DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakakibara (US 2021/0170884; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Sakakibara teaches a method for operating a power supply circuit (38-50) in an inverter (34-52) for driving an electrical machine (32), the power supply circuit (38-50) in the inverter (34-52) comprising:
a high-voltage branch (38) with a high-voltage level (para. [0023]),
a low-voltage branch (54) with a low-voltage level (para. [0023]), the low-voltage branch (54) having
a supply branch (on line 54) for distributing current to components (of auxiliary device 52) of the inverter (34-52) and
a mains branch (output of 40) for connection to a low-voltage network (network of sensors 40a-40b),
an operating DC/DC converter (40), which is connected on the one hand to the high-voltage branch (38) and on the other hand to the low-voltage branch (54),
a discharge DC/DC converter (42), which is connected on the one hand to the high-voltage branch (38) and on the other hand to the mains branch (output of 40),
the high-voltage level being higher than the low-voltage level (para. [0023]),
wherein the method comprises the steps of:
in a first operating mode (para. [0032]), conducting current from the high-voltage branch (38) via the operating DC/DC converter (40) into the supply branch (on line 54), wherein no current is conducted from the high-voltage branch (38) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) into the mains branch (output of 40),
in a second operating mode (para. [0033] and [0035]), conducting current from the high-voltage branch (38) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) into the mains branch (output of 40).
As for claim 3, Sakakibara teaches in a third operating mode, conducting current from the mains branch (output of 40) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) into the high-voltage branch (38).
As for claim 9, Sakakibara teaches wherein in the second operating mode the current flowing from the high-voltage branch (38) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) into the mains branch (output of 40) is regulated to a set current intensity (See current sensors 40b and 54b connected to ECU 70).
Regarding claim 11, Sakakibara teaches wherein in the second operating mode the discharge DC/DC converter (42) is operated with constant voltage at the mains branch (This keeps the power of the auxiliary device 52 constant as discussed in para. [0036]).
As for claim 12, Sakakibara teaches a computing unit (70) adapted to perform a method according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Sakakibara teaches a power supply circuit (38-50, 70) in an inverter (34-52) for driving an electrical machine (32), the power supply circuit (38-50, 70) comprising:
a high-voltage branch (38) with a high-voltage level (para. [0023]),
a low-voltage branch (54) with a low-voltage level (para. [0023]), the low-voltage branch (54) having
a supply branch (on line 54) for distributing current to components (of auxiliary device 52) of the inverter (34-52) and
a mains branch (output of 40) for connection to a low-voltage network (network of sensors 40a-40b),
an operating DC/DC converter (40), which is connected on the one hand to the high-voltage branch (38) and on the other hand to the low-voltage branch (54),
a discharge DC/DC converter (42), which is connected on the one hand to the high-voltage branch (38) and on the other hand to the mains branch (output of 40),
wherein the low-voltage branch (54) is arranged to supply components (52, 54a, 54b) of the inverter (34-52) with energy,
the power supply circuit (38-50, 70) further comprising a computing unit (70) for performing a method comprising the steps of:
in a first operating mode (para. [0032]), conducting current from the high-voltage branch (38) via the operating DC/DC converter (40) into the supply branch (on line 54), wherein no current is conducted from the high-voltage branch (38) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) into the mains branch (output of 40),
in a second operating mode (para. [0033] and [0035]), conducting current from the high-voltage branch (38) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) into the mains branch (output of 40).
Regarding claim 14, Sakakibara teaches a discharge circuit (48-50) which can be switched in such a way that the high-voltage branch (38) is either electrically connected to the mains branch (output of 40) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) or is electrically isolated from the mains branch (output of 40).
As for claim 15, Sakakibara teaches wherein the discharge circuit (48-50) is switchable such that the high-voltage branch (38) is either electrically connected to the low-voltage branch (54) via the operating DC/DC converter (40) or is electrically isolated from the low-voltage branch (54).
Regarding claim 17, Sakakibara teaches an inverter (34-52) comprising a power supply circuit (38-50, 70) according to claim 13 and an inverter circuit (34), the inverter circuit (34) comprising a number of semiconductor switches (transistors; para. [0021]) to be driven by means of drive signals (from ECU 70), further comprising low-voltage terminals (of 54) adapted to be connected to a low-voltage network (54) of a vehicle, high-voltage terminals (of 38) adapted to be connected to a high-voltage network (38) of the vehicle, and machine terminals (output of 34) adapted to be connected to stator windings (para. [0020]) of the electric machine (32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara.
Regarding claim 4, Sakakibara wherein a discharge circuit (50) is used, the discharge circuit (50) comprising a mains branch disconnector (50) for connecting and disconnecting the high-voltage branch (38) to and from the discharge DC/DC converter (42), and/or a supply branch disconnector (48) for connecting and disconnecting the high-voltage branch (38) to and from the operating DC/DC converter (40).
Sakakibara fails to teach the relays (48-50) being on the low-voltage side (at line 54) of the respective DC/DC converters (40-42).
However, as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, placing the relays (48-50) of Sakakibara on the opposite side of the respective DC/DC converters (40-42) would not affect the function of the relays, i.e., disconnecting the DC/DC converters (40-42) from their respective paths between the high-voltage power line (38) and the low-voltage power line (54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the relays of Sakakibara along the DC/DC converting paths because such a modification would not have an effect on the functional operation of the power supply circuit of Sakakibara.
As for claim 5, Sakakibara teaches wherein in the first operating mode (para. [0032]) the supply branch disconnector (48) is closed and the mains branch disconnector (50) is open.
As for claim 6, Sakakibara teaches wherein in the second operating mode (para. [0035]) the mains branch disconnector (50) and the supply branch disconnector (48) are closed.
As for claim 7, Sakakibara teaches wherein in the second operating mode (para. [0033]) the mains branch disconnector (50) is closed and the supply branch disconnector (48) is open.
Regarding claim 8, Sakakibara teaches wherein the mains branch disconnector (50) is closed first and the supply branch disconnector (48) is opened with a delay (There is an inherent time delay between the ECU sending a control signal to the relays (48-50) and the relays responding to the control signal.).
Regarding claim 10, Sakakibara teaches the method according to claim 9, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the current is controlled by controlling a semiconductor switch.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to embody an electronic switch with a semiconductor switch, e.g., a transistor switch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the relays of Sakakibara with semiconductor switches because such a modification would have been a replacement with well-known, functionally-equivalent electronic switches that would yield predictable results in the power supply circuit of Sakakibara.
As for claim 16, Sakakibara teaches a current intensity determining device (40b, 48, 70) with a switch (48) for regulating a current intensity from the high-voltage branch (38) into the mains branch (output of 40).
Sakakibara fails to teach wherein the current is controlled by controlling a semiconductor switch.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to embody an electronic switch with a semiconductor switch, e.g., a transistor switch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the relays of Sakakibara with semiconductor switches because such a modification would have been a replacement with well-known, functionally-equivalent electronic switches that would yield predictable results in the power supply circuit of Sakakibara.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s comments directed to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakakibara, Applicant argues:
Argument #1: “However, none of these cited elements (supply branch (on line 54), auxiliary device 52, mains branch (output of 40)) can be considered as a component of inverter 34 of Sakakibara. These elements are clearly components of the vehicle power system that includes inverter 34. Sakakibara does not disclose any internal components of the inverter 34.” See top of page 7 of Applicant’s remarks.
Response to Argument #1: However, as stated above in the rejection of claim 1, the group of elements 34-52 are interpreted as the inverter of Sakakibara.
Sakakibara is similar to the instant application in that Sakakibara discloses an inverter (34-52) including an inverter circuit (34) and DC/DC converters (40, 42), while the instant application discloses an inverter (1) including an inverter circuit (115) and DC/DC converters (10, 20).
Argument #2: “Furthermore, the network of sensors 40a-40b of Sakakibara would not be considered a low-voltage network by one of ordinary skill in the art.” See top of page 7 of Applicant’s remarks.
Response to Argument #2: The Applicant provides no support for the statement that elements 40a-40b “would not be considered a low-voltage network by one of ordinary skill in the art.” Furthermore, because the network of sensors 40a-40b is connected to the low voltage system power line 54, the network of sensors 40a-40b is interpreted as a low-voltage network.
Argument #3: “Sakakibara neither discloses nor suggests that in a first or normal operating mode, current is only supplied to components of the inverter but not to the low-voltage network, whereas in a second or discharging mode, current is supplied to the low-voltage network.” See bottom of page 8 and top of page 9 of Applicant’s remarks.
Response to Argument #3: It is the Examiner’s position that this is not an accurate description of the claimed invention because the Applicant is omitting the claim language “via the discharge DC/DC converter (20)”.
The claim limitation reads, “in a first operating mode, conducting current from the high-voltage branch (110) via the operating DC/DC converter (10) into the supply branch (120a), wherein no current is conducted from the high-voltage branch (110) via the discharge DC/DC converter (20) into the mains branch (120b)”.
This limitation does not state that no current at all is conducted from the high-voltage branch (110) into the mains branch (120b). This limitation only states that the discharge DC/DC converter (20) is not used to conduct current from the high-voltage branch (110) into the mains branch (120b) in the first operating mode.
A reference that teaches conducting current from a high-voltage branch into a mains branch, wherein the conducted current does not pass through a discharge DC/DC converter will read on this claim limitation.
As seen in the rejection of claim 1 above with respect to Sakakibara, Sakakibara teaches in a first operating mode (para. [0032]), conducting current from the high-voltage branch (38) via the operating DC/DC converter (40) into the supply branch (on line 54), wherein no current is conducted from the high-voltage branch (38) via the discharge DC/DC converter (42) into the mains branch (output of 40). Para. [0032] of Sakakibara teaches the DC/DC converter 42 being “stopped”, so no current is passing through this DC/DC converter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art reference of record, Sakakibara, fails to teach:
“in a first operating mode, conducting current from the high-voltage branch via the combined operating and discharge DC/DC converter into the supply branch, wherein no current is conducted from the high-voltage branch via the combined operating and discharge DC/DC converter into the mains branch”, as set forth in claim 18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 June 30, 2026