DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 04/12/2024, 08/26/2024 and 10/23/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 2019/0392189 A1) in view of Aoki (US 2013/0243264 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20, Kumar discloses a palm image recognition method performed by a computer device, the method comprising (Abstract, ¶¶ [0060]-[0061], Fig. 2; Kumar teaches a non-contact biometric identification system in which a scanner obtains palm image data and a computing device system processes the image data for palm based identification.)
[claim 11: A computer device comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing at least one computer program, and the at least one computer program being loaded and executed by the processor and causing the computer device to implement a palm image recognition method including: (¶ [0194])
[claim 20: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing at least one computer program, and the at least one computer program being loaded and executed by a processor of a computer device and causing the computer device to implement a palm image recognition method including: (¶ [0199])
performing palm detection on a palm image captured by a camera to generate a palm box for a palm in the palm image (¶¶ [0060], [0065], [0075]; Figs. 2-4; Kumar teaches camera acquired raw image data and a palm detection module that determines whether a palm is present and determines a boundary box designating the palm area.)
determining location information of the palm relative to the camera based on the palm box and the palm image (¶¶ [0071]-[0072], [0076]-[0079]; Kumar teaches using the palm boundary box and image data to evaluate palm orientation, pose, brightness, blur and hand geometry. Kumar also teaches directing the user to place the hand in a particular orientation, pose, or position with respect to the scanner.)
displaying a palm identifier corresponding to the palm based on the location information (¶ [0079]; Kumar teaches output to a display to direct the user’s hand position)
Kumar fails to disclose the palm identifier being used for indicating the palm to move to a preset spatial location corresponding to the camera to obtain an object identifier corresponding to the palm image.
In related art, Aoki discloses a palm identifier being used for indicating the palm to move to a preset spatial location corresponding to the camera to obtain an object identifier corresponding to the palm image. (abstract, ¶¶ [0089]-[0093], [0115]-[0117]; Aoki teaches a guidance image display unit that displays a guidance image for guiding a user’s biometric portion to an appropriate distance, where the guidance image changes continuously or in stages according to the measured distance. Aoki further teaches guiding the biometric portion to an appropriate range before image acquisition, including guidance in distance and XY directions. Kumar teaches obtaining a user identifier from the palm image signature.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Aoki into the teachings of Kumar to improve authentication accuracy and usability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665