Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Vehicle Control Device for a plurality of vehicles
Double Patenting
Examiner suggests applicant keep copending 18623261 in mind when making amendments. Obviousness double patenting on the copending case was found for Claims 1, 3, and 4. However, currently, the limitations of Claim 1 are distinct enough that double patenting on this application is not necessary.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a data collection unit configured to collect data on traveling characteristics of a plurality of vehicles” in claim Claims 1-4.
“an analysis unit configured to analyze traveling characteristics” in Claims 1-4
“a control unit configured to apply common settings” in Claims 1-4
These elements are described by ¶[38; published specification] to be realized by a CPU
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental processes without significantly more. The claims recite “ analyze traveling characteristics common to vehicles belonging to at least one of a predetermined area and a predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles by using the collected data; and
[[a control unit configured to]] apply common settings related to vehicle equipment to the vehicles belonging to at least one of the predetermined area and the predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles based on a result of analysis performed by the analysis unit” (i.e. a mental processing step able to be performed by the human mind and/or by paper; data could have already been collected, applicant has not claimed the structural limitations of a communication unit, and even if there was, it is general purpose equipment, while data collection is an insignificant extra-solution activity).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because applicant has not claimed how the data actually modifies the vehicle operations. Rather, applicant’s claims are in 112[f] format (“data collection unit configured to collect data”, analysis unit configured to apply common settings”, “a control unit configured to apply common settings”), and the operations could all have occurred in the human mind and/or a single computer. Noted that the “apply common settings” does not even clearly state that the settings being applied are commands to modify the vehicle operations, nor labels the types of settings.
Claims 3 and 4 recite clear changes meant to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because Claims 1 and 2 in light of 112[f] analysis, can be considered 1 controller. The data collection unit can be taking data already collected or stored, and be an input for the controller [while routine data collection is understood to be an insignificant extra-solution activity]. As noted above, applicant’s claims do not specify what “apply common settings” mean practically (e.g. is it transmitted as command, etc.). It could just mean that the data is processed differently.
Claims 3 and 4, in the alternative, clearly demonstrate elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as they describe a cooling operation being modified based upon the processed data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iga (USPGPN 20130317692).
Independent Claim 1, Iga discloses a vehicle control system (Figs. [1-3], esp. element 2 shown in Figs. [1, 3], see claim interpretation) comprising:
a data collection unit (21, 20, 203), configured to collect data on traveling characteristics (¶’s [50, 56, 67, 111], at least speed) of a plurality of vehicles (1);
an analysis unit (23, 25, 24, 26) configured to analyze traveling characteristics common to vehicles belonging to at least one of a predetermined area and a predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles by using the collected data (¶’s [78, 87, 89, 104, 107, 110, 111, esp. 78, 87, 89, 107]);
and a control unit configured to apply common settings related to vehicle equipment to the vehicles belonging to at least one of the predetermined area and the predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles based on a result of analysis performed by the analysis unit (¶’s [78, 87, 107, 110] describes sending commands based on vehicle type, i.e. predetermined vehicle type, esp. from 253 of 26).
Dependent Claim 2, Iga discloses the control unit is configured to apply the common settings to a vehicle expected to belong to at least one of the predetermined area and the predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles, the common settings being related to vehicle equipment applied to each of the vehicles belonging to at least one of the predetermined area and the predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles (vehicle sensors being sent the command are vehicular equipment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iga (USPGPN 20130317692) in view of Oh (USPGPN 20200290464)
Dependent Claim 3, Iga teaches analyze a load on a vehicle’s power supply by using the collected data each of the vehicles belonging to at least one of the predetermined area and the predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles, and send commands to each of the vehicles belonging to at least one of the predetermined area and the predetermined vehicle type among the plurality of vehicles (as described above, the speed and other data collected is a load on a vehicle’s power supply)
Iga is silent to the analysis unit is configured to analyze a load on a battery that causes deterioration of the battery by using the collected data, the battery being mounted on each of the vehicle; and the control unit is configured to increase a cooling intensity for the battery mounted on each of the vehicle.
Oh teaches a vehicle control system (Figs. [1, 2, 7]), comprising:
a data collection unit (12, 13) configured to collect data on driving characteristics of a vehicle by a user (¶’s [45-48] describes vehicle speed, gradient being used to determine the load & whether in towing mode on a vehicle by a user/driver ¶’s [29, 38, 39]);
an analysis unit configured to analyze, using the collected data, a burden on a battery mounted on the vehicle (14, ¶’s [46-48], Fig. 6) that contributes to degradation of the battery (noted that any use of a vehicle at any temperature can contribute to the degradation of a battery, however, being above reference temperatures can cause degradation to be even worse, ¶’s [09, 12, 32, 35, 36, 58-63, 65] describes setting the reference temperature based upon the load); and
a control unit configured to cool the battery (¶’s [31, 58-63]) with a cooling intensity according to an analysis result (as the reference temperature to cool the battery at can be lowered based on the higher load [as demonstrated above], this means the cooling intensity is set according to the analysis result [i.e. in towing mode, cooling reference temperature is lowered, leading to increased cooling intensity], noted that this limitation is an intended use/capable-of/configure-to limitation, and Oh is certainly capable of performing the claimed feature). While Iga is silent to an electric vehicle with a battery propulsion (engine sensor ¶[50], but does not say whether hybrid or non-hybrid), Oh does teach an electric vehicle (¶’s [05, 21], abstract) which uses both the engine of Iga and an electrical battery for propulsion. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that electric/hybrid vehicles can serve to reduce emission [and thus reduce pollution] over only engine propelled vehicles. Further, while Iga is silent to a battery being cooled, Oh teaches cooling of the battery.
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that loading on a battery to propel the vehicle increases heat. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by keeping the battery in an ideal temperature range [i.e. by cooling when too hot, or heating when too cold], it can optimize battery range/efficiency and reduce deterioration of the battery capacity (official notice taken, ¶[32]). Thus by cooling a battery when being discharged/burdened/loaded, maintenance of the battery within the ideal temperature range can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iga with Oh to provide reduced battery deterioration and emissions, and improved battery efficiency and range.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iga (USPGPN 20130317692) in view of Oh (USPGPN 20200290464), further in view of Kawahara et al (USPGPN 20110313613; hereinafter Kawa), Ozcelik et al (USPGPN 20230226948; hereinafter Ozce), and Takatsuji (USPGPN 20130297244; hereinafter Taka)
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Iga and Oh teaches the cooling intensity based upon the battery burden (as described above for claims 1 and 3).
Iga in view of Oh is silent to when the number of times is determined that the burden on the battery is great reaches a predetermined value, increase the cooling intensity and reduce an upper limit value of a current to be supplied to the battery during charging of the battery.
Taka teaches when the number of times the burden is great [electric current above threshold] and the temperature is above a threshold (¶’s [82-85, esp. 83], it is used to determine the deterioration of the battery, see analogous system of Fig. 1 which shows temperature sensors). Taka teaches this determination provides improved accuracy (¶[29])
Kawa teaches deterioration/degradation/state-of-health[SOH] is used to determine to reduce the maximum discharge/charge current as it gets worse (¶[34], analogous structure in Figs. [1-3], analogous cooling operation in ¶’s [80, 90], ¶’s [08, 34] describes this operations provides optimal charging [further, official notice taken that one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by reducing the current limit, it can suppress further degradation of the battery, and thus extend the lifetime of the battery])
Ozce teaches SOH of a battery is used to determine whether to increase cooling amounts in order to slow down aging/extend battery lifetime (analogous Figs. [1-3b], ¶’s [71, 96]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iga in view of Oh with Kawa, Ozce, and Taka to provide improved accuracy, optimal operation, and extended battery lifetime. Iga in view of Oh is modified by Taka to determine the more accurate SOH based upon the number of times the temperature and load/discharge currents exceed a threshold. This SOH is further used to determine the cooling intensity (Ozce) and the maximum charging current limit (Kawa) to optimally extend the lifetime of the vehicle’s battery.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859