DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-13 are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04-Oct-2024, 21-Mar-2025, 08-May-2025, 06-Jan-2026, and 30-Mar-2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 02-Jun-2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the composition and the method claims are directed to a singular inventive concept, the process is specifically adapted to the manufacture of the product. This is not found persuasive because the composition and method of use are directed to distinct inventions that require serious and divergent searches in different fields, thereby imposing a serious search and examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1(a) and 9(i) recites at least one organic acid, while later on recites organic acids with the same respective claim. The shift from singular to plural makes the claim unclear as to whether the organic acid refers to the limitation of at least one organic acid or an entirely different set of organic acids.
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5, depends from claim 1, recites "wherein the composition further comprises at least one additional component chosen from clays, surfactants, fatty compounds, thickening agents, amino acids and/or salts thereof, amino-sulfonic acids and/or salts thereof, organic amine compounds" but is unclear if the additional limitation is derived from the optional component of claim 1c or an entirely different set of components, making the metes and bounds of the claim uncertain.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the total amount of organic acids”. Claim 1 only recites organic acid prior. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the total weight of the composition". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9, 12-13 recites the limitation "the mixture" in claim 9. Claim 9 recites the process of “mixing” but not to form a mixture or resulting in a mix. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 7-10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunz et al. (US006171347B1, Patent: 09-Jan-2001).
In regards to claims 1-2, Kunz teaches a two component stripper emulsion in Example 6 comprising 6 wt% + 6 wt% = 12 wt% ascorbic acid as an organic acid, water as a solvent, cetyltrimethylammonium chloride as a surfactant (Col 24, Example 6).
In regards to claim 4 and 12, Kunz teaches the composition has a pH of 2.5 (Col 24, Example 6, line 31).
In regards to claim 5, Kunz teaches cetylstearyl alcohol as a fatty compound (Col 24, Example 6).
In regards to claim 6 and 13, Kunz teaches that the mixture is left on the hair for 5 to 60 minutes at a temperature of 20 to 50°C before being rinsed with water (Col 9, line 29-32).
In regards to claim 7, Kunz teaches that the stripping process can be speeded up by adding heat (Col 10, line 64-67 to Col 11, line 1)
In regards to claim 8, Kunz teaches that Example 6 is a stripper emulsion composition (Col 24, Example 6).
In regards to claim 9, Kunz teaches a two component stripper emulsion in Example 6 comprising of ascorbic acid as an organic acid in the first composition with a second composition of ascorbic acid that is mixed and applied to hair with a total organic acid wt% of 6+6 = 12 wt% (Col 24, Example 6).
In regards to claim 10, Kunz teaches the second component is ascorbic acid (Col 24, Example 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz as applied to claim 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Kunz 2 (US006106579, Patent: 22-Aug-2000).
Kunz teaches the two component stripper emulsion composition comprising of an ascorbic acid, cetyltrimethylammonium chloride, and water as applied to claim 1 and 9 discussed above.
In regards to claim 3 and 11, Kunz teaches a two component stripper emulsion in Example 6 comprising an organic acid (Col 24, Example 6).
However, Kunz does not teach that the total amount of organic acids present in the composition ranges from 15 to 50 wt% and that the second composition of comprises of keto-glutaric acid. For this reason, Kunz 2 is added.
Kunz 2 teaches a decolorizing composition that comprises 1 to 50 wt% reductone such as ascorbic acid (Col 10, line 23-28) and ɑ-ketocarboxylic acids such as ɑ-ketoglutaric acid from 0.1 to 10 wt% (Col 10, line 54-61) of claim 3 and 11.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition taught by Kunz to include a total organic acid wt% range of 15 to 50 wt% and the inclusion of 0.1 to 10 wt% of ɑ-ketoglutaric acid, because both references are drawn to the same field of hair decolorizing compositions in which the concentration of the acid in the composition directly influences the rate of hair color removal. The optimization of both the total organic acid and ɑ-ketoglutaric acid concentration represents routine optimization of a result-effective variable. For the foregoing reasons, Claims 1, 3, 9, and 11 are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
/W.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614