Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group 1 (claims 1-7,20) in the reply filed on June 22, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art search would not place a burden and also why the prior art applicable to one would not apply to the another invention. This is not found persuasive because the groups in question are clearly and explicitly distinct with different class searches and distinct limitations that place undue burden on the examiner for searching. Based on the claim limitations for claim 1 against claim 8 it is clear 8 recites limitations which are not part of claim 1 therefore requires different searches and thus the restriction is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)1
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-7,20 are/is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being clearly anticipated by Kim et al (US 20160373225 A1) hereinafter as Kim.
Regarding claim(s) 1,20, Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See Fig(s). 1 with UE 110), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (See Fig(s). 1 process 150, memory 160), configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration associated with transmitting acknowledgment (ACK) or negative ACK (NACK) feedback in a pilot symbol (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 38), wherein the pilot symbol is associated with an uplink reference signal (See Fig(s). 5, See ¶ 98, The SRS is a reference signal used for uplink channel measurement and as a pilot signal transmitted from each mobile station to the base station);
receive a communication (See Fig(s). 1, UE receives communication via receiver 140); and
transmit the ACK or NACK feedback regarding the communication in the pilot symbol in accordance with the configuration (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 41, the Tx data processor 165 of the mobile station 110 processes traffic data and provides data symbols. The symbol modulator 170 receives the data symbols, multiplexes the received data symbols with the pilot symbols, performs modulation for the multiplexed symbols, and provides the streams of the symbols to the transmitter 175. The transmitter 175 receives and processes the streams of the symbols and generates uplink signals. The uplink signals are transmitted to the base station 105 through the antenna 135.).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Kim discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to relating to multiple code block groups (See ¶ 36).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Kim discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the ACK or NACK feedback regarding the communication, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the ACK or NACK feedback in accordance with a set of constellation symbols, wherein the set of constellation symbols are associated with the ACK or NACK feedback relating to the multiple code block groups (See ¶ 36,41, “constellation symbol” in this context, means the modulated signal representation of the ACK/NACK bit in the PUCCH See ¶ abstract, 96, 124).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Kim discloses wherein the ACK or NACK feedback is multiplexed with data subcarriers in the pilot symbol (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 42, 95-96, The symbol modulator 170 receives the data symbols, multiplexes the received data symbols with the pilot symbols, performs modulation for the multiplexed symbols, and provides the streams of the symbols to the transmitter 175.).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Kim discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the ACK or NACK feedback, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the ACK or NACK feedback on one or more data subcarriers in the pilot symbol (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 42, 95-96, The symbol modulator 170 receives the data symbols, multiplexes the received data symbols with the pilot symbols, performs modulation for the multiplexed symbols, and provides the streams of the symbols to the transmitter 175.).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Kim discloses wherein the configuration indicates a set of subcarriers on which the ACK or NACK feedback is to be transmitted (See ¶ 96).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Kim discloses wherein the configuration indicates whether the ACK or NACK feedback should be provided in the pilot symbol or via a control channel (See ¶ 99, . The subframe for which the SRS is transmitted by the mobile station within the cell may be indicated by cell-specific broadcast signaling. A 4-bit sized cell-specific ‘srsSubframeConfiguration’ parameter indicates 15 available subframe sets for which the SRS may be transmitted within each radio frame. This structure provides flexibility in controlling SRS overhead).
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411