CTNF 18/626,622 CTNF 100625 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the present application on 04/04/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner together with the IDS submitted on 04/04/2024. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "which causes" should be "to cause" . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 4 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: "the at least one candidate channel, and the at least one candidate frequency band" should be "the at least one candidate channel, or the at least one candidate frequency band" . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: "vender specific" should be "vendor specific" . Appropriate correction is required. Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: based on the similarity with Claim 6 it does not require that “supporting signal transmission/reception via two different frequency bands” should be simultaneously. Applicant may amend or leave the claim language as is. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) 07-30-01 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. 07-31-01 Claim 4 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 4 and 15 require a fourth frequency band but a fourth frequency band is not disclosed in the Specification – See, e.g., [¶0060] (“ various frequency bands including a first frequency band (e.g., 2.4 GHz), a second frequency band (e.g., 5 GHz), and/or a third frequency band (e.g., 6 GHz) may be used ”). Therefore, Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) for lack of written description. For examination purposes, the fourth frequency band will be any one from the set comprising the first, second and third frequency bands. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 5-6 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp. , 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “GO intent information” in Claims 5-6 and 16-17 is used by the claim to mean a structure comprising “the performance information corresponding to whether simultaneous transmission and reception of signals of different frequency bands is supported by the external electronic device,” while the accepted meaning is “a value indicating the degree of priority to become a GO.” – See, e.g. , Wi-Fi Alliance P2P TS providing in § 4.1.6, “GO Intent” as a “ Relative value between 0 and 15 used to indicate the desire of the P2P Device to be the P2P Group Owner, with a larger value indicating a higher desire. ” It is true that the Specification redefines “GO intent” as a “ value set differently based on whether signals of different frequency bands are capable of being simultaneously transmitted and/or received ” – See [¶0016], and further assigns to this value “ one of the numbers (e.g., 1 to 15) in a designated range 510 ” – See [¶0128] and Fig. 5, showing an electronic devices using two sub-ranges in the “designated” 0-15 range, each subrange indicating three possibilities, depending on whether the device is connected to an AP and whether the AP the device is connected to works in the 2.4GHz or 5GHz band. However, because any of Claims 5-6 and Claims 16-17 depends from an independent claim with no requirement related to an AP connection, and the Specification states that “ in the case in which simultaneous transmission and/or reception of a signal of the first frequency band and a signal of the second frequency band and/or third frequency band is available, the electronic device 310 may set any one of the values in another designated range as a GO intent value ” – See [¶0139] (emphasis added), meaning that a GO intent value for a device able of simultaneous transmission on all three frequency bands is not different from, e.g. , the GO intent value of a device “ incapable of performing simultaneous transmission and/or reception of a signal of the first frequency band and a signal of the second frequency band ” – See [¶0134] or a device “ capable of performing simultaneous transmission and/or reception of a signal of the first frequency band and a signal of the second frequency band ” – See [¶0135]. Therefore, Fig. 5 and Specification [¶¶0127-141] do not impart sufficient written description as why the “GO intent” value should be in the range 0-15 and how the “GO intent” value is to be associated with “ the performance information corresponding to whether simultaneous transmission and reception of signals of different frequency bands is supported by the external electronic device ,” as required by the independent claims 1 . In addition, the Specification conflates the special definition of “GO intent” value used in Fig. 5 and [¶¶0127-141] wherein the purpose of the “GO intent” value is to indicate “ the performance information corresponding to whether simultaneous transmission and reception of signals of different frequency bands is supported by the external electronic device ,” as required in the independent claims, with the “GO intent” attribute value in specified § 4.1.6, Wi-Fi Alliance P2P TS, because the Specification also discloses that the “ electronic device that transmits a higher GO intent value may be determined to be a group owner (GO), and an electronic device that transmits a lower GO intent value may be determined to be a group client (GC) ” – See [¶0165]. The Specification further discloses a third meaning for the “GO intent” value – See [¶0158] (“ Based on the GO intent value included in the GO negotiation request message, the external electronic device 420 may identify state information of the electronic device 310 (e.g., frequency band information of the channel established between the electronic device 310 and the first AP 331), ” i.e. , identify whether the source device is connected to an AP). The meaning of every term used in a claim should be apparent from the prior art or from the specification and drawings at the time the application is filed. Claim language may not be " ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention ." In re Packard , 751 F.3d 1307, 1311, 110 USPQ2d 1785, 1787 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Applicants need not confine themselves to the terminology used in the prior art, but are required to make clear and precise the terms that are used to define the invention whereby the metes and bounds of the claimed invention can be ascertained. MPEP § 2137.05(a). Here, the term “GO intent,” an attribute of the GO Negotiation exchange clearly defined in the art before the effective filing date, is indefinite because the Specification does not clearly redefine the term, in parts conflating a “GO intent” value, known in the art as comprised between 0-15, with values used to distinguish cases in the context of each special meaning given in the Specification following each of the special definitions disclosed in the Specification. Thus, a person of ordinary skills in the art looking at a message received during the GO negotiation procedure that comprises a GO intent information, even assuming that the GO intent information has the special meaning of a performance information of the external electronic device as required by Claims 5-6 and 16-17, has no guidance or intelligible principle for mapping a value of the “GO intent” and the capability (or incapability) of the associated device to simultaneously transmit on the first, the second and the third frequency band (or combinations thereof), whether the device is also connected to an AP or not, and which of the first, second and/or third frequency is used by the device to connect to the AP 2 – See, e.g. , [¶0269] (stating: “ Based on the GO intent value included in the GO negotiation request message, the external electronic device 420 may identify state information of the electronic device 310 (e.g., frequency band information of a channel established between the electronic device 310 and the first AP 331 and/or simultaneous transmission and/or reception capability of the communication circuit 410 of the electronic device 310) ”) . Therefore, Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) for indefiniteness. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwami et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0069761 (hereinafter Iwami) . Regarding Claim 1 , Iwami teaches, in Fig. 3, an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit configured to support simultaneous transmission and reception of signals of different frequency bands of short-range wireless communication (“ The source device 100 includes an antenna 110, a wireless communication unit 120 ” – See [¶0099] whereby “[t] he wireless communication unit 120 sends and receives information (e.g., image data and sound data) to and from another information processing apparatus (e.g., the first sink device 200) ” – See [¶0100] and “ has a function capable of sending and receiving three frequency channels of 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6[] GHz simultaneously or only a selected frequency ” – See [¶0101] “ thus able to perform media transmission between itself and other devices according to Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast specifications ” – See [¶0102] in a “ wireless LAN [that] may include, for example, an Infrastructure mode (Wi-Fi Infrastructure mode), Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi), Direct, tunneled direct link setup (TDLS), ad hoc network, or a mesh network ” and “ Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast (technical specification title: Wi-Fi Display) . . . may be used as short-distance wireless audio visual (AV) transmission communication for use in the communication system 10 ” – See [¶0077] and Fig. 1); memory storing one or more instructions; a processor operatively connected to the communication circuit and the memory – See Figs. 3 and 4; wherein the one or more instructions are executed by the processor, which causes the electronic device to: perform discovery of an external electronic device to be connected to the electronic device via the short-range wireless communication (“ The source device 100 (P2P GO) also transmits a beacon, authenticates a device that is joining the group, and provides connection setting information (credentials) to a device that is joining the group ” – See [¶00858], e.g. , “ FIG. 2 illustrates an example in which the second sink device 43 joins a group in an environment where the source device 41 is connected to the first sink device 42 by way of P2P direct communication ” – See [¶0090] whereby “ the source device 41 performs a P2P Invitation Request process on the second sink device 43 (24). Alternatively, the second sink device 43 may perform a P2P Provision Discovery Request process on the source device 41 ” – See [¶0092] and “[t] hen, the source device 41 performs service discovery processes (32, 33) between itself and the first sink device 42 and the second sink device 43, thereby setting up a multi-sink topology ” – See [¶0095] and Fig. 2; see also Fig. 28 showing P2P client discovery procedure 3 at steps 415-424, further described in [¶¶0274-84]; therefore, “[t] he wireless communication unit 120 [of each device] is thus able to perform media transmission between itself and other devices according to Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast specifications ” – See [¶0102]); receive performance information of the external electronic device during a group owner (GO) negotiation procedure performed between the external electronic device and the electronic device ( e.g. , when “ the first sink device 200 does not permit changing from a P2P GO to a P2P client, and the source device 100 is incompatible with a plurality of operations ” – See [¶0390] and Fig. 32, “[t] he second sink device 300 inserts a message indicating that it desires to perform Miracast reception from the source device 100 into a Device GO shuffle Request, and sends the Device GO shuffle Request to the first sink device 200 ” – See [¶0391] then “ the source device 100 decides to cut off the connection to the first sink device 200 ” – See [¶0398] and “ the source device 100 sends an Invitation Request to the second sink device 300 in order to connect to the second sink device 300, ” – See [¶0399] so “ then a GO Negotiation may be performed between the source device 100 and the second sink device 300 ” or “ the source device 100 can perform a preparatory process to become an Autonomous GO at the time it cuts off the first sink device 200 ” – See [¶0400] and Fig. 32, followed by the process described in Fig. 33 ending with “ a WFD Capability Negotiation (RTSP M1 to M7) is carried out between the source device 100 and the second sink device 300, ” i.e. , performance information in WFD Capability as shown in Figs. 22-27, before “ media transmission is performed from the source device 100 to the second sink device 300 using a first format ” – See [¶0327]; see also Fig. 8, Wi-Fi P2P TS, at page 40, showing the GO Negotiation message exchange, reproduced hereinafter, containing the standard P2P Information Element comprising Channel list and Operating channel attributes; cf . Iwami:Fig. 26 showing the New Device Information for Miracast audio-video devices ) PNG media_image1.png 537 983 media_image1.png Greyscale the performance information corresponding to whether simultaneous transmission and reception of signals of different frequency bands is supported by the external electronic device (“ After having established a P2P connection, the source device 100 establishes a link as a TCP connection or an RTSP connection to the second sink device 300, and thereafter exchanges at least one of . . . (a) P2P IE (Information Element) (b) WFD IE (Information Element) (c) Application service platform (ASP) ” – See [¶¶0258-61] wherein, the WFD IE 4 shown in Figs. 25-26 comprises “ New Device Information field represents information for the second sink device 300 to decide an optimum frequency channel in a P2P connection ” – See [¶0265], e.g. , “ concurrent information (field [5:2] illustrated in FIG. 26) of the wireless link of the second sink device 300 can be used . . . for example, whether a connection mode such as a time-division connection of the same frequency channels, a time-division connection of different frequency channels, a simultaneous connection of the same frequency channels, or a simultaneous connection of different frequency channels is possible (field [5:2] illustrated in FIG.26) ” – See [¶0266] whereby “ concurrent function refers, for example, to a function for a sink device to set up a concurrent session with two or more source devices in one channel on a P2P connection ” – See [¶0193] including “ an ability to notify one frequency channel or two or more different frequency channels of the number of sink [/source] devices on two or more simultaneously usable concurrent sessions ” – See [¶0195] and “[i] f a source device has a function capable of sending and receiving a plurality of frequency channels . . ., then a sink device . . . can control a process of deciding which frequency channel each source device is to use ” – See [¶0101], e.g. , indicate to the source device that “ the wireless communication unit 220 is capable of performing a communication process using a first frequency band and a communication process using a second frequency band with a higher data transmission speed than the first frequency band ” – See [¶0121] or “ a resolution to be used ” or “ separately set a first power consumption mode with respect to the first frequency band and a second power consumption mode with respect to the second frequency band with a higher data transmission speed than the first frequency band ” – See [¶0136]) and based on an attribute of an application executed on the electronic device and the performance information of the external electronic device ( e.g. , when an “ electronic device equipped with a display unit (e.g., an imaging device, a game machine, a smartphone, or a tablet terminal) may be used as . . . the second sink device 300 ” – See [¶0080] and “ image data generated by an imaging process performed by the source device 100 are sent to . . . sink device [s]”– See [¶0081] and Fig. 1, an attribute of the Miracast reception from the source device such as “ Video format(s) supported by the WFD Sink ” – See [¶0152] can be negotiated/used in addition to the concurrent session capability supra ) select a first frequency band or a first channel for connection to the external electronic device (“ The controller 140 performs control processes with respect to various items of information to be sent from the source device 100 . . . on the basis of the control signal received by the control signal receiver 130 ” from the sink device, e.g. , “ control processes on the image/sound signal generator 150 and the image/sound compressor 160 ” – See [¶0104] because the source device has “ a codec capable of adapting itself freely to the resolution of an information processing apparatus (sink device) on the receiving side ” – See [¶0111], and “[t] he controller 140 of the source device 100 can control a process of deciding which frequency channel of a plurality of frequency channels is to use for wireless communication with each sink device ” – See [¶0121] e.g. , select the second frequency band with a higher data transmission speed indicated by the second sink device, in response to the sink device supporting, e.g. , HD/4K video formats). Therefore, Claim 1 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 2 , dependent from Claim 1, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the performance information of the external electronic device comprises information indicating at least one candidate channel or at least one candidate frequency band to be used in case that the external electronic device transmits data via the short-range wireless communication (“ Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast (technical specification title: Wi-Fi Display), for example, may be used as short-distance wireless audio visual (AV) transmission communication for use in the communication system 10 ” – See [¶0077] and Fig. 1, then the WDF IE of the sink device indicates available Frequency Channel Numbers, as shown in Fig. 26, e.g. , “ for accessing the second sink device 300 using the TDLS process, associated frequency information (field [23:14] illustrated in FIG. 26) between the access point and the second sink device 300 can be used ” – See [¶0266]). Therefore, Claim 2 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 3 , dependent from Claim 2, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the at least one candidate channel comprises a second channel connected between the external electronic device and a first access point (AP) connected to the external electronic device (when the sink device is “ a smartphone 900 to which a technique according to the present disclosure may be applied ” comprising “ wireless communication interface 913, an antenna switch 914, an antenna 915 ” – See [¶0485], “ the wireless communication interface 913 can communicate with other devices through a wireless LAN access point ” and “ may support, in addition to the wireless LAN system, other types of wireless communication systems including a short-distance wireless communication system ” like Miracast – See [¶0488] and Fig. 45) wherein the at least one candidate frequency band comprises a second frequency band in which signal transmission/reception is capable of being performed simultaneously while signal transmission/reception is performed via a third frequency band corresponding to the second channel connected between the external electronic device and the first AP wherein the second frequency band is different from the third frequency band ( “ the wireless communication unit 220 has a function capable of sending and receiving three frequency channels of 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 [] GHz simultaneously . . . Specifically, the wireless communication unit 220 is capable of performing a communication process using a first frequency band and a communication process using a second frequency band with a higher data transmission speed than the first frequency band ” and “[t] he controller 270 can also control a process of deciding which frequency channel of a plurality of frequency channels is to use for wireless communication with each source device ”– See [¶0121], i.e. , the 5GHz and the 6 GHz can be used simultaneously for Miracast, while using the 2.4GHz band for AP access, and the device “ may have a plurality of antennas (e.g., an antenna for a wireless LAN, an antenna a proximity wireless communication system, and an antenna for public link communication). In such a case, the antenna switch 914 may be omitted from the arrangement of the smartphone 900 ” – See [¶0489], i.e. , the AP channel and the P2P Miracast channels use different antenna; furthermore, the smartphone can be a source or a sink device because whereby “[i] n the smartphone 900 illustrated in FIG. 45, the controller 140 described with reference to FIG. 3 and the controller 270 described with reference to FIG. 4 may be implemented by the wireless communication interface 913 ” – See [¶0491]). Therefore, Claim 3 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 4 , dependent from Claim 3, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein, in case that the electronic device is connected to a second AP via the short-range wireless communication (“ it is expected that P2P direct connections typified by Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast will begin from now on to be compatible with a plurality of sink devices (hereinafter referred to as multi-sink topology) ” – See [¶0472], e.g. , the electronic device may be “ a car navigation apparatus 920 to which a technique according to the present disclosure may be applied ” – See [¶0493] connected in “ a direct communication mode such as an ad hoc mode or Wi-Fi Direct or the like, the wireless communication interface 933 can communicate directly with other devices ” through “ a plurality of antenna elements, and is used to send and receive wireless signals via the wireless communication interface 933 ” – See [¶0498], e.g., communicates directly with a second smartphone acting as a source and as an AP because any “ smartphone 900 may operate as a wireless access point (software AP) when the processor 901 performs an access point function at an application level ” – See [¶0492], e.g. , “ making it possible to provide ordinary services for . . . vehicle devices that require real-timeness ” – See [¶0228]), the processor is configured to select the first channel to be used for connection to the external electronic device based on a fourth frequency band of a third channel between the electronic device and the second AP ( e.g. , a channel in the 2.4GHz band as the third channel different from the second channel supra in a fourth frequency band that is the same as the third frequency band but using an SSID announced by the second smartphone that is different from the SSID announced by the first smart phone because the “ SSID for a device to be launched as a P2P GO may be stored in a message ” – See [¶0403]), the attribute of the application, the at least one candidate channel, [[and]] or the at least one candidate frequency band ( e.g. , using a channel in one of the (other two) 5 GHz, and 6 GHz bands based on which one has “ a higher data transmission speed ” as indicated by “[ t]he controller 270 [that] can also control a process of deciding which frequency channel of a plurality of frequency channels is to use for wireless communication with each source device ”– See [¶0121], when the first smartphone has HD video capability, i.e. , an attribute of the Miracast application – See, e.g. , Fig. 31). Therefore, Claim 4 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 5 , dependent from Claim 1, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a message received during the GO negotiation procedure comprises a GO intent information comprising the performance information of the external electronic device ( e.g. , “ a sink device to connect to may be decided on the basis of other information (e.g., a numerical value such as an Intent Value or the like) ” – See [¶0402] i.e. , a low value meaning “ lower desire of the P2P Device to be the P2P Group Owner ,” and known in the art – See [¶0363] may indicate the external electronic device not being capable of simultaneous transmission and reception of signals of different frequency bands, e.g. , “ concurrent function refers function for a sink device to set up a concurrent session with one or more source devices ” – See [¶0191] and a GO intent information value is “1”). Therefore, Claim 5 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 6 , dependent from Claim 5, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the GO intent information is configured to be different ( e.g. , the Intent Value is very high, e.g. “15” indicating external device interest in becoming a P2P GO– See [¶0363]) based on a second frequency band of a second channel between the external electronic device and a first access point (AP) connected to the external electronic device and based on whether the external electronic device is capable of supporting signal transmission/reception via two different frequency bands simultaneously ( e.g. , the external device “ has a function capable of sending and receiving three frequency channels of 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 [] GHz simultaneously ” – See [¶0121], e.g., using the 2.4GHz frequency band for the second channel to the first AP, and when “ the source device 100 sends a Probe Request via an access point to the second sink device 300 to search for a P2P-connectable device ” – See [¶0255], the “ concurrent information (field [5:2] illustrated in FIG. 26) of the wireless link of the second sink device 300 ” – See [¶0266] indicates the device is capable of supporting signal transmission/reception via two different frequency bands simultaneously, e.g., 5GHz and 6GHz, i.e. , the device “ is compatible with a plurality of operations . . . capable of simultaneously performing different processes on a plurality of other devices ” – See [¶0198], therefore can be a GO, and “ then a GO Negotiation may be performed between the source device 100 and the second sink device 300, so that the second sink device 300 is connected as a P2P GO ” – See [¶0400]). Therefore, Claim 6 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 7 , dependent from Claim 1, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the performance information of the external electronic device is included in an operating channel attribute received during the GO negotiation ( e.g. , the P2P IE exchanged during the GO Negotiation contains the “Operating Channel” and “Channel List” attributes – See Fig. 8, Wi-Fi TS P2P reproduced supra ). Therefore, Claim 7 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 8 , dependent from Claim 1, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the performance information of the external electronic device is included in a vender specific information element VSIE received during the discovery of the external electronic device (“ as part of a Device Discovery Request or Device Discovery Response . . . exchanging at least one of the following items . . . P2P IE (Information Element) . . . WFD IE (Information Element) ” – See [¶¶0278-80] and Fig. 22 showing an example of a WFD IE of variable length “ set to 4 plus the total length of WFD subelements, ” i.e. , including the New Device Information subelement shown in Fig. 25 and expanded in Fig. 26, showing bits 2-5 indicating device capability for simultaneous connections; see also §5, Wi-Fi Alliance “Wi-Fi Display” Technical Specification Version 2.1, 2017 (hereinafter Wi-Fi WFD TS), stating at page 80 that “ The WFD communication protocol is based on the use of the WFD Information Element (WFD IE) and WFD action frame formats. These utilize the Vendor Specific Information Element and Vendor Specific Action frame formats as specified in IEEE Std 802.11-2007 [14] with the Wi-Fi Alliance OUI and OUI Type indicating Wi-Fi Display. A number of WFD subelements are defined; a single WFD IE carries one or more WFD subelements. Byte ordering within the multi-octet fields shall be in network byte order (big-endian) ”, showing WFD subelement ID value 11 as “WFD R2 Device Information,” i.e. , for further implementations). Therefore, Claim 8 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 9 , dependent from Claim 1, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the attribute of the application comprises a first attribute indicating that the application provides a service that requires high quality of service (QoS) (when “[t] he wireless communication unit 120 is thus able to perform media transmission between itself and other devices according to Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast specifications ” – See [¶0102], “ the controller 140 performs a control process for changing the resolution of image data as an object to be sent and the number of channels of sound data ” – See [¶0104] and “ may have a function to measure a radio-wave propagation state (link radiowave propagation state) while data are being sent to and received from a sink device ” – See [¶0105] whereby the “ measurement information represents, for example, information used for determining whether the quality of a link to a sink device is a quality capable of sending and receiving image data and sound data ” – See [¶0106], i.e. , the link quality is a first attribute indicating that the Miracast service requires high QoS from the link, e.g. , for HD/4K transmissions – See [¶0125]) or a second attribute indicating that the application provides a service that requires a high transmission speed or a high reception speed (“ the source device (e.g., a server) performs a service for grasping the reception abilities of the respective sink devices and making settings in a way led by the source device. For example, as typified by MPEG dynamic adaptive streaming over HTTP (DASH), an environment in which the sink devices request qualities (image quality and sound quality) and a transmission rate from the source device and the source device transmits data at the requested qualities (image quality and sound quality) and transmission rate is often established ” – See [¶0471], i.e. , a second application attribute is the “ transmission rate, ” e.g. , when the sink device is “ capable of performing a communication process using a first frequency band and a communication process using a second frequency band with a higher data transmission speed than the first frequency band ” – See [¶0121] and “ the controller 140 grasps system performance information of a sink device . . . through an exchange of information with the sink device ” including “ a resolution ” ( e.g. , high) and “ standard definition/high definition (SD/HD)/4K compatibility ” ( e.g. , 4K) – See [¶0108]; the second attribute indicates that the application provides a service that requires a high transmission speed because “[t] he index of image quality may be represented by the throughput of a stream ” – See [¶0107]. Therefore, Claim 9 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 10 , dependent from Claim 9, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to select the first channel based on channel information of a first access point (AP) connected to the electronic device and channel information of a second (AP) connected to the external electronic device (if all APs use the same frequency band, e.g., 2.4GHz, or because first AP is the second AP, “ the source device 100 sends a Probe Request via an access point to the second sink device 300 to search for a P2P-connectable device ” and “ then the source device 100 can detect a frequency channel to be used in a P2P connection by receiving a Probe Response via an access point ” because the “ WFD IE illustrated in FIGS. 22 through 26 can be exchanged via access points between the devices that make up the communication system 10 ” – See [¶¶0255-6]; then “ the source device 100 can decide an optimum frequency channel in a P2P connection to the second sink device 300 by grasping items of information ” such as “ a simultaneous connection of the same frequency channels, or a simultaneous connection of different frequency channels is possible (field [5:2] illustrated in FIG. 26) ” – See [¶0266] i.e. , the source device receives information about the frequency bands supported by the sink device and any of the source and sink device, or both, select a frequency band for P2P communication different from the AP’s frequency band to avoid interference, an obvious issue known in the art) based on identifying that the attribute of the application is the first attribute (“[i] f the second sink device 300 is also compatible with a wireless link, then it is possible to select one of supported frequency channels and connect to the second sink device 300 through the selected frequency channel ” whereby “ the source device 100 can . . . decide an optimum frequency channel, ” – See [¶0267], i.e. , a first link on the 5GHz frequency band or a second link on the 6GHZ frequency band, e.g. , based on “ whether the quality of a link to a sink device is a quality capable of sending and receiving image data and sound data ” – See [¶0106], i.e., the first application attribute). Therefore, Claim 10 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 11 , dependent from Claim 9, Iwami further teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to select the first channel based on a simultaneous support frequency band of the electronic device and a simultaneous support frequency band of the external electronic device based on identifying that the attribute of the application corresponds to the second attribute (e.g., (“[i] f the second sink device 300 is also compatible with a wireless link, then it is possible to select one of supported frequency channels and connect to the second sink device 300 through the selected frequency channel ” whereby “ the source device 100 can . . . decide an optimum frequency channel, ” – See [¶0267], i.e. , a first link on the 5GHz frequency band or a second link on the 6GHz frequency band based on the sink device being “ capable of performing a communication process using a first frequency band and a communication process using a second frequency band with a higher data transmission speed than the first frequency band ” – See [¶0121], i.e., a second application attribute), Therefore, Claim 11 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 12 , Iwami also teaches an operation method of an electronic device (“ The processing sequences described in the above embodiments may be understood as a method including those sequences ” – See [¶0503]), the method comprising: the steps executed by the electronic device of Claim 1. Because Claim 1 is anticipated by Iwami, Claim 11 is also anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claims 13-19 , dependent from Claim 12, each claim requires the same limitations as required by Claims 2-6, and 8-9, respectively, recited with the same language, only applied to the method of Claim 12. Because each of the Claims 2-6, 8-9, and 12 are anticipated by Iwami, each of the Claims 13-19 is anticipated by Iwami. Regarding Claim 20 , dependent from Claim 12, the claim requires only one of the limitations recited in Claims 10 and 11, each recited with the same language, only applied to the method of Claim 12. Because each of the Claims 10-12 is anticipated by Iwami, Claim 20 is anticipated by Iwami. In sum, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as anticipated by Iwami . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Iwami et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0332210 discloses P2P group formation; Iwami et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0004383 discloses source device checks whether each sink device is in accessibility mode at the time of connection, and determines whether or not metadata for supporting disability (for example, audios, videos, texts, vibration information, or the like) is added to the sink device; Iwami et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0053149 discloses P2P communication between device according to a Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Miracast specification; Gupta et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0127950 discloses managed P2P operations in enterprise wireless networks; Yu, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0145372 discloses bridging traffic between a legacy network and a P2P group; Park et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0141786 discloses WFD P2P link establishment/communication and neighbor discovery; Oh, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0249946 discloses NFC communication; Yin et al., China Patent Application Publication No. CN 202010108863 discloses Wi-Fi point-to-point connection and devices; Wi-Fi Alliance, “Wi-Fi Peer-to-Peer (P2P)” Technical Specification Version 1.5, 2014, available for download at https://www.wi-fi.org/specifications; Wi-Fi Alliance “Wi-Fi Display” Technical Specification Version 2.1, 2017, available for download at https://www.wi-fi.org/specifications; Wi-Fi Alliance, “Wi-Fi Peer-to-Peer Services (P2Ps)” Technical Specification (for Wi-Fi Direct® services certification) Version 1.2, 2014, available for download at https://www.wi-fi.org/specifications; Casetti et al., “Data Connectivity and Smart Group Formation in Wi-Fi Direct Multi-Group Networks,” IEEE Transactions On Network And Service Management, Vol. 15, No. 1, March 2018; F. Li et al ., "A Local Communication System Over Wi-Fi Direct: Implementation and Performance Evaluation," in IEEE Internet of Things Journal , vol. 7, no. 6, pp. 5140-5158, June 2020, doi: 10.1109/JIOT.2020.2976114. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUCIA GHEORGHE GRADINARIU whose telephone number is (571)272-1377. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph AVELLINO can be reached at (571)272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /L.G.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JOSEPH E AVELLINO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 10 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 11 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 12 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 13 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 14 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 15 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 16 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 17 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 18 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 19 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 20 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 21 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 22 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 23 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/626,622 Page 24 Art Unit: 2478 1 The Specification simply discloses “ the same manner ” to be used for “ a GO intent value included in a GO negotiation response message may also differ based on the performance information of the external electronic device 320 and/or the frequency band of the channel between the second AP 333 and the external electronic device 320 ” – See [¶0141] (emphasis added). 2 The reason for this ambiguity is mathematical: considering that one device connects to at most one AP and can communicate in at most 3 frequency bands, there are the following possibilities: the first indication is about the device not being connected to an AP, or the device being connected to an AP on one of each of the three frequencies (total = 4 possibilities) and the second indication is about the device being capable of simultaneously transmitting on those frequencies (sum of combination of 3 taken by 1, 2, and 3 = 7 possibilities). Because “GO intent” is used for the first and the second indication – See, e.g., [¶0269], one needs 28 values rather than the 16 values disclosed in the Specification. In addition, the “GO intent” value of a device is immutable – See, e.g. , Casetti et al., “Data Connectivity and Smart Group Formation in Wi-Fi Direct Multi-Group Networks,” IEEE Transactions On Network And Service Management, Vol. 15, No. 1, March 2018, (hereinafter Casetti), §V (A), ¶1, at page 252 (stating “ without rooting the device, it is not possible to modify the GO Intent ”), therefore the “GO Intent” value disclosed in the present Specification may not be used in some cases as provided by the standard and in some other cases as provided by the special definitions. 3 See also, Wi-Fi Alliance, “Wi-Fi Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Technical Specification” available for download at https://www.wi-fi.org/specifications, (hereinafter Wi-Fi P2P TS), describing, in § 3.1 the details of a P2P Discovery procedure, comprising Device Discovery, Service Discovery, Group Formation and Group Owner Negotiation. 4 Although the WFD IE is described here, the standard P2P IE exchanged during the GO Negotiation (as shown in Fig. 8 of Wi-Fi P2P TS) contains similar albeit simpler fields – See, e.g. [¶0108] (“ the controller 140 grasps system performance information of a sink device . . . through an exchange of information with the sink device ” that “ includes a frequency channel that can be used, a resolution, . . . compatibility with an encryption method, standard definition/high definition (SD/HD)/4K compatibility, and compatibility with a low power consumption mode ”).