Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano (US. Pat. 5,977,494) in view of Funahashi (US20180201296).
Regarding claim 1, Sano teaches a switch device, comprising: a support 33 adapted to be coupled to a steering shaft configured to change a traveling direction of a vehicle; a switch 35 coupled to the support and configured to output a signal in accordance with an operation of a driver of the vehicle (col. 4, lines 10-20); a processing unit 39 including a connector 67 configured to accept connection 93 of a cable 91 for transmitting the signal (Fig. 5 and col. 6, lines 15-20), and a processor 39 configured to process the signal (col. 6, lines 15-20); and at least one snap-fit structure 123 configured to allow attachment and detachment of the processing unit from below the support (the latching element 123 allow attachment and detachment of the processing unit, Fig. 7 and col. 6, lines 50-67), wherein the connector faces downward (the connector 67 faces downward with respect the support 33, see Fig. 1). Sano does not teach the snap fit structure attaching the process below the support under a condition that the support is coupled to the steering shaft, and the connector facing downward under a condition that the support is coupled to the steering shaft. However, Funahashi teaches a similar switch device that comprises a support (3, 33), a processing unit (20, 31), a connector 53 and snap-fit structure (78-81, 83, 85), wherein when the support is already coupled to the steering shaft (Figs. 1, 2, 9-13 and paragraphs 34, 35, 49), the processing unit is attached to it by the snap-fit structure (Figs. 14-25 and paragraphs 56-64), and because the snap-fits fix the orientation of the accommodation case “the support” relative to the column of the connector (paragraphs 58, 71-78) that belongs to the processing unit is necessarily oriented downward ,allowing a cable to be connected from below (paragraphs 44, 78). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the connector of the processing unit downward so that the cable can be easily plugged in from below the steering column.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano and Funahashi as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lee (US20210284085).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Sano teaches the switch device wherein a center position of the processing unit 39 including snap-fit structure 123 in a width direction that corresponds to a left-right direction of the vehicle, is located closer to a door adjacent to a driver's seat or passenger’s seat (depending on whether the processing unit is located on left or right of the steering wheel) of the vehicle than a rotation axis of the steering shaft, under the condition that the support is coupled to the steering shaft (the processing unit 39 positioned to one lateral side of the steering wheel, and offset relative to the rotation axis of the steering shaft, and this make the center of the processing unit 39 and the snap-fit structure 123 inherently closer to the lateral side of the vehicle body than the rotation axis of the steering shaft, see annotated figure below). Sano does not expressly teach that lateral side on which the processing unit is arranged corresponds to the door adjacent to driver’s seat. However, Lee teaches a similar switch device with a controlling unit 114 that is positioned on the lateral side of the steering wheel that is corresponds to the door adjacent to driver’s seat (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the laterally offset processing unit of Sano on the driver side of the steering wheel as taught by Lee to improve driver reach and accessibility, and to conform to standard driver-oriented steering column control layouts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 1, YAMAZAKI teaches a switch device, comprising:a support 1 adapted to be coupled to a steering shaft 1 configured to change a traveling direction of a vehicle; a switch (2, 3) coupled to the support and configured to output a signal in accordance with an operation of a driver of the vehicle; a processing unit 4 including a connector (18, 24) configured to accept connection of a cable for transmitting the signal, and a processor configured to process the signal; and at least one snap-fit structure (17, 22) configured to allow attachment and detachment of the processing unit from below the support under a condition that the switch is still coupled to the support is coupled to the steering shaft, wherein the connector faces downward under a condition that the processing unit is attached to the support is coupled to the steering shaft (Figs. 1-4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833