DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the length of the text is less than 50 words (should be 50 to 150). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In, pp. 17 and 18, the “partial differentiation step 322” is not consistent with the text description of 322 in FIG. 3 .
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 320 and 323 (see pp. 17 and 18 ). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a parameterization section” and “a velocity model optimization section,” plus the respective functions recited in claim 1; “the partial differentiation of a velocity function section” and “a synthetic data generation section,” plus the respective functions recited in claim 2; and “a residual definition section,” “a partial differentiation section,” and “a velocity model update section,” plus the respective functions recited in claim 3.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 17, “parametrize” should be --parameterize-- to correct a typo.
In claim 1, lines 19-20, “configured to applying” should be --configured to apply-- to correct a grammatical error.
In claim 1, lines 23-24, “the good initial subsurface velocity model” should be --a good initial subsurface velocity model-- to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 2, lines 3-4, “the partial differentiation of a velocity function section” should be --a partial differentiation of a velocity function section-- to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claims 2, lines 5-6, “a frequency domain or the Laplace domain or the Laplace Fourier domain” should be --a frequency domain, a Laplace domain, or a Laplace Fourier domain-- for better clarity and to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 2, lines 11-12, “by of the partial differentiation of the velocity function section” should be --by the partial differentiation of a velocity function section-- for better clarity and to be consistent in referring to the antecedent basis.
In claim 3, lines 7-8, “the wavefield” should be --a wavefield-- to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 3, lines 8-10, “cosine transform or since transform or the complex Fourier series or the Fourier transform ;” should be --a cosine transform, a sine transform, a complex Fourier series, or a Fourier transform;-- for better clarity and to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 3, lines 11-12, “configured to applying” should be --configured to apply-- to correct a grammatical error.
In claim 5, line 4, “velocity model optimizing configured to applying” should be --velocity model optimizing by applying-- to recite a method step properly.
In claim 6, lines 4-5, “a frequency domain or a Laplace or a Laplace Fourier domain” should be --a frequency domain, a Laplace domain, or a Laplace Fourier domain-- for better clarity.
In claim 6, line 7, “the synthetic seismic data” should be --synthetic seismic data-- to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 7, line 3, “the measured seismic data” should be --measured seismic data-- to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 7, line 6, “the wavefield” should be --a wavefield-- to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 7, lines 7-9, “cosine transform or since transform or the complex Fourier series or the Fourier transform ;” should be --a cosine transform, a sine transform, a complex Fourier series, or a Fourier transform;-- for better clarity and to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 7, lines 10-11, “a velocity model updating which apply the Gauss Newton method and update the velocity model” should be --a velocity model updating which applies the Gauss Newton method and updates the velocity model-- to correct grammatical errors.
The other claim(s) not discussed above, or depending on the above claim(s), are objected to for inheriting the issue(s) from their linking claim(s).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
MPEP 2106 outlines a two-part analysis for Subject Matter Eligibility as shown in the chart below.
Step 1, the claimed invention must be to one of the four statutory categories. 35 U.S.C. 101 defines the four categories of invention that Congress deemed to be the appropriate subject matter of a patent: processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter.
Step 2, the claimed invention also must qualify as patent-eligible subject matter, i.e., the claim must not be directed to a judicial exception unless the claim as a whole includes additional limitations amounting to significantly more than the exception.
Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry, as shown in the chart below.
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? In Prong One examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception, i.e. whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. If the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea enumerated in MPEP § 2106.04(a), a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two. If the claim does not recite a judicial exception (a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea), then the claim cannot be directed to a judicial exception (Step 2A: NO), and thus the claim is eligible at Pathway B without further analysis. Abstract ideas can be grouped as, e.g., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes.
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? If the additional elements in the claim integrate the recited exception into a practical application of the exception, then the claim is not directed to the judicial exception (Step 2A: NO) and thus is eligible at Pathway B. This concludes the eligibility analysis. If, however, the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception (Step 2A: YES), and requires further analysis under Step 2B.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 5, Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Yes.
Step 2A: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (judicially recognized exceptions)? Yes (see analysis below).
Prong one: Whether the claim recites a judicial exception? (Yes). The claim is directed to an abstract idea because it recites the limitations “parameterizing a velocity model; and velocity model optimizing configured to applying a Gauss Newton method through waveform inversion for the velocity model parameterized by the parameterizing to repeatedly update the velocity model, thereby optimizing the velocity model.” These limitations are directed to mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; and/or mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (or with a pen and paper).
Prong two: Whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception? (No). The claim recites no additional elements beyond the abstract idea. Accordingly, no additional elements are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements (other than the judicial exception) that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No (see analysis below).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to make the claim significantly more than the judicial exception, as discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two above. Considered as a whole, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 1 is similarly rejected by analogy to claim 5. Note that the limitations: “a nonvolatile memory configured to store execution code for subsurface velocity model optimization software; a processor configured to execute the execution code for the subsurface velocity model optimization software stored in the nonvolatile memory; a display configured to display a subsurface velocity model optimization software screen output by the execution code for the subsurface velocity model optimization software executed by the processor; and a user input unit configured to receive user operation for input and output of the subsurface velocity model optimization software” are additional elements for the Step 2 analysis. However these are generic computer components recited to facilitate data processing according to the abstract idea. They are not sufficient to make the claim an eligible one. See MPEP 2106.05(d) and (f).
Dependent claims 2-4 and 6-8 when analyzed as a whole respectively are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they either extend (or add more details to) the abstract idea or the additional recited limitation(s) (if any) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea, as discussed below: there is no additional element(s) in the dependent claims that sufficiently integrates the abstract idea into a practical application of, or makes the claims significantly more than, the judicial exception (abstract idea). The additional element(s) (if any) are mere instructions to apply an except, field of use, and/or insignificant extra-solution activities (applied to Step 2A_Prong Two and Step 2B; see MPEP 2016.05(f)-(h)) and/or well-understood, routine, or conventional (applied to Step 2B; see MPEP 2106.05(d)) to facilitate the application of the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pratt et al. ("Gauss-Newton and full Newton methods in frequency-space seismic waveform inversion" Geophys. J. Int. (1998) 133, 341-362; cited in IDS; hereinafter “Pratt”).
Regarding claim 5, Pratt teaches a method of optimizing a subsurface velocity model (i.e., “the Gauss-Newton and full Newton methods prove effective in helping to solve the difficult non-linear problem of extracting a smooth background velocity model from surface seismic-reflection data”; see Summary), the method comprising:
parameterizing a velocity model (i.e., “we reparametrize the high-wavenumber inversion problem from depth to time, in order to decouple the two inverse problems. With such an approach, we now show how Newton methods can be effectively used to converge on the low wavenumbers in the problem. We parametrize the low-wavenumber velocity field using a small number of cubic spline node points”; see p. 354, col. 2, lower section); and
velocity model optimizing configured to applying a Gauss Newton method through waveform inversion for the velocity model parameterized by the parameterizing to repeatedly update the velocity model, thereby optimizing the velocity model (i.e., “The algorithm used to compute the update to the low-wavenumber velocity field for a given iteration is outlined below… We begin by explicitly calculating the required partial derivatives… We parametrize the low-wavenumber model using the velocity values at each of four cubic spline node points… The (unscaled) Gauss-Newton parameter perturbations can then be computed… The final low-wavenumber velocity update given by eqs [] (56) (for the Gauss-Newton method)”; see p. 354, col. 2, lower section through p. 355, col. 2, upper section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pratt.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the same substantive limitations in terms of the method involved as claim 5, and is rejected by applying the same teachings, except the utilization of “a nonvolatile memory configured to store execution code for subsurface velocity model optimization software; a processor configured to execute the execution code for the subsurface velocity model optimization software stored in the nonvolatile memory; a display configured to display a subsurface velocity model optimization software screen output by the execution code for the subsurface velocity model optimization software executed by the processor; and a user input unit configured to receive user operation for input and output of the subsurface velocity model optimization software” for executing the method.
However, the differences are well-known computer components to facilitate data processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pratt by providing those computer components as claimed, configured to executive the method. The rationale would be to facilitate the data processing required for the method.
Notes
Claims 2 and 6 distinguish over the closest prior art of record as discussed below.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, the closest prior art of record fails to teach the feature of claim 6 (as the representative): “parameterizing a velocity function included in a wave function in a frequency domain or a Laplace or a Laplace Fourier domain, and taking partial derivative of the parameterized velocity function with respect to a parameter; and generating the synthetic seismic data from a partial differentiation result by the parameterizing a velocity function,” in combination with the rest of the claim limitations as claimed and defined by the Applicant.
Not only does Pratt fail to teach or suggest partial differentiation of the velocity model, but Pratt also fail to teach or suggest transforming the velocity model in a frequency domain, Laplace domain, or a Laplace Fourier domain. Pratt further fails to teach or suggest generating the synthetic seismic data from a partial differentiation result by the parameterizing a velocity function. None of the prior art of record, singly or in combination, teaches or suggest the feature at issue as claimed.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
XU et al. (CN 116029073 A) teaches a method for optimizing a velocity model, involving obtaining reflected wave observation data required by inversion; constructing a background velocity model and a disturbance model for inversion; obtaining the calculation data corresponding to the current velocity model, according to the current background velocity model and disturbance model, using sound wave equation first-order Born positive evolution method; establishing reflected wave full waveform inversion target function and calculating the gradient corresponding to the current velocity model; updating direction of the model of second order optimization and updating the current model, according to the gradient and truncated Gaussian Newton method reflected wave full waveform inversion; and repeating perturbating the velocity model to update the velocity model until a residual error is minimized.
Shin et al. ("Waveform inversion in the Laplace–Fourier domain" Geophys. J. Int. (2009) 177, 1067-1079) teaches a Laplace–Fourier-domain waveform inversion method by exploiting low frequency components (less than 5 Hz) of the damped wavefield.
Bae et al. ("Frequency-domain acoustic-elastic coupled waveform inversion using the Gauss-Newton conjugate gradient method" Geophysical Prospecting doi: 10.1111/j.1365-2478.2011.00993.x, (2011)) teaches a method for frequency-domain acoustic-elastic coupled waveform inversion based on a Gauss-Newton conjugate gradient method.
Ha et al. ("Efficient velocity estimation in the Laplace domain using gain control" SEG San Antonio 2011 Annual Meeting) teaches a method for velocity estimation in the Laplace domain, involving applying gain functions to observed data and using the results to calculate gradients.
Conclusion
/JOHN C KUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857