DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Amendmen
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 11, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi (US20230283348).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference MolavianJazi discloses a method (¶0005 discloses a method for a network-controlled repeater (NCR)) comprising: receiving, by a network controlled repeater (NCR) from a base station, a paging message comprising one or more NCR-specific parameters (¶0005 discloses receiving, by an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) entity, first information…second information… and third information. ¶0200 further discloses that an NCR-MT is provided an NCR ID); wherein the NCR is a radio frequency (RF) repeater comprising an NCR-Forwarding (NCR-Fwd) function and an NCR-Mobile Termination (NCR-MT) entity (Fig. 14 below discloses the NCR includes the NCR-MT and NCR-Fwd); the NCR-MT entity is used to receive side control information; and the NCR-Fwd is used to amplify and forward signals between a wireless device and the base station based on side control information (¶0180 discloses that The NCR-MT is defined as a functional entity to communicate with a gNB via a Control link (C-link) to enable exchange of control information (e.g., side control information at least for the control of NCR-Fwd) and ¶0181 discloses that the NCR-Fwd is defined as a functional entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signal between gNB and UE); and initiating, by the NCR-MT, a procedure based on the one or more NCR-specific parameters (¶0241 discloses that When the NCR-MT receives such new/second indication, then at step 1760 both NCR-MT and NCR-RU use the secondspatial relation for communication with the gNB on the C-link and the backhaul link, respectively. ¶0200 further discloses thatat step 1610, an NCR-MT is provided an NCR ID (such as a CR-ID) from a set of IDs associated with NCR nodes. At step 1620, the NCR-MT transmits a Msg1/A PRACH. At step 1630, the NCR-MT includes the NCR ID in a Msg3/A PUSCH associated with the Msg1/A PRACH, and transmits the Msg3/A PUSCH).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the cited reference MolavianJazi further discloses wherein the procedure is a radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure (¶0521 discloses that an NCR-MT is provided information of such a new/second initial BWP … the NCR-MT ‘connects’ the gNB on the new/second initial BWP).
Regarding claim 11, the cited reference MolavianJazi discloses a network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, (Fig.2 discloses a repeater includes multiple transceivers 210 a-210 n, a controller/processor 225, a memory 230), cause the NCR to performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the cited reference MolavianJazi discloses a system comprising: a base station; and a network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (¶0007 discloses that The BS further includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver and Fig.2 discloses a repeater includes multiple transceivers 210 a-210 n, a controller/processor 225, a memory 230), cause the NCR to performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US20250039958).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Zhang discloses a method (¶0007 discloses a communication method) comprising: receiving, by a network controlled repeater (NCR) from a base station, a paging message comprising one or more NCR-specific parameters (Abstract discloses that a repeater includes: communication processor circuitry configured to communicate with a network device to receive control information; and forwarding processor circuitry configured to perform amplifying-and-forwarding of UL and/or DL RF signals between a network device and a UE, wherein the control information is received according to a repeater-specific identifier and/or a C-RNTI of the repeater); wherein the NCR is a radio frequency (RF) repeater comprising an NCR-Forwarding (NCR-Fwd) function and an NCR-Mobile Termination (NCR-MT) entity; the NCR-MT entity is used to receive side control information; and the NCR-Fwd is used to amplify and forward signals between a wireless device and the base station based on side control information (¶0090 discloses that the repeater includes a communication module (which may also be referred to as an MT module) and a forwarding module (which may also be referred to as an RU module), wherein the communication module is used to support its a communication function (such as receiving and/or transmitting information described above) between it and the network device, and the forwarding module is used to support its amplification and forwarding functions…the communication module may control the forwarding module); and initiating a procedure based on the one or more NCR-specific parameters (¶0091 discloses that the communication module of the repeater may receive information from the network device via the communication link or control link... In addition, the communication module of the repeater may apply the information received from the network device to the forwarding module through internal operations of the repeater).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the cited reference Liu further discloses wherein the paging message comprises a paging record comprising the one or more NCR-specific parameters (¶0245 discloses that the control information … information includes the identifier of the repeater).
Regarding claim 10, the cited reference Zhang discloses wherein the one or more NCR-specific parameters are associated with one or more NCR-specific procedures (¶0077-¶0078 discloses that information transmission and/or reception between the network device and the repeaters may possibly need to be specific to the repeaters… the information transmitted by the network device (such as control information, etc.) may be specific to one repeater (that is, the information is repeater-specific/dedicated).
Regarding claim 11, the cited reference Zhang discloses a network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, (Fig.27 discloses a repeater includes a processor 2710 and a memory 2720, the memory 2720 being coupled to the processor 2710), cause the NCR to performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the cited reference Zhang discloses a system comprising: a base station; and a network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Fig.28 discloses a network device 2800 may include a processor 2810 and a memory 2820, the memory 2820 being coupled to the processor 2810 and Fig.27 discloses a repeater may include a processor 2710 and a memory 2720, the memory 2720 being coupled to the processor 2710)), cause the NCR to performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-9, 12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi (US20230283348), in view of Jiang et al (US20250220727).
Regarding claims 2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15, and 18-19, the cited reference MolavianJazi discloses all limitations of claim 1 and 11 respectively. However, MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receiving the paging message is by the NCR-MT entity (Claims 2 and 12).
wherein the procedure is a random access process (Claims 5 and 15).
wherein the receiving the paging message is while the NCR is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state (Claims 7 and 17).
wherein the receiving the paging message is while the NCR is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state (claims 8 and 18).
wherein the receiving the paging message is while the NCR is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (claims 9 and 19).
In an analogous art Jiang teaches:
wherein the receiving the paging message is by the NCR-MT entity (Claims 2 and 12) (¶0093 discloses that the NCR-MT receives a first paging message).
wherein the procedure is a random access process (Claims 5 and 15) (¶0093 discloses that the NCR-MT receives a first paging message. The first paging message triggers the random access).
wherein the receiving the paging message is while the NCR is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state (Claims 7 and 17) (¶0130 discloses that one or more first indication information received by the NCR-MT, wherein, (before the NCR-MT receives the first paging message (triggers the random access in 301)), the NCR-MT is in the RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state).
wherein the receiving the paging message is while the NCR is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state (claims 8 and 18) (¶0130 discloses that the one or more first indication information is received when the NCR-MT is in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
wherein the receiving the paging message is while the NCR is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (claims 9 and 19) (¶0130 discloses that the one or more first indication information is received when the NCR-MT is in the RRC_CONNECTED state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Jiang to benefit from Maximum Power Efficiency and no dedicated resources for the case for RRC inactive mode and Lowest Latency, Full Resources for the case for RRC connected mode when paged.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the cited reference MolavianJazi wherein the random access process is based on NCR- specific random access parameters (¶0426 discloses thatthe mobile termination of the repeater selects the random access resource (for transmitting the random access)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP ~ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI whose telephone number is (571)270-1656. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri: 8AM-5PM EST.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462