DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities. The claims recite, via claim 1, “the predetermined temperature” to have more than one value or temperature in the last paragraph. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKADA et al. (US 2019/0250542 A1; NAKADA) in view of FUKAMACHI (US 2014/0308050 A1) in view of NANAI et al. (US 2017/0068212 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NAKADA teaches an image forming apparatus comprising: a fixing device (figure 3) configured to fix a toner image onto a recording material, wherein the fixing device includes: a heating unit 20 configured to apply heat to the recording material, a pressure rotating member 26 configured to abut the heating unit to form a nip portion N, a temperature detection unit 21 configured to detect a temperature of the heating unit, and a storage unit 28 configured to store information regarding a unique temperature rise rate of the fixing device [in advance prior to attachment to the image forming apparatus], a reading unit configured to read the information stored in the storage unit, a sheet feeding unit configured to feed the recording material, a conveyance unit configured to convey the recording material from the sheet feeding unit to the nip portion N, and a control unit configured to control, when the recording material is conveyed to the nip portion, the heating unit at a target temperature, wherein, in a case where a predetermined temperature lower than the target temperature is reached, the control unit controls the conveyance unit to start conveying the recording material from the sheet feeding unit to the nip portion, and wherein, in determining the predetermined temperature, the control unit further determines the predetermined temperature based on the information read by the reading unit (figures 1, 3, and 9, [0042-0045] - configuration; [0058-0060] – temperature rising rate; flowchart [0063-0069]).
Regarding claim 2, in a width direction of the recording material orthogonal to a conveyance direction of the recording material, the temperature detection unit 21 detects a temperature of a sheet passage area through which the recording material passes [0046].
Regarding claim 3, the fixing device includes a cover 11 covering the heating unit and the pressure rotating member, and the storage unit 28 is placed on an inner peripheral surface of the cover (figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, the temperature rise rate is a temperature rise rate per unit time of the heating unit.
Regarding claim 5, the heating unit includes a fixing belt 25 that is endless and rotatable, and a heater 20 configured to heat the fixing belt 25 [0042].
Regarding claim 6, the heater heats the fixing belt in contact with an inner peripheral surface of the fixing belt (figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, the heater is configured to nip the fixing belt with the pressure rotating member 26 (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, the information regarding a temperature rise rate of the fixing device further includes information regarding the fixing belt [0044-0045, 0058].
NAKADA teaches regarding claim 9, a fixing device comprising: a heating unit 20 configured to apply heat to a recording material; a pressure rotating member 26 configured to abut the heating unit to form a nip portion N; and a storage unit 28 configured to store information regarding a temperature rise rate of the fixing device, wherein the pressure rotating member 28 and the heating unit 25 are configured to apply heat and pressure to the recording material to fix a toner image to the recording material (figure 3, [0042-0046; 0058-0059]).
Regarding claim 10, the storage unit stores a temperature rise per unit time of a fixing belt measured in an assembling process of the fixing device as the information regarding the temperature rise rate of the fixing device.
NAKADA does not teach, in determining the predetermined temperature, that the control unit further determines the predetermined temperature based on information regarding the recording material to be conveyed from the sheet feeding material. Nakada implies that the storage unit is a part of the fixing device but does not state this outright.
FUKAMACHI teaches in determining the fixing predetermined temperature, the control unit determines this predetermined temperature based on information regarding the recording material to be conveyed from the sheet feeding material (figure 6, S103, [0103]).
Regarding claim 11, the information regarding the recording material to be conveyed from the sheet feeding material is grammage information regarding a recording material to be used in image formation [0067].
Regarding claim 12, the information regarding the recording material to be conveyed from the sheet feeding material is size information regarding a recording material to be used in image formation (examiner takes official notice that it is known in the at the effective filing date of the application to consider media size in setting fixing temperatures (CHIKAZAWA; cited previously, US 2015/0253706 A1; [0082]).
NANAI teaches a fixing unit with an internal memory that stores desired unique information for the image forming device.
NAKADA, CHIKAZAWA, NANAI, and FUKAMACHI are concerned with temperature control for a fixing device. FUKAMACHI teach adjusting the target temperature to reflect the media type. NANAI teaches a fixing unit that holds fixing data that is useful for the control the fixing unit.
The rationale for combining the teachings of CHIKAZAWA with the teachings of NAKADA relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining the teachings of NANAI with the teachings of NAKADA relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of CHIKAZAWA with the teaching of NAKADA to ensure an appropriate fixing temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of NANAI with the teaching of NAKADA to enable an appropriate fixing unit control.
The rationale for combining the teachings of FUKAMACHI with the teachings of NAKADA relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of FUKAMACHI with the teaching of NAKADA to ensure an appropriate fixing temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that As such, NAKADA in view of FUKAMACHI and NANAI, whether considered individually or in proper combination, do not teach or suggest at least "wherein, in a case where based on reaching a predetermined temperature lower than the target temperature is reached, the control unit controls the conveyance unit to start conveying the recording material from the sheet feeding unit to the nip portion, and wherein, in determining the predetermined temperature, the control unit further determines the predetermined temperature based on the information read by the reading unit and information regarding the recording material to be conveyed from the sheet
feeding material" as presently claimed.
However, claim 1 recites “… wherein, in a case where based on reaching a predetermined temperature lower than the target temperature is reached, the control unit controls the conveyance unit to start conveying the recording material from the sheet feeding unit to the nip portion, and wherein, in determining the predetermined temperature, the control unit further determines the predetermined temperature based on the information read by the reading unit and information regarding the recording material to be conveyed from the sheet feeding material”.
The claim is unclear based on the use of the same term to represent two different values. As to applicant arguments, a bodily (or control) incorporation is not required for the claim limitations to be met. The combination of fixing teaches controls its temperature by also setting a target temperature. This target temperature is also below the rated value. The temperature gradient may be any temperature goal other than the gradient The feeding start so that the paper arrives at the fixing device when the fixing device is at the appropriate temperature.
However, the rejection has been updated to address the new objection as discussed above.
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG