DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “ a PHOSITA would not change the material of Kaneko insulation structure as suggested by Cook, comprising a “conductive material”, and is considered an impressible hindsight by the examiner.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971), so having a conductive part being part of a device, a stator, a motor, a motor housing or insulation part with parts of metal or conductive parts, therefore penetrating wires, or heat conductive parts, or electrically conductive parts or magnetically conductive parts is with the common knowledge in the art and is therefore obvious to have the insulation structure comprising: a conductive part which adds to structure of the resin, metals conduct heat, or electricity or magnetic field, therefore the combination of Kaneko with Cook still teach the combination of claim of limitations of claim 1 as indicated below.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4,6,7,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (US PG Pub 20030062780 hereinafter “Kaneko” in view of Cook et al. (US PG pub 20030042804 hereinafter “Cook”).
Re-claim 1, Kaneko discloses an insulation structure (19,20, 20 is rubber seal, insulating, 19 is integrated with 17, resin layer) configured to be disposed in a motor housing (1B) and configured to block an electric field (resin and rubber seal prevent electrical connection, not electrical conductors) occurring in an end coil (14), which is drawn from each of two shaft ends (ends of 2a) of a stator (5) in a shaft direction (direction between 2a in both ends of fig.1), from being applied to a motor shaft (2a), the insulation structure comprising: a part (19) having a first side in contact with the motor housing (annotated fig.1), surrounding a bearing (3, see annotated fig.1) concentric with the motor shaft (2a), and extending to be parallel to the end coil (14); and an insulating part (20) in contact with at least a first portion of a second side (see fig.1) of the conductive part (see fig.1).
Kaneko fails to explicitly teach the insulation structure comprising: a conductive part.
However, Cook teaches the insulation structure (60) comprising a conductive part (60, is metal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the material of the insulation structure of Kaneko and add material which make the insulation structure conductive part as suggested by Cook which provides more sturdy and structural soundness to the motor and well around the stator and protect the bearings, adds to structure of the resin, metals conduct heat, or electricity or magnetic field (Cook, P[0014]).
Re-claim 2, Kaneko as modified discloses the insulation structure of claim 1, wherein the at least the first portion of the second side (annotated fig.1) of the conductive part (end of 19) is accommodated inside the insulating part (20).
Re-claim 3, Kaneko as modified discloses the insulation structure of claim 2, wherein at least one of the conductive part (19) and the insulating part (20) has a predetermined length (see fig.1) in a direction parallel to a shaft direction (annotated fig.1, length in direction of 2a) of the end coil (14) such that the at least one of the conductive part and the insulating part (19) overlaps (19 overlaps 14, see fig.1) the end coil (14) by a predetermined area (area from end of 5).
Re-claim 4, Kaneko as modified discloses the insulation structure of claim 3, wherein an end of the insulation structure (20) has a length (any length of 20) so as to prevent the insulation structure from being in contact with an end of a rotor (2, 20 does not contact 2).
Re-claim 6, Kaneko as modified discloses the insulation structure of claim 1, wherein the insulation structure has a ring shape (19 is cylindrical).
Re-claim 7, Kaneko as modified discloses the insulation structure of claim 1, wherein the conductive part (19) is thinner (see fig.1 showing thin 19, 20 is thicker specially radially) than the insulating part (20).
Re-claim 10, Kaneko as modified discloses the insulation structure of claim 1, wherein the conductive part (19) is integrated with the motor housing (1b,1,1a) such that the first side (20 extends into housing) extends from the housing (1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 5, recites “inter alia” : 1. An insulation structure configured to be disposed in a motor housing and configured to block an electric field occurring in an end coil, which is drawn from each of two shaft ends of a stator in a shaft direction, from being applied to a motor shaft, the insulation structure comprising: a conductive part having a first side in contact with the motor housing, surrounding a bearing having a concentric shaft with the motor shaft, and extending to be parallel to the end coil; and an insulating part in contact with at least a first portion of a second side of the conductive part.
2. The insulation structure of claim 1, wherein the at least the first portion of the second side of the conductive part is accommodated inside the insulating part.
3. The insulation structure of claim 2, wherein at least one of the conductive part and the insulating part has a predetermined length in a direction parallel to a shaft direction of the end coil such that the at least one of the conductive part and the insulating part overlaps the end coil by a predetermined area.
5. The insulation structure of claim 3, wherein in a cross-section of the insulating part, a length of the insulating part that is adjacent to the end coil is at least a length to accommodate a portion of the conductive part that overlaps the end coil.
The combination of claims 5,3,2 and 1 altogether are found to be allowed, the prior art of record found, ip.com npl and patent search, or any combination of references alone or combined fail to suggest the combined limitations of claim 5 with claims 3-1. The combination is found to be unique and allowed. Other prior art teach insulation structure but not as detailed above.
Re-claim 8, recites “inter alia” : 1. An insulation structure configured to be disposed in a motor housing and configured to block an electric field occurring in an end coil, which is drawn from each of two shaft ends of a stator in a shaft direction, from being applied to a motor shaft, the insulation structure comprising: a conductive part having a first side in contact with the motor housing, surrounding a bearing having a concentric shaft with the motor shaft, and extending to be parallel to the end coil; and an insulating part in contact with at least a first portion of a second side of the conductive part.
8. The insulation structure of claim 1, further comprising an auxiliary insulation structure extending from an end of the stator in a direction in which the end coil is drawn, wherein the auxiliary insulation structure has an outer peripheral surface surrounded by a shielding insulation paper, and accommodates a conductive material inside.
The combination of claims 8 and 1 altogether are found to be allowed, the prior art of record found, ip.com npl and patent search, or any combination of references alone or combined fail to suggest the combined limitations of claim 8 with claim 1. The combination is found to be unique and allowed. Other prior art teach insulation structure, but not combined as the shielding and axillary insulation are unique but not as detailed above.
Claim 9 is objected as being dependency from claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834