DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. [US 2009/0160595 A1] in view of Olschewski [US 4,103,267].
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Feng et al. discloses a magnetic component module [figures 6A-6D] comprising:
- a substrate [61];
- a core [15] on a first surface of the substrate;
- a gap between the core and the substrate [figure 6A];
- a winding including: wiring portions [62a-62f, figure 6B] that are directly on the substrate that extend under the core and wire bonds [19a-19c] extending over the core and including opposing ends electrically connecting ends of the winding portions; and
- an overmold material [101] encapsulating the core, the gap, the wire bonds and a portion of the substrate such that the overmold material extends into the gap.
Feng et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a spacer.
Olschewski discloses a magnetic component [figures 1-4] comprising:
- a substrate [10];
- a core [18] on a first surface of the substrate;
- a spacer [19] conforms the top surface of the core; and
- a winding including: a wiring portions [12, 30, 34] that are directly on the substrate that extend under the core and wire bonds [24, 28] extending over the core and including opposing ends electrically connecting ends [29, 32] of the winding portions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the spacer of Olschewski in the core of Feng, for the purpose of providing insulation between the core and the winding.
Olschewski further discloses the spacer extending over an entire surface of the core.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 12-13, Olschewski further discloses an adhesive material [20] arranged between the core and the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include adhesive material between the core and the substrate of Feng et al., as suggested by Olschewski, for the purpose of providing adhesive for the core mounting.
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. in view of Dirks [US 4,975,671].
Regarding claim 1, Feng et al. discloses a magnetic component module [figures 6A-6D] comprising:
- a substrate [61];
- a core [15] on a first surface of the substrate;
- a gap between the core and the substrate [figure 6A];
- a winding including: wiring portions [62a-62f, figure 6B] that are directly on the substrate that extend under the core and wire bonds [19a-19c] extending over the core and including opposing ends electrically connecting ends of the winding portions; and
- an overmold material [101] encapsulating the core, the gap, the wire bonds and a portion of the substrate such that the overmold material extends into the gap.
Feng et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a spacer.
Dirks discloses a magnetic component [figures 1-3] comprising:
- a substrate [11];
- a core [2] on surface of the substrate [figure 3];
- a winding structure formed of conductors [7, 9] around the core; and
- a spacer [3] conforms the core.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the spacer of Olschewski in the core of Feng, for the purpose of providing insulation between the core and the winding.
Regarding claim 16, Dirks further discloses the spacer only extends along a top surface of the core and along at least a portion of two side surfaces of the core connected to the top surface [figure 3].
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. [US 2009/0160595 A1] in view of Evans et al. [US 5, 543,773].
Regarding claim 1, Feng et al. discloses a magnetic component module [figures 6A-6D] comprising:
- a substrate [61];
- a core [15] on a first surface of the substrate;
- a gap between the core and the substrate [figure 6A];
- a winding including: wiring portions [62a-62f] that are directly on the substrate that extend under the core and wire bonds [19a-19c] extending over the core and including opposing ends electrically connecting ends of the winding portions; and
- an overmold material [101] encapsulating the core, the gap, the wire bonds and a portion of the substrate such that the overmold material extends into the gap.
Feng et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a spacer.
Evans et al. discloses a magnetic component [figures 1-15b] comprising:
- a substrate [121];
- a core [130] on a first surface of the substrate;
- a spacer [former of figure 13] conforms the top surface of the core; and
- a winding including: wiring portions [122, 127] that are directly on the substrate that extend under the core and wire bonds [123, 126] extending over the core and including opposing ends electrically connecting ends of the winding portions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the spacer of Evans et al. in the core of Feng, for the purpose of providing insulation between the core and the winding.
Regarding claim 6, Evans et al. further discloses the spacer arranged on the core such that an edge of the spacer overhangs the for [figures 12 and 15a-15b].
The specific dimension [wider] of the spacer relative to the core would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating providing separation between the winding and the core.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 7-8, Evans et al. further disclose the core may be adhesively attached to the substrate [e.g. with thermally conductive adhesive] to the substrate [column 9, lines 16-19].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include adhesive material between the core and the substrate of Feng et al., as suggested by Evans et al., for the purpose of providing adhesive for the core mounting.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,978,581 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming the same subject matter of a magnetic component with a spacer on a core.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming the same subject matter of a magnetic component with a spacer on a core.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837