DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 09/22/2026, in which: claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are amended; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that none of the references cited disclose the “first laser-induced graphene” of claim 1 (see Remarks page 2-3), Examiner respectfully disagrees. L1 explicitly discloses the formation of laser-induced graphene by irradiation of a polymer substrate (L1 page 2, paragraph 1-2). Additionally, the substrate (wettability variable layers) of S1 is disclosed as a polymer (S1 [0029], [0032], [0057]). Therefore, the process of converting the polymer substrate into hydrophilic or hydrophobic laser-induced graphene disclosed by L1 performs the same function of adjusting the hydrophilicity of a surface of the polymer substrate as the process disclosed by S1.
S1 teaches a base method of forming hydrophilic regions which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the hydrophilic surfaces are laser-induced graphene. L1 teaches a known technique of forming a hydrophilic laser-induced graphene that is applicable to the base process/product, since the process involves conversion of a polymer substrate, which is the same material as that of the substrate disclosed by S1, and the process of L1 results in a surface with hydrophilic properties, which is the goal of an analogous process of forming hydrophilic surfaces in regions of the device of S1.
Therefore, L1’s known technique, as cited above, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base method of S1 and the results would have been predictable and resulted in a laser-induced graphene with a highly hydrophilic surface which results in an interconnect with better contact between hydrophilic structures and water-based electrolytes (L1 page 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, Applicant will note that the following rejection is no longer made in view of Y1. Y1 was initially relied upon primarily to disclose the known use of graphene as a material used in linings of vias and wiring layers. The combination of S1 and L1, as set forth herein, results in the claimed structure, which is substantially the same as the combined structure of the references in the previous Office Action, without relying upon any structure specifically disclosed by Y1. Therefore, Y1 has been excluded from the combination of references to avoid confusion as to the motivation for the obvious combination of S1 with L1 or its structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20150008589 A1, hereinafter S1), and further in view of Li et al. (Y. Li, D. X. Luong, J. Zhang, Y. R. Tarkunde, C. Kittrell, F. Sargunaraj, Y. Ji, C. J. Arnusch, J. M. Tour, "Laser-Induced Graphene in Controlled Atmospheres: From Superhydrophilic to Superhydrophobic Surfaces" Adv. Mater.2017, 29, 1700496. https://doi.org/10.1002/adma.201700496 (Year: 2017), hereinafter L1).
Regarding independent claim 1, S1 discloses in S1 FIG. 2A-2G and associated text A display panel (the stacked-layer wiring of the invention connects between switching and driving transistors (S1 [0056]), which are elements used in display panels, and a display element is formed on the same base as the wiring (S1 [0028]), thus the disclosed device is a display panel) comprising: a base substrate comprising a polymer material (wettability variable layers 14, which are polymer material, preferably comprising polyimide (S1 [0029], [0032], [0057])); at least one via hole penetrating the base substrate (via hole 18); and a hydrophilic region formed by irradiating a first surface of the base substrate adjacent to the at least one via hole with a laser (high surface energy (hydrophilic) area 14a in which the exposed surface of concave portion 16 and via hole 18 are made hydrophilic (S1 [0054]) and the portion of wettability variable layer 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13 is made to have high surface energy (hydrophilicity; S1 [0025]), where these processes are performed by irradiation of the wettability variable layer (S1 [0033]) by laser (S1 [0025])), the hydrophilic region being patterned on the first surface of the base substrate (laser irradiation of 16 and 18 to induce hydrophilicity is interpreted as patterning the hydrophilic region on the first surface of the base substrate). S1 does not explicitly disclose the hydrophilic region is a first laser-induced graphene; or the first laser-induced graphene being graphene patterned on the first surface of the base substrate.
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, L1 discloses the hydrophilic region is a first laser-induced graphene (laser-induced graphene may be hydrophilic (L1 abstract)); and the first laser-induced graphene being graphene patterned on the first surface of the base substrate (laser-induced graphene is formed by using laser irradiation to convert PI (polyimide) – corresponding to the material of the base substrate disclosed by S1 above – into graphene, thus the graphene is interpreted as being patterned onto the first surface of the base substrate (L1 page 2, paragraph 1-2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display panel interconnect structure of S1 with a first laser-induced graphene with hydrophilic properties, as disclosed by L1, to provide an interconnect with better contact between hydrophilic structures and water-based electrolytes (L1 page 1, paragraph 3), such as the conductive ink 19 of S1 (S1 [0050]-[0051]) when selectively forming wirings using patterned hydrophilic and hydrophobic areas to selectively disposed conductive material as in the method disclosed by S1 (S1 [0081]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first laser-induced graphene has hydrophilic properties (high surface energy area 14a and the portion of wettability variable layer 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13 are hydrophilic laser-induced graphene as combined above).
Regarding dependent claim 3, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first surface includes a side surface (exposed surface of wettability variable layer 14 in via hole 18), a portion of an upper surface (exposed surface of wettability variable layer 14 in concave area 16), and a portion of a lower surface of the base substrate adjacent to the at least one via hole (portion of wettability variable layer 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13).
Regarding dependent claim 4, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising: at least one wiring corresponding to the at least one via hole (conductive layers 21 and 13 and via 22 considered wirings).
Regarding dependent claim 5, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 4, wherein the at least one wiring includes at least one of conductive ink and conductive resin (conductive ink 19 is used to form conductive layer 21 and via 22).
Regarding dependent claim 6, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 4, wherein the at least one wiring is in contact with the first laser-induced graphene (conductive layers 21 and 13 and via 22 contact the high surface energy/hydrophilic areas 14a and the portion of 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13, which are laser-induced graphene as combined above).
Regarding dependent claim 7, S1, as previously modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising: a hydrophobic area formed on a second surface of the base substrate spaced apart from the at least one via hole and not overlapping the first surface (low surface energy (hydrophobic) area 14b). S1, as previously modified by Y1 and L1, does not explicitly disclose the hydrophobic area is a second laser-induced graphene.
However, in the same field of endeavor, L1 discloses a laser-induced graphene is hydrophobic (L1 abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device including interconnect structure with a first laser-induced graphene and a hydrophobic area 14b disclosed by S1, as previously modified by L1, with a second laser-induced graphene, as disclosed by L1, as the hydrophobic area to provide superhydrophobicity to area 14b such that water-based conductive ink 19 (S1 [0050]-[0051]) rolls off the second (hydrophobic) graphene on wettability variable layer in area 14b to the first (hydrophilic) graphene in area 14a (L1 page 2, paragraph 2 to page 3, paragraph 1), improving the selectivity of the deposition of conductive ink 19.
Regarding dependent claim 8, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 7, wherein the second laser-induced graphene has water-repellent properties (low surface energy area 14b is hydrophobic (water-repellent) laser-induced graphene as combined above).
Regarding dependent claim 9, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 7, wherein the second surface includes a portion of an upper surface of the base substrate spaced apart from the at least one via hole (low surface energy area 14b corresponding to the second laser-induced graphene is spaced apart from via hole 18).
Regarding dependent claim 10, S1, as modified by L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 9, wherein the second laser-induced graphene is in contact with the first laser-induced graphene (low surface energy area 14b corresponding to the second laser-induced graphene is directly adjacent to/contacting high surface energy area 14a corresponding to the first laser-induced graphene).
Regarding independent claim 11, S1 discloses in S1 FIG. 2A-2G and associated text A method of manufacturing a display panel (the stacked-layer wiring of the invention connects between switching and driving transistors (S1 [0056]), which are elements used in display panels, and a display element is formed on the same base as the wiring (S1 [0028]), thus the disclosed device is a display panel) including a base substrate comprising a polymer material (wettability variable layers 14, which are polymer material, preferably comprising polyimide (S1 [0029], [0032], [0057])), the manufacturing method comprising: forming at least one via hole penetrating the base substrate (via hole 18); and forming a hydrophilic region to a first area overlapping the at least one via hole and a portion of the base substrate adjacent to the at least one via hole (high surface energy (hydrophilic) area 14a in which the exposed surface of concave portion 16 and via hole 18 are made hydrophilic (S1 [0054]) and the portion of wettability variable layer 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13 is made to have high surface energy (hydrophilicity; S1 [0025])), wherein the hydrophilic region is patterned on the first surface of the base substrate (laser irradiation of 16 and 18 to induce hydrophilicity is interpreted as patterning the hydrophilic region on the first surface of the base substrate). S1 does not explicitly disclose forming the hydrophilic region is forming a first laser-induced graphene by irradiating a carbon dioxide laser together with a first gas; or the first laser-induced graphene is graphene patterned on the first surface of the base substrate.
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, L1 discloses forming the hydrophilic region is forming a first laser-induced graphene by irradiating a carbon dioxide laser together with a first gas (a hydrophilic LIG is formed by irradiating a CO2 laser with O2 or air (L1 page 2, paragraph 1)); and the first laser-induced graphene is graphene patterned on the first surface of the base substrate (laser-induced graphene is formed by using laser irradiation to convert PI (polyimide) – corresponding to the material of the base substrate disclosed by S1 above – into graphene, thus the graphene is interpreted as being patterned onto the first surface of the base substrate (L1 page 2, paragraph 1-2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display panel interconnect structure of S1 with a first laser-induced graphene with hydrophilic properties, as disclosed by L1, to provide an interconnect with better contact between hydrophilic structures and water-based electrolytes (L1 page 1, paragraph 3), such as the conductive ink 19 of S1 (S1 [0050]-[0051]) when selectively forming wirings using patterned hydrophilic and hydrophobic areas to selectively disposed conductive material as in the method disclosed by S1 (S1 [0081]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses The display panel of claim 11, wherein the first laser-induced graphene is formed on a side surface (exposed surface of wettability variable layer 14 in via hole 18), a portion of an upper surface (exposed surface of wettability variable layer 14 in concave area 16), and a portion of a lower surface of the base substrate adjacent to the at least one via hole (portion of wettability variable layer 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13).
Regarding dependent claim 13, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first gas includes air or oxygen (laser induced graphene – particularly of the hydrophilic variety, as would be desirable for area 14a in an embodiment of the combined references – can be formed with air or oxygen as the first gas (L1 page 2, paragraph 1)).
Regarding dependent claim 14, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 11, wherein the first laser-induced graphene has hydrophilic properties (high surface energy area 14a and the portion of wettability variable layer 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13 are hydrophilic laser-induced graphene as combined above).
Regarding dependent claim 15, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses The display panel of claim 1, further comprising: at least one wiring corresponding to the at least one via hole (conductive layers 21 and 13 and via 22 considered wirings), wherein the at least one wiring is in contact with the first laser-induced graphene (conductive layers 21 and 13 and via 22 contact the high surface energy/hydrophilic areas 14a and the portion of 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13, which are laser-induced graphene as combined above).
Regarding dependent claim 16, S1, as previously modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses the display panel of claim 11, further comprising: forming a hydrophobic area to a second area spaced apart from the at least one via hole and overlapping a portion of the base substrate (low surface energy (hydrophobic) area 14b). S1, as previously modified by Y1 and L1, does not explicitly disclose the forming hydrophobic area is forming second laser-induced graphene by irradiating a carbon dioxide laser together with a second gas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, L1 discloses forming hydrophobic laser-induced graphene by irradiating a carbon dioxide laser together with a second gas (L1 page 2, paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device including interconnect structure with a first laser-induced graphene and a hydrophobic area 14b disclosed by S1, as previously modified by Y1 and L1, with a second laser-induced graphene, as disclosed by L1, as the hydrophobic area to provide superhydrophobicity to area 14b such that water-based conductive ink 19 (S1 [0050]-[0051]) rolls off the second (hydrophobic) graphene on wettability variable layer in area 14b to the first (hydrophilic) graphene in area 14a (L1 page 2, paragraph 2 to page 3, paragraph 1), improving the selectivity of the deposition of conductive ink 19.
Regarding dependent claim 17, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the second laser-induced graphene is formed on a portion of an upper surface of the base substrate spaced apart from the at least one via hole (low surface energy area 14b corresponding to the second laser-induced graphene is spaced apart from via hole 18).
Regarding dependent claim 18, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the second gas includes at least one of argon and hydrogen (laser induced graphene – particularly of the hydrophobic variety, as would be desirable for area 14b in an embodiment of the combined references – can be formed with argon or hydrogen as the first gas (L1 page 2, paragraph 1)).
Regarding dependent claim 19, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the second laser-induced graphene has water-repellent properties (low surface energy area 14b is hydrophobic (water-repellent) laser-induced graphene as combined above).
Regarding dependent claim 20, S1, as modified by Y1 and L1, further discloses The method of claim 16, further comprising: forming at least one wiring corresponding to the at least one via hole (conductive layers 21 and 13 and via 22 considered wirings), wherein the at least one wiring is in contact with the first laser-induced graphene and does not contact the second laser-induced graphene (conductive layers 21 and 13 and via 22 contact the high surface energy/hydrophilic areas 14a and the portion of 12 corresponding to conductive layer 13, corresponding to the first laser-induced graphene, but do not contact the surface of low surface energy/hydrophobic areas 14b corresponding to the second laser-induced graphene).
Conclusion
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
US 20250234710 A1, pertaining to further use of hydrophobic/hydrophilic materials for controlling selective deposition of inks in display panels; and
US 20180166333 A1, pertaining to the use of graphene as a liner in a via/interconnect.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVERETT T RIRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897