DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has not been filed in present Application filed on April 04, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed April 04, 2024 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group II encomssing claims 6-8 without traverse in the reply filed on December 01, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 6, the term “ the PCB” lacks antecedent basis in line 5 of claim 6, because there are two PCB mentioned in the claims. the PCB should be clarify as the first PCB.
Therefore, claim 6 is unclear or indefinite.
Rejection of claims 7-8, claims 7-8 are rejected by the same reason applied to rejection of claim 6 above.
Note: The rejection under USC 102 and USC 103 below with modified language are given to advance prosecution; however, proper clarification is required under rejection of USC 112 above to consider the rejection under USC 102 and USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Junichi et al. (JPH11330661, herein referred to as Junichi).
Rejection of claim 6, Junichi discloses an electronic module (figs. 1-9 of Junichi) comprising;
a first printed circuit board (a top circuit board (board 30) in figure 3 as first circuit board) comprising:
a top surface, a bottom surface (see top and bottom surfaces of the first circuit board in figures 1-9 wherein connection side surface to substrate 1 is top surface or consider upside down figure of figure 3 ),
a series of M castellated orifices on at least one of the edges of the first PCB (see castellated orifices on at least one edge of first circuit board )
a series of N conductive pads on the top surface connecting to the M orifices at respective connection edges, M and N being integers greater than 1 (see pads on first circuit board) , wherein each of the pads on the top surface is partially covered by a respective spacer such that an area between the connection edge and a border of a remaining pad area is completely covered by the spacer (see connection edge portion and remaining portion covered by resist 10), and the connection edge and the border of the remaining pad area have a minimum distance of D, D being a positive number (see figure 3), and
a second PCB (substrate 13 as second PCB), wherein the second PCB is overlaid on top of the first PCB (see figure 3), a bottom surface of the second PCB faces a top surface of the first PCB ( see upside down figure 3), the bottom surface of the second PCB comprises a series of N conductive pads in land grid array form that are respectively coupled with the N pads on the top surface of the first PCB, and the coupled pads are soldered together (see pads of the first PCB and the second PCB are connected by solder 14).
Rejection of claim 7, Junichi discloses the electronic module according to claim 6, wherein the coupled pads are soldered together via a solder paste being applied on the remaining pad area of each pad on the top surface of the first PCB or on the N pads of the second PCB (see solder 14 in figure 3(a) of Junichi) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi.
Rejection of claim 8, Junichi discloses the electronic module according to claim 6,but fails to disclose wherein at least one electronic component is disposed on the bottom surface of the second PCB.
Examiner makes official notice that at least one electronic component is disposed on the bottom surface of the second PCB so that the at least one electronic component is between and covered by two printed circuit boards which further increase protection of the electronic components.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic module of Junichi to have at least one electronic component is disposed on the bottom surface of the second PCB for the reason mentioned above in the official notice.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various board to board interconnects assemblies.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847