DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s Specification are to the published application US 2025/0015413 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannai (US 2020/0203682 A1; “Bannai”), in view of Matsumoto et al. (JP 2012/051622 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Matsumoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Bannai discloses a battery pack (a battery pack) [element 100, 0023-0029, FIG. 1] comprising a battery module (a battery module) [element 20, 0028-0029, 0031-0050, FIG. 1] including a plurality of secondary batteries (a battery) [elements 40-46, 0035-0097, FIG. 2] and a battery holder that holds the batteries (a battery holder that holds the battery) [element 50, 0053-0070, FIG. 2]; and a housing that accommodates the battery module (an exterior case that houses the battery module) [element 10, 0028-0039, FIG. 1]. The battery module includes a first outer surface and a second outer surface facing the first outer surface [FIG. 2], see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 2 of Bannai. The housing includes a first inner surface disposed facing the first outer surface and a second inner surface disposed facing the second outer surface [FIG. 1], see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 1 of Bannai.
Bannai remains silent regarding the first inner surface is warped toward the first outer surface, the second inner surface is warped toward the second outer surface, and the battery module is sandwiched between the first inner surface and the second inner surface by warpage of the first inner surface and warpage of the second inner surface.
Matsumoto is directed towards the electrochemical field and a storage structure for storing electrochemical items [0001, 0024], in particular, storing multiple items arranged in a predetermined direction [0001, 0007]. Matsumoto teaches that the walls of the storage structure are made of fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin [0007-0008, 0013-0015], thereby imparting spring properties into the walls [0008] and allowing the walls to curve convexly and protrude toward the interior of the storage space [0008, 0023, FIGs. 1-4]. The fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin additionally allows for weight to be reduced, while efficiently providing desired spring performance and rigidity of the walls [0013]. The convex walls with their spring-like properties allow the stored items to be held in place, resulting in a more desirable storage retention function [0010, 0018].
Bannai and Matsumoto each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an exterior case for electrochemical items. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Bannai is made of a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin, like that of Matsumoto, so that the sides that are in the same plane as Matsumoto are curved convexly in the same manner as Matsumoto, thereby protruding toward the interior of the storage space, however, still maintaining two housing sections, an upper housing and a lower housing. Doing so would reduce weight, reduce the number of parts, and simplify the overall structure of the housing, while providing desired spring performance and rigidity of the walls and efficiently maintaining the arrangement of the stored items within the structure [Matsumoto, 0008, 0010, 0014, 0018, 0021, FIGs. 1-4]. Additionally, the walls act uniformly on the stored items, thereby preventing damage to the stored items [Matsumoto, 0021].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the housing of modified Bannai would be made of a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin, and the sides would be curved convexly, thereby protruding toward the interior of the storage space, in order to provide desired spring performance and rigidity of the walls and efficiently maintain the arrangement of the stored items within the structure, thereby, in totality, reading on the first inner surface is warped toward the first outer surface, the second inner surface is warped toward the second outer surface, and the battery module is sandwiched between the first inner surface and the second inner surface by warpage of the first inner surface and warpage of the second inner surface, as claimed.
Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 2 of Bannai
Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 1 of Bannai
Regarding claim 2, Bannai discloses a battery pack (a battery pack) [element 100, 0023-0029, FIG. 1] comprising a battery module (a battery module) [element 20, 0028-0029, 0031-0050, FIG. 1] including a plurality of secondary batteries (a battery) [elements 40-46, 0035-0097, FIG. 2] and a battery holder that holds the batteries (a battery holder that holds the battery) [element 50, 0053-0070, FIG. 2]; and a housing that accommodates the battery module (an exterior case that houses the battery module) [element 10, 0028-0039, FIG. 1]. The battery module includes a first outer surface and a second outer surface facing the first outer surface [FIG. 2], see below for Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 2 of Bannai. The housing includes a first inner surface disposed facing the first outer surface and a second inner surface disposed facing the second outer surface [FIG. 1], see below for Figure 4. Annotated FIG. 1 of Bannai.
Bannai remains silent regarding the exterior case includes a first inner surface pressed against and in contact with the first outer surface, and a second inner surface pressed against and in contact with the second outer surface, a contact portion between the first outer surface and the first inner surface is surrounded by a first gap where the first outer surface and the first inner surface space apart from each other, and a contact portion between the second outer surface and the second inner surface is surrounded by a second gap where the second outer surface and the second inner surface space apart from each other.
Matsumoto is directed towards the electrochemical field and a storage structure for storing electrochemical items [0001, 0024], in particular, storing multiple items arranged in a predetermined direction [0001, 0007]. Matsumoto teaches that the walls of the storage structure are made of fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin [0007-0008, 0013-0015], thereby imparting spring properties into the walls [0008] and allowing the walls to curve convexly and protrude toward the interior of the storage space [0008, 0023, FIGs. 1-4], and come in contact with the electrochemical items [FIG. 3]. The fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin additionally allows for weight to be reduced, while efficiently providing desired spring performance and rigidity of the walls [0013]. The convex walls with their spring-like properties allow the stored items to be held in place, resulting in a more desirable storage retention function [0010, 0018].
Bannai and Matsumoto each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an exterior case for electrochemical items. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Bannai is made of a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin, like that of Matsumoto, so that the sides that are in the same plane as Matsumoto are curved convexly in the same manner as Matsumoto, thereby protruding toward the interior of the storage space, and so that all four sides come in contact with the battery module, as the walls act uniformly on the stored items, while still maintaining two housing sections, an upper housing and a lower housing. Doing so would prevent damage to the stored items, reduce weight, reduce the number of parts, and simplify the overall structure of the housing, while providing desired spring performance and rigidity of the walls and efficiently maintaining the arrangement of the stored items within the structure [Matsumoto, 0008, 0010, 0014, 0018, 0021, FIGs. 1-4].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the housing of modified Bannai would be made of a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin, and the sides would be curved convexly, thereby protruding toward the interior of the storage space, wherein all four sides come in contact with the battery module, as the walls act uniformly on the stored items, with gaps near the ends of the sides due to the nature of the convex shape, thereby, in totality, reading on the exterior case includes a first inner surface pressed against and in contact with the first outer surface, and a second inner surface pressed against and in contact with the second outer surface, a contact portion between the first outer surface and the first inner surface is surrounded by a first gap where the first outer surface and the first inner surface space apart from each other, and a contact portion between the second outer surface and the second inner surface is surrounded by a second gap where the second outer surface and the second inner surface space apart from each other, as claimed.
Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 2 of Bannai
Figure 4. Annotated FIG. 1 of Bannai
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Bannai discloses that the housing further includes an upper housing having a first open end (a first case having a first open end) [Bannai, element 11, 0028, 0032, FIG. 1], and a lower housing have a second open end (a second case having a second open end) [Bannai, element 12, 0028, 0032-0034, 0036-0039, FIG. 1], see above for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 1 of Bannai. The upper housing and the lower housing are combined and connected with each other to accommodate the battery module therein [Bannai, 0032-0033, 0039], thereby, reading on the first case and the second case have a shape that can form a housing space of the battery module surrounded by the first case and the second case by butt-joining the first open end and the second open end against each other, the battery module is disposed in the housing space, as claimed.
The first inner surface includes a third inner surface formed in a portion of an inner surface of the upper housing, the portion including a part of the first open end [Bannai, FIG. 1] (see below for Figure 5. First Inner Surface and Second Inner Surface), and a fourth inner surface formed in a portion of an inner surface of the lower housing, the portion including a part of the second open end [Bannai, FIG. 1] (see below for Figure 5. First Inner Surface and Second Inner Surface), and the second inner surface includes a fifth inner surface formed in a portion of an inner surface of the upper housing, the portion including a part of the first open end [Bannai, FIG. 1] (see below for Figure 5. First Inner Surface and Second Inner Surface), and a sixth inner surface formed in a portion of an inner surface of the lower housing, the portion including a part of the second open end [Bannai, FIG. 1] (see below for Figure 5. First Inner Surface and Second Inner Surface).
In view of the modification set forth above in ¶7-11, the housing of modified Bannai would have the third inner surface being warped toward the first outer surface, the fourth inner surface being warped toward the first outer surface, the fifth inner surface being warped toward the second outer surface, and the sixth inner surface being warped toward the second outer surface, as all of the sides are curved convexly.
Figure 5. First Inner Surface and Second Inner Surface
Regarding claim 4, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, the modification set forth above in ¶7-11 would further have the housing of modified Bannai include a first contact portion between the third inner surface and the first outer surface disposed in a first central region of the third inner surface excluding both ends of the third inner surface when the first open end is viewed in plan view, a second contact portion between the fourth inner surface and the first outer surface disposed in a second central region of the fourth inner surface excluding both ends of the fourth inner surface when the second open end is viewed in plan view, a third contact portion between the fifth inner surface and the second outer surface disposed in a third central region of the fifth inner surface excluding both ends of the fifth inner surface when the first open end is viewed in plan view, and a fourth contact portion between the sixth inner surface and the second outer surface disposed in a fourth central region of the sixth inner surface excluding both ends of the sixth inner surface when the second open end is viewed in plan view, as all of the sides are curved convexly.
Regarding claim 5, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, the modification set forth above in ¶7-11 would further have the housing of modified Bannai include a vertex of the third inner surface and a vertex of the fifth inner surface provided on a center line of the first open end when the first open end is viewed in plan view in a state where the battery module is removed from the exterior case, and a vertex of the fourth inner surface and a vertex of the sixth inner surface provided on a center line of the second open end when the second open end is viewed in plan view in the state where the battery module is removed from the exterior case, as all of the sides are curved convexly in the same manner as Matsumoto, where the convexly curved sides of modified Bannai would be symmetrical about a central line [Matsumoto, 0023, FIGs. 1-4].
Regarding claim 6, in view of the rejection of claim 5 above, the modification set forth above in ¶7-11 would further have the housing of modified Bannai wherein when the first open end is viewed in plan view, the vertex of the third inner surface and the vertex of the fourth inner surface are in contact with a central portion of the first outer surface, and when the second open end is viewed in plan view, the vertex of the fifth inner surface and the vertex of the sixth inner surface are in contact with a central portion of the second outer surface, as all of the sides are curved convexly in the same manner as Matsumoto, where the convexly curved sides of modified Bannai would be symmetrical about a central line [Matsumoto, 0023, FIGs. 1-4].
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Bannai discloses that the housing further includes an upper housing having a first open end (a first case having a first open end) [Bannai, element 11, 0028, 0032, FIG. 1], and a lower housing have a second open end (a second case having a second open end) [Bannai, element 12, 0028, 0032-0034, 0036-0039, FIG. 1], see above for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 1 of Bannai. The upper housing and the lower housing are combined and connected with each other to accommodate the battery module therein [Bannai, 0032-0033, 0039], thereby, reading on the first case and the second case have a shape that can form a housing space of the battery module surrounded by the first case and the second case by butt-joining the first open end and the second open end against each other, the battery module is disposed in the housing space, as claimed. Each of the first inner surface and the second inner surface is formed in a portion of the upper housing including a part of the first open end, and is not formed in the lower housing [Bannai, FIG. 1].
Regarding claim 8, in view of the rejection of claim 7 above, the modification set forth above in ¶7-11 would further have the housing of modified Bannai include a first contact portion of the first inner surface, wherein the first contact portion in contact with the first outer surface, is disposed in a first central region of the first inner surface excluding both ends of the first inner surface when the first open end is viewed in plan view, and a second contact portion of the second inner surface, wherein the second contact portion in contact with the second outer surface, is disposed in a second central region of the second inner surface excluding both ends of the second inner surface when the first open end is viewed in plan view, as all of the sides are curved convexly.
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 8 above, the modification set forth above in ¶7-11 would further have the housing of modified Bannai include a vertex of the first inner surface is provided on a center line of the first open end when the first open end is viewed in plan view in a state where the battery module is removed from the exterior case, and a vertex of the second inner surface is provided on a center line of the second open end when the second open end is viewed in plan view in the state where the battery module is removed from the exterior case, as all of the sides are curved convexly in the same manner as Matsumoto, where the convexly curved sides of modified Bannai would be symmetrical about a central line [Matsumoto, 0023, FIGs. 1-4].
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 9 above, the modification set forth above in ¶7-11 would further have the housing of modified Bannai wherein when the first open end is viewed in plan view, the vertex of the first inner surface is in contact with a central portion of the first outer surface, and when the second open end is viewed in plan view, the vertex of the second inner surface is in contact with a central portion of the second outer surface, as all of the sides are curved convexly in the same manner as Matsumoto, where the convexly curved sides of modified Bannai would be symmetrical about a central line [Matsumoto, 0023, FIGs. 1-4].
Regarding claim 11, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, the modification set forth above in ¶7-11, the housing of modified Bannai would have the first outer surface spaces apart from the first inner surface in a vicinity of an inner bottom surface and a vicinity of an inner top surface of the housing, and does not have a contact portion with the first inner surface, and the second outer surface spaces apart from the second inner surface in a vicinity of the inner bottom surface and a vicinity of the inner top surface of the housing, and does not have a contact portion with the second inner surface, as all of the sides are curved convexly in the same manner as Matsumoto.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Bannai teaches that the plurality of secondary batteries are cylindrical (a columnar shape) [Bannai, 0046, 0052, 0108, 0213, FIGs. 1-2]. The battery module includes the plurality of secondary batteries (the battery module includes a plurality of the batteries) [Bannai, 0035-0036, 0040, 0044-0045, 0050, 0053, FIGs. 1-2] arranged in, for example, three columns in the width direction (X-axis direction) and two levels in the height direction (arranged side by side in a two dimensional direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the battery) [Bannai, 0050, FIGs. 1-2]. The first inner surface and the second inner surface are arranged so as to sandwich the plurality of secondary batteries from the longitudinal direction of a battery [Bannai, FIG. 1], see above for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 1 of Bannai.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Deponte et al., US 2015/0214570 A1 – is directed towards a cell housing with a convex curved design [element 3, Abstract, 0007, 0011, 0016, 0041-0044, FIG. 1].
Kim, US 2023/0387531 A1 – is directed towards a battery module and housing [0008-0011] that bends at a position corresponding to the central region of the battery cells [0009, 0025, 0041-0045, FIGs. 2-14].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/MICHAEL C. ROMANOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782