DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 stand rejected as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20200045061A) and further in view of Lutz (US20190309521A1).
In regard to Claim 1, Kim discloses a baffle device for a deck form for pouring concrete, comprising: a spine (elongated portion of element 40) for extending across a plurality of adjacent channels formed in the deck form, and a channel partition (reinforcement portion 42) on the spine for fitting within one of the plurality of adjacent channels formed in the deck form, the channel partition substantially blocking concrete poured in the deck form from flowing past the channel partition (Fig 3a & Fig 4)[0011, English Trans]. Kim does not disclose a perimeter edge shaped to correspond to the edge of the deck form channels. Lutz discloses a first perimeter edge (left edge of recess 32 cut from roof curb components 24 or 26) formed along a first side of the channel partition, the first perimeter edge shaped to substantially correspond to a shape of a first side portion of the one of the plurality of adjacent channels formed in the deck form (corrugated roof 14); a second perimeter edge (right edge of recess 32 cut from roof curb components 24 or 26) formed along a second side of the channel partition, the second perimeter edge shaped to substantially correspond to a shape of a second side portion of the one of the plurality of adjacent channels formed in the deck form (corrugated roof 14); and a third perimeter edge (top edge of recess 32 cut from roof curb components 24 or 26) formed along a bottom side of the channel partition, the third perimeter edge shaped to substantially correspond to a shape of a bottom portion of the one of the plurality of adjacent channels formed in the deck form (corrugated roof 14) (Fig 1)[0020]. It would have been obvious to invert the channel partition taught by Lutz to accurately conform to the channels created in the deck form in order to substantially block the flow of concrete. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel partitions taught by Kim to have perimeters that correspond with the shape of the deck form, as taught by Lutz, in order to prevent the flow of concrete into unwanted areas.
In regard to Claim 2, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 1 as described above. Kim discloses that the baffle device further comprises a raised partition (vertical surface 471) extending at least partly along a length of the spine, the raised partition forming a wall to substantially block concrete poured above the plurality of adjacent channels in the deck form from flowing past the raised partition (Fig 5).
In regard to Claim 4, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 2 as described above. Kim discloses that the baffle device further comprises wherein the raised partition has a first side (horizontal surface 471) and a second side (vertical surface 472) forming a substantially L-shape (Fig 5)[0049, English Trans].
In regard to Claim 6, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 1 as described above. Lutz discloses that the baffle device further comprises wherein the first perimeter edge (left edge of recess 32 cut from roof curb components 24 or 26) and the second perimeter edge (right edge of recess 32 cut from roof curb components 24 or 26) have opposing angles to one another corresponding to opposing angles of the first and second side portions in the one of the plurality of adjacent channels formed in the deck form (corrugated roof 14) that the channel partition fits into (Fig 1)[0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel partitions taught by Kim to have opposing angles that correspond with the angles of the deck form in order to prevent the flow of concrete into unwanted areas.
In regard to Claim 8, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 1 as described above. Kim discloses that the baffle device further comprises wherein the channel partition has an opening (shear connector 43) formed therethrough to receive a rebar through the channel partition (Fig 3a & Fig 4)[0046, English Trans].
In regard to Claim 10, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 1 as described above. Kim discloses that the baffle device further comprises a plurality of channel partitions (reinforcing portion 42) formed along the spine (Fig 3a & Fig 4)[0047, English Trans].
In regard to Claim 11, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 10 as described above. Kim discloses the baffle device wherein the plurality of channel partitions are equally spaced apart from one another along a length of the spine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the channel partitions so that they are equally spaced apart from one another in order to fit the demands of a specific manufacturer or application.
In regard to Claim 12, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 10 as described above. Kim discloses the baffle device wherein the plurality of channel partitions are spaced apart from one another at a distance substantially equal to a lower width of each channel partition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the channel partitions so that they are equally spaced apart from one another in order to fit the demands of a specific manufacturer or application.
In regard to Claim 14, Kim discloses a baffle device for a deck form for pouring concrete, comprising: a spine (elongated portion of element 40) for extending across adjacent channels formed in the deck form, and adjacent channel partitions (reinforcement portion 42) provided on the spine for fitting within the adjacent channels formed in the deck form, the channel partitions substantially blocking concrete poured in the deck form from flowing past the channel partitions (Fig 3a & Fig 4)[0011, English Trans]. Kim does not disclose a perimeter edge shaped to correspond to the edge of the deck form channels. Lutz discloses a perimeter edge (left, top, and right edges of recess 32 cut from roof curb components 24 or 26) of each of the channel partitions shaped to substantially mirror a profile of each of the adjacent channels formed in the deck form (corrugated roof 14) (Fig 1)[0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel partitions taught by Kim to have perimeters that correspond with the shape of the deck form in order to prevent the flow of concrete into unwanted areas.
In regard to Claim 15, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 14 as described above. Kim discloses that the baffle device further comprises a raised partition (vertical surface 472) assembled over the spine to form a wall that substantially blocks concrete poured above the adjacent channels in the deck form from flowing past the raised partition (Fig 5).
In regard to Claim 18, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 14 as described above. Kim discloses the baffle device wherein the adjacent channel partitions each have an opening (shear connector 43) formed therethrough to receive a rebar (Fig 3a & Fig 4)[0046, English Trans].
In regard to Claim 19, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 14 as described above. Kim discloses the baffle device wherein the adjacent channel partitions are spaced substantially equally apart from one another along a length of the spine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the channel partitions so that they are equally spaced apart from one another in order to fit the demands of a specific manufacturer or application.
Claims 3, 5, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20200045061A) and Lutz (US20190309521A1) and further in view of (KR200376885) (hereinafter KR2003).
In regard to Claim 3, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 1 as described above. Kim and Lutz do not disclose that a raised partition is set over the spine after the wire mesh is laid down. KR2003 discloses the baffle device wherein the raised partition (spacer 4) is set over the spine after a wire mesh (wire mesh 3) is laid on the spine to sandwich the wire mesh between the spine and the raised partition (Fig 9)[pg 1, paragraph 1, English Trans]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim and Lutz to install the raised partition after installing the wire mesh on the spine, as taught by KR2003. This modification provides the known benefit of maintaining the correct structure and height of the concrete layer and subsequent layers.
In regard to Claim 5, Kim, Lutz, and KR2003 disclose the baffle device of claim 3 as described above. Kim discloses that the baffle device further comprises wherein the first side of the raised partition (horizontal surface 471) is attached to the spine, and the second side of the raised partition forms the wall (vertical surface 472) (Fig 5).
In regard to Claim 16, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 15 as described above. Kim and Lutz do not disclose that a raised partition is set over the spine after the wire mesh is laid down. KR2003 discloses the baffle device wherein the raised partition (spacer 4) is assembled over the spine after a wire mesh (wire mesh 3) is laid on the spine to sandwich the wire mesh between the spine and the raised partition (Fig 9)[pg 1, paragraph 1, English Trans]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim and Lutz to install the raised partition after installing the wire mesh on the spine, as taught by KR2003. This modification provides the known benefit of maintaining the correct structure and height of the concrete layer and subsequent layers.
In regard to Claim 20, Kim discloses a baffle device for a deck form for pouring concrete, comprising: a spine (elongated portion of element 40) for extending across adjacent channels formed in the deck form, and adjacent channel partitions (reinforcement portion 42) provided on the spine for fitting within the adjacent channels formed in the deck form, the channel partitions substantially blocking concrete poured in the deck form from flowing past the channel partitions (Fig 3a & Fig 4)[0011, English Trans]. Kim discloses a raised partition (vertical surface 472) assembled over the spine to form a wall that substantially blocks concrete poured above the adjacent channels in the deck form from flowing past the raised partition (Fig 5). Kim discloses an opening (shear connector 43) formed through each of the adjacent channel partitions to receive a rebar therethrough (Fig 3a & Fig 4)[0046, English Trans]. Kim does not disclose a perimeter edge shaped to correspond to the edge of the deck form channels. Lutz discloses a perimeter edge (left, top, and right edges of recess 32 cut from roof curb components 24 or 26) of each of the channel partitions shaped to substantially mirror a profile of each of the adjacent channels formed in the deck form (corrugated roof 14) (Fig 1)[0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel partitions taught by Kim to have perimeters that correspond with the shape of the deck form in order to prevent the flow of concrete into unwanted areas. Kim and Lutz do not disclose that a raised partition is set over the spine after the wire mesh is laid down. KR2003 discloses the baffle device wherein the raised partition (spacer 4) is assembled over the spine after a wire mesh (wire mesh 3) is laid on the spine to sandwich the wire mesh between the spine and the raised partition (Fig 9)[pg 1, paragraph 1, English Trans]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim and Lutz to install the raised partition after installing the wire mesh on the spine, as taught by KR2003. This modification provides the known benefit of maintaining the correct structure and height of the concrete layer and subsequent layers.
Claims 7, 9, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20200045061A) and Lutz (US20190309521A1) and further in view of Lee (KR102061430).
In regard to Claim 7, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 1 as described above. Kim and Lutz do not disclose a notch to accommodate a ridge in the deck form. Lee discloses the baffle devices wherein the third perimeter edge has a notch (lower groove 10) to accommodate a ridge formed in the bottom portion of the one of the plurality of adjacent channels formed in the deck form that the channel partition fits into (Fig 1)[0037, English Trans]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device disclosed by Kim and Lutz to include a notch in the perimeter edge as taught by Lee. This modification is a known technique to accommodate the structural ridges that are commonly found in deck forms.
In regard to Claim 9, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 1 as described above. Kim and Lutz do not disclose that the channel partition is substantially W-shaped. Lee discloses the baffle device wherein the channel partition is substantially W-shaped (second vertical portion 140, lower groove 101, third horizontal portion 150, third vertical portion 160) (Fig 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the channel partitions so that they are substantially W-shaped in order to fit the demands of a specific manufacturer or application.
In regard to Claim 13, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 10 as described above. Kim and Lutz do not disclose an inverted notch on the spine. Lee discloses that the baffle device further comprises an inverted notch (second horizontal portion 130) on the spine between each of the plurality of channel partitions to fit over an inverted rib formed between each of the channels of the deck form (Fig 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device disclosed by Kim and Lutz to include an inverted notch on the spine as taught by Lee. This modification is made to ensure a flush, secure fit of the baffle device within the deck from.
In regard to Claim 17, Kim and Lutz disclose the baffle device of claim 14 as described above. Kim and Lutz do not disclose a notch to accommodate a ridge in the deck form. Lee discloses that the baffle device further comprises a notch (lower groove 10) on each of the adjacent channel partitions, the notch accommodating a ridge formed in the bottom portion of the adjacent channels formed in the deck form (Fig 1)[0037, English Trans]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device disclosed by Kim and Lutz to include a notch in the perimeter edge as taught by Lee. This modification is a known technique to accommodate the structural ridges that are commonly found in deck forms.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/Audrey Fisher/Examiner, Art Unit 3635 /RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635