,794 patented on 8/3/10) and Passy (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0272184 published on 9/2/21) and further in view of Suprasadachandran et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,488,223 patented on 11/1/22).
With respect to claim 15, the Hu, Moore, and Passy references teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as described above. They do not explicitly recite that in a case where a number of documents of failed bulk operation is not greater than a preset document number, the documents of failed bulk operation are displayed in the result notification message; and/or in a case where the number of documents of failed bulk operation is greater than the preset document number, the preset document number of the documents of failed bulk operation and detail controls are displayed in the result notification message, each of the detail controls is configured to export detail message about a result of the bulk operation. The Suprasadachandran reference teaches that in a case where a number of documents of failed bulk operation is not greater than a preset document number, the documents of failed bulk operation are displayed in the result notification message; and/or in a case where the number of documents of failed bulk operation is greater than the preset document number, the preset document number of the documents of failed bulk operation and detail controls are displayed in the result notification message, each of the detail controls is configured to export detail message about a result of the bulk operation (when a result message has more than a threshold number of results the system displays up to that threshold number with a selectable element to view additional results [col. 9 lines 12-43]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu, Moore, and Passy with the detail control of Suprasadachadran. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by providing them with a reasonable amount of information to process at a time.
With respect to claim 16, the Hu, Moore, Passy, and Suprasadachadran references teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as described above. In addition, the Suprasadachadran reference teaches that in response to a triggering of each of the detail controls, creating a result document, and displaying information of the target document and a result of the bulk operation (upon selecting the element, additional results are presented to the user [col. 9 lines 12-43]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hu, Moore, and Passy with the detail control of Suprasadachadran. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by providing them with a reasonable amount of information to process at a time.
Conclusion
/KRIS E MACKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153