DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 1 filed 09/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues “the alleged adhesive layer is not provided on the laser ablation layer as claim 1 requires.”
Examiner asserts “on” is inclusive of direct and/or indirect contact. Therefore as shown in fig. 8B of Yanagisawa, the adhesive layer (30) is provided on the laser ablation layer (13) illustrating both direct and indirect contact.
Applicant also argues “The rationale “to achieve highly precise, high yield transfer of fragile LEDs is a generic benefit that Yanagisawa does not tie to co-dividing a stacked ablation-and-adhesive film.”
Examiner asserts in response to applicant' s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it is known to one of ordinary skill in the art, the importance of the need for precise and high yield transfer of fragile LEDs is desired to minimize post transfer repair, maximize material savings, and ultimately increasing production throughput.
Applicant’s arguments, see Rejections Under 35 USC § 103, filed 09/18/2026, with respect to claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Rejections Under 35 USC § 103, filed 09/18/2026, with respect to claim 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa et al. (US 2020/0381590).
Regarding claim 1, Yanagisawa teaches A transfer substrate comprising:
a substrate [fig. 8B, substrate 14, para 76];
a laser ablation layer [fig. 8B, release layer 13, para 75] provided on the substrate (fig. 8B, 14); and
an adhesive layer [fig. 8B, SAP 30, para 87; wherein thermosetting resin is adhesive] provided on the laser ablation layer (fig. 8B, 30) and comprising a light emitting diode [fig. 8B, microLED 11, para 85],
wherein the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer are divided into a plurality of portions each comprising ones of the plurality of light emitting diodes.
Yanagisawa fails to explicitly disclose in Fig. 8B a plurality of light emitting diodes
wherein the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer are divided into a plurality of portions each comprising ones of the plurality of light emitting diodes.
However, Yanagisawa teaches in various other embodiments specifically fig. 6 a plurality of light emitting diodes [fig. 6, micro LEDs 11]
wherein the laser ablation layer (fig. 6, 13) are divided into a plurality of portions each comprising ones of the plurality of light emitting diodes (fig. 6, 11).
Yanagisawa fails to explicitly disclose in Fig. 8B or 6 wherein the adhesive layer are divided into a plurality of portions.
However, Yanagisawa teaches in fig. 15 wherein the adhesive layer (fig. 15, 30) are divided into a plurality of portions (fig. 15).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer are divided into plurality portions each comprising a light emitting diode to achieve highly precise, high yield transfer of fragile LEDs.
Regarding claim 2, Yanagisawa teaches The transfer substrate of claim 1,
wherein the substrate (fig. 8B, 14) is configured to transmit a laser beam [para 76].
Claim(s) 16 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa as applied to claims 1-2 and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0348392).
Regarding claim 16, Yanagisawa teaches The transfer substrate of claim 2.
Yanagisawa fails to explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablation layer and the adhesive layer are sequentially stacked on the substrate,
and are divided together such that each of the plurality of portions comprises a single one of the plurality of light emitting diodes.
However Chen teaches wherein the laser ablation layer [fig. 5, release layer 106, para 39] and the adhesive layer [fig. 5, adhesive layer 108, para 39] are sequentially stacked on the substrate (fig. 5, wafer 104, para 39],
and are divided together such that each of the plurality of portions comprises a single one of the plurality of light emitting diodes [fig. 5, chips 102, para 39].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the adhesive and release layer to be sequentially stacked and divided together with each LED for simplification of mass transfer while also protecting the LED and adhesive layer during lift off as the release layer shields the LED and adhesive layer from degradation due to heat.
Regarding claim 19, Yanagisawa/Chen teaches The transfer substrate of claim 16,
wherein each of the plurality of light emitting diodes (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, 11) comprises
a light emitting surface (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, top surface opposite of device side of LED 11), and
a first electrode (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, 12) and a second electrode (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, 12) provided on a side opposite to the light emitting surface (Yanagisawa, para 69 discloses electrode are device side), and
wherein the first electrode (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, 12) and the second electrode (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, 12) of each of the plurality of light emitting diodes (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, 11) are covered by a corresponding one of portions of the adhesive layer (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, adhesive layer 32) and
with the light emitting surface (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, top surface opposite device side) facing away from the substrate (Yanagisawa, fig. 11, driving substrate 20).
Yanagisawa fails to explicitly disclose in fig. 11 wherein the adhesive layer (32) is separated into a plurality of portions.
However Yanagisawa discloses in fig 13 wherein the adhesive layer (32) can be separated into a plurality of portions.
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the adhesive layer to be separated into a plurality of portions to ensure strong bonding of each LED during transfer to reduce the amount of defective transfers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15 & 17-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, Takagi teaches A light emitting diode transfer method comprising:
transferring a plurality of light emitting diodes [fig. 13, microLED 11, para 103] from a wafer [fig. 13, substrate 14, para 104] to a first transfer substrate [fig. 13, substrate 20, para 104] on which a first laser ablation layer [fig. 13, release layer 131, para 102] and a first adhesive layer [fig. 13, release layer 132, para 106; wherein polyimide and/or epoxy resins as taught by Takagi are adhesive] is are stacked [fig. 13];
removing first exposed portions of the first laser ablation layer and the first adhesive layer [fig. 13; wherein the first ablation layer 131 and first adhesive layer 132 are removed upon transfer of microLED 11],
the first exposed portions being exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes [fig. 13; wherein a gap between each microLED 11 is exposed].
Takagi fails to explicitly disclose transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes from the first transfer substrate to a second transfer substrate on which a second laser ablation layer and a second adhesive layer are stacked;
removing second exposed portions of the second laser ablation layer and the second adhesive layer,
the second exposed portions being exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes; and
transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes from the second transfer substrate to a target substrate.
However, Kim teaches transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes [fig. 10, LEDs 300, para 124] from the first transfer substrate [fig. 10, interposer substrate 520, para 124] to a second transfer substrate [fig. 10, carrier substrate 530, para 124]
on which a second adhesive layer [fig. 10, adhesive layer 531, para 125] are stacked;
removing second exposed portions of the second adhesive layer [fig. 10, 531, para 126, “the adhesive layer 531 that does not contact the light emitting surface of the plurality of LEDs 300 may be removed. Removal of the adhesive layer 531 may be performed by various methods. For example, the adhesive layer 531 may be partially removed by etching or laser irradiation.”],
the second exposed portions being exposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes [para 126]; and
transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes [fig. 11, LEDs 300] from the second transfer substrate (fig. 11, 530) to a target substrate [fig. 11, backplane 100, para 127].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transfer the plurality of light emitting diodes from the first transfer substrate to a second substrate removing the exposed portions of the adhesive layer to enable precise rearrangement, inspection and defect repair of LEDs before final bonding.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose a second laser ablation layer;
Removing second exposed portions of the second laser ablation layer.
Thereby claim 3 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein.
Claims 4-11 & 17-18 contain allowable subject matter at least based upon their dependency on claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, Takagi/Kim teaches A light emitting diode transfer method comprising: transferring a plurality of light emitting diodes from a wafer to a first transfer substrate, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes are arranged in a grid on the first transfer substrate; transferring, from the first transfer substrate to a second transfer substrate, the plurality of light emitting diodes at first predetermined intervals in a first direction; and transferring, from the second transfer substrate to a target substrate, the plurality of light emitting diodes at second predetermined intervals in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein the grid comprises a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, wherein an arrangement of the plurality of light emitting diodes on the first transfer substrate comprises a first chip pitch, between the plurality of rows, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes arranged on the second transfer substrate are arranged with a third chip pitch between the plurality of rows, and wherein the third chip pitch is greater than the first chip pitch.
Thereby claim 12 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein.
Claims 13-15 contain allowable subject matter at least based upon their dependency on claim 12.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812