Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 02/02/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/02/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been applied to amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites limitation “a middle portion” in line 6 is indefinite. Because it is not clear whether “a middle portion” in line 3 is same or different from “a middle portion” in line 3.
For purpose of examination Examiner interprets both are same.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0255657 A1; hereinafter Miller) in view of SHIMIZU et al. (Pub NO. JP2016031332A; hereinafter Shimizu; translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Miller teaches a pedal assembly for a vehicle (pedal 10 in Fig. 2; See [0029]-[0030]) comprising:
a pedal housing (pedal housing 20 in Fig. 2; See [0030]-[0031]);
a rotatable pedal (rotatable pedal 10 in Fig. 2; See [0031]);
a rotary inductive sensor target rotatable in response to movement of the rotatable pedal (rotary inductive sensor target 34 in Fig. 2; See [0031]); and
a rotary inductive position sensing arrangement (rotary inductive position sensing arrangement 50 in Fig. 2; See [0034]-[0035]) including:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB 50 in Fig. 2; See [0034]) having a first side and a second opposing side (PCB 50 has two opposing sides 52 and 54 in Fig. 2 and Fig 6; See [0035]) and having an inner portion surrounded by a middle portion and an outer portion surrounding the middle portion (See Fig. 2 and Fig. below);
a first transmitter (first transmitter 356 and 357 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073], [0084]) provided on the PCB and having a shape that surrounds a first portion of the PCB (356 is provided on PCB 50 that surrounds the middle portion/outer portion of PCB in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075]);
a second transmitter (second transmitter 359 and 358 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073], [0084]) provided on the portion of the PCB surrounded by the first transmitter (second transmitter 359 and 358 are also in outer portion of PCB 50 and surrounded by first transmitter 356 and 357 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075]),
a first receiver and a second receivers provided on the PCB (first receiver 360, 361 and second receiver 363, 362 on PCB 50 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]), and
wherein a rotation of the rotary inductive sensor target induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver (See [0040]-[0041]).
Miller teaches first receiver, second receiver, inner portion, outer portion of PCB (See Fig. above),
However Miller is silent about first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB; second transmitter provided on the first inner portion of the PCB, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB; first receiver associated with the first transmitter and second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter.
Shimizu teaches first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB (See first transmitter 12 is provided on outer portion of PCB 102 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]);
second transmitter provided on the first inner portion of the PCB (See second transmitter 11 is provided on inner portion of PCB 102 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]),
the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB (See second transmitter 11 is provided on inner portion of PCB 102 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]);
first receiver associated with the first transmitter and second receiver associated with the second transmitter (first receiver 112 associated with first transmitter 12 and second receiver 111 associated with second transmitter 11 in fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]),
both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter (111 and 112 are in middle portion of PCB between 12 and 11 in Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB; second transmitter provided on the first inner portion of the PCB, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB; first receiver associated with the first transmitter and second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter, as taught by Shimizu in order to achieve an angle detection device used in angle measuring instruments such as digital angle meters and rotary encoders that can detect absolute angles (Shimizu; [0001]).
Regarding Claim 2, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 1. Miller further teaches wherein first transmitter includes a first transmitter coil having a circular shape (See [0046]-[0047]) that surrounds the first and second receivers and the second transmitter (first transmitter 356 and 357 surround second transmitter 359, 358 and all receivers 360, 361, 362 and 363 in Fig. 6; See [0073], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 3, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 2. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter includes a second transmitter coil having a circular shape (See [0046]-[0047]), the second transmitter coil being surrounded by the first transmitter coil (first transmitter 356 and 357 surround second transmitter 359, 358 and all receivers 360, 361, 362 and 363 in Fig. 6; See [0073], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 4, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 3. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter coil includes a trace (See [0044]-[0047]) formed by etching (it’s inherent property that traces are formed by etching).
Regarding Claim 5, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 1. Miller further teaches wherein the first transmitter transmits at a first frequency and the second transmitter transmits at a second frequency that is different from the first frequency (as first transmitter and second transmitter induces change in voltage, therefor frequency is different; See [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding Claim 6, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 1. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (first receiver 360, 361 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 7, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 6. Miller further teaches wherein the second receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (second receiver 363, 362 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 8, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 7. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes three first receiver coils (first receiver 360, 361 have three coils 36a and 361a in Fig 6; See [0074]) and the second receiver includes three second receiver coils (second receiver 363, 362 have three coils 363a and 362a in Fig. 6; See [0074]), and wherein the three first receiver coils and the three second receiver coils are interleaved and surround the second transmitter (all receiver coils ate interleaved and surrounded by second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084])).
Regarding Claim 9, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 8. Miller further teaches including a first sensor circuit including a first inductive position sensor interface to receive voltage signals from the three first receiver coils (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and output a first sensor angle value (See [0043]).
Regarding Claim 10, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 9. Miller further teaches including a second sensor circuit including a second inductive position sensor interface to receive voltage signals from the three second receiver coils (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and output a second sensor angle value (See [0043]).
Regarding Claim 11, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly of claim 10. Miller further teaches wherein the first sensor circuit provides an excitation current to the first transmitter and the second sensor circuit provides an excitation current to the second transmitter (each sensor circuit provides an excitation current to the respective transmitter because it is inherent property to provide excitation current to transmitter to induce voltage; See [0040]-[0041], [0043]).
Regarding Claim 12, Miller teaches an inductive position sensing arrangement (inductive position sensing arrangement in Fig. 2; See [0029]-[0030]) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB 50 in Fig. 2; See [0034]) having a first side and a second opposing side (PCB 50 has two opposing sides 52 and 54 in Fig. 2 and Fig 6; See [0035]) and having an inner portion surrounded by a middle portion and an outer portion surrounding the middle portion (See Fig. 2 and Fig. below);
a first transmitter (first transmitter 356 and 357 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073], [0084]) provided on the PCB and having a shape that surrounds a middle portion of the PCB (356 is provided on PCB 50 that surrounds a middle portion of PCB in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075]);
a second transmitter (second transmitter 359 and 358 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073], [0084]) provided on the PCB and surrounded by the first transmitter (second transmitter 359 and 358 are on PCB 50 in Fig. 6 and Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075]); and
a first receiver and a second receivers provided on the PCB (first receiver 360, 361 and second receiver 363, 362 on PCB 50 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]),
wherein a rotation of an inductive sensor target (rotary inductive sensor target 34 in Fig. 2; See [0031]) induces a change in a first electrical voltage of the first receiver and a change in a second electrical voltage of the second receiver (See [0040]-[0041]).
Miller teaches first receiver, second receiver, inner portion, outer portion of PCB (See Fig. above),
However Miller is silent about first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB; second transmitter provided on the first inner portion of the PCB, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB; first receiver associated with the first transmitter and second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter.
Shimizu teaches first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB (See first transmitter 12 is provided on outer portion of PCB 102 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]);
second transmitter provided on the first inner portion of the PCB (See second transmitter 11 is provided on inner portion of PCB 102 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]),
the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB (See second transmitter 11 is provided on inner portion of PCB 102 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]);
first receiver associated with the first transmitter and second receiver associated with the second transmitter (first receiver 112 associated with first transmitter 12 and second receiver 111 associated with second transmitter 11 in fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]),
both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter (111 and 112 are in middle portion of PCB between 12 and 11 in Fig. 2; See [0013]-[0014]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Miller by using first transmitter provided on the outer portion of the PCB; second transmitter provided on the first inner portion of the PCB, the second transmitter having a shape that is disposed within the inner portion of the PCB; first receiver associated with the first transmitter and second receiver associated with the second transmitter, both the first and second receivers provided on the middle portion of the PCB between the first transmitter and the second transmitter, as taught by Shimizu in order to achieve an angle detection device used in angle measuring instruments such as digital angle meters and rotary encoders that can detect absolute angles (Shimizu; [0001]).
Regarding Claim 13, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 12. Miller further teaches wherein the first transmitter includes a first transmitter coil having a circular shape (See [0046]-[0047]) that surrounds the first and second receivers and the second transmitter (first transmitter 356 and 357 surround second transmitter 359, 358 and all receivers 360, 361, 362 and 363 in Fig. 6; See [0073], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 14, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 13. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter includes a second transmitter coil having a circular shape, the second transmitter coil being surrounded by the first transmitter coil, the second transmitter coil having a shape that surrounds a second portion of the PCB that is within the first portion of the PCB.
Regarding Claim 15, Miller teaches in view of Shimizu the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 14. Miller further teaches wherein the second transmitter coil includes a trace (See [0044]-[0047]) formed by etching (it’s inherent property that traces are formed by etching).
Regarding Claim 16, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 12. Miller further teaches wherein the first transmitter transmits at a first frequency and the second transmitter transmits at a second frequency that is different from the first frequency (as first transmitter and second transmitter induces change in voltage, therefor frequency is different; See [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding Claim 17, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 12. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (first receiver 360, 361 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 18, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 17. Miller further teaches wherein the second receiver includes a plurality of turns provided in a symmetrical pattern surrounding the second transmitter (second receiver 363, 362 have plurality of symmetrical turns surrounding second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]).
Regarding Claim 19, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 18. Miller further teaches wherein the first receiver includes three first receiver coils (first receiver 360, 361 have three coils 36a and 361a in Fig 6; See [0074]) and the second receiver includes three second receiver coils (second receiver 363, 362 have three coils 363a and 362a in Fig. 6; See [0074]), and
wherein the three first receiver coils and the three second receiver coils are interleaved (all receiver coils ate interleaved and surrounded by second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6 ad Fig. below; See [0073]-[0075], [0084]),
the inductive position sensing arrangement including a first sensor circuit having a first inductive position sensor interface to receive voltage signals from the three first receiver coils (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and output a first sensor angle value (See [0043]), and
wherein an input/output interface of an electronic controller receives the first sensor angle value (interface is in between integrated circuit and transmit/receive coil circuits; See [0040]-[0041]) and the electronic controller is configured to control vehicle acceleration or deceleration (See [0041]).
Regarding Claim 20, Miller in view of Shimizu teaches the pedal assembly inductive position sensing arrangement of claim 1. Miller further teaches wherein the first transmitter and the second transmitter are a distance apart from each other to provide geometric isolation (See the isolation between first transmitter 356, 357 and second transmitter 358, 359 in Fig. 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858