DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 4, 2024, September 26, 2024, and December 18, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation "the tray seat" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 depends from claim 6, which requires a plurality of tray seats, however, as claim 8 refers to “the tray seat” it is unclear if a tray stopper is required to protrude from one of the tray seats, or if the tray stopper is required to protrude from each of the plurality of tray seats. In looking to the instant specification, paragraph [0096] references a plurality of tray stoppers and Figure 2 appears to show a tray stopper associated with each tray seat. Thus, for the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a tray stopper corresponding to each of the plurality of tray seats.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masaaki, et al. (JP 2021068562 A), cited on IDS.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Masaaki teaches an energy storage system (900; battery pack) including a metal rack (rack assembly) and a plurality of energy storage devices. The rack assembly includes a rack (901; rack frame) including a rack body (910; rack scaffold) and number of rack shelves (940; rack deck), shown coupled to the rack body in Figures 1-2 (¶ [0026], Ln. 1-4). Shown in Figure 2, the rack shelves are elongated in a front-rear direction. The energy storage device includes an energy storage unit (10) which includes a plurality of energy storage elements (11; battery cells), a busbar frame (busbar assembly) with a plurality of busbars coupled to the energy storage elements, and an exterior body (18; tray). The exterior body consists of an exterior body main body (14), an exterior body support (15), and an exterior body cover (17) (¶ [0036], Ln. 1-8). Shown in Figure 5, the energy storage elements are loaded on the exterior body and stacked in a front-rear direction. The bottom portion (15a) of the exterior body support of the exterior body is the mounting surface (159) that is placed on the rack shelf (940) (tray coupled to rack frame) (¶ [0048], Ln. 6-9; Fig. 3).
The bottom of the exterior body tray (18; tray) includes the exterior body support (15; tray body). The base of the exterior body main body (14) includes portions extending upward from the edge of the tray body, corresponding to the claimed tray walls, as shown in Figure 5. Also shown in Figure 5, the edge of the tray body extends rearward from a front end of the tray body and leads to a rear end of the tray body. The bottom portion (15a) of the exterior body support of the exterior body includes the mounting surface (159) that is placed on the rack shelf (940) (tray coupled to rack frame) (¶ [0048], Ln. 6-9; Fig. 3). Shown in Figure 3, the bottom portion (15a) of the exterior body support of the exterior body faces the rack shelf (940; rack deck) and is positioned above the rack shelf, and the mounting surface (159; tray coupler) extends from the tray body and is coupled to the rack shelf.
Regarding claim 2, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 5 above and further teaches that the exterior body support (15; tray body) includes a connecting portion (15c; tray saddle) extending in the Z-axis direction (protruding upward from the tray body) and adjacent to the tray wall (¶ [0049], Ln. 6-7; Fig. 5). The other edge of the tray body, opposite the edge where the connecting portion is positioned (another edge of the tray body), is adjacent to a substrate unit mounting portion (16; tray seat) and the substrate unit mounting portion is erected in the Z-axis direction (protruding upward from the tray body).
Regarding claim 3, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above and further teaches that connecting portions (15b; tray stopper) protrude upward from the substrate unit mounting portion (16; tray seat), shown in Figure 5. Therefore, the plurality of energy storage elements (11; battery cells) are positioned between the connecting portions and the tray wall.
Regarding claim 10, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 above and further teaches that the exterior body main body (14) includes a plurality of ribs protruding upward and disposed in the front-rear direction, shown in Figure 5 to partition the plurality of energy storage elements in the front-rear direction.
Regarding claim 11, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 above and further teaches that the partitions are located between adjacent energy storage elements, as shown in Figure 5, with a partition corresponding to each energy storage elements (11) labelled above the exterior body main body (14) in the expanded figure.
Regarding claim 12, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 above and further teaches that the each of the energy storage elements (11; battery cells) is a secondary battery cell (cell body including an electrode assembly) (¶ [0037], Ln. 1-3) provided with a positive electrode terminal (11b; electrode lead) and negative electrode terminal (11c; electrode lead) protruding from the upper surface of the main body (¶ [0038], Ln. 4-5). Therefore, the battery cell is positioned between the terminals and the walls of the tray.
Regarding claim 13, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 above and further teaches that the busbar frame (12; busbar assembly) includes a plurality of busbars (13) which are connected to the positive electrode terminal (11b; electrode lead) and negative electrode terminal (11c; electrode lead) of the plurality of energy storage elements (¶ [0041], Ln. 6-9). The busbar connects energy storage elements in series by connecting the positive terminal and negative terminal of adjacent energy storage elements (¶ [0043], Ln. 4-7).
Regarding claim 14, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above and further teaches that the busbar frame has a first holding portion (71), second holding portion (72), and connecting portion (73) (¶ [0054], Ln. 3-4). The holding portion includes first partition sections (714) positioned between each energy storage element, and Masaaki teaches that each busbar (13) is positioned to straddle the corresponding first partition (714) to connect to the electrode terminals (¶ [0059], Ln. 7-8). Therefore, as demonstrated in Figures 5-6, the inner surface of the busbar faces the adjacent energy storage elements is concave in order to straddle the first partition section.
Regarding claim 15, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above and further teaches that the busbar includes a front busbar wing coupled to the electrode terminal of one energy storage element and a rear busbar wing coupled to the electrode terminal of an adjacent energy storage element, shown in Figure 5, with a connecting part (busbar body) between the portions that connect to the electrode terminals.
Regarding claim 18, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 above and further teaches that the electrode leads include a positive electrode terminal (11b; first electrode lead) and negative electrode terminal (11c; second electrode lead) on the upper surface of the main body (¶ [0038], Ln. 4-5). Masaaki further teaches that the busbar frame (12; busbar assembly) has a first holding portion (71), second holding portion (72), and connecting portion (73; frame body), shown in Figure 6 as a support frame with a frame body (¶ [0054], Ln. 3-4). Shown in Figure 5, the frame body crosses between the electrode terminals and is elongated in a front-rear direction.
Regarding claim 19, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 18 above, including that the busbar frame (12; busbar assembly) has a first holding portion (71), second holding portion (72), and connecting portion (73) (¶ [0054], Ln. 3-4). In this case, the first holding portion (71) and second holding portion (72) correspond to the claimed frame wings. A plurality of partition sections (714, 724; frame ribs) protrude from the first and second holding portions and are positioned between each energy storage element (¶ [0059], Ln. 1-3), ¶ [0066], Ln. 1-3). As Masaaki teaches that each busbar (13) is positioned to straddle the corresponding partitions (714, 724) to connect to the electrode terminals (¶ [0059], Ln. 7-8, ¶ [0066], Ln. 7-8), the frame wings are positioned between the bus bar and the energy storage element, with the partitions coupled to the portion of the bus bar connecting the electrode terminal connection portions.
Regarding claim 20, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 19 above, including that that each busbar (13) is positioned to straddle the corresponding partitions (714, 724; frame ribs) to connect to the electrode terminals (¶ [0059], Ln. 7-8, ¶ [0066], Ln. 7-8). Thus, the partitions pass through the portion of the bus bar connecting the electrode terminal connection portions (busbar body).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaaki, et al. (JP 2021068562 A) as applied to claim 5 above
Regarding claim 6, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 above and further teaches that the exterior body support (15; tray body) includes a connecting portion (15c; tray saddle) extending in the Z-axis direction (protruding upward from the tray body) and adjacent to the tray wall (¶ [0049], Ln. 6-7; Fig. 5). The other edge of the tray body, opposite the edge where the connecting portion is positioned (another edge of the tray body), is adjacent to a substrate unit mounting portion (16; tray seat) erected in the Z-axis direction (protruding upward from the tray body). Masaaki does not expressly teach that the exterior body support includes a plurality of connecting portions and a plurality of substrate unit mounting portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connecting portion and substrate unit mounting portion of Masaaki to be formed in two pieces as a plurality of portions. As shown in Figure 5, the connecting portion and substrate unit mounting portion appear to include partitions in the center for fixing part (15d). Thus, the connecting portion and substrate unit mounting portion could easily be formed from two pieces, leaving space in the center, without affecting the function of the components. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to form both the connecting portion and substrate unit mounting portion in two pieces in order to provide a space for the fixing part. Therefore, the connecting portion and substrate unit mounting portion would be included as a plurality of connecting portions and a plurality of substrate unit mounting portions.
Regarding claim 7, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 above and further teaches that the exterior body support (15; tray body) is positioned below the plurality of energy storage elements (11; battery cells) and spaced apart from the energy storage elements, as the exterior body main body (14) is positioned between the two components, shown in Figure 5.
Regarding claim 8, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 above, including a plurality of substrate unit mounting portions (16; tray seats). Masaaki further teaches that a plurality of connecting portions (15b; tray stopper) protrude upward from the substrate unit mounting portion (16; tray seat), shown in Figure 5. In the case that the substrate unit mounting portion shown in Figure 5 is provided as two pieces, each substrate unit mounting portion would include a connecting portion. Therefore, the plurality of energy storage elements (11; battery cells) are positioned between the connecting portions and the tray wall.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaaki, et al. (JP 2021068562 A) as applied to claims 2 and 6 above, and further in view of Bailey (US 2015/0155742 A1), cited on IDS.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claims 2 and 6 above. Masaaki does not expressly teach that the exterior body tray (18; tray) includes a tray contactor protruding from the tray wall toward the substrate unit mounting portion (16; tray seat) and the plurality of energy storage elements (11; battery cells).
Bailey teaches a battery storage rack including a plurality of shelf members for securely supporting and storing battery cells (¶ [0029], Ln. 1-9). Bailey teaches that the storage rack includes horizontal shelf members (120) extending between vertical frame members (110) (¶ [0033], Ln. 1-4; Fig. 1). As shown in Figure 1, the shelf members include rail members (130), which extend upward from the shelf as a wall. Bailey further teaches locking tabs (135), which are spaced apart along a rail member and protrude outward toward the battery cells (¶ [0044], Ln. 1-6; Fig. 1). The locking tabs lock the battery cells into place such that they cannot move laterally (¶ [0044], Ln. 6-10). Further, the locking tabs allow adequate air flow between the batteries for cooling (¶ [0053], Ln. 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the exterior body tray of Masaaki to include locking tabs (tray contactors) on the inner sides of the tray walls based on the teachings of Bailey. As Bailey teaches a similar shelf-type module for storing a plurality of battery cells, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the teachings of Bailey to the energy storage system of Masaaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include locking tabs on the inner sides of the tray walls in order to lock the energy storage elements in place and to allow adequate air flow between the batteries for cooling. Given the teachings that the locking tabs provide better air flow for cooling, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include the tabs on each inner wall of the battery tray, such that they protrude from the tray wall toward the substrate unit mounting portion (16; tray seat) and the plurality of energy storage elements (11; battery cells).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaaki, et al. (JP 2021068562 A), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Shimizu, et al. (US 9,444,086 B2), cited on IDS.
Regarding claim 16, Masaaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 above and further teaches that a busbar wing includes at least one of the front busbar wing or rear busbar wing, shown in Figure 5 to connect adjacent energy storage elements. Masaaki does not expressly teach that each busbar includes a cell coupling hole formed in the busbar wing, wherein the electrode terminal is inserted into the cell coupling hole.
Shimizu teaches a battery unit including a plurality of cell units, each with a plurality of secondary battery cells (Col. 3, Ln. 5-8). Shown in Figures 13-14, busbars connect the electrodes of a first cell unit and the electrodes of a second cell unit in a line (Col. 3, Ln. 28-37). The busbar has openings (82a, 82b) through which respective terminals of the cells fit into (Col. 10, Ln. 35-42). Shimizu teaches that the terminals may be welded to the busbar by welding in order to electrically connect the terminals of the battery cells (Col. 11, Ln. 49-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the busbars of Masaaki to be a similar shape to the busbars taught by Shimizu. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there are different busbar configurations, with the plate-shaped busbars of Shimizu being a common one. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the busbar type of Masaaki with the busbar of Shimizu as it would serve the same purpose of electrically connecting adjacent cells, and is capable of fitting around the busbar frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include this type of busbar in order to allow the electrode terminals to fit through the busbar openings, allowing the busbars to be laser welded to the electrode terminals.
Regarding claim 17, Masaaki in view of Shimizu teaches all of the limitations of claim 16 above. Masaaki in view of Shimizu does not expressly teach that the cell coupling hole is elongated in the front-rear direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell coupling holes of the busbars to be elongated in the front-rear direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that in order for the busbar to perform its intended function, the cell coupling hole needs to be capable of fitting the electrode terminal through the hole. Thus, the hole may be elongated in the direction of connection of the electrode terminals. The shape of the hole is a matter of choice one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of making in order to allow the electrode terminals to pass through to establish electrical connection between energy storage elements. The elongation of the cell coupling hole is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed cell coupling hole is significant (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B)).
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785