DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11, 14, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manholm et al. (US 2008/0191955) in view of Monte et al. (US 8,334,815).
Referring to Claim 1, Manholm teaches a method of operating a radio device having a single antenna in a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) operating mode (see paragraph 56 which shows a MIMO system and fig. 1 which shows a single antenna with four loops), the method comprising:
feeding a respective radio signal to each feed of the antenna (see paragraph 44 which shows two different feeds used for two different signals for the clover antenna); and
radiating each radio signal by the antenna, wherein the antenna radiates each radio signal with a different polarization (see paragraph 4 which shows multiple polarizations for transmitting and receiving a signal using one antenna).
Manholm does not teach feeding the radio signal through a separate input feed of the antenna and radiating each radio signal through a common radiating emitter. Monte teaches feeding the radio signal through a separate input feed of the antenna and radiating each radio signal through a common radiating emitter (see col. 1, lines 45-51 which shows the process of receiving and transmitting three separate signals on different polarizations where fig. 1A shows the device as a common emitter and col. 3, lines 30-38 shows separate input feeds). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Monte to the device of Manholm in order to improve quality of three or more signals when communicating using a single antenna.
Referring to Claim 10, Manholm also teaches a method of operating a radio device having a single antenna in a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) operating mode (see paragraph 56 which shows a MIMO system and fig. 1 which shows a single antenna with four loops), the method comprising:
receiving, by the antenna, a plurality of radio signals, wherein the antenna receives each radio signal with a different polarization (see paragraph 4 which shows multiple polarizations for transmitting and receiving a signal using one antenna); and
feeding each different polarization from the antenna to radio circuitry by a respective feed of a plurality of feeds of the antenna (see paragraph 44 which shows two different feeds used for two different signals for the clover antenna).
Manholm does not teach using a common element of the antenna to receive a plurality of radio signals and feeding the radio signals from the common element to radio circuitry. Monte teaches using a common element of the antenna to receive a plurality of radio signals and feeding the radio signals from the common element to radio circuitry (see col. 1, lines 45-51 which shows the process of receiving and transmitting three separate signals on different polarizations where fig. 1A shows the device as a common element and col. 3, lines 30-38 shows separate input feeds). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Monte to the device of Manholm in order to improve quality of three or more signals when communicating using a single antenna.
Referring to Claim 2, Manholm also teaches each signal being radiated by a respective region of a patterned radiating emitter of the antenna (see 2-5 of fig. 1 which shows 4 separate regions of the antenna for radiating signals as described in paragraph 43).
Referring to Claim 5, Manholm also teaches each radiated radio signal radiated with a different polarization by a single emitting element (see paragraph 4 which shows multiple polarizations for transmitting and receiving a signal using one antenna).
Referring to Claim 6, Manholm also teaches the single emitting element receiving each respective radio signal through an independent feed (see paragraph 44 which shows two different feeds used for two different signals for the clover antenna).
Referring to Claim 7, Manholm also teaches each radio signal is coupled to a feed and a ground pin of the single emitting element (see paragraph 44 which shows two different feeds used for two different signals for the clover antenna and fig. 1 where all feeds are connected to a ground pin 9).
Referring to Claim 8, Manholm also teaches radiating at least three independent beams (see paragraph 35 which shows three different radiation patterns).
Referring to Claim 9, Monte also teaches coupling at least three independent radio signals to the single emitting element (col. 3, lines 30-38 shows separate input feeds for three separate signals to a common element as shown in fig. 1A).
Referring to Claim 11, Manholm also teaches each signal being radiated by a respective region of a single patterned radiating emitter (see 2-5 of fig. 1 which shows 4 separate regions of the antenna for radiating signals as described in paragraph 43).
Referring to Claim 14, Manholm also teaches the received radio signals including horizontal, vertical, and inverted vertical polarizations (see paragraph 4 which shows at least two orthogonal polarizations which implies polarizations at a right angle to each other meaning that three polarizations would include horizontal, vertical, and inverted vertical).
Referring to Claim 15, Manholm also teaches each of the received radio signals having a different signal path from a transmitting antenna (see paragraph 4 which shows receiving signals from at least two orthogonal polarizations which means that signals transmitted to the antenna will be from orthogonal directions which implies different signal paths).
Referring to Claim 20, Manholm also teaches each of the radio signals having a uniform phase front (see paragraph 41 which shows each loop of the antenna all having the same phase).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 12-13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manholm and Monte, and further in view of Bishop et al. (US 8,665,170).
Referring to Claim 3, the combination of Manholm and Monte does not teach the respective radio signal as a 2.4 gigahertz signal. Bishop teaches the respective radio signal as a 2.4 gigahertz signal (see col. 9, lines 30-42 which shows communication using 2.4 and 5 GHz bands). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Bishop to the modified device of Manholm and Monte in order to better expand the capabilities of the device.
Referring to Claim 4, Bishop also teaches the respective radio signal as a 5 gigahertz signal (see col. 9, lines 30-42 which shows communication using 2.4 and 5 GHz bands). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Bishop to the modified device of Manholm and Monte in order to better expand the capabilities of the device.
Referring to Claim 12, Bishop also teaches receiving a 2.4 gigahertz radio signal (see col. 9, lines 30-42 which shows communication using 2.4 and 5 GHz bands). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Bishop to the modified device of Manholm and Monte in order to better expand the capabilities of the device.
Referring to Claim 13, Bishop also teaches receiving a 5 gigahertz radio signal (see col. 9, lines 30-42 which shows communication using 2.4 and 5 GHz bands). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Bishop to the modified device of Manholm and Monte in order to better expand the capabilities of the device.
Referring to Claim 16, Bishop also teaches each of the radio signals received through a single emitter plate (see fig. 5 which shows a plate structure for the antenna assembly). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Bishop to the modified device of Manholm and Monte in order to better expand the capabilities of the device.
Referring to Claim 17, Bishop also teaches the single emitter plate including a feed line for each of the respective feeds (see 112 of fig. 5 which shows three feed lines).
Referring to Claim 18, Bishop also teaches the single emitter plate includes a ground connection for each of the respective feeds (see col. 5, lines 11-19 which shows a grounding side connected to each feed as shown in fig. 3 where 120 is the ground and 112 is the feed).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manholm, Monte, and Bishop and further in view of Maruyama et al. (US 2015/0155636).
Referring to Claim 19, the combination of Manholm, Monte, and Bishop does not teach wherein the single emitter plate receives each radio signal through a different region of a single antenna reflector. Maruyama teaches wherein the single emitter plate receives each radio signal through a different region of a single antenna reflector (see paragraph 57 which shows receiving signals in different areas of a reflector plate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Maruyama to the modified device of Manholm, Monte, and Bishop in order to better ensure quality communications with multiple signals communicated in multiple orientations and directions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE YUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648