DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 07/31/2026.
Claims 1-26 are pending and examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/31/2026 have been fully considered.
Per 101 abstract idea rejection, applicant’s arguments are persuasive. The previously issued 101 rejection is withdrawn.
The provisional double patenting rejection is withdrawn, because the co-pending patent application has been abandoned.
Per 103 rejection, applicant argued that the cited prior art do not teach providing software update data to a mobile device while the mobile device is positioned within a charging receptacle, and providing software update data based on a comparison of software version data of first and second mobile devices. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are rejected under new grounds of rejection with different mappings of prior art, see the updated 103 rejection below.
The examiner is available for a phone interview with applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 19-21, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanchett (US PGPUB 2022/0258644), in view of Li et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0063433) hereinafter Li.
Per claim 1, Hanchett discloses a charging station system comprises: a first mobile device in communication with a host server, wherein the first mobile device is configured to receive software update data from the host server, and wherein the software update data is configured to update mobile devices including the first mobile device (paragraphs [0044][0045][0050][0051][0087][0088][0150][0237]; a vehicle (first mobile device) is able to communicate to a host server to receive data, the data includes firmware update data for charging stations and firmware update data for vehicles (including the first mobile device); the vehicle then can drive to a charging station and connect to a charging station, transfer the received firmware update data to memory of the charging station); a first charging station bank including: one or more charging receptacles configured to receive corresponding mobile devices including the first mobile device, wherein the one or more charging receptacles are configured to charge and communicate with the corresponding mobile devices while the mobile devices are positioned within the receptacles ( paragraphs [0045][0089][0162]; a vehicle (first mobile device) receives charging service at a charging station via a cable, may also exchange communication/firmware update via a wireless/wired connection); a processor; and a memory including the software update data obtained from the first mobile device, and instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first charging station bank to: (paragraphs [0026][0027]; a vehicle (first mobile device) can drive to a charging station and connect to the charging station, transfer the received firmware update data to memory of the charging station (a computer with a processor)).
Hanchett also discloses providing firmware update to a second mobile device that is connected to the one or more charging receptables and while the second mobile device is positioned within the one or more charging receptacles, provide the software update to the second mobile device ( paragraphs [0045][0087][0088][0089][0162]; the charging station provides charging service to a vehicle (the second mobile device) via a cable (one or more charging receptables), also provides firmware update to the vehicle via wired/wireless connection). Li does not explicitly teach determine a software version of the software update data obtained from the first mobile device; determine a software version of a second mobile device; provide the software update data to the second mobile device based on the second mobile device having an obsolete software version compared to the software update data obtained from the first mobile device. However, Li in view of Hanchett suggests the above limitations (Hanchett, paragraphs [0044][0045][0050][0051][0087][0088][0150][0237]; a vehicle (first mobile device) is able to communicate to a host server to receive data, the data includes firmware update data for charging stations and firmware update data for vehicles (including the first mobile device); the vehicle then can drive to a charging station and connect to the charging station, transfer the received firmware update data to memory of the charging station, i.e. the charging station obtained the software update data from the first mobile vehicle); (Li, paragraphs [0164][0006][0007]; a charging system acquiring version information of a first software version in a vehicle (second mobile device) connected to the charging station; if the version information of the first software version is lower than version information of a second software version (obtained from the first mobile vehicle) stored in the charging station (i.e. an obsolete version), the charging station updates the first software version to the second software version). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Hanchett to allow a charging station to update firmware version on a vehicle connected to the charging station, to ensure the vehicle has the most up to date software.
Per claim 2, Li further suggests wherein the first charging station bank is further comprised of a network communication interface in communication with the host server (Fig. 2; paragraph [0111]; the server of charging station can connect to a cloud server to obtain software update).
Per claim 3, Li further suggests wherein the first charging station bank is further configured to obtain the software data directly from the host server via the network communication interface (Fig. 2; paragraph [0111]; the server of charging station can connect to a cloud server to obtain software update).
Per claim 4, Li further suggests wherein the first charging station bank is further configured to be part of a charging station network, wherein the first charging station bank is configured to communicate with other charging station banks that are part of the charging station network via the network communication interface (Fig. 2; paragraph [0058][0102]; a cloud server can manage multiple charging stations via a network; the charging stations also transfer batteries among themselves, it would have been obvious to allow the charging stations to communicate with each other for better coordination).
Per claim 7, Hanchett further suggests wherein the one or more charging receptacles are further configured to communicate with the corresponding mobile devices connected thereto via near field communication (NFC) (paragraphs [0033][0045]; NFC wireless communication).
Per claim 8, Hanchett further suggests wherein the first charging station bank is further configured to act as a wireless access point (paragraphs [0033][0045]; a first charging station can wirelessly communicate with other devices).
Claims 19, 21, 24-25 recite similar limitations as claims 1, 4, 7-8. Therefore, claims 19, 21, 24-25 are rejected under similar rationales as claims 1, 4, 7-8.
Per claim 20, Li further suggests installing the software update data by the second mobile device, wherein the second mobile device has an obsolete software version (paragraphs [0006][0007]; acquiring version information of a first software version in a vehicle (second mobile device) connected to the charging station; if the version information of the first software version is lower than version information of a second software version stored in the charging station (i.e. an obsolete version), the charging station transfer the second software version to the vehicle, the vehicle installs it).
Claims 5-6, 10-17, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanchett, in view of Li, in view of Shimizu et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0331688) hereinafter Shimizu.
Per claim 5, Hanchett does not explicitly teach wherein the memory of the first charging station bank is further configured to include instructions that when executed by the processor cause the first charging station bank to: determine a version of stored software update data of a second charging station bank that is part of the charging station network; and one of: (i) provide the software update data to the second charging station bank, wherein the second charging station bank has an obsolete software version compared to the software update data obtained from the first mobile device. However, Shimizu in view of Hanchett suggests the above (Hanchett, paragraphs [0044][0045][0050][0051][0087][0088][0150][0237]; a vehicle (first mobile device) is able to communicate to a host server to receive data, the data includes firmware update data for charging stations and firmware update data for vehicles (including the first mobile device); the vehicle then can drive to a charging station and connect to the charging station, transfer the received firmware update data to a memory of the charging station, i.e. the charging station obtained the software update data from the first mobile device; Shimizu, claims 1-2; paragraphs [0024]; a plurality of control devices (i.e. charging stations) connected to a network; device A acquires firmware version information of device B, if device B’s firmware version is older (obsolete) than device A’s firmware version, device A provides the newer firmware to replace the old firmware on device B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Hanchett and Shimizu to utilize the peer-to-peer firmware update method to distribute firmware updates among the charging stations, which is a fast and efficient way to distribute firmware updates among a plurality of devices.
Per claim 6, Shimizu in views of Hanchett further suggests wherein the second charging station bank includes elements corresponding to the first charging station bank, and wherein a memory of the second charging station bank is configured to include instructions that when executed by a processor of the second charging station bank cause the second charging station bank to: determine a software version of a third mobile device that is connected to one or more charging receptacles of the second charging station bank; and while the third mobile device is positioned in the one or more charging receptacles, one of: (i) provide the software update data to the third mobile device based on the third mobile device having an obsolete software version compared to the software update data obtained from the first mobile device (Hanchett, paragraphs [0044][0045][0050][0051][0087][0088][0150][0237]; a vehicle (first mobile device) is able to communicate to a host server to receive data, the data includes firmware update data for charging stations and firmware update data for vehicles (including the first mobile device); a vehicle then can drive to a charging station and connect to the charging station, transfer the received firmware update data to a memory of the charging station, i.e. the charging station obtained the software update data from the first mobile device and the third mobile device is positioned in the one or more charging receptacles; Shimizu, claims 1-2; paragraphs [0024]; a plurality of control devices (i.e. charging stations) connected to a network, each control device stores a version of firmware (elements) in its memory; device B acquires firmware version information of device C, if device C’s firmware version is older (obsolete) than device B’s firmware version, device B provides the newer firmware to replace the old firmware on device C).
Claim 10 recites similar limitations as claims 1 + 5. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under similar rationales as claims 1 + 5.
Claims 11-13, 16-17 recite similar limitations as claims 2-4, 7-8. Therefore, claims 11-13, 16-17 are rejected under similar rationales as claims 2-4, 7-8.
Per claim 14, Shimizu further suggests wherein the memory of the first charging station bank is further configured to include instructions that when executed by the processor of the first charging station bank cause the first charging station bank to: determine a version of stored software update data of an nth charging station bank in the charging station network; and one of: (i) provide the software update data to the nth charging station bank, wherein the nth charging station bank has an obsolete software version (claims 1-2; paragraphs [0024]; a plurality of control devices (i.e. charging stations) connected to a network, each control device stores a version of firmware (elements) in its memory; device A (first station) acquires firmware version information of device C (nth station), if device C’s firmware version is older (obsolete) than device A’s firmware version, device A provides the newer firmware to replace the old firmware on device C).
Per claim 15, Shimizu further suggests wherein the memory of the second charging station bank is further configured to include instructions that when executed by the processor of the second charging station bank cause the second charging station bank to: determine a version of stored software update data of an nth charging station bank in the charging station network; and one of: (i) provide the software update data to the nth charging station bank, wherein the nth charging station bank has an obsolete software version (claims 1-2; paragraphs [0024]; a plurality of control devices (i.e. charging stations) connected to a network, each control device stores a version of firmware (elements) in its memory; device B (second station) acquires firmware version information of device C (nth station), if device C’s firmware version is older (obsolete) than device B’s firmware version, device B provides the newer firmware to replace the old firmware on device C).
claims 22-23 are rejected under similar rationales as claims 5-6.
Claims 9, 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanchett, in view of Li, in view of Feldman et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0228877) hereinafter Feldman.
Per claim 9, Li does not explicitly teach wherein the first charging station bank is further configured to operate as a known location for triangulation of a mesh network. However, Feldman suggests the above (paragraphs [0044][0045]; using a charging station bank for triangulation location in a network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Hanchett and Feldman to utilize the first charging station as a triangulation point in a network, so the user can be provided with location service.
claims 18 and 26 are rejected under similar rationales as claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANG PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193