DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 8, 10, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bilgeri (2022/0333882).
In reference to claim 7, Bilgeri discloses a compact bolt carrier group for a firearm comprising:
a bolt carrier (4), a rotating bolt (3), a cam pin (33), and a cam guide rail (25);
said bolt carrier has at least one guide rail slot (45) that accepts at least one cam guide rail (paragraphs 47 and 60),
said guide rail slot is a channel positioned in a lateral sidewall of the bolt carrier (figures 2, 6A, 6B, 7A, and 7B),
said cam pin extends in an upward direction from the bolt carrier (figures 6A, 6B, 7A, and 7B),
said cam pin having a cam bearing surface (333),
wherein said cam bearing surface does not exceed a front profile of a cam shaft (figures 2, 6A, 6B, 7A, and 7B).
In reference to claim 8, Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention (figures 6A and 6B show that the bolt carrier includes a slot on each side, each slot receiving a rail of the receiver, the rail on the left-hand side is situated higher than rail 25).
In reference to claim 10, Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention (figures 6A and 6B).
In reference to claim 14, Bilgeri discloses a compact bolt carrier group for a firearm comprising:
a bolt carrier (4), a rotating bolt (3), a cam pin (33), and a cam guide rail (25);
said cam pin extends in a generally upward direction from the bolt carrier (figures 6A, 6B, 7A, and 7B),
said cam pin having a cam bearing surface (333),
said bolt carrier having a least a first guide rail slot (45),
wherein, said guide rail slot is a channel positioned in a lateral sidewall of said bolt carrier (figures 2, 6A, 6B, 7A, and 7B),
wherein, said first guide rail slot aligns with the cam bearing surface (figures 6A, 6B, 7A, and 7B), and
wherein, the cam guide rail fits in the guide rail slot on the bolt carrier providing stability to the bolt carrier during its forward and rearward travel (figures 6A, 6B, 7A, and 7B; paragraphs 47 and 60).
In reference to claim 15, Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention (figures 6A and 6B show that the bolt carrier includes a slot on each side, each slot receiving a rail of the receiver, the rail on the left-hand side is situated higher than rail 25).
In reference to claim 17, Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention (figures 6A and 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilgeri.
Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the cam guide rails are inserts into a receiver. Bilgeri discloses rails that are monolithic with a receiver. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rails as discrete structures that are assembled into the interior of the receiver (i.e., as inserts), with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 1-6, 11, and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilgeri in view of Serbu (11466944; “Serbu”).
In reference to claims 11 and 18, Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the bolt is compatible with an M4 barrel extension. However, Bilgeri contemplates configuring the bolt carrier group for essentially any semi-automatic firearm that uses a bolt carrier group with a rotating bolt (paragraphs 1, 2, 10, and 40). Serbu teaches such a semi-automatic rifle in the form of an AR-15 (column 2, lines 50-53), which a person of ordinary skill in the art knows is compatible with an M4 barrel extension. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the bolt carrier group of Bilgeri for compatibility with an AR-15 rifle, which is compatible with an M4 barrel extension, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to carry out the invention of Bilgeri for use with an AR-15 rifle.
In reference to claim 1, Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the references to claims 7, 11, 14, and 18, including a firing pin aperture (35), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cam bearing surface and at least one cam guide rail are at least partially within 0.49 inches measured vertically from a center of the firing pin aperture. However, it is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to optimize the dimensions of a bolt carrier group for a given application; the distance in question results in an overall lower profile of the bolt carrier group.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the bolt carrier group of Bilgeri such that the cam bearing surface and at least one cam guide rail are at least partially within 0.49 inches measured vertically from a center of the firing pin aperture (35), with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
In reference to claim 2, Bilgeri in view of Serbu makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 8.
In reference to claim 3, Bilgeri in view of Serbu makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the rejection of claims 9 and 16.
In reference to claim 4, Bilgeri in view of Serbu makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 10.
In reference to claim 5, Bilgeri in view of Serbu makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 7.
In reference to claim 6, Bilgeri in view of Serbu makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 14.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilgeri in view of Sugg (11092396).
Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the bolt is compatible with an M110 barrel extension. However, Bilgeri contemplates configuring the bolt carrier group for essentially any semi-automatic firearm that uses a bolt carrier group with a rotating bolt (paragraphs 1, 2, 10, and 40). Sugg teaches that an M110 is such a semi-automatic rifle (column 1, lines 29-39). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the bolt carrier group of Bilgeri for compatibility with an M110 semi-automatic rifle, which includes an M110 barrel extension, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to carry out the invention of Bilgeri for use with said rifle.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilgeri in view of Serbu (2020/0240734; “Serbu ‘734”).
Bilgeri discloses the claimed invention, except for an operating rod positioned above the cam pin. However, Bilgeri contemplates configuring the bolt carrier group for essentially any semi-automatic firearm that uses a bolt carrier group with a rotating bolt (paragraphs 1, 2, 10, and 40). Serbu ‘734 teaches it is known to form such a firearm with a gas system comprising an operating rod that is connected to a bolt carrier and is situated above a cam pin of a bolt carrier group, in order to cycle the bolt carrier group for repeated firing (figures 1-3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the bolt carrier group for use with a firearm having a gas system that uses an operating rod connected to the bolt carrier, and to provide the bolt carrier group said operating rod connected to the bolt carrier and above the cam pin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to cycle the bolt carrier group for repeated firing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641