DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following spelling error: “each of the plurality of opening” in line 2 should read “each of the plurality of openings”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. Claim 9 states “a width of each of the plurality first signal lines”. There is no antecedent basis for “plurality first signal lines”, and it is unclear what is meant by first signal lines. However, Claim 9 follows the format of Claim 4 and Claim 4 more clearly states “a width of each of the plurality of signal lines”. Therefore, it is the examiner’s opinion, in light of the specification and Claim 4, that Claim 9 contains a typo and the last line of Claim 9 should be corrected to read “a width of each of the plurality of signal lines” and shall be interpreted hereinafter as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 110277363-A), hereinafter referred to as “Chen”.
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen discloses a driving circuit mounting film (flexible substrate element 110, page 5 line 13) comprising: a base film (shown in Chen FIG. 1C) having a first surface (surface 112) and a second surface (surface 114) facing away from each other, a driving circuit part (chip 160) positioned on the first surface of the base film, a plurality of signal lines (conductive pin lines 141 with bonding pads 142) positioned on the first surface of the base film, and a test signal pad part (test pads 120 and 130) positioned on the second surface of the base film, wherein the test signal pad part includes and plurality of openings, and wherein at least a part of the plurality of openings overlaps with at least a part of the plurality of signal lines (“the first surfaces of the first pads, 112 on the 142, are overlapped on the second surface 114 of the first test pad 120” [0051 lines 4-5] FIGS. 1A and 1B show the front and back surfaces of the film, respectively, and display how the spaces, or openings, between the test pad parts 120 and 130 overlap at least part of the plurality of signal lines 141).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the test signal pad part includes a plurality of branch portions (FIG 2. connecting wire 155) extending substantially parallel to the plurality of signal lines ( FIG 2. 141 and 142 are labeled with solid lines drawn to the front surface 112, and test signal pad branch portions 155 are shown as dotted lines on the second surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2019/0371691-A1), hereinafter referred to as “Han”.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the driving circuit mounting film of claim 1 with the structure of branch portions and signal lines as described in claim 2. Chen does not disclose that the test signal pad includes a stem portion extending in a direction different from the plurality of branch portions and connecting the plurality of branch portions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a driving circuit mounting film wherein the test signal pad part (FIG 9. test signal pads 223’) that includes a stem (test lines 213a) portion extending in a direction different from the plurality of branch portions (test lines 213b) and connecting the plurality of branch portions.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the test signal pad branch portions of Chen into a stem and branch structure disclosed by Han so that “the plurality of test lines 213’ may be disposed to be unfolded, such that the test pads 223’ may be formed to have sufficient interval and/or area” [Han 0065 lines 1-3].
Regarding claim 4, Chen as modified by Han discloses the structure of claim 3, and further discloses the width of each of the plurality of openings of the test signal pad part is substantially equal to or wider than a width of each of the plurality of signal lines. Han FIG 6. discloses connection pads 221, which are electrically connected to the driving circuit part 100, effectively creating signal lines [0050 lines 4-7] that fit between the openings of the test signal pad part (test signal lines 213). Han paragraph 0051 specifically denotes that the width of the signal lines (element 221, width W1) is less than the distance between test signal pad lines (213). Therefore, the opening of the test signal pad parts, is wider than the width of the signal lines. Chen as modified by Han, would preserve the disclosed widths “to promote such a connection” between the driving circuit part (100) and the signal lines (221) and minimize overlapping of the test pads. [Han 0051]
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified by Han further discloses the mounting film of claim 3 wherein the plurality of signal lines (Chen FIG. 2 element 141 and 142) overlap with at least a portion of the stem portion (Han FIG. 9 element 213a).
Regarding claim 6, Chen as modified by Han discloses the mounting film of claim 5 wherein the plurality of signal lines is connected to the driving circuit part (shown in Chen FIG. 2 element 141 and 142 connect to the driving circuit 160).
Regarding claim 8, Chen as modified by Han discloses the mounting film of claim 3, wherein the plurality of branch portions (Chen FIG. 2 element 155) are substantially parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 9, Chen as modified by Han would maintain the widths of the signal lines disclosed in Han and therefore contain the driving circuit mounting film of claim 8, wherein the plurality of openings of the test signal pad part (Han FIG 9. openings between test signal lines 213) is substantially equal to or wider than the width of each of the plurality first signal lines (element 221, width W1). Note, that the examiner is interpreting “first signal lines” to mean “of signal lines” as discussed in the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 10¸ Chen as modified by Han discloses the mounting film of claim 9 wherein the plurality of signal lines (Chen FIG. 2 element 141 and 142) overlap at least a portion of the stem portion (Han FIG. 9 element 213a).
Regarding claim 11, Chen FIG. 2 as modified by Han discloses the mounting film of claim 10, wherein the plurality of signal lines (element 141 and 142) is connected to the driving circuit part (chip 160).
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Han, further in view of Ko et al. (US 2016/0379907-A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ko”.
Regarding claim 7, Chen as modified by Han discloses the mounting film of claim 5; however, Chen as modified by Han does not disclose the plurality of signal lines including a signal line that is not connected to the driving circuit part.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ko discloses, in FIG 1., signal lines that do not connect to the driving circuit part (circuit 500). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen and Han with the signal line structure of Ko in order to facilitate other connections to and from the display panel (DA).
Regarding claim 12, Chen as modified by Han and Ko further discloses the mounting film of claim 10, wherein the plurality of signal lines includes a signal line that is not connected to the driving circuit part.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, further in view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0275191-A1), hereinafter referred to as “Liu”. Chen, in FIG. 1C and associated text on page 5, discloses the driving circuit mounting film of claim 1 in its entirety; however, Chen does not disclose that the test signal pad part includes a plurality of ring-shaped branch portions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses ring-shaped test pad parts (FIG 2. test zones 21, wherein 211 is circular center portion and 212 are ring-shaped outer portions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the test pad parts of Chen with the ring-shaped branch portions of Liu to obtain more precise connection with testing probes (Liu [0012-13]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen as modified by Liu discloses the mounting film of claim 13, wherein the test signal pad part further includes a circular central portion (Liu FIG. 2 Zone 0 211) positioned in the center.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Liu, further in view of Wu et al. (US 2012/0206160-A1), hereinafter referred to as “Wu”. Chen as modified by Liu discloses the mounting film structure of claim 14; however, it does not disclose the test signal pad part including a plurality of stem portions extending in different directions from the circular central portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu, in FIG. 4C(f) and associated text, discloses test pad structures containing different combinations of symmetrical and asymmetrical test pad areas connected by stems to “complete functional testing of various devices on the chips” such as power, signals, and grounding tests (Wu [0029-31]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen with the ring-shaped test pad branch parts of Liu and the connecting test pad stems of Wu to connect and broaden the test pad area.
Regarding claim 15, Chen as modified by Liu and further in view of Wu, discloses the test signal pad part including a plurality of stem portions (Wu FIG. 4C(f) test pads 476 with stems connecting to bump pads 466) extending in different directions (radially) from the circular central portion (476) toward the outside and connecting the plurality of ring-shaped branch portions ([0028] “connected to one another via conductive lines”).
Regarding claim 16, Chen as modified by Liu and Wu, discloses the structure of claim 15, further disclosing a portion of the plurality of stem portions of the test signal pad part (Wu FIG. 4C(f) 476 to 466 connection) is positioned between the plurality of signal lines (Chen FIG. 2 element 141 and 142). These modified test pad parts from Liu and Wu, would be located on the original test pad area of Chen (FIG. 2 test pads 130) and would therefore exist between the plurality of signal lines (141), covering the limitations of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Chen as modified by Liu and Wu, discloses the elements of claim 16 and further discloses that the plurality of signal lines (Chen FIG. 2 141 and 142) are connected to the driving circuit part (160).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as modified by Liu and Wu, and further in view of Ko, previously referenced for claims 7 and 12. Chen as modified by Liu and Wu, discloses the mounting film of claim 16; however, they do not clearly disclose a signal line that is not connected to the driving circuit. However, as discussed previously for the rejection of claims 7 and 12: , Ko discloses, in FIG 1. and associated text, signal lines that do not connect to the driving circuit part (FIG. 1 circuit 500). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen with the signal line structure of Ko in order to facilitate other connections to and from the display panel (DA).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jung et al. US 2022/0246530-A1 discloses a driving circuit mounting film with logic elements and passive elements mounted on the first surface, with a plurality of signal lines both connected and not connected to the mounted elements
Liao et al. US 2019/0181063-A1 discloses test pads with openings on a semiconductor wafer
Fereyre et al. US 2011/0024744-A1 discloses a connection pad structure that may also serve as a test pad with elongated openings
/TERESA NICOLE MICKEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897