DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant's “Amendment” filed on 2/13/2026 has been considered.
Rejection to Claims 3-6, 8, 22-25, 27, 41-43, 45 under 35 USC 112 have been overcome.
Rejection to Claims 1-55 under 35 USC 101 have not been overcome.
Claims 1, 3, 8, 20-22, 27, 39-41, 45 are amended.
Claims 1-55 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories. All the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (YES).
Under Step 2A of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG), it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception. Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception (YES). Taking Claim 1 as representative, the claim recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas, including:
A computer-implemented system for online queries and searches to provide targeted search and query results, the system comprising:
a reference data database, the reference data database including reference data;
a search term database, the search term database including a plurality of search terms;
at least one server communicatively coupled to a network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database;
a collaborator unit communicatively coupled to the network and configured to access the reference data database and the search term database via the network;
wherein the collaborator unit receives at least one user input inputted into an interaction space of a user device, the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device to define a first user input;
wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data;
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the first user input to the plurality of search terms based on the at least one collaboration to define a first query input;
wherein the collaborator unit associates the first query input with at least a portion of the reference data to generate a first output response to be displayed at the user device, the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue;
wherein the cue includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response, and an inquiry to accept the first output response;
wherein the collaborator unit is operable to receive an additional user input responsive to the cue to define a refined user input;
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the refined user input to the plurality of search terms to define a refined query input;
wherein the collaborator unit associates the refined query input with at least a portion of the reference data and with the first output response to generate a refined output response to be displayed at the user device.
Certain methods of organizing human activity include:
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk)
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and business relations)
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)
The limitations as emphasized, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction. That is, other than reciting that a user interface is generated from the list and products are displayed on the user interface, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by people. For example, “access, receives, compares and matches, associates, receive, compares and matches, and associates” in the context of this claim encompasses advertising, and marketing or sales activities.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Under Prong 2, it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (NO).
The claim recites additional elements beyond the judicial exception(s), including:
A computer-implemented system for online queries and searches to provide targeted search and query results, the system comprising:
a reference data database, the reference data database including reference data;
a search term database, the search term database including a plurality of search terms;
at least one server communicatively coupled to a network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database;
a collaborator unit communicatively coupled to the network and configured to access the reference data database and the search term database via the network;
wherein the collaborator unit receives at least one user input inputted into an interaction space of a user device, the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device to define a first user input;
wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data;
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the first user input to the plurality of search terms based on the at least one collaboration to define a first query input;
wherein the collaborator unit associates the first query input with at least a portion of the reference data to generate a first output response to be displayed at the user device, the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue;
wherein the cue includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response, and an inquiry to accept the first output response;
wherein the collaborator unit is operable to receive an additional user input responsive to the cue to define a refined user input;
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the refined user input to the plurality of search terms to define a refined query input;
wherein the collaborator unit associates the refined query input with at least a portion of the reference data and with the first output response to generate a refined output response to be displayed at the user device.
These limitations (deemphasized) are not indicative of integration into a practical application because:
The additional elements of claim 1 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.) Specifically, the additional element of a collaborator unit, a network, and a user device is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of connecting to a platform on a network) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks). For example, stating that the collaborator unit is operable to perform receiving, comparing, and associating steps, only generally links the commercial interactions and management of relationships or interactions between people to a computer environment. Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Additionally, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, ii) apply the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, it is determined whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims of the present application do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (NO).
In the case of system claim 1, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 9 do not provide an inventive concept. As discussed above under step 2A (prong 2) with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed functions amount to no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements do not add anything significantly more than when considered individually.
Therefore, claim 1 does not provide an inventive concept and does not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claim 20 is a system reciting similar functions as claim 1, though differing in scope, and does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons.
Claim 39 is a method reciting similar functions as claim 1, and does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons.
Claims 2-19, 21-38 and 40-55 are dependencies of claims 1, 20 and 39. The dependent claims do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. They recite additional functions that describe the abstract idea and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, including:
the shopping device may be any smart device which can operate interactively and autonomously, and which may connect to and interface with the platform. (further limiting the device not make the abstract idea less abstract)
an order may be created in a digital or physical environment, including but not limited to various medium or vectors of entry. (only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment)
the peer-to-peer sharing further comprises the input of an item into a personal virtual shopping cart thus creating an order for the item. (sales activities or behaviors)
the order may be sent to selected recipient's personal virtual shopping cart along with a request for feedback, and the recipient of a request for feedback may in turn provide feedback to the sender by sending the feedback to the sender's personal virtual shopping cart. (receiving and transmitting data over a network)
an order placed in a recipient's personal virtual shopping cart is an actual order replicated from the order in the sender's personal virtual shopping cart, (retrieving stored data, transmitting data over a network) whereby the recipient may then accept and proceed to purchase the item or items, or hold the order, or reject and delete the order from the recipient's personal virtual shopping cart (extra post solution activity)
the feedback provided by various users may be collected and collated in the sender's personal virtual shopping cart together with all the information relating to the order. (storing information in memory)
upon being notified of the acceptance of an order from a merchant's store or advertisement sent and placed in a shopper's personal virtual shopping cart, (receiving and transmitting data over a network) the merchant may engage the referred shoppers directly and provide incentives to try to convert the order into a positive sale. (commercial interactions, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors)
the orders created in the personal virtual shopping carts are actual orders, which the shoppers may proceed to purchase, directly from the merchants of the items referred to in the said orders. (extra post solution activity)
the items entered into the personal virtual shopping carts may be from several unrelated and distinct merchants. (further limiting the items does not make the abstract idea less abstract, only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment.)
upon entering of the items into a personal virtual shopping cart and creating orders therein, (sales activities or behaviors) all relevant information of the items as made available by the merchant of the items may be retrieved from the platform to which the smart device is connected (retrieving information in memory) and may be then perused in the personal virtual shopping cart. (sales activities or behaviors, transmitting information over a network)
an order will remain in the personal virtual shopping cart until a shopper proceeds to purchase the items in the order or deletes the order from the personal virtual shopping cart. (storing information in memory)
information of the items in an order, as reflected in the personal virtual shopping cart will be updated in real time and the shopper would be prompted and notified of such changes accordingly. (transmitting data over a network)
the sender or a recipient of an order is not restricted from and may create and share orders with one or more recipients or a group of recipients at the same time or at different times, via the personal virtual shopping cart. (managing personal behavior or interactions between people, transmitting data over a network, advertising marketing or sales activities or behaviors)
the personal virtual shopping cart may be presented within an application or through a web browser on any device which can operate interactively and autonomously, and which is connected to the proprietary platform. (transmitting data over a network, further limiting the device, only generally linking the abstract idea to a technological environment)
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,922,344 B1 to CHRISTOPHE in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2017/0323328 A1 to NAM in further view of US 12105729 B1 to HAQ.
Regarding Claim 1, CHRISTOPHE discloses a computer-implemented system for queries and searches to provide targeted search and query results, the system comprising:
a reference data store, the reference data store including reference data; a search term store, the search term store including a plurality of search terms; ([Col 4 Ln 25-35] the content distribution system maintains an index that maps partial queries (search term database including a plurality of search terms) to query suggestions (reference data database including reference data) and accesses the index at query time to identify query suggestions for providing advertisements. [Col 1 Ln 20-25] A search query is data that a user submits to a search system to obtain search results for resources in an effort to satisfy the user's informational needs. The search queries can be received in the form of text input, e.g., one or more query terms)
a collaborator unit communicatively coupled to a network and configured to access the reference data database and the search term database; ([Col 4 Ln 25-35] the content distribution system (collaborator unit) maintains an index that maps partial queries to query suggestions and accesses the index at query time to identify query suggestions for providing advertisements.)
wherein the collaborator unit receives at least one user input inputted into an interaction space of a user device, to define a first user input; ([Col 4 Ln 30-40] the index may include a list of partial queries and, for each partial query, a list of query suggestions for which advertisements may be provided. The query suggestion system may select a proper subset of the query suggestions for a partial query based on one or more of several criteria, [Col 1 Ln 40-45] the term “query suggestion” is a suggested query that can be used to refine a search query that has been input by the user.)
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the first user input to the plurality of search terms to define a first query input; ([Col 4 Ln 50-65] A partial query can thus be one or more keyboard inputs that define a prefix or a stem of a word, or can also be an entire word or words. For example, the letter “a” is a partial query, as the letter “a” is the stem for the words “aardvark,” “Appalacia,” etc. (plurality of search terms) The partial query itself can also be a word, such as the letter “a” is a word. Likewise, the word “New” is also a partial query, as it can be combined with “York” or “England” to form other queries. [Col 1 Ln 55-60] receiving a request for advertisements, the request specifying a set of query suggestions, the set of query suggestions being identified for a partial query received from a user device;)
wherein the collaborator unit associates the first query input with at least a portion of the reference data to generate a first output response to be displayed at the user device; ([Col 4 Ln 15-30] For example, if a ranking of query suggestions for the partial query “to” includes a highest ranked query suggestion “toy” and lower ranked query suggestions “toy store,” and “tools,” the content distribution system may provide advertisements for the query suggestions “toy” and “toy store,” while not providing advertisements for the query suggestion “tools,” as the query suggestion “toy store” is more closely related to the top ranked query suggestion “toy” than the query suggestion “tools.”)
wherein the collaborator unit is operable to receive an additional user input to define a refined user input; ([Col 17 Ln 13-25] if a user refines a query “New York” to the query “New York City,” then the search system 110 may store information specifying the refinement in the historical data store 114. If this refinement occurs at least a threshold number of times, then the search system 110 may include the query “New York City” as a refinement of the query “New York” in the search index 112. In turn, the search system 110 may provide information specifying the refinement to the advertisement management system 140.)
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the refined user input to the plurality of search terms to define a refined query input; ([Col 17 Ln 40-50] In some implementations, the search system 110 provides instructions for requesting advertisements for the highest ranking query suggestion and a threshold number (e.g., one or two) of the most semantically related or closest refinements to the highest ranking suggestion only for partial queries having an IDF that exceeds the threshold IDF.)
wherein the collaborator unit associates the refined query input with at least a portion of the reference data and with the first output response to generate a refined output response to be displayed at the user device.. ([Col 17 Ln 24-35] the advertisement management system 140 evaluates query refinements for the highest ranked query suggestion to determine that the query suggestions are refinements for the highest ranked query suggestion. For example, the advertisement management system 140 may compare a category or vertical for the highest ranked query suggestion to the category or vertical for each refinement query suggestion to ensure that there is a match. If there is not a match for a query refinement, then the advertisement management system 140 may not consider the query refinement for providing advertisements.)
But does not explicitly disclose the data stores are databases; online queries; at least one server communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database; via the network; the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device; wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; based on the at least one collaboration; the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue; wherein the cut includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response; responsive to the cue. CHRISTOPHE does disclose an index.
NAM, on the other hand, teaches databases. ([0101] the advertisement interaction control server 10 includes a database 50 for storing the interactive advertisement exposure application 4 to be downloadable to the user terminal 2, and storing URL matching information of the advertisement information for each search term, matching information of the interactive advertisement information for each search term, and the interactive advertisement information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by CHRISTOPHE, the features as taught by NAM, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHRISTOPHE, to include the teachings of NAM, in order to effectively expose customers to shopping information (NAM, [0002]).
HAQ, on the other hand, teaches online queries; at least one server communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database; via the network; the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device; wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; based on the at least one collaboration; the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue; wherein the cut includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response; responsive to the cue.. (FIG. 15 is a screenshot of a question and answer (Q&A) output screen 1500, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the disclosed subject matter. In FIG. 15, the Q&A output screen 1500 is shown after the Q&A menu option 803 has been selected and includes a Q&A question or search entry section 1507 in which the user can enter questions or search requests. The Q&A question or search entry section 1507 also includes the domain selection section 806 and a LFQA toggle 1509 that when selected connects the user to a distinctive mode of query assistance called “Low-Fidelity Query Assistance,” which is an innovative search approach that enhances the user's experience. Upon activation, the LFQA toggle 1509 facilitates an AI-driven interpretation of user queries, which can process and respond to vague or imprecise inputs. This feature offers a unique and responsive user interaction by offering suggestions, prompts, or modified queries in an attempt to express the user's intent more accurately to more effectively guide users toward more refined search outcomes. In the Q&A output screen 1500, the menu options from FIGS. 13-14 for the evaluation year menu 1321, the topic(s) menu 1322, the document(s) menu 1323, and the domain(s) menu 1324 are now shown in their unexpanded configurations and available in a row under the Q&A question or search entry section 1507. The Q&A output screen 1500 also includes an information section with suggestions for questions and/or search requests that can be entered in the Q&A question or search entry section 1507..)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by CHRISTOPHE, the features as taught by HAQ, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHRISTOPHE, to include the teachings of HAQ, in order to permit users to parse and search through and to generate detailed content (HAQ, [Col 1 Ln 5-15]).
Regarding Claim 2, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the reference data includes, non-user profile data, publisher data, and product data.. ([Col 5 Ln 5-15] For situations in which the systems discussed here collect information about users, or may make use of information about users, the users may be provided with an opportunity to control whether programs or features collect user information (e.g., information about a user's social network, social actions or activities, profession, a user's preferences, or a user's current location), or to control whether and/or how to receive content from the content server that may be more relevant to the user. [Col 20 Ln 65-67] The search interface 702 can display web, image, video, product, or document search results, to name a few examples.)
Regarding Claim 3, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 2.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the reference data further comprises user profile data; wherein the user profile data is associated with a current user of the user device; and wherein the user profile data includes at least one of input history inputted by the current user, internet search history of the current user, geographic location of the current user, present time of day, present date, current season at the geographic location of the user device, online purchase history by the current user, website browsing history of the current user, type of user device being used, and length of present internet session of the current user. ([Col 5 Ln 5-15] For situations in which the systems discussed here collect information about users, or may make use of information about users, the users may be provided with an opportunity to control whether programs or features collect user information (e.g., information about a user's social network, social actions or activities, profession, a user's preferences, or a user's current location), or to control whether and/or how to receive content from the content server that may be more relevant to the user. [Col 6 Ln 50-60] The data stored in the historical data store 114 can be used to map search queries 109 submitted during search sessions to resources 105 that were identified in search results 111 and the actions taken by the users.)
Regarding Claim 4, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 3.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the collaborator unit is operable to update the user profile data with at least one of the first user input, the first query input, the first output response, the refined user input, the refined query input, and the refined output response; wherein the collaborator unit is operable to identify a user history request based on at least one of the first user input and the refined user input; wherein the collaborator unit displays at least a portion of the user profile data based on the user history request. ([Col 5 Ln 5-15] For situations in which the systems discussed here collect information about users, or may make use of information about users, the users may be provided with an opportunity to control whether programs or features collect user information (e.g., information about a user's social network, social actions or activities, profession, a user's preferences, or a user's current location), or to control whether and/or how to receive content from the content server that may be more relevant to the user. [Col 6 Ln 50-60] The data stored in the historical data store 114 can be used to map search queries 109 submitted during search sessions to resources 105 that were identified in search results 111 and the actions taken by the users. [Col 9 Ln 25-35] In some implementations, the query suggestions 115 are based on search history data associated with an identifier corresponding to the user device 106 that submitted the query suggestion request. For example, the query suggestions 115 can be suggestions based on frequency co-occurrence and query stemming of queries stored in the historical data store 114 associated with the identifier.)
Regarding Claim 5, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 2.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the non-user profile data includes at least one of input history inputted by other users, internet search history of the other users, geographic location of the other users, time-stamps of the other users, time-stamps of the seasons of the other users, online purchase history by the other users, and website browsing history of the other users. ([Col 5 Ln 5-15] For situations in which the systems discussed here collect information about users, or may make use of information about users, the users may be provided with an opportunity to control whether programs or features collect user information (e.g., information about a user's social network, social actions or activities, profession, a user's preferences, or a user's current location), or to control whether and/or how to receive content from the content server that may be more relevant to the user. [Col 6 Ln 50-60] The data stored in the historical data store 114 can be used to map search queries 109 submitted during search sessions to resources 105 that were identified in search results 111 and the actions taken by the users. The data stored in the historical data store 114 can thus be used by the search system 110 to determine the sequence of queries submitted by the user devices 106, the actions taken in response to the search queries 109, and how often the search queries 109 are submitted.)
Regarding Claim 6, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 2.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the publisher data is associated with at least one of an online product publisher and an online retailer; ([Col 5 Ln 40-45] Each web site 104 is maintained by a publisher, e.g., an entity that manages and/or owns the web site 104.) and wherein the publisher data includes at least one of publisher review ratings, publisher engagement count, publisher placement bids, publisher sales history, publisher product offerings, publisher geographic location, publisher trust rating, and publisher success history. ([Col 6 Ln 35-50] For example, the search system 110 can store received search queries in the historical data store 114. Selection data specifying actions taken in response to search results 111 provided in response to each search query 109 are also stored in the historical data store 114, for example by the search system 110. These actions can include whether a search result 111 was selected, e.g., clicked or (publisher success history) hovered over, and for each selection, for which search query 109 the search result 111 was provided. In some implementations, the query data are stored in a query log and the selection data are stored in a separate selection log..)
Regarding Claim 7, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 2.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the product data is associated with at least one of a good offered online and a service offered online; wherein the product data includes at least one of product price, product price history, relative product price to comparable products, product quantity in stock, estimated shipping cost, estimated product shipping speed, product geographic location, product source location, product review rating, product purchase history, product engagement history, product return history, product satisfaction rating, associated supplier, publisher data of the product, and at least one product characteristic; and wherein the at least one product characteristic includes at least one of product type, product quality, product associated occasion, product dimensions, product associated use, product brand, product material, product style, product color, and product use compatibility. ([Col 20 Ln 65-67] The search interface 702 can display web, image, video, product, or document search results, to name a few examples. [Col 6 Ln 35-50] For example, the search system 110 can store received search queries in the historical data store 114. Selection data specifying actions taken in response to search results 111 provided in response to each search query 109 are also stored in the historical data store 114, for example by the search system 110. These actions can include whether a search result 111 was selected, e.g., clicked or (product engagement history) hovered over, and for each selection, for which search query 109 the search result 111 was provided. In some implementations, the query data are stored in a query log and the selection data are stored in a separate selection log..)
Regarding Claim 8, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the first user input and the refined user input comprises at least one of a character, a word, a phrase, a sentence, a spoken language, a speech-to-text input, an image, a webpage, a document, a statement, a request, a point of information, and a question; wherein each of the first user input and the refined user input is associated with a description; and wherein the description includes at least one of an occasion, a use, problem, want, need, a date, date of use, date of receival, date range, a price, price range, geographic location, a good, a good type, a service, a service type, and product traits; wherein the description includes product traits; and wherein the product traits include quality, reliability, color, style, dimensions, compatibility, popularity, source, provider, and product composition. ([Col 21 Ln 60-Col 22 Ln 5] FIG. 7B shows the progression from FIG. 7A in response to the user inputting the letter “I” into the query entry field 703 to produce an updated partial query “pi.” In FIG. 7B, the query suggestions presented in the query suggestion box 710 have been updated to “Pizza restaurant,” “Piano,” and “Pie” based on the updated partial query 705. For example, the user device 106 may provide a query suggestion request with the updated partial query 705 to the search system 110 and, in turn, the search system 110 can provide the updated query suggestions to the user device 106.)
Regarding Claim 9, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the first query input is provided as a list of matched search terms; wherein the refined query input is provided as a list of refined matched search terms. ([Col 21 Ln 1-10] the query suggestions (matched search terms) “Pizza restaurant,” “Pet store,” and “Park are query suggestions provided responsive to the partial query “p.” For example, the user has entered the text “p” into the query input field 703 and the search interface 702 has caused the user device 106 to send query data defining the partial query “p” to the search system 110. [Col 21 Ln 60-Col 22 Ln 5] FIG. 7B shows the progression from FIG. 7A in response to the user inputting the letter “I” into the query entry field 703 to produce an updated partial query “pi.” In FIG. 7B, the query suggestions presented in the query suggestion box 710 have been updated to “Pizza restaurant,” “Piano,” and “Pie” (refined matched search terms) based on the updated partial query 705. For example, the user device 106 may provide a query suggestion request with the updated partial query 705 to the search system 110 and, in turn, the search system 110 can provide the updated query suggestions to the user device 106.)
Regarding Claim 10, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 9.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein each of the plurality of search terms is associated with at least one search parameter; and wherein the at least one search parameter comprises at least one of a good constraint, a good type constraint, a service constraint, a service type constraint, a geographic location constraint, a weather constraint, a season constraint, a use indication constraint, a problem indication constraint, a cost constraint, a time constraint, a good characteristics constraint, a service characteristics constraint, and a source constraint.. ([Col 17 Ln 25-35] the advertisement management system 140 may compare a category or vertical for the highest ranked query suggestion to the category or vertical for each refinement query suggestion to ensure that there is a match. [Col 19 Ln 25-30] the commercial value score for a query suggestion 115 is based on the performance of advertisements 113 that are in the same category or vertical of the query suggestion 115. For example, if advertisements for digital music players perform well, then the commercial value score for the query suggestion “mp3 player” may be high, as mp3 players can be considered in the same category as digital music players.)
Regarding Claim 11, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; and wherein the first query input is defined by comparing and matching the first user input to the plurality of search terms based on the at least one correlation. ([Col 9 Ln 25-35] In some implementations, the query suggestions 115 are based on search history data associated with an identifier corresponding to the user device 106 that submitted the query suggestion request. For example, the query suggestions 115 can be suggestions based on frequency co-occurrence and query stemming of queries stored in the historical data store 114 associated with the identifier.)
Regarding Claim 12, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the collaborator unit performs a refined interpretation process to determine at least one refined correlation between the first user input, the refined user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; and wherein the refined query input is defined by comparing and matching the refined user input to the plurality of search terms based on the at least one refined correlation. ([Col 9 Ln 25-35] In some implementations, the query suggestions 115 are based on search history data associated with an identifier corresponding to the user device 106 that submitted the query suggestion request. For example, the query suggestions 115 can be suggestions based on frequency co-occurrence and query stemming of queries stored in the historical data store 114 associated with the identifier.)
Regarding Claim 13, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the first output response and the refined output response each comprise at least one of a prompt and a landing page. ([Col 10 Ln 5-25] The query input field 132 can receive query characters from a user, e.g., keystroke inputs, and provide each input to the search system 110. In response to the query suggestion request, the search system 110, for example in connection with the query suggestion system 120, identifies and ranks query suggestions 115 (prompts) according to an order from highest rank to lowest rank. For example, the query suggestion system 120 can access the historical data store 114 and determine query suggestions 115 based on search queries that have the query characters “mp” as a query stem, e.g., “mp3 player,” “mp3 converter,” and “mpg calculator.” Or, the search system 110 can access the search index 112 to identify and rank query suggestions indexed for the partial query. The search system 110 can also identify search results 111 (landing page) for one or more of the query suggestions 115, such as for the highest ranked query suggestion. The search system 110 can provide the identified query suggestions 115 and/or the identified search results 111 to the user device 106.)
Regarding Claim 14, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 13.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the prompt is displayed at least one of at the interaction space and adjacent to the interaction space; wherein the prompt comprises at least one of a conversation indicator and a product listing; wherein the conversation indicator comprises at least one of a statement, a question, an assertion, a declaration, an explanation, an exclamation, an answer, and a command; and wherein the product listing includes at least one of a hyperlink, a product advertisement, and a product description.. ([Col 21 Ln 1-20] The search interface 702 includes a query suggestion box 710. In FIG. 7A, the query suggestions “Pizza restaurant,” “Pet store,” and “Park are query suggestions (questions) provided responsive to the partial query “p.” For example, the user has entered the text “p” into the query input field 703 and the search interface 702 has caused the user device 106 to send query data defining the partial query “p” to the search system 110. In response, the search system 110 has provided query suggestions 712a, 712b, and 712c for the partial query for presentation in the query suggestion box 710. The search interface 702 also includes advertisement clusters 720 and 730. The advertisement cluster 720 includes advertisements 724a and 724b that have been selected and provided by the advertisement management system 140 for the query suggestion “Pizza restaurant.” The advertisement cluster 720 also includes a label 722 that indicates to the user that the advertisements 724a and 724b in the cluster 720 have been provided for the query suggestion “Pizza restaurant.”)
Regarding Claim 15, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 14.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the conversation indicator includes a cue; and wherein the cue includes a request for at least one of, user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine at least one of the first output response and the refined output response, and an inquiry to accept at least one of the first output response and the refined output response with the user input inputted responsive to the cue. ([Col 21 Ln 1-20] The search interface 702 includes a query suggestion box 710. In FIG. 7A, the query suggestions “Pizza restaurant,” “Pet store,” and “Park are query suggestions (cue including a request for user input to refine output response) provided responsive to the partial query “p.” For example, the user has entered the text “p” into the query input field 703 and the search interface 702 has caused the user device 106 to send query data defining the partial query “p” to the search system 110. In response, the search system 110 has provided query suggestions 712a, 712b, and 712c for the partial query for presentation in the query suggestion box 710. The search interface 702 also includes advertisement clusters 720 and 730. The advertisement cluster 720 includes advertisements 724a and 724b that have been selected and provided by the advertisement management system 140 for the query suggestion “Pizza restaurant.” The advertisement cluster 720 also includes a label 722 that indicates to the user that the advertisements 724a and 724b in the cluster 720 have been provided for the query suggestion “Pizza restaurant.”)
Regarding Claim 16, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 13.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the landing page comprises at least one of a product offering webpage, a goods offering webpage, a service offering webpage, a publisher website, a retailer website, a merchant webpage, a product review webpage, a product discussion webpage and a formulated webpage; and wherein the formulated webpage comprises at least one of a formulated offering webpage and a formulated directory webpage. ([Col 7 Ln 35-45] The advertisement request 117 can include a publisher identifier and, optionally, keyword identifiers related to the content of the resource or other information that can be used by the advertisement management system 140 to identify advertisements. The advertisement management system 140, in turn, provides advertisements 113 to the particular user. When a user selects an advertisement 113, the user device 106 generates a request for a landing page of the advertisement 113, which is typically a web page of the advertiser.)
Regarding Claim 17, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 13.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the first output response is based on the portion of the reference data associated with the first query input; and wherein the refined output response is based on the portion of the reference data associated with the refined query input. ([Col 21 Ln 1-20] The search interface 702 includes a query suggestion box 710. In FIG. 7A, the query suggestions “Pizza restaurant,” “Pet store,” and “Park are query suggestions (cue including a request for user input to refine output response) provided responsive to the partial query “p.” For example, the user has entered the text “p” into the query input field 703 and the search interface 702 has caused the user device 106 to send query data defining the partial query “p” to the search system 110. In response, the search system 110 has provided query suggestions 712a, 712b, and 712c for the partial query for presentation in the query suggestion box 710. The search interface 702 also includes advertisement clusters 720 and 730. The advertisement cluster 720 includes advertisements 724a and 724b that have been selected and provided by the advertisement management system 140 for the query suggestion “Pizza restaurant.” The advertisement cluster 720 also includes a label 722 that indicates to the user that the advertisements 724a and 724b in the cluster 720 have been provided for the query suggestion “Pizza restaurant.”)
Regarding Claim 18, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses wherein the reference data database and the search term database are communicatively coupled to the network; and wherein the collaborator unit accesses the reference data database and the search term database via the network. ([Col 24 Ln 40-45] The computing system can include clients and servers. A client and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network. The relationship of client and server arises by virtue of computer programs running on the respective computers and having a client-server relationship to each other.)
Regarding Claim 19, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the system of claim 1.
CHRISTOPHE discloses further comprising at least one server communicatively coupled to the network; wherein the reference data database and the search term database are downloadable and updatable to be stored on the user device; wherein the at least one server stores at least one of updated reference data and updated search terms; and wherein the collaborator unit accesses the at least one server via the network and updates at least a portion of the reference data with the updated reference data and update the plurality of search terms with the updated search terms. ([Col 7 Ln 5-10] As a user continues to enter characters into the search interface, the search system 110 can select new query suggestions based on the updated partial query and provide additional search results pages for presentation at the user device 106. [Col 14 Ln 40-50] The advertisement management system 140 may also update a performance measure for the advertisement 113 with respect to the partial query and/or a performance measure for the advertisement 113 with respect to the query suggestion 115 for which the advertisement 113 was requested. [Col 24 Ln 40-45] The computing system can include clients and servers. A client and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network. The relationship of client and server arises by virtue of computer programs running on the respective computers and having a client-server relationship to each other. [Col 5 Ln 65-Col 6 Ln 5] To facilitate searching of resources 105, the search system 110 identifies the resources 105 by crawling and indexing the resources 105 provided on web sites 104. Data about the resources 105 can be indexed based on the resource to which the data corresponds. The indexed and, optionally, cached copies of the resources 105 are stored in a search index 112.)
Regarding Claim 20, CHRISTOPHE discloses a computer-implemented system for queries and searches to provide targeted search and query results, the system comprising:
a reference data store, the reference data store including reference data; a search term store, the search term store including a plurality of search terms; ([Col 4 Ln 25-35] the content distribution system maintains an index that maps partial queries (search term database including a plurality of search terms) to query suggestions (reference data database including reference data) and accesses the index at query time to identify query suggestions for providing advertisements. [Col 1 Ln 20-25] A search query is data that a user submits to a search system to obtain search results for resources in an effort to satisfy the user's informational needs. The search queries can be received in the form of text input, e.g., one or more query terms)
a collaborator unit communicatively coupled to a network and configured to access the reference data database and the search term database; ([Col 4 Ln 25-35] the content distribution system (collaborator unit) maintains an index that maps partial queries to query suggestions and accesses the index at query time to identify query suggestions for providing advertisements.)
wherein the collaborator unit receives at least one user input inputted into an interaction space of a user device, to define a first user input; ([Col 4 Ln 30-40] the index may include a list of partial queries and, for each partial query, a list of query suggestions for which advertisements may be provided. The query suggestion system may select a proper subset of the query suggestions for a partial query based on one or more of several criteria, [Col 1 Ln 40-45] the term “query suggestion” is a suggested query that can be used to refine a search query that has been input by the user.)
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the first user input to the plurality of search terms to define a first query input; ([Col 4 Ln 50-65] A partial query can thus be one or more keyboard inputs that define a prefix or a stem of a word, or can also be an entire word or words. For example, the letter “a” is a partial query, as the letter “a” is the stem for the words “aardvark,” “Appalacia,” etc. (plurality of search terms) The partial query itself can also be a word, such as the letter “a” is a word. Likewise, the word “New” is also a partial query, as it can be combined with “York” or “England” to form other queries. [Col 1 Ln 55-60] receiving a request for advertisements, the request specifying a set of query suggestions, the set of query suggestions being identified for a partial query received from a user device;)
wherein the collaborator unit associates the first query input with at least a portion of the reference data to generate a first output response to be displayed at the user device; ([Col 4 Ln 15-30] For example, if a ranking of query suggestions for the partial query “to” includes a highest ranked query suggestion “toy” and lower ranked query suggestions “toy store,” and “tools,” the content distribution system may provide advertisements for the query suggestions “toy” and “toy store,” while not providing advertisements for the query suggestion “tools,” as the query suggestion “toy store” is more closely related to the top ranked query suggestion “toy” than the query suggestion “tools.”)
wherein the collaborator unit is operable to prompt the user for a determination of sufficiency of the first output response; ([Col 17 Ln 13-25] if a user refines a query “New York” to the query “New York City,” then the search system 110 may store information specifying the refinement in the historical data store 114. If this refinement occurs at least a threshold number of times, then the search system 110 may include the query “New York City” as a refinement of the query “New York” in the search index 112. In turn, the search system 110 may provide information specifying the refinement to the advertisement management system 140.)
wherein, upon a determination of insufficiency of the first output response, the collaborator unit is operable to receive an additional user input to define a refined user input; ([Col 4 Ln 45-55] a “partial query” is a query input that is received prior to a specified user interaction that identifies the query as complete. User interactions that identify the query as complete include user actions such as a user click of a search initiation element that causes the query to be submitted to the search system or a user selection of a query suggestion. )
wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the refined user input to the plurality of search terms to define a refined query input; ([Col 17 Ln 40-50] In some implementations, the search system 110 provides instructions for requesting advertisements for the highest ranking query suggestion and a threshold number (e.g., one or two) of the most semantically related or closest refinements to the highest ranking suggestion only for partial queries having an IDF that exceeds the threshold IDF.)
wherein the collaborator unit associates the refined query input with at least a portion of the reference data and with the first output response to generate a refined output response to be displayed at the user device; ([Col 17 Ln 24-35] the advertisement management system 140 evaluates query refinements for the highest ranked query suggestion to determine that the query suggestions are refinements for the highest ranked query suggestion. For example, the advertisement management system 140 may compare a category or vertical for the highest ranked query suggestion to the category or vertical for each refinement query suggestion to ensure that there is a match. If there is not a match for a query refinement, then the advertisement management system 140 may not consider the query refinement for providing advertisements.)
wherein the collaborator unit continues to receive the refined user input until it is determined that the refined output response is sufficient based on input from the user. ([Col 7 Ln 5-10] As a user continues to enter characters into the search interface, the search system 110 can select new query suggestions based on the updated partial query and provide additional search results pages for presentation at the user device 106.)
But does not explicitly disclose the data stores are databases; online queries; at least one server communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database; via the network; the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device; wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; based on the at least one collaboration; the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue; wherein the cut includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response; responsive to the cue. CHRISTOPHE does disclose an index.
NAM, on the other hand, teaches databases. ([0101] the advertisement interaction control server 10 includes a database 50 for storing the interactive advertisement exposure application 4 to be downloadable to the user terminal 2, and storing URL matching information of the advertisement information for each search term, matching information of the interactive advertisement information for each search term, and the interactive advertisement information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by CHRISTOPHE, the features as taught by NAM, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHRISTOPHE, to include the teachings of NAM, in order to effectively expose customers to shopping information (NAM, [0002]).
HAQ, on the other hand, teaches online queries; at least one server communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database; via the network; the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device; wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; based on the at least one collaboration; the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue; wherein the cut includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response; responsive to the cue.. (FIG. 15 is a screenshot of a question and answer (Q&A) output screen 1500, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the disclosed subject matter. In FIG. 15, the Q&A output screen 1500 is shown after the Q&A menu option 803 has been selected and includes a Q&A question or search entry section 1507 in which the user can enter questions or search requests. The Q&A question or search entry section 1507 also includes the domain selection section 806 and a LFQA toggle 1509 that when selected connects the user to a distinctive mode of query assistance called “Low-Fidelity Query Assistance,” which is an innovative search approach that enhances the user's experience. Upon activation, the LFQA toggle 1509 facilitates an AI-driven interpretation of user queries, which can process and respond to vague or imprecise inputs. This feature offers a unique and responsive user interaction by offering suggestions, prompts, or modified queries in an attempt to express the user's intent more accurately to more effectively guide users toward more refined search outcomes. In the Q&A output screen 1500, the menu options from FIGS. 13-14 for the evaluation year menu 1321, the topic(s) menu 1322, the document(s) menu 1323, and the domain(s) menu 1324 are now shown in their unexpanded configurations and available in a row under the Q&A question or search entry section 1507. The Q&A output screen 1500 also includes an information section with suggestions for questions and/or search requests that can be entered in the Q&A question or search entry section 1507..)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by CHRISTOPHE, the features as taught by HAQ, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHRISTOPHE, to include the teachings of HAQ, in order to permit users to parse and search through and to generate detailed content (HAQ, [Col 1 Ln 5-15]).
Claim 21 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 2. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 2.
Claim 22 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 3. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 3.
Claim 23 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 4. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 4.
Claim 24 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 5. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 5.
Claim 25 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 6. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 6.
Claim 26 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 7. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 7.
Claim 27 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 8. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 8.
Claim 28 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 9. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 9.
Claim 29 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 10. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 10.
Claim 30 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 11. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 11.
Claim 31 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 12. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 12.
Claim 32 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 13. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 13.
Claim 33 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 14. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 14.
Claim 34 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 15. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 15.
Claim 35 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 16. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 16.
Claim 36 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 17. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 17.
Claim 37 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 18. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 18.
Claim 38 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 19. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 19.
Regarding Claim 39, CHRISTOPHE discloses computer-implemented method for providing targeted search and query result, the method comprising:
receiving at least one user input to define a first user input; ([Col 21 Ln 1-20] The search interface 702 includes a query suggestion box 710. In FIG. 7A, the query suggestions “Pizza restaurant,” “Pet store,” and “Park are query suggestions (cue including a request for user input to refine output response) provided responsive to the partial query “p.” For example, the user has entered the text “p” into the query input field 703 and the search interface 702 has caused the user device 106 to send query data defining the partial query “p” to the search system 110.
accessing reference data stored in a reference data store; accessing a plurality of search terms stored in a search term store; ([Col 4 Ln 25-35] the content distribution system maintains an index that maps partial queries (search term database including a plurality of search terms) to query suggestions (reference data database including reference data) and accesses the index at query time to identify query suggestions for providing advertisements. [Col 1 Ln 20-25] A search query is data that a user submits to a search system to obtain search results for resources in an effort to satisfy the user's informational needs. The search queries can be received in the form of text input, e.g., one or more query terms [Col 4 Ln 30-40] the index may include a list of partial queries and, for each partial query, a list of query suggestions for which advertisements may be provided. The query suggestion system may select a proper subset of the query suggestions for a partial query based on one or more of several criteria, [Col 1 Ln 40-45] the term “query suggestion” is a suggested query that can be used to refine a search query that has been input by the user.)
comparing and matching the first user input to the plurality of search terms, to define a first query input; ([Col 4 Ln 50-65] A partial query can thus be one or more keyboard inputs that define a prefix or a stem of a word, or can also be an entire word or words. For example, the letter “a” is a partial query, as the letter “a” is the stem for the words “aardvark,” “Appalacia,” etc. (plurality of search terms) The partial query itself can also be a word, such as the letter “a” is a word. Likewise, the word “New” is also a partial query, as it can be combined with “York” or “England” to form other queries. [Col 1 Ln 55-60] receiving a request for advertisements, the request specifying a set of query suggestions, the set of query suggestions being identified for a partial query received from a user device;)
generating a first output response to be displayed by associating the first query input with at least a portion of the reference data; and ([Col 4 Ln 15-30] For example, if a ranking of query suggestions for the partial query “to” includes a highest ranked query suggestion “toy” and lower ranked query suggestions “toy store,” and “tools,” the content distribution system may provide advertisements for the query suggestions “toy” and “toy store,” while not providing advertisements for the query suggestion “tools,” as the query suggestion “toy store” is more closely related to the top ranked query suggestion “toy” than the query suggestion “tools.”)
generating a refined output response upon receiving an additional input defined as a refined user input; wherein generating the refined output response includes: ([Col 17 Ln 13-25] if a user refines a query “New York” to the query “New York City,” then the search system 110 may store information specifying the refinement in the historical data store 114. If this refinement occurs at least a threshold number of times, then the search system 110 may include the query “New York City” as a refinement of the query “New York” in the search index 112. In turn, the search system 110 may provide information specifying the refinement to the advertisement management system 140. [Col 4 Ln 45-55] a “partial query” is a query input that is received prior to a specified user interaction that identifies the query as complete. User interactions that identify the query as complete include user actions such as a user click of a search initiation element that causes the query to be submitted to the search system or a user selection of a query suggestion. )
comparing and matching the refined user input to the plurality of search terms to define a refined query input; ([Col 17 Ln 40-50] In some implementations, the search system 110 provides instructions for requesting advertisements for the highest ranking query suggestion and a threshold number (e.g., one or two) of the most semantically related or closest refinements to the highest ranking suggestion only for partial queries having an IDF that exceeds the threshold IDF.)
associating the refined query input with at least a portion of the reference data and with the first output response to generate the refined output response; and ([Col 17 Ln 24-35] the advertisement management system 140 evaluates query refinements for the highest ranked query suggestion to determine that the query suggestions are refinements for the highest ranked query suggestion. For example, the advertisement management system 140 may compare a category or vertical for the highest ranked query suggestion to the category or vertical for each refinement query suggestion to ensure that there is a match. If there is not a match for a query refinement, then the advertisement management system 140 may not consider the query refinement for providing advertisements.)
displaying the refined output response. ([Col 7 Ln 5-10] As a user continues to enter characters into the search interface, the search system 110 can select new query suggestions based on the updated partial query and provide additional search results pages for presentation at the user device 106.)
But does not explicitly disclose the data stores are databases; online queries; at least one server communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database; via the network; the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device; wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; based on the at least one collaboration; the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue; wherein the cut includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response; responsive to the cue. CHRISTOPHE does disclose an index.
NAM, on the other hand, teaches databases. ([0101] the advertisement interaction control server 10 includes a database 50 for storing the interactive advertisement exposure application 4 to be downloadable to the user terminal 2, and storing URL matching information of the advertisement information for each search term, matching information of the interactive advertisement information for each search term, and the interactive advertisement information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by CHRISTOPHE, the features as taught by NAM, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHRISTOPHE, to include the teachings of NAM, in order to effectively expose customers to shopping information (NAM, [0002]).
HAQ, on the other hand, teaches online queries; at least one server communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the at least one server stores the reference data database and the search term database; via the network; the interaction space displayed via an online access point accessible on the user device; wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data; based on the at least one collaboration; the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue; wherein the cut includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response; responsive to the cue.. (FIG. 15 is a screenshot of a question and answer (Q&A) output screen 1500, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the disclosed subject matter. In FIG. 15, the Q&A output screen 1500 is shown after the Q&A menu option 803 has been selected and includes a Q&A question or search entry section 1507 in which the user can enter questions or search requests. The Q&A question or search entry section 1507 also includes the domain selection section 806 and a LFQA toggle 1509 that when selected connects the user to a distinctive mode of query assistance called “Low-Fidelity Query Assistance,” which is an innovative search approach that enhances the user's experience. Upon activation, the LFQA toggle 1509 facilitates an AI-driven interpretation of user queries, which can process and respond to vague or imprecise inputs. This feature offers a unique and responsive user interaction by offering suggestions, prompts, or modified queries in an attempt to express the user's intent more accurately to more effectively guide users toward more refined search outcomes. In the Q&A output screen 1500, the menu options from FIGS. 13-14 for the evaluation year menu 1321, the topic(s) menu 1322, the document(s) menu 1323, and the domain(s) menu 1324 are now shown in their unexpanded configurations and available in a row under the Q&A question or search entry section 1507. The Q&A output screen 1500 also includes an information section with suggestions for questions and/or search requests that can be entered in the Q&A question or search entry section 1507..)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by CHRISTOPHE, the features as taught by HAQ, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHRISTOPHE, to include the teachings of HAQ, in order to permit users to parse and search through and to generate detailed content (HAQ, [Col 1 Ln 5-15]).
Claim 40 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 2. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 2.
Claim 41 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 3. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 3.
Claim 42 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 4. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 4.
Claim 43 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 6. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 6.
Claim 44 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 7. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 7.
Claim 45 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 8. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 8.
Claim 46 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 9. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 9.
Claim 47 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 10. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 10.
Claim 48 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 11. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 11.
Claim 49 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 12. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 12.
Claim 50 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 13. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 13.
Claim 51 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 15. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 15.
Claim 52 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 16. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 16.
Claim 53 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 18. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 18.
Regarding Claim 54, CHRISTOPHE, NAM and HAQ teaches the method of claim 39.
CHRISTOPHE discloses further comprising downloading and storing the reference data database and the search term database on a user device; and updating at least a portion of the reference data database and at least a portion of the search terms database. ([Col 7 Ln 5-10] As a user continues to enter characters into the search interface, the search system 110 can select new query suggestions based on the updated partial query and provide additional search results pages for presentation at the user device 106. [Col 14 Ln 40-50] The advertisement management system 140 may also update a performance measure for the advertisement 113 with respect to the partial query and/or a performance measure for the advertisement 113 with respect to the query suggestion 115 for which the advertisement 113 was requested. [Col 24 Ln 40-45] The computing system can include clients and servers. A client and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network. The relationship of client and server arises by virtue of computer programs running on the respective computers and having a client-server relationship to each other. [Col 5 Ln 65-Col 6 Ln 5] To facilitate searching of resources 105, the search system 110 identifies the resources 105 by crawling and indexing the resources 105 provided on web sites 104. Data about the resources 105 can be indexed based on the resource to which the data corresponds. The indexed and, optionally, cached copies of the resources 105 are stored in a search index 112.)
Claim 55 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 19. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejections under 35 USC 112 have been overcome by amendment to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended claims recite: “wherein the collaborator unit performs an interpretation process to determine at least one correlation between the first user input, the plurality of search terms, and at least a portion of the reference data” and “wherein the collaborator unit compares and matches the first user input to the plurality of search terms based on the at least one correlation to define a first query input” and “the first output response comprising a prompt displayed at the interaction space, the prompt comprising a conversation indicator including a cue” and “wherein the cue includes at least one of a request for user input to be inputted into the interaction space to refine the first output response and an inquiry to accept the first output response” which comprise specific technical operations for determining correlations between user inputs, search terms, and reference data.
However, these limitations do not provide specificity regarding how they are performed in a technical way, or how these methods provide a technical solution to a problem that arises in a particular technology. They represent data processing techniques that could be performed without the use of technology, but are performed instead by computers for efficiency. Correlating input and search terms, comparing and matching, providing cues in the form of requests for user input, these steps do not integrate the abstract concepts into a practical application.
Rejection to claim 20 as reciting signals per se is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of the claim under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant argues that the amended claims are not taught by CHRISTOPHE in view of NAM. However, rejection to the amended limitations do not rely on CHRISTOPHE and NAM. Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the office action, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE T KRINGEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689