DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MURAKAMI et al. (US 20160187136 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MURAKAMI discloses a circuit device (Fig. 1) comprising: a drive circuit (11 in Fig. 1) configured to drive a physical quantity transducer (10 in Figs. 1 and 2; see also para. 0022); a phase-locked loop circuit (combination of frequency multiplier 102 and signal generating unit 100 in Fig. 1) configured to generate a digital sinusoidal wave signal (Ddet) phase-locked to a drive clock signal (CKref or CKx) from the drive circuit (para. 0027-0028, 0031-0037); an analog-to-digital (A/D) conversion circuit (105 in Fig. 1) configured to perform A/D conversion of a detection signal of the physical quantity transducer (para. 0030); and a mixer (115 in Fig. 1) configured to perform a multiplication between the digital detection signal after the A/D conversion and the digital sinusoidal wave signal (para. 0049), wherein the phase-locked loop circuit is configured to perform a phase comparison (i.e., φ2 - φ1 = Ad) between the drive clock signal (CKref or CKx) and the digital sinusoidal wave signal (Ddet) or a digital phase signal of the digital sinusoidal wave signal (para. 0035-0036) to generate the digital sinusoidal wave signal (Ddet) phase-locked to the drive clock signal (para. 0034-0037; see also Fig. 3 and related discussion about the Sinewave generator 106).
Regarding claim 11, MURAKAMI discloses: wherein an operating clock frequency of the phase-locked loop circuit (e.g., the frequency of reference clock CKref) and a data output frequency of the A/D conversion circuit are equal (para. 0027: “The frequency of reference clock CKref is substantially identical to the frequency of drive signal Sdrv, namely, the frequency of sensor signal S10”; see also para. 0037, 0051, 0065).
Regarding claim 12, MURAKAMI discloses a physical quantity detection device (Fig. 1) comprising: the circuit device (12) according to claim 1; and the physical quantity transducer (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of Lee et al. (US 9644963 B2).
Regarding claim 2, MURAKAMI discloses: wherein the phase-locked loop circuit (combination of frequency multiplier 102 and signal generating unit 100 in Fig. 1) includes a phase comparison circuit (e.g., the combination of 106a and 111 in Fig. 3) configured to perform the phase comparison between the drive clock signal and the digital sinusoidal wave signal or the digital phase signal (para. 0035-0036); and a sinusoidal wave generation circuit (106d in Fig. 3) configured to output the digital sinusoidal wave signal based on an output signal of the phase comparison circuit (para. 0034-0037; see also related discussion about the Sinewave generator 106 in Fig. 3).
MURAKAMI does not mention explicitly: the phase-locked loop circuit includes a digital filter configured to perform digital filtering on a phase comparison result signal of the phase comparison circuit; and generates the output of the digital sinusoidal wave signal based on a filter output signal of the digital filter.
Lee discloses a simplified interface circuits for a gyroscope sensor (Abstract), comprising: a phase-locked loop circuit (e.g., 107 in Fig. 1A) configured to generate a digital sinusoidal wave signal phase-locked to a drive signal (col. 1, lines 23-27: “a phase-locked loop (PLL) configured to receive sensed oscillation information from the proof-mass and to provide at least a first phase signal synchronized with a sinusoidal waveform of the sensed oscillation information”) from a drive circuit (e.g., 103 in Fig. 1A); and a mixer (e.g., 108 in Fig. 1) configured to perform a multiplication between a detection signal from the gyroscope sensor and the digital sinusoidal wave signal (col. 2, lines 47-50). Lee further discloses: the phase-locked loop circuit includes a digital filter (e.g., 133 in Fig. 1B) configured to perform digital filtering on a phase comparison result signal of the phase-locked loop circuit (col. 2, lines 57-61); and generates the output of the digital sinusoidal wave signal based on a filter output signal of the digital filter (see related discussion of 107 in Fig. 1A and Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teaching of the digital filter into MURAKAMI’s phase-locked loop circuit to arrive the claimed invention. Dong so would, for example, allow for providing fine phase adjustments using the digital filter thus providing a more precise phase generation mechanism (Lee, col. 3, lines 50-64).
Regarding claim 4, MURAKAMI discloses: wherein the phase-locked loop circuit further includes a phase adjustment circuit configured to add a value of a digital phase adjustment signal to a value of the phase comparison result signal (para. 0035-0037).
6. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of Lee et al., further in view of Giust (US 20190204386 A1).
Regarding claim 3, MURAKAMI does not mention explicitly: wherein the phase comparison circuit is configured to sample the digital sinusoidal wave signal at an edge timing of the drive clock signal.
Giust discloses a phase-locked loop circuit (Fig. 1) comprising a phase comparison circuit configured to generate a digital sinusoidal wave signal (190) phase-locked to a drive clock signal (100), wherein the phase-locked loop circuit samples (i.e., get a representative value of) the digital sinusoidal wave signal at an edge timing of the drive clock signal (para. 0037: “This sampling process is illustrated in FIG. 1 by two sample points (101, 102) appropriate for an example phase detector configured to trigger on rising-edges only of a clock timing signal 100”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Giust’s teaching of the phase comparison circuit, which samples the digital sinusoidal wave signal at an edge timing of the drive clock signal, into the combination of MURAKAMI and Lee to arrive the claimed invention. Dong so would, for example, allow for properly accounting for phase noise as it propagates through the signal chain (Giust, para. 0002). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of such a combination were predictable for implementing phase-locked loops since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness.
7. Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of Lee et al., further in view of Agoston et al. (US 4680780 A).
Regarding claim 7, MURAKAMI does not mention explicitly: wherein the phase comparison circuit includes a counter configured to perform up-count processing or down-count processing based on a result of the phase comparison, and the digital filter is configured to perform the digital filtering on a counter output signal of the counter.
Agoston discloses a digital phase-locked loop circuit (Fig. 1), comprising: a phase comparison circuit (col. 3, lines 8-14); wherein the phase comparison circuit includes a counter configured to perform up-count processing or down-count processing based on a result of the phase comparison, and the digital filter is configured to perform the digital filtering on a counter output signal of the counter (col. 3, lines 35-51 and 64-68; see also claim 6: “filter means responsive to an output of said up/down counter means for providing said coded input signal to said variable clock means to vary the frequency of said variable clock means …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Agoston’s teaching of the phase comparison circuit, which includes a counter and a digital filter configured to perform the digital filtering on a counter output signal of the counter, into the combination of MURAKAMI and Lee to arrive the claimed invention. Dong so would, for example, allow for removing noise in the input data stream while at the same time locking an external clock to the input data stream (Agoston, col. 1, lines 18-23).
Regarding claim 8, MURAKAMI discloses: wherein the sinusoidal wave generation circuit (106d in Fig. 3) is configured to convert the output signal from the phase comparison circuit to the digital phase signal and to generate the digital sinusoidal wave signal based on the digital phase signal (para. 0035-0036). As such, the combination of the MURAKAMI/Lee with Agoston’s teaching of the counter and the digital filter renders the claimed invention obvious.
Regarding claim 9, MURAKAMI does not but Agoston teaches: wherein the phase-locked loop circuit further includes a phase adjustment circuit configured to add a value of a digital phase adjustment signal to a value of the counter output signal (col. 3, lines 52-63). As such, the combination of the MURAKAMI/Lee with Agoston’s teaching of the phase-locked loop circuit renders the claimed invention obvious.
8. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURAKAMI et al. in view of Murakami et al. (US 20120191398 A1).
Regarding claim 10, MURAKAMI does not mention explicitly: wherein the A/D conversion circuit is a continuous-time delta-sigma A/D conversion circuit.
Murakami discloses an angular velocity sensor (Abstract) comprising: an analog-to-digital (A/D) conversion circuit (282 in Fig. 1A) configured to perform A/D conversion of a detection signal of a physical quantity transducer, wherein the A/D conversion circuit is a continuous-time delta-sigma A/D conversion circuit (para. 0064, 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Murakami’s A/D conversion circuit for MURAKAMI’s A/D conversion circuit to arrive the claimed invention. Dong so would, for example, allow for achieving high resolution and precision at lower effective sampling rates. The mere application of a known technique to a specific instance by those skilled in the art would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the allowance of claims 5-6 is the inclusion of the limitation: wherein the sinusoidal wave generation circuit is configured to generate, based on a sine wave signal and a cosine wave signal at a previous timing and the filter output signal, the sine wave signal and the cosine wave signal at a current timing to output the sine wave signal as the digital sinusoidal wave signal. It is this limitation, in combination with the rest of the limitations as recited in claims 1 and 2, that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes claims 5 and 6 distinguish over the prior art.
Contact Information
/X.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857