DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…to retransmit the one or more RLC communications…” should be changed to “…to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 12-14, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al. US 20040013114.
Regarding claim 1, An apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless communication device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (radio network controller, Figure 4), configured to cause the wireless communication device to: transmit one or more radio link control (RLC) communications (RLC, Figure 4, element 401, RLC layer, Figure 2, element 200, comprises a transmission unit, element 202 and reception unit, element 210, the path of a packet can be traced through the RLC layer, upper layer(s) send upper layer frames to the transmission unit which is adapted to process such frames, segmenting unit segments and/or concatenates them into packets, an RLC header unit adds an RLC header to each packet which are then placed in the memory unit to wait for transmission, para. 0010-0011); and retransmit one or more unacknowledged RLC communications, of the one or more RLC communications, based at least in part on a first priority of the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications that is lower than a second priority of one or more untransmitted communications (if outstanding, unacknowledged packets are a part of the same upper layer frame as negatively acknowledged packets, the status of each unacknowledged packet is updated to a negatively acknowledged status and previously transmitted packets are placed at the top of a priority stack so they can be transmitted during the next TTI prior to the initial transmission of additional packets, such that additional packets are delayed until all the negatively acknowledged previously transmitted packets are retransmitted and there are no additional status reports, para. 0038).
Regarding claim 4, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications, are configured to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications in accordance with an RLC communication retransmission configuration (if outstanding, unacknowledged packets are a part of the same upper layer frame as negatively acknowledged packets, the status of each unacknowledged packet is updated to a negatively acknowledged status and previously transmitted packets are placed at the top of a priority stack so they can be transmitted during the next TTI prior to the initial transmission of additional packets, such that additional packets are delayed until all the negatively acknowledged previously transmitted packets are retransmitted and there are no additional status reports, para. 0038).
Regarding claim 13, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications, are configured to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications based at least in part on the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications being one or more unacknowledged RLC control communications associated with one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmissions, one or more prohibit timer statuses, one or more configured values associated with the one or more prohibit timer statuses, a downlink latency, or one or more traffic characterizations (if outstanding, unacknowledged packets are a part of the same upper layer frame as negatively acknowledged packets, the status of each unacknowledged packet is updated to a negatively acknowledged status and previously transmitted packets are placed at the top of a priority stack so they can be transmitted during the next TTI prior to the initial transmission of additional packets, such that additional packets are delayed until all the negatively acknowledged previously transmitted packets are retransmitted and there are no additional status reports, para. 0038).
Claims 10, 12, 14, 17 and 19 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 15, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Jiang et al. US 20070071008.
Regarding claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, Su discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications. Su does not disclose responsive to expiration of a configured time window. Jiang discloses initializing a storage window of a receiver in a wireless communications system operating in Unacknowledged Mode and periodically retransmitting previously transmitted packets comprises after a receiving entity of the receiver has been established, re-established, or a timer of the receiver has expired, para. 0017, after a receiving entity of a receiver has been established, re-established, or a timer of the receiver has expired, and the receiver receives a first PDU, the receiver initializes the variable according to the sequence number of the first PDU, para. 0041. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include Jiang’s receiver window and receiver timer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to avoid unnecessary deletion of PDUs and increase efficiency when reassembling SDUs, para. 0041.
Regarding claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, Su discloses wherein the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications but does not explicitly disclose one or more unacknowledged RLC protocol data units (PDUs). Jiang discloses initializing a storage window of a receiver in a wireless communications system operating in Unacknowledged Mode and periodically retransmitting previously transmitted packets comprises after a receiving entity of the receiver has been established, re-established, or a timer of the receiver has expired, para. 0017, after a receiving entity of a receiver has been established, re-established, or a timer of the receiver has expired, and the receiver receives a first PDU, the receiver initializes the variable according to the sequence number of the first PDU, para. 0041. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include Jiang’s receiver window and receiver timer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to avoid unnecessary deletion of PDUs and increase efficiency when reassembling SDUs, para. 0041.
Claims 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Dev et al. US 20190334663.
Regarding claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, Su discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more RLC communications, but does not disclose configured to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more RLC communications in accordance with a configured maximum RLC communication quantity threshold. Dev discloses a mobile device has attempted four transmissions to the base station during a HARQ procedure and since the maximum HARQ retransmission threshold has been reached, the HARQ procedure will not perform another retransmission of the uplink transmission and where the mobile device is configured to operate in a Radio Link Control (RLC) Unacknowledged Mode (UM), the mobile device can be configured to store data to be retransmitted using the same RLC sequence number and a new uplink grant, para. 0042. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include Dev’s HARQ procedure and maximum threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to prioritize lost data over other data and retransmit the lost data with the same RLC sequence number (SN) using a new uplink grant, Abstract.
Regarding claim 6, The apparatus of claim 1, Su discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications, but does not disclose configured to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications using one or more uplink resources associated with a grant. Dev discloses a mobile device has attempted four transmissions to the base station during a HARQ procedure and since the maximum HARQ retransmission threshold has been reached, the HARQ procedure will not perform another retransmission of the uplink transmission and where the mobile device is configured to operate in a Radio Link Control (RLC) Unacknowledged Mode (UM), the mobile device can be configured to store data to be retransmitted using the same RLC sequence number and a new uplink grant, para. 0042. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include Dev’s HARQ procedure and maximum threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to prioritize lost data over other data and retransmit the lost data with the same RLC sequence number (SN) using a new uplink grant, Abstract.
Regarding claim 9, The apparatus of claim 8, Su discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications, but does not disclose configured to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications based at least in part on a configured HARQ retransmission quantity threshold. Dev discloses a mobile device has attempted four transmissions to the base station during a HARQ procedure and since the maximum HARQ retransmission threshold has been reached, the HARQ procedure will not perform another retransmission of the uplink transmission and where the mobile device is configured to operate in a Radio Link Control (RLC) Unacknowledged Mode (UM), the mobile device can be configured to store data to be retransmitted using the same RLC sequence number and a new uplink grant, para. 0042. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include Dev’s HARQ procedure and maximum threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to prioritize lost data over other data and retransmit the lost data with the same RLC sequence number (SN) using a new uplink grant, Abstract.
Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Liu US 20220191951,
Regarding claim 7, The apparatus of claim 1, Su does not disclose wherein the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications are not reported in a buffer status report (BSR). Liu discloses the RLC layer performs data transmission in an unacknowledged mode (UM), a sender sends the data packet to the receiver through the radio bearer established with the receiver, and the receiver does not need to feed back the information to the sender whereas in the acknowledged mode, the sender sends the data packet to the receiver through the radio bearer established with the receiver, and the receiver needs to return to the sender an RLC status report on whether the data packet is received successfully, para. 0035. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include Liu’s unacknowledged mode where the receiver does not return an RLC status report. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so so confusion and errors in the data receiving can be avoided, the accuracy of the data transmission between the user equipment through the radio bearer can be ensured, para. 0051.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Kim et al. US 20200322843.
Regarding claim 8, The apparatus of claim 1, Su discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications, but does not disclose configured to cause the wireless communication device to retransmit the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications based at least in part on the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications being in an RLC transmit window and associated with one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmission requests.
Dev discloses a mobile device has attempted four transmissions to the base station during a HARQ procedure and since the maximum HARQ retransmission threshold has been reached, the HARQ procedure will not perform another retransmission of the uplink transmission and where the mobile device is configured to operate in a Radio Link Control (RLC) Unacknowledged Mode (UM), the mobile device can be configured to store data to be retransmitted using the same RLC sequence number and a new uplink grant, para. 0042. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include Dev’s HARQ procedure and maximum threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to prioritize lost data over other data and retransmit the lost data with the same RLC sequence number (SN) using a new uplink grant, Abstract.
Su and Dev do not disclose an RLC transmit window. Kim discloses an RLC unacknowledged mode transmitting and receiving window operation method, para. 0007. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su and Dev to include Kim’s transmitting window operation for RLC unacknowledged mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for reducing overhead and unnecessary processing of a UE, para. 0007.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Binzel et al. US 20080056218.
Regarding claim 11, The apparatus of claim 1, Su does not disclose wherein the one or more unacknowledged RLC communications are associated with incrementation of a retransmission counter. Binzel discloses if the retransmission counter has not elapsed, the base station resends unacknowledged frames, if the counter has elapsed, the process ends without the base station receiving any feedback that the mobile station has successfully received the frame. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Su to include a retransmission a counter for unacknowledged frames as in Binzel. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to improve signaling conditions, para. 0004.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELANIE JAGANNATHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468