Note
Applicant’s response along with the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 12/09/2025 has been fully considered. Claims 1 and 14 are amended, claims 7, 9, 11 and 15 are cancelled and claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-14 and 16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi et al. (2004/0142122 A1) view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2005/0142305 A1), Aksay et al. (US 2016/0115293 A1) and van der Zwan et al. (US 2010/0189931 A1).
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 14: Taguchi teaches an ink jet printing sheet comprising a colorant receiving layer and a support (abstract), wherein the colorant receiving layer comprises a water soluble resin [0061] and a polymeric mordant of polydiallyldimethylammonium chloride {instant claim 2} [0118]. The colorant receiving layer meets the claimed inkjet receiver coating, and the polymeric mordant or polydiallyldimethylammonium chloride meets the claimed polyionic polymer. Taguchi teaches the support can be a paper [0152]. Taguchi teaches the colorant receiving layer comprises inorganic microparticles {instant claim 14} [0074], and a wet process silica is a suitable example of the inorganic microparticles [0076]. The wet process silica meets the claimed precipitated silica. Taguchi does not teach the specific surface area of the silica. However, Kobayashi teaches a wet process fine silica having a BET specific surface area of 100-400 m2/g [0082] in an ink jet recording sheet (abstract). Taguchi and Kobayashi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the ink jet recording medium art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the wet process fine silica of Kobayashi with the invention of Taguchi, and the motivation for combining would be, as Kobayashi suggested, to prevent cracking and to control ink absorptivity and glossiness [0082].
Taguchi teaches additives in the inkjet printing sheet [0130], but does not teach sodiumaluminate, double sulphate salt and polyaluminumchloride as suitable examples of the additives. However, Aksay teaches sodium aluminate, alum {meets the claimed double sulphate salt} and aluminum chlorohydrate {meets the claimed polyaluminumchloride} {instant claim 8} as suitable examples of an additive such as flocculating agents ([0038] and [0042]), wherein these agents/additives are used both in an ink composition and coating composition [0076]. Taguchi and Aksay are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the ink jet printing art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the sodium aluminate, alum or aluminum chlorohydrate of Aksay with the invention of Taguchi, and the motivation for combining would be to control ink fixing property of the layer.
Taguchi teaches the water soluble resin includes a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) [0063] but does not teach the PVA is mixed with a polyvinyl acetate (PVAc). However, van der Zwan teaches an ink receiving layer comprising a binder that is a blend of a water soluble polymer and a water dispersible polymer; and polyvinyl alcohol and polyvinyl acetate are suitable examples (abstract [0030] and [0038]). In Example 1, the amount of the polyvinyl alcohol is 5% by weight and the amount of the polyvinyl acetate is 4% by weight [0038]; therefore, it is interpreted that the PVA is the main constitution because the amount of the PVA is larger than that of the PVAc. With respect to the amount of the PVAc, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the content of the PVAc, and the motivation for adjusting the content of the PVAc to the claimed range would be to reduce flocculation. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Taguchi and van der Zwan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the ink jet recording medium art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the blended binder (PVA+PVAc) of van der Zwan with the invention of Taguchi, and the motivation would be to control aggregation and water resistance of the layer.
Claims 3 and 4: Taguchi teaches the colorant receiving layer comprises an acid [0131], and formic acid, acetic acid, tartaric acid, hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid and boronic acid are suitable examples of the acid {instant claim 4} [0132].
Claims 5 and 6: Taguchi teaches the colorant receiving layer comprises a metal salt [0124], and calcium chloride, magnesium chloride and magnesium acetate are suitable examples of the metal salt {instant claim 6} [0126].
Claim 10: Taguchi teaches the colorant receiving layer has a particle to binder ratio of 5:1 to 10:1 [0092].
Claims 12 and 13: Taguchi teaches the inorganic microparticles have a mean primary particle size of 2µm or less [0074].
Claim 16: Taguchi teaches a printing sheet comprising a support, the colorant receiving layer (Coating Solution A), a barrier layer and a Coating Solution B in the order thereof ([0178] and [0196]) in the order there of, wherein the colorant receiving layer and the barrier layer comprise water soluble resin ([0178] and [0197]). The colorant receiving layer meets the claimed first layer, and the barrier layer meets the claimed second layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-14 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Kobayashi teaches precipitated/wet process fine silica having BET specific surface area of 100-400 m2/g [0082].
For the above reasons claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-14 and 16 stand rejected.
Correspondence
BS
January 9, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785