DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s Specification are to the published application US 2025/0007135A1 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there appears to be an extra “38” on the left-hand side in FIG. 5 that does not refer to any feature/element. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains the word “disclosed”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2025/0079637 A1; “Zhou”) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 218788401 U, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Zhang”) and Tsuruta et al. (US 2013/0209859 A1; “Tsuruta”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a battery cell (an energy-storage apparatus) [element 20, 0056, FIGs. 2, 5, 7], comprising a first wall (an end cover assembly) [element 211, 0056, 0141-0146, FIG. 13], an electrode assembly (an electrode assembly) [element 22, 0056, FIGs. 7, 13], a bottom support plate (a partition member) [element 30’, 0056, FIG. 3], a first insulating member and a second insulating member are integrally formed, of which together read on the claimed protection member [elements 23 and 26 respectively, 0056, 0122-0125, 0168, FIG. 7], and a housing (a housing) [element 21, 0056, FIGs. 7, 13].
The first insulating member and second insulating member together define a first accommodating cavity with integrally formed protrusions on opposite sides that abut against the electrode assembly [0081, FIGs. 7-8]. The first accommodating cavity defines a first opening [FIG. 7]. The electrode assembly is accommodated in the first accommodating cavity [0081, 0090, FIGs. 7-8, 13-14]. The bottom support plate abuts against the end of the electrode assembly [0068, FIG. 3].
The housing defines an opening (a second opening) [element 214, 0056, 0067, 0095, 0168, FIGs. 7, 13]. The first insulating member and second insulating member together are accommodated in the housing through the opening [FIGs. 7-9, 11]. The first wall is mounted in the second opening and seals the second opening [0141-0146, FIGs. 7-10 and 13-14].
The first wall is opposite to the first opening [FIGs. 2-3, 7, 13], and the first wall is connected to the first insulating member and second insulating member [FIG. 7]. An electrolyte of the battery cell is accommodated in the housing and the first accommodating cavity [0035, 0091, 0154, 0161].
Zhou remains silent regarding:
the partition member defines a through-recess and a through-hole,
both the through-recess and the through-hole penetrate through the partition member in a thickness direction of the partition member,
the through-recess and the through-hole are spaced apart from each other,
the partition member is accommodated in the first accommodating cavity,
the electrode assembly passes through the through-recess,
the electrode assembly is in sealing connection to a recess wall of the through-recess,
the partition member is in sealing connection to a cavity wall of the first accommodating cavity and separates the first accommodating cavity into a first accommodating sub-cavity and a second accommodating sub-cavity,
the first accommodating sub-cavity is in communication with the first opening, and the first accommodating sub-cavity is in communication with the second accommodating sub-cavity through the through-hole, and
the through-hole is configured to make the electrolyte in the first accommodating sub-cavity flow to the second accommodating sub-cavity when a difference between a gas pressure in the first accommodating sub-cavity and a gas pressure in the second accommodating sub-cavity is generated during operation of the energy-storage apparatus.
Zhang is directed towards a battery including a battery case having an opening, a top cover assembly, an electric core, and an insulator [pages 1 and 4]. Zhang teaches that the insulator includes a main body with a through-recess having grooves on opposite sides, and forming an inner cavity with a first accommodating sub-cavity and a second accommodating sub-cavity [pages 1-2, FIGs. 1-2 and 5]. The main body further comprises at least one second liquid hole [element 123, page 6, FIG. 6] arranged along an outer edge of a bottom surface, spaced apart from a through-recess, and allows for the passage of electrolyte [page 6, FIGs. 5-6].
Tsuruta is directed towards an electric storage element [element 10, 0060-0062, FIGs. 1-3 and 8-11], including a case [element 100, 0062, FIGs. 3 and 11], an electrode body [element 120, 0062, FIGs. 2 and 8-10], an insulating member [elements 180, 181, 182, and 183, 0062, FIGs. 2-3, 8-11], and a bottom spacer [element 170, 0062, 0075-0089, 0093-0120, 0125-0152, FIGs. 2, 7A-7C, 8-10]. Tsuruta teaches that the insulating member is shaped like an exploded bag, and wraps around the bottom spacer [0075-0089, 0093-0120, 0125-0152, FIGs. 2, 7A-7C, 8-10], thereby fixing the bottom spacer with the insulating member [0100-0101].
Zhou, Zhang, and Tsuruta each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an energy-storage apparatus. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cell of Zhou so that the housing wraps around the bottom support plate, like that of Tsuruta, in order to fix the bottom support plate with the first insulating member and the second insulating member, thereby preventing shifting of the bottom support plate [Tsuruta, 0100-0101].
Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bottom support plate include at least one liquid hole arranged along an outer edge of the surface, spaced apart from the through-recess, and penetrating through the bottom support plate in a thickness direction, like that of Zhang, thereby allowing for the passage of electrolyte [Zhang, page 6, FIGs. 5-6].
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bottom support plate include a through-recess, like that of the first insulating member and the second insulating member [Zhou, FIG. 7], in order to correspond with and reinforce the structure of the first insulating member and the second insulating member (MPEP 2143(I)(F)). The through-hole would be configured to allow for electrolyte in the first accommodating sub-cavity flow to the second accommodating sub-cavity when a difference between a gas pressure in the first accommodating sub-cavity and a gas pressure in the second accommodating sub-cavity is generated during operation of the energy-storage apparatus, as the through-hole allows for the passage of electrolyte, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that during charging and discharging of the battery, the battery swells and contracts, thereby creating gas pressure, wherein the gas pressure of the first accommodating sub-cavity flow and the second accommodating sub-cavity may be different being separate cavities.
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery cell of Zhou, as modified by Zhang and Tsuruta (hereinafter “modified Zhou”) would have the housing wrapped around the bottom support plate (the partition member is accommodated in the first accommodating cavity), in order to fix the bottom support plate with the first insulating member and the second insulating member (the partition member is in sealing connection to a cavity wall of the first accommodating cavity). Further, the bottom support plate would include a through-recess (a through-recess), like that of the first insulating member and the second insulating member (penetrate through the partition member in a thickness direction of the partition member), in order to correspond with and reinforce the structure of the first insulating member and the second insulating member. Additionally, the bottom support plate would include at least one liquid hole (a through-hole) arranged along an outer edge of the surface, spaced apart from the through-recess (the through-recess and the through-hole are spaced apart from each other), and penetrating through the bottom support plate in a thickness direction (penetrate through the partition member in a thickness direction of the partition member).
In view thereof, the bottom support plate with a through-recess like that of the first insulating member and the second insulating member would allow for the electrode assembly to pass through (the electrode assembly passes through the through-recess), wherein the electrode assembly would be in sealing connection to a recess wall of the through-recess in order to hold the electrode assembly in place. Furthermore, the bottom support plate with a through-recess like that of the first insulating member and the second insulating member would separate the first accommodating cavity into a first accommodating sub-cavity and a second accommodating sub-cavity due to protrusions on opposite sides (separates the first accommodating cavity into a first accommodating sub-cavity and a second accommodating sub-cavity). The first accommodating sub-cavity would be in communication with the first opening via electrolyte (the first accommodating sub-cavity is in communication with the first opening), and the first accommodating sub-cavity would be in communication with the second accommodating sub-cavity through the through-hole via electrolyte (the first accommodating sub-cavity is in communication with the second accommodating sub-cavity through the through-hole), and the through-hole would be configured to allow for electrolyte in the first accommodating sub-cavity flow to the second accommodating sub-cavity when a difference between a gas pressure in the first accommodating sub-cavity and a gas pressure in the second accommodating sub-cavity is generated during operation of the energy-storage apparatus.
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Zhou further teaches that the first insulating member and second insulating member that are integrally formed have a first side wall (a first side wall) [Zhou, FIG. 8-9 and 11], wherein the first side wall is disposed at one end away from the first wall [Zhou, FIG. 8-9 and 11].
Modified Zhou remains silent regarding a ratio of a distance between the partition member and the first side wall to a dimension of the protection member in a length direction of the partition member ranges from 0.1 to 0.15.
However, modified Zhou teaches that there is a gap formed between the first insulating member abutting against the end of the electrode assembly facing a second wall and an inner surface of the second wall [Zhou, 0069-0070, 0081, 0091], wherein the gap reduces the risk of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly being pressed and wrinkled by a corner region at an end of the housing facing away from the first wall and may change in distance depending on movement of the electrode assembly [Zhou, 0070, 0091-0094, 0097-0100, 0128-0129, 0164, 0168]. Additionally, in view of the modification set forth above in ¶20-22, the dimension of the first insulating member and the second insulating member that are integrally formed, is much greater than the distance between the bottom support plate and the first side wall [Zhou, FIGs. 3, 7-9].
In view thereof, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the size of the gap, and therefore distance between the bottom support plate and the first side wall, may be adjusted through routine experimentation, in order to reduce the risk of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly being pressed and wrinkled by a corner region at an end of the housing facing away from the first wall (MPEP 2144.05(II)) and/or may be adjusted due to movement of the electrode assembly during charging/discharging of the battery [Zhou, 0070, 0091-0094, 0097-0100, 0128-0129, 0164, 0168].
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted a ratio of a distance between the partition member and the first side wall to a dimension of the protection member in a length direction of the partition member of Zhou through routine experimentation, in order to have reduced the risk of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly being pressed and wrinkled by a corner region at an end of the housing facing away from the first wall [Zhou, 0070, 0091-0094, 0097-0100, 0128-0129, 0164, 0168]. The aforesaid experimentation would have resulted in the distance ratio having been incrementally or gradually increased (or decreased) over a range starting at or about 0, of which would have encompassed and, thereby renders prima facie obvious, the claimed range of 0.1 to 0.15, see MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the energy-storage apparatus defined by claim 8. In view of the modification set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, modified Zhou teaches that the housing wraps around the bottom support plate, in order to fix the bottom support plate with the first insulating member and the second insulating member (the partition member and the protection member are integrally formed).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. Zhou discloses a battery (an energy-storage module) [element 100, 0056, 0076-0079, FIG. 5], comprising a plurality of battery cells (a plurality of energy-storage apparatuses) [element 20, 0056, FIGs. 2, 5, 7], wherein the battery further includes a busbar configured to implement electrical connection between the plurality of battery cells (the plurality of energy-storage apparatuses being electrically connected) [0079]. Each of the plurality of battery cells are the energy-storage apparatus set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the rejection of claim 10 above, the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. The first insulating member and the second insulating member are the protection member set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 10 above reads on the energy-storage module defined by claim 17. In view of the modification set forth above in the rejection of claim 10, modified Zhou teaches that the housing wraps around the bottom support plate, in order to fix the bottom support plate with the first insulating member and the second insulating member (the partition member and the protection member are integrally formed).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. Zhou discloses a vehicle (an electricity-consumption device) [element 1000, 0056, 0075-0077, FIG. 4], comprising a battery (an energy-storage module) [element 100, 0056, 0076-0079, FIG. 5], wherein the battery is used as the operational power source for the vehicle and a driving power source for the vehicle (the energy-storage module being configured to supply power to the electricity-consumption device) [0077]. The battery comprises a plurality of battery cells (a plurality of energy-storage apparatuses) [element 20, 0056, FIGs. 2, 5, 7], wherein the battery further includes a busbar configured to implement electrical connection between the plurality of battery cells (the plurality of energy-storage apparatuses being electrically connected) [0079]. Each of the plurality of battery cells are the energy-storage apparatus set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhang and Tsuruta, as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Ke et al. (US 2025/0349969 A1; “Ke”). Claims 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhang and Tsuruta, as applied to claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Ke. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhang and Tsuruta, as applied to claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Ke.
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhou teaches the energy-storage apparatus set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Modified Zhou remains silent regarding the partition member comprises a bottom plate, a top plate, and two side plates, the top plate is positioned facing towards the bottom plate in a height direction of the partition member, the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the partition member, and the through-hole is positioned closer to the bottom plate than to the top plate; a distance between a geometric center of the through-hole and an outer wall surface of the bottom plate is h1, and a distance between an outer wall surface of the top plate and the outer wall surface of the bottom plate is h2; and a ratio of h1 to h2 ranges from 0.05 to 0.1.
Ke is directed towards a battery cell including a housing with an opening, an electrode assembly, and an exhaust structure [0245-0248, FIGs. 3-4, 14, 24]. Ke teaches that the plate body of the exhaust structure is provided with at least one via that penetrates through the plate body along a thickness direction of the plate body [0282, 0303-0309]. The via(s) allow for communication between the two surfaces of the plate body and is used for communicating with fluid channels [0304-0305]. The vias may have the same shape and/or size, or the vias at different positions of the plate body may have different shapes and/or sizes [0308-0309].
Zhang is directed towards a battery including a battery case having an opening, a top cover assembly, an electric core, and an insulator [pages 1 and 4]. Zhang teaches that the insulator includes a main body with a through-recess having grooves on opposite sides, and forming an inner cavity [pages 1-2, FIGs. 1-2 and 5]. The main body further comprises at least one second liquid hole [element 123, page 6, FIG. 6] arranged along an outer edge of a bottom surface, and allows for the passage of electrolyte [page 6, FIGs. 5-6].
Zhou, Zhang, Tsuruta, and Ke each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an energy-storage apparatus. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the battery cell of Zhou, so that the bottom support plate comprises a bottom plate, a top plate, and two side plates, as claimed, in order for the bottom support plate to be manufactured, wherein the top plate is positioned facing towards the bottom plate in a height direction of the bottom support plate and the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the bottom support plate, in order for opposite plates to mirror one another, thereby forming the bottom support plate (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the through-hole positioned along an outer edge of the surface of the bottom support plate, like that of Zhang, in order for electrolyte to be able to penetrate and fill a cavity formed by the first insulating member and the second insulating member [Zhang, page 6], wherein the exact claimed position of the through-hole being closer to the bottom plate than to the top plate would have been obvious as there only a finite number of outer edge positions taught by Zhang (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Through the teachings of Ke, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the size, shape, and position of the through-hole may be adjusted through routine experimentation, in order to control the passage of electrolyte [Ke, 0308-0309] (MPEP 2144.05(II)). As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted a ratio of a distance between a geometric center of the through-hole and an outer wall surface of the bottom plate to a distance between an outer wall surface of the top plate and the outer wall surface of the bottom plate of Zhou through routine experimentation, in order to have reduced the risk of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly being pressed and wrinkled by a corner region at an end of the housing facing away from the first wall [Zhou, 0070, 0091-0094, 0097-0100, 0128-0129, 0164, 0168], and to control the passage of electrolyte [Ke, 0308-0309]. The aforesaid experimentation would have resulted in the distance ratio having been incrementally or gradually increased (or decreased) over a range starting at or about 0, of which would have encompassed and, thereby renders prima facie obvious, the claimed range of 0.05 to 0.1, see MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhou teaches the energy-storage apparatus set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Modified Zhou further teaches that the through-hole is a circular hole [Zhou, FIG. 13].
Modified Zhou remains silent regarding the partition member comprises a bottom plate, a top plate, and two side plates, the top plate is positioned facing towards the bottom plate in a height direction of the partition member, the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the partition member, the through-hole is positioned closer to the bottom plate than to the top plate; and a ratio of a diameter of the through-hole to a distance between an outer wall surface of the top plate and the outer wall surface of the bottom plate ranges from 0.03 to 0.05.
Ke is directed towards a battery cell including a housing with an opening, an electrode assembly, and an exhaust structure [0245-0248, FIGs. 3-4, 14, 24]. Ke teaches that the plate body of the exhaust structure is provided with at least one via that penetrates through the plate body along a thickness direction of the plate body [0282, 0303-0309]. The via(s) allow for communication between the two surfaces of the plate body and is used for communicating with fluid channels [0304-0305]. The vias may have the same shape and/or size, or the vias at different positions of the plate body may have different shapes and/or sizes [0308-0309].
Zhang is directed towards a battery including a battery case having an opening, a top cover assembly, an electric core, and an insulator [pages 1 and 4]. Zhang teaches that the insulator includes a main body with a through-recess having grooves on opposite sides, and forming an inner cavity [pages 1-2, FIGs. 1-2 and 5]. The main body further comprises at least one second liquid hole [element 123, page 6, FIG. 6] arranged along an outer edge of a bottom surface, and allows for the passage of electrolyte [page 6, FIGs. 5-6].
Zhou, Zhang, Tsuruta, and Ke each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an energy-storage apparatus. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the battery cell of Zhou, so that the bottom support plate comprises a bottom plate, a top plate, and two side plates, as claimed, in order for the bottom support plate to be manufactured, wherein the top plate is positioned facing towards the bottom plate in a height direction of the bottom support plate and the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the bottom support plate, in order for opposite plates to mirror one another, thereby forming the bottom support plate (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the through-hole positioned along an outer edge of the surface of the bottom support plate, like that of Zhang, in order for electrolyte to be able to penetrate and fill a cavity formed by the first insulating member and the second insulating member [Zhang, page 6], wherein the exact claimed position of the through-hole being closer to the bottom plate than to the top plate would have been obvious as there are only a finite number of outer edge positions taught by Zhang (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Through the teachings of Ke, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the size, shape, and position of the through-hole may be adjusted through routine experimentation, in order to control the passage of electrolyte [Ke, 0308-0309] (MPEP 2144.05(II)). As such, the claimed ratio of diameter to distance would have been obvious therefrom. As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted a ratio of a diameter of the through-hole to a distance between an outer wall surface of the top plate and the outer wall surface of the bottom plate of Zhou through routine experimentation, in order to have reduced the risk of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly being pressed and wrinkled by a corner region at an end of the housing facing away from the first wall [Zhou, 0070, 0091-0094, 0097-0100, 0128-0129, 0164, 0168], and to control the passage of electrolyte [Ke, 0308-0309]. The aforesaid experimentation would have resulted in the ratio having been incrementally or gradually increased (or decreased) over a range starting at or about 0, of which would have encompassed and, thereby renders prima facie obvious, the claimed range of 0.03 to 0.05, see MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhou teaches the energy-storage apparatus set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Modified Zhou remains silent regarding the partition member comprises two side plates, the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the partition member, the through-hole comprises two sets of through sub-holes, each of the two sets of through sub-holes penetrates through one of the two side plates, and the two sets of through sub-holes are positioned facing towards each other in the length direction of the partition member.
Ke is directed towards a battery cell including a housing with an opening, an electrode assembly, and an exhaust structure [0245-0248, FIGs. 3-4, 14, 24]. Ke teaches that the plate body of the exhaust structure is provided with at least one via that penetrates through the plate body along a thickness direction of the plate body [0282, 0303-0309]. The via(s) allow for communication between the two surfaces of the plate body and is used for communicating with fluid channels [0304-0305]. The vias may have the same shape and/or size, or the vias at different positions of the plate body may have different shapes and/or sizes [0308-0309].
Zhang is directed towards a battery including a battery case having an opening, a top cover assembly, an electric core, and an insulator [pages 1 and 4]. Zhang teaches that the insulator includes a main body with a through-recess having grooves on opposite sides, and forming an inner cavity [pages 1-2, FIGs. 1-2 and 5]. The main body further comprises a plurality, e.g. six, of second liquid holes [element 123, page 6, FIG. 6] arranged along an outer edge of a bottom surface, and along short sides, thereby allowing for the passage of electrolyte [page 6, FIGs. 5-6].
Zhou, Zhang, Tsuruta, and Ke each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an energy-storage apparatus. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the battery cell of Zhou, so that the bottom support plate comprises two side plates, as claimed, in order for the bottom support plate to be manufactured, wherein the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the bottom support plate, in order for opposite plates to mirror one another, thereby forming the bottom support plate (MPEP 2143(I)(E)). Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the through-hole comprise two sets of through sub-holes, as claimed, positioned along the outer surface, along short sides, like that of Zhang, where, in view of the aforementioned modification, each of the two sets of through sub-holes would penetrate through one of the two side plates, and the two sets of through sub-holes are positioned facing towards each other in the length direction of the bottom support plate, like that of Zhang, in order for electrolyte to be able to penetrate and fill a cavity formed by the first insulating member and the second insulating member [Zhang, page 6].
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhou teaches the energy-storage apparatus set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
In view of the modification of Zhou set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, modified Zhou further teaches that the bottom support plate would be provided with a first protrusion and a second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion are positioned protruding in the length direction of the bottom support plate, and the first protrusion and the second protrusion are positioned facing towards each other, as the bottom support plate includes a through-recess like that of the first insulating member and the second insulating member as set forth above in ¶20-22 above.
Furthermore, the electrode assembly is implemented as two electrode assemblies [Zhou, FIGs. 2-3, 7-10, 13-15], the two electrode assemblies are stacked in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly [Zhou, FIGs. 2-3, 7-10, 13-15], a first concave portion and a second concave portion are defined between the two electrode assemblies [Zhou, FIGs. 2, 7, 13], and the first concave portion and the second concave portion are positioned facing away from each other in a width direction of the electrode assembly [Zhou, FIGs. 2, 7, 13].
In view of the foregoing, the first protrusion would be inserted into the first concave portion and configured to seal a gap between the two electrode assemblies, and surfaces of the first protrusion abut against part of outer surfaces of the two electrode assemblies between which the first concave portion is defined, like that of the first insulating member and/or the second insulating member set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. The second protrusion would be inserted into the second concave portion and configured to seal the gap between the two electrode assemblies, and surfaces of the second protrusion abut against part of outer surfaces of the two electrode assemblies between which the second concave portion is defined, like that of the first insulating member and/or the second insulating member set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Modified Zhou remains silent regarding the partition member comprises two side plates, the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the partition member, and the first protrusion and the second protrusion are positioned protruding from the two side plates respectively and towards the through-recess.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the battery cell of Zhou, so that the bottom support plate comprises two side plates, as claimed, in order for the bottom support plate to be manufactured, wherein the two side plates are positioned facing towards each other in a length direction of the bottom support plate, in order for opposite plates to mirror one another, thereby forming the bottom support plate (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
In view thereof, the first protrusion and the second protrusion would be positioned protruding from the two side plates respectively and towards the through-recess.
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 6 above, the modification set forth therein would further have the first protrusion and the second protrusion integrally formed with the two side plates respectively, similar to how the protrusions of the first insulating member and the second insulating member are integrally formed on opposite sides [Zhou, FIG. 7].
Regarding claim 11, in view of the rejection of claim 10 above, the rejection of claim 2 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. The bottom support plate reads on the partition member set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, in view of the rejection of claim 10 above, the rejection of claim 4 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. The bottom support plate reads on the partition member set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, in view of the rejection of claim 10 above, the rejection of claim 5 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. The bottom support plate reads on the partition member set forth above in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, in view of the rejection of claim 10 above, the rejection of claim 6 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. The bottom support plate reads on the partition member set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, in view of the rejection of claim 15 above, the modification set forth therein would further have the first protrusion and the second protrusion integrally formed with the two side plates respectively, similar to how the protrusions of the first insulating member and the second insulating member are integrally formed on opposite sides [Zhou, FIG. 7].
Regarding claim 20, in view of the rejection of claim 19 above, the rejection of claim 2 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. The bottom support plate reads on the partition member set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhang and Tsuruta, as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0226525 A1; “Li”). Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhang and Tsuruta, as applied to claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Li.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Zhang and Tsuruta (hereinafter “modified Zhou”) teaches the energy-storage apparatus set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Modified Zhou remains silent regarding the partition member is further provided with a one-way valve, and in the thickness direction of the partition member, an orthographic projection of the one-way valve completely covers an orthographic projection of the through-hole; the one-way valve is configured to only allow fluid to flow from the first accommodating sub-cavity to the second accommodating sub-cavity.
Li is directed towards a battery including a battery cell [0084]. Li teaches that the battery cell comprises a pressure relief mechanism [element 25(25’), 0085, FIGs. 5-6], that completely covers an avoidance hole [element 311, 0116-0117, FIGs. 5-6], wherein high-temperature gases and other emissions are released after the pressure relief mechanism is opened [0084, 0108]. The pressure relief mechanism is located on the bottom side of the battery cell [0104, FIGs. 5-6].
Zhou, Zhang, Tsuruta, and Li each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an energy-storage apparatus. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the battery cell of Zhou, so that the bottom support plate is provided with a pressure relief mechanism that completely covers the through-hole, in order to release high-temperature gases and other emissions after the pressure relief mechanism is opened [Li, 0084, 0108]. The specific direction of fluid flow, as claimed, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as there are only a finite number of directions in which the fluid may be released when the pressure relief mechanism is opened (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery cell of modified Zhou would further have the bottom support plate provided with a pressure relief mechanism that completely covers the through-hole, in order to release high-temperature gases and other emissions after the pressure relief mechanism is opened (the partition member is further provided with a one-way valve, and in the thickness direction of the partition member, an orthographic projection of the one-way valve completely covers an orthographic projection of the through-hole).
Regarding claim 18, in view of the rejection of claim 10 above, the rejection of claim 9 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity. The bottom support plate reads on the partition member set forth above in the rejection of claim 9.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Wu et al., US 2024/0097209 A1; is directed towards a battery cell [0006, FIG. 3] including a protective film and a housing [0006-0048, 0079, 0106-0142, FIG. 3].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/MICHAEL C. ROMANOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782