DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 4/3/2024.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/3/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation, “the processing system configured to…”as noted in claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 13 and 15 is considered as modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function, therefore, 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is NOT invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grau et al. WO 2024171886.
As to claim 1:
Grau et al. discloses:
A network node for wireless communication, comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, via backhaul signaling, information associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode of an NES cell; and
(“Moreover, if the UE 3 indicates as a part of its request in S703 that it wishes to measure a NES cell operating in the dormant state to the anchor cell 9, the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface). Optionally, the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state. This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701.”; Grau et al.; 0126)
(where
“the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface).” Maps to “transmit, via backhaul signaling”, “sends” maps to “transmit”, “Xn interface or via another appropriate interface”/”signal” maps to “via backhaul signaling”,
“the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state”/”To minimize the above-described signalling performed by such anchor cells, anchor cells may be configured to restrict "on-demand" requests (e.g. the request made by the UE in S703)” maps to “information associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode”, where “activation” maps to “network energy saving (NES) mode”
“NES cells” maps to “of an NES cell”
communicate with a user equipment (UE) via the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode.
(where
“This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701” maps to “communicate with a user equipment (UE) via the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode”, where “broadcast” maps to “communicate”, “to the UE 3” maps to “with a user equipment (UE)”, “NES cells…broadcast” maps to “via the NES cell”, “to activate” maps to “in accordance with the NES mode”
Grau et al. teaches an anchor cell sending an activation signal to NES cells via an Xn interface, where the activated NES cells then broadcast synchronization signals to the UE.
As to claim 3:
Grau et al. discloses:
wherein the information includes an indication that the NES mode is an active NES mode of the NES cell.
(“Moreover, if the UE 3 indicates as a part of its request in S703 that it wishes to measure a NES cell operating in the dormant state to the anchor cell 9, the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface). Optionally, the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state. This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701.”; Grau et al.; 0126)
As to claim 6:
Grau et al. discloses:
A network node wherein the information includes NES configuration information, associated with the NES mode, to be transmitted via an anchor cell.
(“Moreover, if the UE 3 indicates as a part of its request in S703 that it wishes to measure a NES cell operating in the dormant state to the anchor cell 9, the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface). Optionally, the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state. This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701.”; Grau et al.; 0126)
As to claim 11:
Grau et al. discloses:
A network node for wireless communication, comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories
coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network
node to:
receive, via backhaul signaling, information associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode of an NES cell; and
(“Moreover, if the UE 3 indicates as a part of its request in S703 that it wishes to measure a NES cell operating in the dormant state to the anchor cell 9, the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface). Optionally, the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state. This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701.”; Grau et al.; 0126)
(where
“the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface).” Maps to “transmit, via backhaul signaling”, “sends” maps to “transmit”, “Xn interface or via another appropriate interface”/”signal” maps to “via backhaul signaling”,
“the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state”/”To minimize the above-described signalling performed by such anchor cells, anchor cells may be configured to restrict "on-demand" requests (e.g. the request made by the UE in S703)” maps to “information associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode”, where “activation” maps to “network energy saving (NES) mode”
“NES cells” maps to “of an NES cell”
transmit, via an anchor cell, assistance information to enable a user equipment (UE) to access the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode. (where
“This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701” maps to “communicate with a user equipment (UE) via the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode”, where “broadcast” maps to “communicate”, “to the UE 3” maps to “with a user equipment (UE)”, “NES cells…broadcast” maps to “via the NES cell”, “to activate” maps to “in accordance with the NES mode”
Grau et al. teaches an anchor cell sending an activation signal to NES cells via an Xn interface, where the activated NES cells then broadcast synchronization signals to the UE.
As to claim 20:
Grau et al. discloses:
A method for wireless communication by a network node associated with a network energy saving (NES) cell, comprising:
transmitting, via backhaul signaling, information associated with an NES mode of the NES cell; and
(“Moreover, if the UE 3 indicates as a part of its request in S703 that it wishes to measure a NES cell operating in the dormant state to the anchor cell 9, the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface). Optionally, the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state. This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701.”; Grau et al.; 0126)
(where
“the anchor cell 9 sends an activation signal, in S704, to those cells (e.g. via the Xn interface or via another appropriate interface).” Maps to “transmit, via backhaul signaling”, “sends” maps to “transmit”, “Xn interface or via another appropriate interface”/”signal” maps to “via backhaul signaling”,
“the activation signal may also be sent to NES cells operating in the non-dormant state”/”To minimize the above-described signalling performed by such anchor cells, anchor cells may be configured to restrict "on-demand" requests (e.g. the request made by the UE in S703)” maps to “information associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode”, where “activation” maps to “network energy saving (NES) mode”
“NES cells” maps to “of an NES cell”
communicating with a user equipment (UE) via the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode.
(where
“This activation signal configures one or more NES cells to activate and broadcast synchronization signals using the time and frequency resources which correspond to the signals indicated to the UE 3 as measurement opportunities for those dormant NES cells in S701” maps to “communicate with a user equipment (UE) via the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode”, where “broadcast” maps to “communicate”, “to the UE 3” maps to “with a user equipment (UE)”, “NES cells…broadcast” maps to “via the NES cell”, “to activate” maps to “in accordance with the NES mode”
Grau et al. teaches an anchor cell sending an activation signal to NES cells via an Xn interface, where the activated NES cells then broadcast synchronization signals to the UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Nader et al. US 20250048261.
As to claim 2:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information includes an indication that the NES mode is a supported NES mode for the NES cell.
However, Nader et al. further teaches a Xn/target cell NES modes capability which includes:
wherein the information includes an indication that the NES mode is a supported NES mode for the NES cell.
(“In one aspect, the gNB not only provides information about its own operation, but also about neighbor cells' NES operational state/configuration. The serving gNB may acquire such information from the neighbor gNB cells via the internal interfaces such as the Xn interface (interface between two gNBs in NR) or indirectly via CN interfaces where CN nodes such as AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function) act as a relay. For example, if the UE is additionally configured with CHO and a list of target cells, the UE may additionally be notified of the specific NES modes which is applied in the target cell.”; Nadar et al.; 0053)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Xn/target cell NES modes capability of Nader et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the Xn/target cell NES modes capability as taught by the processing/communications of Nader et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved performance (Nader et al.; 0133) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Khlass et al. US 20240284323.
As to claim 4:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
receive, via backhaul signaling, a request for the NES cell to operate in the NES mode, wherein the information includes an acknowledgment of the request for the NES cell to operate in the NES mode or a rejection of the request for the NES cell to operate in the NES mode.
However, Khlass et al. further teaches a Xn/NES state/acknowledgement/reject capability which includes:
receive, via backhaul signaling, a request for the NES cell to operate in the NES mode, wherein the information includes an acknowledgment of the request for the NES cell to operate in the NES mode or a rejection of the request for the NES cell to operate in the NES mode.
(“At step 7 (307) the UE may measure the received signal, and at step 8 (308), the UE may report the measurements based on the second configuration (ReportConfigNR2) where DRS are measured and specific RSRP/RSRQ threshold are used for triggering the reporting event. The serving cell may identify the capacity cell (cell 4 in this example) as a potential suitable cell for HO, determines whether the capacity cell is in NES state, and decide whether to trigger HO or not. The HO decision could be based on the following considerations: [0182] UE traffic QoS requirements such as, for example, if additional latency from cell activation could be afforded or not. For instance, for delay-stringent applications, the HO towards cells in NES state is to be avoided. [0183] Number of UEs identifying the same target cell as a suitable candidate for HO. The source cell may decide to issue a HO request to a target cell in NES state when multiple UEs reported the same suitable target cell…”; Khlass et al.; 0181)
(“If the NES state of the target cells cannot be determined from the reported measurements, the serving cell may rely on legacy means such as: [0187] i. Xn-based information exchange between neighboring cells such as, for example, when a cell enters/leaves a NES state. [0188] ii. Otherwise, the serving cell may get the NES state of potential target cells through an HO request addressed towards the identified suitable cell for a given UE. [0189] The target cell may reply with an HO request acknowledgment if it is willing to wake up. The HO ACK could include additional information, such as the availability time of the cell for example. In one example, the activation is triggered immediately after sending the HO request ACK. In another example, the activation is triggered when receiving RRC configuration complete from the UE (CHO) [0190] Otherwise, the target cell may reject the HO request due to the NES state, such as by optionally including a cause value related to its NES state for example.”; Khlass et al.; 0186)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Xn/NES state/acknowledgement/reject capability of Khlass et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include Xn/NES state/acknowledgement/reject capability as taught by the processing/communications of Khlass et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with enhanced operation (Khlass et al.; 0195) are achieved.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Jiang, “Communication Method and Apparatus, Communication Device, and Storage Medium”, 2024-11-14, WO, WO 2024229709 (citations are from English language translation).
As to claim 5:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates one or more anchor cells, associated with the NES cell, for the NES mode.
However, Jiang further teaches a XN, NES mode/anchor capability which includes:
wherein the information indicates one or more anchor cells, associated with the NES cell, for the NES mode.
(“Step SS842: During the XN establishment process or NG-RAN node configuration process, the gNB in the RNA sends an NES mode indication to the anchor gNB.
The NES mode indication sent by the gNB in the RNA is used to indicate each cell covered by the gNB that is in energy saving mode.”; Jiang; p.58, top of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the XN, NES mode/anchor capability of Nader et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the XN, NES mode/anchor capability as taught by the processing/communications of Nader et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved performance (Jiang; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Li et al., “Information Receiving Method and Apparatus, Information Sending Method and Apparatus, and Communication System”, 2025-08-14, WO, WO 2025166634 (citations are from English language translation).
As to claim 7:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the NES mode is an on-demand system information block type 1 (SIB1) mode, and wherein the NES configuration information includes:
a wake-up-signal (WUS) configuration, and
a post-demand SIB1 transmission configuration associated with the NES cell.
However, Li et al. further teaches a WUS configuration/SIB1 capability which includes:
wherein the NES mode is an on-demand system information block type 1 (SIB1) mode, and wherein the NES configuration information includes:
a wake-up-signal (WUS) configuration, and
a post-demand SIB1 transmission configuration associated with the NES cell.
(“In some embodiments, the WUS configuration information is sent by the network device via a second cell, where the second cell is a neighboring cell or an anchor cell of the first cell. For details about the WUS configuration information, please refer to the relevant art and will not be described in detail here.”; Li et al.; p.19, middle of page)
(“According to the above embodiment, the terminal device receives the first information related to the first cell sent by the network device, thereby, the terminal device can determine whether the terminal device is allowed to reside in the first cell based on the first information; furthermore, for the cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, the terminal device can also determine whether it can reside in the cell and reside or not, thereby solving the problem of the terminal device residing in the cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1; and, after the terminal device determines whether it is allowed to reside in the first cell, it can perform corresponding processing respectively when residence is allowed and when residence is not allowed.”; Li et al.; p.9, bottom of page)
(“In some embodiments, the information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell appears. Indicates whether the first cell is an NES cell. For example, the "information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell" includes 1 bit, and the presence of the 1 bit indicates that the first cell is a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and the absence of the 1 bit indicates that the first cell is not a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and vice versa; or, the "information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell" includes wake-up signal (Wake Up Signal, WUS) configuration information related to the first cell or second information indicating the WUS configuration information, and the presence of the WUS configuration information or the second information indicates that the first cell is a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and the absence of the WUS information or the second information indicates that the first cell is not a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1. For content related to the WUS configuration information, please refer to the relevant technology and will not be explained in detail here.”; Li et al.; p.12, bottom of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS configuration/SIB1 capability of Li et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the WUS configuration/SIB1 capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved capacity (Li et al.; p.19, bottom of page) are achieved.
As to claim 8:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein, to cause the network node to communicate with
the UE via the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode, the processing system is configured
to cause the network node to:
receive a WUS in accordance with the WUS configuration; and
transmit, in connection with receiving the WUS, an SIB1 via the NES cell in
accordance with the post-demand SIB1 transmission configuration.
However, Li et al. further teaches a WUS configuration/SIB1 capability which includes:
wherein, to cause the network node to communicate with
the UE via the NES cell in accordance with the NES mode, the processing system is configured
to cause the network node to:
receive a WUS in accordance with the WUS configuration; and
transmit, in connection with receiving the WUS, an SIB1 via the NES cell in
accordance with the post-demand SIB1 transmission configuration.
(“In some embodiments, the WUS configuration information is sent by the network device via a second cell, where the second cell is a neighboring cell or an anchor cell of the first cell. For details about the WUS configuration information, please refer to the relevant art and will not be described in detail here.”; Li et al.; p.19, middle of page)
(“According to the above embodiment, the terminal device receives the first information related to the first cell sent by the network device, thereby, the terminal device can determine whether the terminal device is allowed to reside in the first cell based on the first information; furthermore, for the cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, the terminal device can also determine whether it can reside in the cell and reside or not, thereby solving the problem of the terminal device residing in the cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1; and, after the terminal device determines whether it is allowed to reside in the first cell, it can perform corresponding processing respectively when residence is allowed and when residence is not allowed.”; Li et al.; p.9, bottom of page)
(“In some embodiments, the information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell appears. Indicates whether the first cell is an NES cell. For example, the "information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell" includes 1 bit, and the presence of the 1 bit indicates that the first cell is a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and the absence of the 1 bit indicates that the first cell is not a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and vice versa; or, the "information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell" includes wake-up signal (Wake Up Signal, WUS) configuration information related to the first cell or second information indicating the WUS configuration information, and the presence of the WUS configuration information or the second information indicates that the first cell is a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and the absence of the WUS information or the second information indicates that the first cell is not a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1. For content related to the WUS configuration information, please refer to the relevant technology and will not be explained in detail here.”; Li et al.; p.12, bottom of page)
(“For example, FIG7 is a schematic diagram illustrating an NES cell according to an embodiment of the present application that changes from not sending SIB1 to sending SIB1. As shown in FIG7, when the NES cell does not send SIB1, the legacy UE considers the cell to be barred and does not reside in the NES cell. The NES UE considers the cell to be an NES cell, or that the cell is not barred, or transmits a WUS to the cell to request that the cell send SIB1. When the NES cell sends an SSB, the SSB includes WUS configuration information or an indication that the NES cell is an NES cell, or before the cell sends the SSB, the second cell sends the WUS configuration information of the NES cell or an indication that the NES cell is an NES cell. For specific methods, please refer to the previous description of the first information.”; Li et al.; p.19, bottom of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS configuration/SIB1 capability of Li et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the WUS configuration/SIB1 capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved capacity (Li et al.; p.19, bottom of page) are achieved.
Claim(s) 9, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Wang WO 2024127936.
As to claim 9:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the NES configuration information includes system information associated with the NES cell.
However, Wang et al. further teaches an inter-cell coordination/SIB capability which includes:
wherein the NES configuration information includes system information associated with the NES cell.
(“On-demand SI for NES cell provided by anchor cell… In step S601, inter-cell coordination for SIB provisioning is performed between the anchor NES cell 31 and the non-anchor NES cell 30. For example, the anchor NES cell 31 may be configured for broadcast of the MIB and SIB1 for the non-anchor NES cell 30. It will be appreciated that if the SIB provisioning is preconfigured for the anchor NES cell 31 and the non-anchor NES cell 30, then step S601 need not necessarily be performed.”; Wang; 0073)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the inter-cell coordination/SIB capability of Wang et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the inter-cell coordination/SIB capability as taught by the processing/communications of Wang et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved NES (Wang; 0001) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information includes a request for the anchor cell to operate in an anchor mode for the NES cell.
However, Wang et al. further teaches an SI update message capability which includes:
wherein the information includes a request for the anchor cell to operate in an anchor mode for the NES cell.
(“Referring now to Fig. 8, in step S801a, an SI update notification is transmitted from the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the anchor NES cell 31 (from the base station 5-1 that operates the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the base station that operates the anchor NES cell 31). The SI update notification provides an indication that an update of SI corresponding to the non-anchor NES cell 30 has occurred. The SI update notification may include a short message that indicates the type SI update (e.g. of the type illustrated in Table 2 above). Alternatively, no short message may be transmitted from the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the anchor NES cell 31. It will be appreciated that the Xn interface can be used for the transmissions from the base station 5-1 that provides the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the base station 5-2 that provides the anchor NES cell 31.
In step S801b, the updated SIBs are transmitted from the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the anchor NES cell 31.
In step S802, a short message is transmitted to the UE 3 using the anchor NES cell 31 that provides an indication that an update of SI has occurred for the non-anchor NES cell 30.”; Wang; 0093-0095)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SI update message capability of Wang et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the SI update message capability as taught by the processing/communications of Wang et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved NES (Wang; 0001) are achieved.
As to claim 14:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates one or more NES cells, including the NES cell, associated with the anchor cell.
However, Wang et al. further teaches an SI update message/NES cells capability which includes:
wherein the information indicates one or more NES cells, including the NES cell, associated with the anchor cell.
(“Referring now to Fig. 8, in step S801a, an SI update notification is transmitted from the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the anchor NES cell 31 (from the base station 5-1 that operates the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the base station that operates the anchor NES cell 31). The SI update notification provides an indication that an update of SI corresponding to the non-anchor NES cell 30 has occurred. The SI update notification may include a short message that indicates the type SI update (e.g. of the type illustrated in Table 2 above). Alternatively, no short message may be transmitted from the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the anchor NES cell 31. It will be appreciated that the Xn interface can be used for the transmissions from the base station 5-1 that provides the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the base station 5-2 that provides the anchor NES cell 31.
In step S801b, the updated SIBs are transmitted from the non-anchor NES cell 30 to the anchor NES cell 31.
In step S802, a short message is transmitted to the UE 3 using the anchor NES cell 31 that provides an indication that an update of SI has occurred for the non-anchor NES cell 30.”; Wang; 0093-0095)
(“The disclosure has particular, although not necessarily exclusive relevance to, improved apparatus and methods for network energy saving (NES) cells.”; Wang; 0001)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SI update/NES cells message capability of Wang et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the SI update message/NES cells capability as taught by the processing/communications of Wang et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved NES (Wang; 0001) are achieved.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Kim et al., “Apparatus and Method for Supporting Network Energy Saving Operation in Wireless Communication System”, 2024-11-21, WO, WO 2024237763 (citations are from English language translation).
As to claim 10:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information includes beam-specific information associated with the NES mode.
However, Kim et al. further teaches a NES/intra/beam capability which includes:
wherein the information includes beam-specific information associated with the NES mode.
(“The present disclosure relates to a device and method for effectively operating a node for assisting communication between a base station and a terminal in response to NES operation of a base station in a wireless communication system.”; Kim et al.; p.2, top of page)
(“Intra-system energy saving solution: A RAN node can request a neighboring RAN node to switch at least one SSB beam into its inactive cell, or can perform paging using a limited set of beams to inactive terminals (e.g., stationary terminals).”; Kim et al.; p.27, bottom of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the NES/intra/beam capability of Kim et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the NES/intra/beam capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved NES (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 19:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information includes beam-specific information associated with the NES mode.
However, Kim et al. further teaches a NES/intra/beam capability which includes:
wherein the information includes beam-specific information associated with the NES mode.
(“The present disclosure relates to a device and method for effectively operating a node for assisting communication between a base station and a terminal in response to NES operation of a base station in a wireless communication system.”; Kim et al.; p.2, top of page)
(“Intra-system energy saving solution: A RAN node can request a neighboring RAN node to switch at least one SSB beam into its inactive cell, or can perform paging using a limited set of beams to inactive terminals (e.g., stationary terminals).”; Kim et al.; p.27, bottom of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the NES/intra/beam capability of Kim et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the NES/intra/beam capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved NES (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Fu et al., “Method for Wireless Communication, and Terminal Device and Network Device”, 2025-02-13, WO, WO 2025030562 (citations are from English language translation) and in further view of Khlass et al. US 20240284323.
As to claim 13:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmit, via backhaul signaling, an indication that the anchor cell is operating in an anchor mode for the NES cell, wherein the information includes an acknowledgement of the anchor cell operating in the anchor mode for the NES cell or a rejection of the anchor cell operating in the anchor mode for the NES cell.
However, Fu et al. further teaches an anchor information capability which includes:
transmit, via backhaul signaling, an indication that the anchor cell is operating in an anchor mode for the NES cell
(“In some embodiments, the first state may also be extended to: obtaining information of non-anchor cells/non-anchor base stations from anchor cells/anchor base stations, or obtaining information of energy-saving cells/energy-saving base stations (for example, the first information, SSB, SIB, SI, etc. mentioned later) from anchor cells/anchor base stations/auxiliary cells/auxiliary base stations.”; p.14, middle of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the anchor information capability of Fu et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the anchor information capability as taught by the processing/communications of Fu et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with reduced signaling (Fu et al.; p.12, top of page) are achieved.
However, Khlass et al. further teaches a Xn/NES state/acknowledgement/reject capability which includes:
wherein the information includes an acknowledgement of the anchor cell operating in the anchor mode for the NES cell or a rejection of the anchor cell operating in the anchor mode for the NES cell.
(“At step 7 (307) the UE may measure the received signal, and at step 8 (308), the UE may report the measurements based on the second configuration (ReportConfigNR2) where DRS are measured and specific RSRP/RSRQ threshold are used for triggering the reporting event. The serving cell may identify the capacity cell (cell 4 in this example) as a potential suitable cell for HO, determines whether the capacity cell is in NES state, and decide whether to trigger HO or not. The HO decision could be based on the following considerations: [0182] UE traffic QoS requirements such as, for example, if additional latency from cell activation could be afforded or not. For instance, for delay-stringent applications, the HO towards cells in NES state is to be avoided. [0183] Number of UEs identifying the same target cell as a suitable candidate for HO. The source cell may decide to issue a HO request to a target cell in NES state when multiple UEs reported the same suitable target cell…”; Khlass et al.; 0181)
(“If the NES state of the target cells cannot be determined from the reported measurements, the serving cell may rely on legacy means such as: [0187] i. Xn-based information exchange between neighboring cells such as, for example, when a cell enters/leaves a NES state. [0188] ii. Otherwise, the serving cell may get the NES state of potential target cells through an HO request addressed towards the identified suitable cell for a given UE. [0189] The target cell may reply with an HO request acknowledgment if it is willing to wake up. The HO ACK could include additional information, such as the availability time of the cell for example. In one example, the activation is triggered immediately after sending the HO request ACK. In another example, the activation is triggered when receiving RRC configuration complete from the UE (CHO) [0190] Otherwise, the target cell may reject the HO request due to the NES state, such as by optionally including a cause value related to its NES state for example.”; Khlass et al.; 0186)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Xn/NES state/acknowledgement/reject capability of Khlass et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include Xn/NES state/acknowledgement/reject capability as taught by the processing/communications of Khlass et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with enhanced operation (Khlass et al.; 0195) are achieved.
Claim(s) 15, 16, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grau et al. WO 2024171886 in view of Li et al., “Information Receiving Method and Apparatus, Information Sending Method and Apparatus, and Communication System”, 2025-08-14, WO, WO 2025166646 (citations are from English language translation) and in further view of Myung et al., “Method, User Equipment, Processing Device, Storage Medium, and Computer Program for Receiving Downlink Signal, and Method and Base Station for Transmitting Downlink Signal”, 2024-02-15, WO, WO 2024035018 (citations are from English language translation)
As to claim 15:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information includes NES configuration
information, associated with the NES mode, for the NES cell, and wherein, to cause the network
node to transmit the assistance information, the processing system is configured to cause the
network node to:
transmit the NES configuration information via the anchor cell.
However, Li et al. further teaches a WUS configuration notification capability which includes:
wherein the information includes NES configuration
information, associated with the NES mode, for the NES cell, and wherein, to cause the network
node to transmit the assistance information, the processing system is configured to cause the
network node to:
transmit the NES configuration information via the anchor cell.
(“Case 2: When the WUS configuration information is sent by the network device through the second cell, and the terminal device sends WUS in the first cell. In this case, the second cell notifies the first cell of the WUS configuration information. For example, Figure 6 is a schematic diagram of another scenario related to the interaction between cells in an embodiment of the present application. As shown in Figure 6, taking the first cell as an NES cell and the second cell as an anchor cell as an example, if the WUS configuration information (WUS config) is determined by the anchor cell and sent through the anchor cell, and the terminal device sends WUS in the NES cell, the anchor cell notifies the NES cell of the WUS configuration information, that is, the anchor cell and the NES cell perform interaction related to the WUS configuration.”; Li et al.; p.17, top of page)
Where Myung et al. teaches WUS is for NES purposes (see p.2, middle of page).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS configuration notification capability of Li et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the WUS configuration notification capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., where Myung et al. teaches WUS is for NES purposes (see p.2, middle of page), the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with reduced resources required (Li et al.; p.11, bottom of page) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the NES mode is an on-demand system information block type 1 (SIB1) mode, and wherein the NES configuration information includes:
a wake-up-signal (WUS) configuration, and
a post-demand SIB1 transmission configuration associated with the NES cell.
However, Li et al. further teaches a WUS configuration/SIB1 capability which includes:
wherein the NES mode is an on-demand system information block type 1 (SIB1) mode, and wherein the NES configuration information includes:
a wake-up-signal (WUS) configuration, and
a post-demand SIB1 transmission configuration associated with the NES cell.
(“In some embodiments, the WUS configuration information is sent by the network device via a second cell, where the second cell is a neighboring cell or an anchor cell of the first cell. For details about the WUS configuration information, please refer to the relevant art and will not be described in detail here.”; Li et al.; p.19, middle of page)
(“According to the above embodiment, the terminal device receives the first information related to the first cell sent by the network device, thereby, the terminal device can determine whether the terminal device is allowed to reside in the first cell based on the first information; furthermore, for the cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, the terminal device can also determine whether it can reside in the cell and reside or not, thereby solving the problem of the terminal device residing in the cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1; and, after the terminal device determines whether it is allowed to reside in the first cell, it can perform corresponding processing respectively when residence is allowed and when residence is not allowed.”; Li et al.; p.9, bottom of page)
(“In some embodiments, the information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell appears. Indicates whether the first cell is an NES cell. For example, the "information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell" includes 1 bit, and the presence of the 1 bit indicates that the first cell is a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and the absence of the 1 bit indicates that the first cell is not a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and vice versa; or, the "information indicating whether the first cell is an NES cell" includes wake-up signal (Wake Up Signal, WUS) configuration information related to the first cell or second information indicating the WUS configuration information, and the presence of the WUS configuration information or the second information indicates that the first cell is a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1, and the absence of the WUS information or the second information indicates that the first cell is not a cell that supports or uses on-demand SIB1. For content related to the WUS configuration information, please refer to the relevant technology and will not be explained in detail here.”; Li et al.; p.12, bottom of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS configuration/SIB1 capability of Li et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the WUS configuration/SIB1 capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with improved capacity (Li et al.; p.19, bottom of page) are achieved.
As to claim 17:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the NES configuration information includes
system information associated with the NES cell.
However, Li et al. further teaches a WUS configuration notification/system information capability which includes:
wherein the NES configuration information includes
system information associated with the NES cell.
(“Case 2: When the WUS configuration information is sent by the network device through the second cell, and the terminal device sends WUS in the first cell. In this case, the second cell notifies the first cell of the WUS configuration information. For example, Figure 6 is a schematic diagram of another scenario related to the interaction between cells in an embodiment of the present application. As shown in Figure 6, taking the first cell as an NES cell and the second cell as an anchor cell as an example, if the WUS configuration information (WUS config) is determined by the anchor cell and sent through the anchor cell, and the terminal device sends WUS in the NES cell, the anchor cell notifies the NES cell of the WUS configuration information, that is, the anchor cell and the NES cell perform interaction related to the WUS configuration.”; Li et al.; p.17, top of page)
(“In some embodiments, the first information may be system information, such as SIB3, SIB4, or SIB5. In this case, the WUS configuration information associated with the first cell is indicated by the system information of the second cell.”; Li et al.; p.13, middle of page)
Where Myung et al. teaches WUS is for NES purposes (see p.2, middle of page).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS configuration notification/system information capability of Li et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the WUS configuration notification/system information capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., where Myung et al. teaches WUS is for NES purposes (see p.2, middle of page), the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with reduced resources required (Li et al.; p.11, bottom of page) are achieved.
As to claim 18:
Grau et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information includes transmission
configuration information associated with transmission of the NES configuration information
via the anchor cell.
However, Li et al. further teaches a WUS configuration/information notification/ WUS transmission capability which includes:
wherein the information includes transmission
configuration information associated with transmission of the NES configuration information
via the anchor cell.
(“Case 2: When the WUS configuration information is sent by the network device through the second cell, and the terminal device sends WUS in the first cell. In this case, the second cell notifies the first cell of the WUS configuration information. For example, Figure 6 is a schematic diagram of another scenario related to the interaction between cells in an embodiment of the present application. As shown in Figure 6, taking the first cell as an NES cell and the second cell as an anchor cell as an example, if the WUS configuration information (WUS config) is determined by the anchor cell and sent through the anchor cell, and the terminal device sends WUS in the NES cell, the anchor cell notifies the NES cell of the WUS configuration information, that is, the anchor cell and the NES cell perform interaction related to the WUS configuration.”; Li et al.; p.17, top of page)
(“In some embodiments, the wake-up signal (WUS) configuration information includes information related to the WUS, for example, at least one of the following information: time resources and/or frequency resources of the WUS; index of the WUS sequence; maximum number of WUS transmissions; WUS transmission power ramping step; and expected WUS receiving power.”; Li et al.; p.26, middle of page)
Where Myung et al. teaches WUS is for NES purposes (see p.2, middle of page).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS configuration/information notification/ WUS transmission capability of Li et al. into Grau et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Grau et al. to include the WUS configuration/information notification/ WUS transmission capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., where Myung et al. teaches WUS is for NES purposes (see p.2, middle of page), the benefits of reduced signaling (Grau et al.; 0116) with reduced resources required (Li et al.; p.11, bottom of page) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20240340054 – teaches neighboring cells share whether they are operating in NES mode (see para. 0177).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464