DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group III, claims 20-24, in the reply filed on 23 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-19 and 25-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is requested to amend the first paragraph of the specification to indicate that related application 18/408,523 is now U.S. Patent No. 12,507,332.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carstensen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0256262 A1; hereinafter known as “Carstensen”), in view of Pillai et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0067130 A1; hereinafter known as “Pillai”).
Regarding claim 20, Carstensen discloses a gamma stimulation apparatus (Abstract; Figs. 1, 2; [0002]-[0006]), comprising a control module having a first power output port and a second power output port, wherein: the control module is configured to output, via the first power output port, a first output power having a first periodical waveform at a first operating frequency (OF1), the control module is configured to output, via the second power output port, a second output power having a second periodical waveform at a second operating frequency (OF2), the first power output port is configured to power a first external light source to produce a first light output, the second power output port is configured to power a second external light source to produce a second light output superimposing the first light output to form a superimposed light having a superimposed frequency equal to OF2 - OF1, the superimposed frequency is between 20Hz and 45Hz, and the superimposed light appears flicker-free to eyes of a subject ([0026]-[0029]; [0031]; [0038]-[0039]; [0048]; beat frequency corresponding to a difference between the two operating frequencies of the respective light sources; both operating frequencies may be above the critical flicker frequency threshold and thus appear flicker-free to the subject, or may be below this threshold but still without perceptible flicker; superimposed frequency OF2-OF1 is the same as the third brain stimulation rate taught to be the difference between the second and first brain stimulation rates and may be between 35-45 Hz). Carstensen fails to disclose a rectifier that is configured to convert an external alternating current (AC) power to an internal direct current (DC) power to power the control module. Pillai discloses a similar stimulation apparatus (Abstract) that comprising a rectifier that converts AC power to DC power in order to supply the necessary power to the light sources ([0095]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Carstensen with a rectifier, as taught by Pillai, in order to supply the necessary power to the first and second external light sources.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Carstensen and Pillai discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Carstensen further discloses that the first periodical waveform and the second periodical waveform have a same waveform style ([0041]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Carstensen and Pillai discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Carstensen further discloses that the OF1 frequency is greater than 50Hz ([0038]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Carstensen and Pillai discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Carstensen further discloses that the superimposed frequency is 40Hz ([0039]; [0048]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Carstensen and Pillai discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Carstensen further discloses that the OF1 frequency is 80Hz and the OF2 frequency is 120Hz ([0038]-[0039]).
Double Patenting
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,563,650. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the issued patent includes all of the limitations of present claim 20 (along with some additional limitations).
Claims 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,563,650 in view of Carstensen. The claim of the issued patent includes all of the limitations of the present claims, except for (i) the first periodical waveform and the second periodical waveform having a same waveform style, (ii) the OF1 frequency being greater than 50Hz, (iii) the superimposed frequency being 40Hz, and (iv) the OF1 frequency being 80Hz and the OF2 frequency being 120Hz. As detailed supra, Carstensen teaches a similar gamma stimulation apparatus that includes each of these limitations. It would have been obvious to modify the invention of the claim of the issued patent with the limitations expressed in present claims 21-24, as taught by Carstensen, as these are known effective parameters for providing gamma stimulation using such an apparatus.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791