Response to Amendment
The amendments field on 04/17/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1, 9-10, 12, 14 and 19 have been amended.
Claims 5, 11, 16 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-23 have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/17/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been applied to amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-15 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0255657 A1; hereinafter Miller) in view of SHAGA et al. (Pub NO. WO2022132229 (A1); hereinafter Shaga; translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Miller teaches a pedal assembly for a vehicle (pedal 10 for vehicle in Fig. 2; See [0029]-[0030]) comprising:
a pedal housing (pedal housing 20 in fig. 2; See [0030]-[0031]);
a rotatable pedal (rotatable pedal 10 in fig. 2; See [0031]);
a rotary inductive sensor target rotatable in response to movement of the rotatable pedal (rotary inductive sensor target 34 in Fig. 2; See [0031]); and
a rotary inductive position sensing arrangement (rotary inductive position sensing arrangement 50 in Fig. 2; See [0034]-[0035]) including:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB 50 in fig. 2; See [0034]) having a first side and a second opposing side (PCB 50 has two opposite sides 52 and 54 in fig. 2 and Fig. 6; See [0035]) and having an inner portion surrounded by a middle portion and an outer portion surrounding the middle portion (See inner portion of PCB 50 in Fig. 2);
Miller teaches first receiver, second receiver, inner portion, outer portion of PCB (See Fig. 2),
Miller is silent about a first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB and having a shape that surrounds the middle portion of the PCB; a second transmitter provided on the inner portion of the PCB concentric with respect to, and surrounded by, the first transmitter, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB; a first receiver associated with the first transmitter and a second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter; a first sensor circuit including a first inductive sensor interface configured to provide an excitation current to the first transmitter at a first frequency; and a second sensor circuit configured to provide an excitation current to the second transmitter at a second frequency different from the first frequency, wherein a rotation of the rotary inductive sensor target induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver.
Shaga teaches a first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB and having a shape that surrounds the middle portion of the PCB (first transmitter 105 provided on outer portion and having shape that surrounds the middle portion in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]);
a second transmitter provided on the inner portion of the PCB concentric with respect to, and surrounded by, the first transmitter, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB (second transmitter 110 provided on inner portion and surrounded by first transmitter 105 having shape that disposed within inner portion in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]);
a first receiver (one receiver 640 of receiver pair 115 is first receiver in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032], [0049]) associated with the first transmitter (120 is associated with 115 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]) and a second receiver (another receiver 645 of receiver pair 115 is second receiver in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]), [0049] associated with the second transmitter (120 is associated with 110 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]), both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter (640 and 645 are on middle portion between 105 and 110 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]);
a first sensor circuit (130 in fig. 1) including a first inductive sensor interface (130 is coupled to first inductive sensor interface 150 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]) configured to provide an excitation current to the first transmitter at a first frequency (130 provides first excitation signal to 105 in Fig. 1’ See [0029]-[0032]); and
a second sensor circuit (135 in fig. 1) configured to provide an excitation current to the second transmitter at a second frequency different from the first frequency (135 provides second excitation signal to 110 different from 105 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]), wherein a rotation of the rotary inductive sensor target induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver (first output voltage 640 and second output voltage 645; See [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using a first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB and having a shape that surrounds the middle portion of the PCB; a second transmitter provided on the inner portion of the PCB concentric with respect to, and surrounded by, the first transmitter, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB; a first receiver associated with the first transmitter and a second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter; a first sensor circuit including a first inductive sensor interface configured to provide an excitation current to the first transmitter at a first frequency; and a second sensor circuit configured to provide an excitation current to the second transmitter at a second frequency different from the first frequency, wherein a rotation of the rotary inductive sensor target induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver, as taught by Shaga in order to determine an angular position of the rotatable inductive coupling element using the coarse resolution sine and cosine signals and the fine resolution sine and cosine signals (Shaga; [0010]).
Regarding Claim 2, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 1. Miller further teaches wherein first transmitter includes a first transmitter coil having a circular shape (See [0046]-[0047]) that surrounds the first and second receivers and the second transmitter (first transmitter 356 and 357 surround second transmitter 359, 358 and all receivers 360, 361, 362 and 363 in Fig. 6; See [0073], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 3, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 2. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter includes a second transmitter coil having a circular shape (See [0046]-[0047]), the second transmitter coil being surrounded by the first transmitter coil (first transmitter 356 and 357 surround second transmitter 359, 358 and all receivers 360, 361, 362 and 363 in Fig. 6; See [0073], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 4, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 3. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter coil includes a trace (See [0044]-[0047]) formed by etching (it’s inherent property that traces are formed by etching).
Regarding Claim 6, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 1. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (first receiver 360, 361 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 7, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 6. Miller further teaches wherein the second receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (second receiver 363, 362 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 8, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 7. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes three first receiver coils (first receiver 360, 361 have three coils 36a and 361a in Fig 6; See [0074]) and the second receiver includes three second receiver coils (second receiver 363, 362 have three coils 363a and 362a in Fig. 6; See [0074]), and wherein the three first receiver coils and the three second receiver coils are interleaved and surround the second transmitter (all receiver coils ate interleaved and surrounded by second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 9, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 8. Miller further teaches including a first sensor circuit including a wherein the first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the three first receiver coils and output a first sensor angle value (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and output a first sensor angle value (See [0043]).
Regarding Claim 10, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 9. Miller further teaches wherein the second inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the three second receiver coils and output a second sensor angle value (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and output a second sensor angle value (See [0043]).
Regarding Claim 12, Miller teaches an inductive position sensing arrangement comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB 50 in fig. 2; See [0034]) having a first side and a second opposing side (PCB 50 has two opposite sides 52 and 54 in fig. 2 and Fig. 6; See [0035]) and having an inner portion surrounded by a middle portion and an outer portion surrounding the middle portion (See inner portion of PCB 50 in Fig. 2);
Miller teaches first receiver, second receiver, inner portion, outer portion of PCB (See Fig. 2),
Miller is silent about a first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB and having a shape that surrounds a middle portion of the PCB; a second transmitter provided on the inner portion of the PCB concentric with respect to, and surrounded by the first transmitter; a first receiver associated with the first transmitter and a second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter; a first sensor circuit including a first inductive sensor interface configured to provide an excitation current to the first transmitter at a first frequency; and a second sensor circuit configured to provide an excitation current to the second transmitter at a second frequency different from the first frequency, wherein a rotation of an inductive sensor target induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver.
Shaga teaches a first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB and having a shape that surrounds the middle portion of the PCB (first transmitter 105 provided on outer portion and having shape that surrounds the middle portion in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]);
a second transmitter provided on the inner portion of the PCB concentric with respect to, and surrounded by, the first transmitter, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB (second transmitter 110 provided on inner portion and surrounded by first transmitter 105 having shape that disposed within inner portion in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]);
a first receiver (one receiver 640 of receiver pair 115 is first receiver in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032], [0049]) associated with the first transmitter (120 is associated with 115 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]) and a second receiver (another receiver 645 of receiver pair 115 is second receiver in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]), [0049] associated with the second transmitter (120 is associated with 110 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]), both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter (640 and 645 are on middle portion between 105 and 110 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]);
a first sensor circuit (130 in fig. 1) including a first inductive sensor interface (130 is coupled to first inductive sensor interface 150 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]) configured to provide an excitation current to the first transmitter at a first frequency (130 provides first excitation signal to 105 in Fig. 1’ See [0029]-[0032]); and
a second sensor circuit (135 in fig. 1) configured to provide an excitation current to the second transmitter at a second frequency different from the first frequency (135 provides second excitation signal to 110 different from 105 in Fig. 1; See [0029]-[0032]), wherein a rotation of the rotary inductive sensor target induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver (first output voltage 640 and second output voltage 645; See [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using a first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB and having a shape that surrounds the middle portion of the PCB; a second transmitter provided on the inner portion of the PCB concentric with respect to, and surrounded by, the first transmitter, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB; a first receiver associated with the first transmitter and a second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter; a first sensor circuit including a first inductive sensor interface configured to provide an excitation current to the first transmitter at a first frequency; and a second sensor circuit configured to provide an excitation current to the second transmitter at a second frequency different from the first frequency, wherein a rotation of the rotary inductive sensor target induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver, as taught by Shaga in order to determine an angular position of the rotatable inductive coupling element using the coarse resolution sine and cosine signals and the fine resolution sine and cosine signals (Shaga; [0010]).
Regarding Claim 13, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 12. Miller further teaches wherein the first transmitter includes a first transmitter coil having a circular shape (See [0046]-[0047]) that surrounds the first and second receivers and the second transmitter (first transmitter 356 and 357 surround second transmitter 359, 358 and all receivers 360, 361, 362 and 363 in Fig. 6; See [0073], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 14, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 13. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter includes a second transmitter coil having a circular shape (See [0046]-[0047]), the second transmitter coil being surrounded by the first transmitter coil (first transmitter 356 and 357 surround second transmitter 359, 358 and all receivers 360, 361, 362 and 363 in Fig. 6; See [0073], [0084]), the second transmitter coil having a shape that surrounds a second the inner portion of the PCB that is within the first middle portion of the PCB (See Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 15, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 14. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter coil includes a trace (See [0044]-[0047]) formed by etching (it’s inherent property that traces are formed by etching).
Regarding Claim 17, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 12. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (first receiver 360, 361 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 18, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 17. Miller further teaches wherein the second receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (second receiver 363, 362 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 19, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 18. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes three first receiver coils (first receiver 360, 361 have three coils 36a and 361a in Fig 6; See [0074]) and the second receiver includes three second receiver coils (second receiver 363, 362 have three coils 363a and 362a in Fig. 6; See [0074]), and
wherein the three first receiver coils and the three second receiver coils are interleaved (all receiver coils ate interleaved and surrounded by second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]),
the inductive position sensing arrangement including a first sensor circuit having a first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the three first receiver coils and output a first sensor angle value (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and output a first sensor angle value (See [0043]), and
wherein an input/output interface of an electronic controller receives the first sensor angle value (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and the electronic controller is configured to control vehicle acceleration or deceleration (See [0041]).
Regarding Claim 20, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 1. Miller is silent about wherein the first transmitter and the second transmitter are a distance apart from each other to provide geometric isolation.
Shaga further teaches wherein the first transmitter and the second transmitter are a distance apart from each other to provide geometric isolation (See the isolation between first transmitter 105and second transmitter 110 in Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using the first transmitter and the second transmitter are a distance apart from each other to provide geometric isolation, as taught by Shaga in order to determine an angular position of the rotatable inductive coupling element using the coarse resolution sine and cosine signals and the fine resolution sine and cosine signals (Shaga; [0010]).
Regarding Claim 21, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the pedal assembly of claim 1. Miller is silent about wherein the first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the first receiver and output a first sensor angle value, and wherein the second inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the second receiver and output a second sensor angle value.
Shaga teaches wherein the first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the first receiver and output a first sensor angle value, and wherein the second inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the second receiver and output a second sensor angle value (See [0029]-[0032], [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using the first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the first receiver and output a first sensor angle value, and wherein the second inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the second receiver and output a second sensor angle value, as taught by Shaga in order to determine an angular position of the rotatable inductive coupling element using the coarse resolution sine and cosine signals and the fine resolution sine and cosine signals (Shaga; [0010]).
Regarding Claim 22, Miller in view of Shaga teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 12. Miller is silent about wherein the first transmitter and the second transmitter are a distance apart from each other to provide geometric isolation.
Shaga further teaches wherein the first transmitter and the second transmitter are a distance apart from each other to provide geometric isolation (See the isolation between first transmitter 105and second transmitter 110 in Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using the first transmitter and the second transmitter are a distance apart from each other to provide geometric isolation, as taught by Shaga in order to determine an angular position of the rotatable inductive coupling element using the coarse resolution sine and cosine signals and the fine resolution sine and cosine signals (Shaga; [0010]).
Regarding Claim 23, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 12. Miller is silent about wherein the first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the first receiver and output a first sensor angle value, and wherein the second inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the second receiver and output a second sensor angle value.
Shaga further teaches wherein the first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the first receiver and output a first sensor angle value, and wherein the second inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the second receiver and output a second sensor angle value (See [0029]-[0032], [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using the first inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the first receiver and output a first sensor angle value, and wherein the second inductive position sensor interface is configured to receive voltage signals from the second receiver and output a second sensor angle value, as taught by Shaga in order to determine an angular position of the rotatable inductive coupling element using the coarse resolution sine and cosine signals and the fine resolution sine and cosine signals (Shaga; [0010]).
Conclusion
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858