DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 25-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/7/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information (specifically WO 2011/110469) referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2011/110469, hereinafter Leopardi.
Regarding claim 1, Leopardi teaches a multi-volume vial apparatus (figure 1) comprising: a container (item 2) defining an inner volume (the inside of item 2), the container comprising: a neck (item 22) extending from an upper end of the container (figure 1); a collar (items 20, 28 and 29) comprising an opening (figure 1), disposed on an upper end of the neck (figure 1); at least one interior wall (item 24a) extending from a top end of the collar to a bottom end of the container (figure 2), wherein the at least one interior wall is configured to partition the inner volume into separate volumes defining separate wells for containing samples (figures 1 and 2), and wherein the opening of the collar is partitioned by a top end of the at least one interior wall to provide separate access to the separate wells (figures 1 and 2); and two or more first locking members (item 29a) configured diametrically on a circumferential wall of the collar of the container (figure 1); a septa member (item 4) configured to be enclosed within an inner cavity of a closure (figure 2) and disposed on the top end of the collar of the container to seal and maintain separation of the separate wells of the container (figure 2), wherein the septa member comprises at least two opposing protruding sections extending downwardly from a lower surface of the septa member (page 3, lines 9-14) and configured to fit securely within the partitioned opening of the collar of the container (figure 2), and wherein the at least two opposing protruding sections define a groove therebetween (figure 2) configured to mate with and firmly receive the top end of the at least one interior wall of the container (figure 2); and the closure (item 5) configured to enclose the septa member and cover the collar of the container (figures 1 and 2), wherein the closure comprises two or more second locking members (item 55) disposed diametrically on an inner surface of the closure (figure 1), wherein the two or more second locking members of the closure are configured to engage with the two or more first locking members on the collar of the container to lock the container (page 12, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 2, Leopardi teaches the collar of the container comprises notches (the holes of 29a) diametrically disposed on opposing sides of the at least one interior wall (figure 1), wherein the notches are configured to receive and seat the two or more second locking members of the closure in an unlocked condition of the container (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 6, Leopardi teaches the septa member further comprises at least two notches (the recesses formed in item 4 by item 28 when item 4 is inserted into the device) disposed diametrically from a peripheral edge of the septa member to the lower surface of the septa member (figures 1 and 2), wherein the at least two notches are configured to mateably connect to the two or more second locking members of the closure in an unlocked condition of the container (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 7, the closure is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the closure has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Leopardi. Further, Leopardi teaches the closure is configured to: allow the at least two opposing protruding sections of the enclosed septa member to be oriented to seal the separate wells of the container individually (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figure 2); rotate and lock the septa member in position on the collar of the container by engagement of the two or more second locking members of the closure with the two or more first locking members on the collar of the container (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figures 1 and 2); and perform a maximum turn stop without over-torquing and displacing the septa member while providing a uniform seal, preventing leakage of the samples contained in the separate wells of the container, and providing a visual indication of locations of the separate wells in the container (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Leopardi teaches the separate wells of the container are tapered to reduce their separate volumes (figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Leopardi and the apparatus of Leopardi is capable of having the separate wells receive glass inserts. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Leopardi (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 10, Leopardi teaches a bottom end of each of the separate wells of the container is configured in one or more of a plurality of shapes for substantial recovery of the samples contained therein (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein the plurality of shapes comprises a conical shape, a rounded shape, a flat shape (figure 2), and a pointed shape.
Regarding claim 11, Leopardi teaches the at least two opposing protruding sections of the septa member are D-shaped sections (figures 1 and 2), wherein vertical lines of the D-shaped sections are disposed to face each other (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, Leopardi teaches further comprising one or more protruding elements (item 27) attached to the bottom end of the container (figure 2), wherein the one or more protruding elements are configured to engage with a mating notch of a receptacle disposed in a plate member of automated laboratory equipment for positioning, holding, and securing the container in position within the receptacle to preclude rotation of the container during a plurality of operations performed on the container (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), and wherein the one or more protruding elements are configured to indicate locations of the separate wells partitioned by the at least one interior wall of the container (figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Leopardi teaches wherein the bottom end of the container comprises a cavity (the space around where item 27 is) for housing the one or more protruding elements in the container (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 15, Leopardi teaches the container is a generally cylindrical member (figure 1), and wherein the septa member is a disc-shaped member (figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Leopardi and the apparatus of Leopardi is capable of being used without the septa and closure. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Leopardi (see MPEP §2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopardi in view of United States Patent No. 7,854,896, hereinafter Tyndorf.
Regarding claim 3, Leopardi teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Leopardi fails to teach the septa member comprises at least two recesses disposed on an upper surface of the septa member and configured to match the at least two opposing protruding sections of the septa member and the partitioned opening of the collar of the container.
Tyndorf teaches a device with a cover over containers which forms a hermetic seal on the containers to provide a secure seal to the open end of each of the well structures and provide sealable access to the interior of the wells (Tyndorf, column 4, lines 24-27) with a cover that includes inverted caps that correspond to the openings to securely seal the interior wells (Tyndorf, columns 6-7, lines 57-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the inverted caps with a protruding section which protrudes into the opening and recesses on the other side which match the protruding sections because it would securely and hermitically seal the interior containers while providing sealable access to the interior of the wells (Tyndorf, column 4, lines 24-27 and columns 6-7, lines 57-4).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopardi in view of WO 2012/003873, hereinafter Zumstein.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Leopardi teaches all limitations of claim 4; however, Leopardi fails to teach the closure further comprises at least two openings configured to match the at least two recesses of the septa member and the partitioned opening of the collar of the container and a pierceable membrane configured to close the at least two openings of the closure and allow penetration of one or more needles thereinto.
Zumstein teaches a device which has an inner cover which is on top of an inner container and an outer cover which sits over the inner cover and on the device as a whole and both with holes which line up with each other with pierceable membranes over each of the holes so that a cannula can be inserted through both covers and into the inner container (Zumstein, pages 7-8, lines 19-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added openings over each of the septa with a pierceable membrane in each of the openings because it would allow for a cannula can be inserted through both covers and into the inner container (Zumstein, pages 7-8, lines 19-7).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopardi in view of United States Application Publication No. 2019/0049344, hereinafter Brinker.
Regarding claim 12, Leopardi teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Leopardi fails to teach the two or more first locking members on the collar of the container are quarter-turn locks with a maximum turn stop position, and wherein the two or more second locking members of the closure are quarter-turn locking lugs configured to engage with the quarter-turn locks on the collar of the container and lock the container by a quarter-turn of the closure on the collar of the container, without displacing the septa member on the collar of the container.
Brinker teaches a device which has a cap which is secured to the device utilizing threads or a mechanical lock (quarter-turn rotation) (Brinker, paragraph [0043]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., a quarter-turn locking structure) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., a threaded connection) with other component(s) (i.e., a quarter-turn locking structure), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., a threaded connection with a quarter-turn locking structure), and the results of the substitution (i.e., securing the cover) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute a threaded connection of reference Leopardi with a quarter-turn locking structure of reference Brinker, since the result would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 17, 18, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopardi in view of United States Application Publication No. 2016/0016162, hereinafter Brennan.
Regarding claim 17, Leopardi teaches an automated laboratory assembly comprising a multi-volume vial apparatus (figure 1) comprising: a container (item 2) defining an inner volume (the inside of item 2), the container comprising: a neck (item 22) extending from an upper end of the container (figure 1); a collar (items 20, 28 and 29) comprising an opening (figure 1), disposed on an upper end of the neck (figure 1); at least one interior wall (item 24a) extending from a top end of the collar to a bottom end of the container (figure 2), wherein the at least one interior wall is configured to partition the inner volume into separate volumes defining separate wells for containing samples (figures 1 and 2), and wherein the opening of the collar is partitioned by a top end of the at least one interior wall to provide separate access to the separate wells (figures 1 and 2); and two or more first locking members (item 29a) configured diametrically on a circumferential wall of the collar of the container (figure 1); a septa member (item 4) configured to be enclosed within an inner cavity of a closure (figure 2) and disposed on the top end of the collar of the container to seal and maintain separation of the separate wells of the container (figure 2), wherein the septa member comprises at least two opposing protruding sections extending downwardly from a lower surface of the septa member (page 3, lines 9-14) and configured to fit securely within the partitioned opening of the collar of the container (figure 2), and wherein the at least two opposing protruding sections define a groove therebetween (figure 2) configured to mate with and firmly receive the top end of the at least one interior wall of the container (figure 2); and the closure (item 5) configured to enclose the septa member and cover the collar of the container (figures 1 and 2), wherein the closure comprises two or more second locking members (item 55) disposed diametrically on an inner surface of the closure (figure 1), wherein the two or more second locking members of the closure are configured to engage with the two or more first locking members on the collar of the container to lock the container (page 12, lines 3-7); and one or more protruding elements (item 27) attached to the bottom end of the container (figure 2).
Leopardi fails to teach a plate member comprising a plurality of receptacles, wherein each of the receptacles comprises a mating notch configured to receive and engage with the one or more protruding elements of the multi-volume vial apparatus for positioning, holding, and securing the container of the multi-volume vial apparatus in position within the each of the receptacles to preclude rotation of the container during a plurality of operations performed on the container, and wherein the one or more protruding elements are configured to indicate locations of the separate wells partitioned by the at least one interior wall of the container.
Brennan teaches a self aligning container which has a plate member (Brennan, item 300) which has mating notches (Brennan, the sides of item 302) configured to receive an apparatus (Brennan, figure 3) so that multiple containers can be held on a plate for access by the rest of the device (Brennan, paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to added a plate member comprising a plurality of receptacles, wherein each of the receptacles comprises a mating notch configured to receive and engage with the one or more protruding elements of the multi-volume vial apparatus because it would allow for multiple containers to be held on a plate for access by the rest of the device (Brennan, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Leopardi teaches the collar of the container comprises notches (the holes of 29a) diametrically disposed on opposing sides of the at least one interior wall (figure 1), wherein the notches are configured to receive and seat the two or more second locking members of the closure in an unlocked condition of the container (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 22, Leopardi teaches the septa member further comprises at least two notches (the recesses formed in item 4 by item 28 when item 4 is inserted into the device) disposed diametrically from a peripheral edge of the septa member to the lower surface of the septa member (figures 1 and 2), wherein the at least two notches are configured to mateably connect to the two or more second locking members of the closure in an unlocked condition of the container (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 23, Leopardi teaches the separate wells of the container are tapered to reduce their separate volumes (figure 2) and a bottom end of each of the separate wells of the container is configured in one or more of a plurality of shapes for substantial recovery of the samples contained therein (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein the plurality of shapes comprises a conical shape, a rounded shape, a flat shape (figure 2), and a pointed shape. Regarding the limitations that the containers are configured to receive glass inserts, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Leopardi and the apparatus of Leopardi is capable of having the separate wells receive glass inserts. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Leopardi (see MPEP §2114).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopardi and Brennan as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Tyndorf.
Regarding claim 19, Leopardi and Brennan teach all limitations of claim 17; however, they fail to teach the septa member comprises at least two recesses disposed on an upper surface of the septa member and configured to match the at least two opposing protruding sections of the septa member and the partitioned opening of the collar of the container.
Tyndorf teaches a device with a cover over containers which forms a hermetic seal on the containers to provide a secure seal to the open end of each of the well structures and provide sealable access to the interior of the wells (Tyndorf, column 4, lines 24-27) with a cover that includes inverted caps that correspond to the openings to securely seal the interior wells (Tyndorf, columns 6-7, lines 57-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the inverted caps with a protruding section which protrudes into the opening and recesses on the other side which match the protruding sections because it would securely and hermitically seal the interior containers while providing sealable access to the interior of the wells (Tyndorf, column 4, lines 24-27 and columns 6-7, lines 57-4).
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopardi and Brennan as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Zumstein.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Leopardi teaches all limitations of claim 19; however, Leopardi fails to teach the closure further comprises at least two openings configured to match the at least two recesses of the septa member and the partitioned opening of the collar of the container and a pierceable membrane configured to close the at least two openings of the closure and allow penetration of one or more needles thereinto.
Zumstein teaches a device which has an inner cover which is on top of an inner container and an outer cover which sits over the inner cover and on the device as a whole and both with holes which line up with each other with pierceable membranes over each of the holes so that a cannula can be inserted through both covers and into the inner container (Zumstein, pages 7-8, lines 19-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added openings over each of the septa with a pierceable membrane in each of the openings because it would allow for a cannula can be inserted through both covers and into the inner container (Zumstein, pages 7-8, lines 19-7).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leopardi and Brennan as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Brinker.
Regarding claim 24, Leopardi and Brennan teach all limitations of claim 17; however, they fail to teach the two or more first locking members on the collar of the container are quarter-turn locks with a maximum turn stop position, and wherein the two or more second locking members of the closure are quarter-turn locking lugs configured to engage with the quarter-turn locks on the collar of the container and lock the container by a quarter-turn of the closure on the collar of the container, without displacing the septa member on the collar of the container.
Brinker teaches a device which has a cap which is secured to the device utilizing threads or a mechanical lock (quarter-turn rotation) (Brinker, paragraph [0043]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., a quarter-turn locking structure) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., a threaded connection) with other component(s) (i.e., a quarter-turn locking structure), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., a threaded connection with a quarter-turn locking structure), and the results of the substitution (i.e., securing the cover) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute a threaded connection of reference Leopardi with a quarter-turn locking structure of reference Brinker, since the result would have been predictable.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796