DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 21 November 2025 has been entered. Claims 8-10, 14, and 25-30 are pending. Claim 8 has been amended, while claims 12-13, 21-24, and 31-32 have been cancelled without prejudice or disclaimer. Therefore, prosecution on the merits continues for claims 8-10, 14, and 25-30 as being drawn to the elected invention. All arguments have been fully considered with the status of each prior ground of rejection set forth below.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Objection to the drawings
The replacement drawing sheets filed 21 November 2025 are acknowledged and entered into the application file. Accordingly, the replacement drawing sheets are fully submitted in black and white.
Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
RE: Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequence disclosure
The substitute Specification filed 21 November 2025 is acknowledged and entered into the application file. Accordingly, the substitute Specification corrects the compliance issues regarding the sequence disclosure.
Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
RE: Objection to claim 22
The cancellation of claim 22 renders the objection moot for this claim. Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 8-10, 12-14, 21-23, 25-26, and 29-30 under 35 USC 103 over Finer et al as evidenced Makarova et al, in view of Ittig et al
The cancellation of claims 12-13 and 21-23 renders the rejection moot for those claims. For the remaining claims, Applicant’s amendment requiring the fusion protein of independent claim 8 to comprise a T4SS secretion signal comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 166 or SEQ ID NO: 167 – which was previously presented in now cancelled claim 32 – as well as a Cas12a nucleic acid binding polypeptide – which is a newly presented limitation – obviates the rejection of record.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 8-10, 12-14, 21-30 under 35 USC 103 over Finer et al as evidenced Makarova et al, in view of Ittig et al and Kim
The cancellation of claims 12-13 and 21-24 renders the rejection moot for those claims. For the remaining claims, Applicant’s amendment requiring the fusion protein of independent claim 8 to comprise a T4SS secretion signal comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 166 or SEQ ID NO: 167 – which was previously presented in now cancelled claim 32 – as well as a Cas12a nucleic acid binding polypeptide – which is a newly presented limitation – obviates the rejection of record.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 8-10, 12-14, 21-23, 25-26, and 29-32 under 35 USC 103 over Finer et al as evidenced Makarova et al, in view of Ittig et al and Sardesai et al
The cancellation of claims 12-13, 21-23, and 31-32 renders the rejection moot for those claims. For the remaining claims, Applicant’s amendment requiring the fusion protein of independent claim 8 to comprise a Cas12a nucleic acid binding polypeptide – which is a newly presented limitation – obviates the rejection of record.
Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 8 requires the fusion protein to comprise an Agrobacterium effector protein and a nucleic acid binding polypeptide, wherein the Agrobacterium effector protein comprises a T4SS secretion signal comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 166 or SEQ ID NO: 167 (emphasis added). Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation in claim 8 encompasses the full-length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 166 or SEQ ID NO: 167, or any amino acid portion of SEQ ID NO: 166 or SEQ ID NO: 167.
Furthermore, instant claim 8 is directed to a fusion protein comprising an Agrobacterium effector protein and a nucleic acid binding polypeptide, wherein the fusion protein is capable of interacting with a T-DNA sequence comprising a DNA homology repair template that comprises an edit for incorporation into a target nucleic acid. The Examiner is interpreting the recitation of “is capable of” to indicate that the interaction of the fusion protein with the T-DNA is not materially required, and that the fusion protein only has to be physically able to interact with the T-DNA at some point in time. Therefore, so long as the fusion protein is physically capable of interacting with a T-DNA sequence comprising a DNA homology repair template that comprises an edit for incorporation into a target nucleic acid, it will read on the claim as written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 14, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finer et al (US 2019/0169624 A1, of record) as evidenced by Vergunst et al (PNAS, 2005), in view of Sardesai et al (US 2016/0319291 A1, of record) and Kim (US 2021/0130827 A1, of record).
Finer et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2). Sardesai et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2), with a priority date of 30 October 2019. Kim is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2), with a priority date of 30 October 2019.
Regarding claims 8-10: Finer et al disclose a method for producing a genetically modified plant comprising inoculating a plant or plant cell with an Agrobacterium containing a nucleic acid of interest (Abstract; Paragraph [0058]).
As such, Finer et al disclose that Agrobacterium comprising transfer DNA (T-DNA) is used in conjunction with CRISPR-Cas9 genome editing techniques (Paragraphs [0047], [0053], [0082]-[0083], [0093]). Finer et al further disclose that the CRISPR-Cas9 genome editing protein is expressed in the Agrobacterium as a fusion protein, wherein the Cas9 effector protein – which reads on a nucleic acid binding protein – is fused to an appropriate domain of a virulence protein that is translocated into plants, such as the Agrobacterium VirD2 protein (Paragraphs [0082], [0087]). With that, Finer et al disclose that the genome editing proteins – including the Cas9/VirD2 fusion protein – can be used within an expression system to introduce a desired nucleotide sequence – or the T-DNA – into the target gene via homologous recombination (Paragraphs [0024], [0047], [0082], [0086]-[0087]).
It is of note that the Agrobacterium VirD2 protein will necessarily comprise a T4SS secretion signal, as evidenced by Pages 832, 835-837 and Figure 1 of Vergunst et al, 2005.
Finer et al do not disclose that the VirD2 protein comprises a T4SS secretion signal comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 166 or SEQ ID NO: 167, nor that the nucleic acid binding polypeptide comprises a Cas12a polypeptide, as required by instant claim 8.
However, in regards to the VirD2 protein comprising a T4SS secretion signal that comprises an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 166 or SEQ ID NO: 167, Sardesai et al disclose a system of Agrobacterium-mediated plant transformation including plasmids containing transformation-enhancing genes within Agrobacterium strain (Abstract). As such, Sardesai et al disclose an Agrobacterium VirD2 protein having a sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 19, which has 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 166 (Paragraph [0079]). See sequence alignment below. It is of note that the sequence of Sardesai et al further supports that an Agrobacterium VirD2 protein will necessarily comprise a T4SS secretion signal.
Furthermore, in regards to the Cas12a polypeptide, Kim discloses type V CRISPR-Cas effector proteins, fusion nucleic constructs, and methods of targeted nucleic acid modification using the constructs thereof (Abstract). As such, Kim discloses a Cas12a effector protein that is comprised within an Agrobacterium, and aids in the modification of the target gene via the insertion of the corresponding T-DNA (Paragraphs [0040], [0074], [0088]-[0089], [0101]-[0104], [0164]-[0166]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have substituted both (i) the VirD2 protein within the VirD2/Cas9 fusion protein of Finer et al with the VirD2 protein as detailed in SEQ ID NO: 19 of Sardesai et al, and (ii) the Cas9 genome editing protein within the VirD2/Cas9 fusion protein of Finer et al with the Cas12a genome editing protein of Kim, as doing so would have been a simple substitution of one known VirD2 protein for another and one known Cas genome editing protein for another. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have recognized that the two VirD2 proteins are functionally comparable, as both are Agrobacterium virulence proteins, and thereby would have been able to substitute the VirD2 proteins with predictable results. Likewise, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the two Cas genome editing proteins are functionally comparable, as both are capable of being integrated into Agrobacterium and utilized for the insertion of T-DNA into a target gene, and thereby would have been able to substitute the Cas genome editing proteins with predictable results.
Consequently, Finer et al as evidenced by Vergunst et al and as modified by Sardesai et al and Kim render obvious a Cas12a/VirD2 fusion protein, wherein the CRISPR-Cas12a genome editing protein is fused to an appropriate domain of a virulence protein that is translocated into plants, including the Agrobacterium VirD2 protein (claims 9-10), wherein the VirD2 effector protein comprises a T4SS secretion signal set forth in instant SEQ ID NO: 166. As the Cas12a/VirD2 fusion protein is physically capable of interacting with a T-DNA nucleotide sequence that is incorporated into the target gene via homologous recombination, this therefore renders obvious the fusion protein of instant claim 8.
Query Match 100.0%; Matches 74; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 SGPLVRQAGTSRPSPPTATTRASTATDSLSATAHLQQRRGVLSKRPREDDDGEPSERKRE 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 374 SGPLVRQAGTSRPSPPTATTRASTATDSLSATAHLQQRRGVLSKRPREDDDGEPSERKRE 433
Qy 61 RDERSKDGRGGNRR 74 (INSTANT SEQ ID NO: 166)
||||||||||||||
Db 434 RDERSKDGRGGNRR 447 (SARDESAI ET AL SEQ ID NO: 19)
Regarding claim 14: Following the discussion of claim 8, Finer et al further disclose that the Cas/VirD2 fusion protein is comprised within an expression system. This therefore reads on the system of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 25-26: Following the discussion of claim 8, Finer et al further disclose that the genome editing protein – or Cas effector protein – is optionally treated to remove any purification tags, such as a His-tag, following expression within the plant cell (Paragraph [0086]). This therefore reasonably suggests that the Cas effector protein is fused to a His-tag (claim 26) prior to expression within the cell, and thereby reads on the fusion protein of instant claim 25.
Regarding claim 27: Following the discussion of claim 25, Kim further discloses that the type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein – or Cas12a polypeptide – is fused to a GCN4 peptide tag (Paragraphs [0132], [0136], [0143], [0164]). This therefore renders obvious the fusion protein of the instant claim for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 28: Following the discussion of claim 25, Kim further discloses that the type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein – or Cas12a polypeptide – is fused to an antibody (Paragraphs [0133], [0139], [0143]). This therefore renders obvious the fusion protein of the instant claim for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claims 29-30: Following the discussion of claim 8, Finer et al further disclose that the Agrobacterium effector protein is either fused to the N-terminus (claim 29) or C-terminus (claim 30) of the genome editing protein (Paragraph [0087], Page 980 of incorporated reference Vergunst et al, 2000). This therefore reads on the fusion protein of the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA G WESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633