DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-12 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0044639, filed on April 5th, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 22nd, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e. PERFORMING ENERGY MEASUREMENTS USING CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION (CSI) IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 4, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the capability …” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8 and 12 recite a similar limitation.
For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al. (US 2025/0379625 A1) hereinafter “Zhu” in view of KIM et al. (US 20240340051 A1) hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9,
Zhu discloses a communication device in a wireless communication system [see fig(s). 8 & 12, pg. 15, ¶255 lines 1-9, a CSI report configuration apparatus or terminal equipment “1200”], comprising:
at least one processor [see fig(s). 8 & 12, pg. 15, ¶255 lines 1-9, a processing unit “1210”]; and
at least one memory configured to store instructions [see fig(s). 8 & 12, pg. 15, ¶255 lines 1-9, a memory “1220” storing data and programs], and operably electrically connected to the at least one processor [see fig(s). 8 & 12, pg. 15, ¶255 lines 1-9, and is coupled to the processor “1210”], wherein operations performed based on the instructions being executed by the at least one processor [see fig(s). 8 & 12, pg. 15, ¶255 lines 1-9, steps implemented by the processing unit “1210” with the stored data and programs] comprise:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration information [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pgs. 10-11, ¶162 lines 1-11, a network device transmits a first resource configuration to a terminal equipment]; and
transmitting a CSI report based on the received CSI report configuration information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 11, ¶172 lines 1-4, the network device receives CSI report from the terminal equipment, the CSI report including the first channel state information and/or the second channel state information], wherein the received CSI report configuration information comprises at least one sub configuration information [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pgs. 10-11, ¶162 lines 1-11, wherein the channel state information (CSI) report configuration is used to configure report of first channel state information (CSI) and/or second channel state information (CSI) …].
Although Zhu discloses transmitting a CSI report, Zhu does not explicitly teach “the transmitted CSI report comprises at least one CSI obtained in units of sub configuration based on the at least one sub configuration information”.
However Kim discloses receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “910”, pg. 15, ¶276 lines 1-4, the UE receives CSI-related configuration information from the network]; and
transmitting a CSI report based on the received CSI report configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “930”, pg. 15, ¶287 lines 1-6, the UE transmits CSI to the network based on the CSI-RS and CSI-related configuration information (e.g., first configuration information and/or second configuration information)], wherein the received CSI report configuration information comprises at least one sub configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “910”, pg. 15, ¶278 lines 1-7, the CSI-related configuration information includes at least one of CSI-interference management (IM) resource-related information, CSI measurement configuration-related information, CSI resource configuration-related information, or CSI report configuration-related information], and the transmitted CSI report comprises at least one CSI obtained in units of sub configuration based on the at least one sub configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “930”, pg. 15, ¶288 lines 1-3; ¶290 lines 1-12, the corresponding CSI includes layer indication information based on the corresponding composed channel and layer indication information based on the channel for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the corresponding resource pair].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the transmitted CSI report comprises at least one CSI obtained in units of sub configuration based on the at least one sub configuration information” as taught by Kim in the system of Zhu for providing an advanced mobile communication system with ability of accommodating an increase in traffic, avoid resource shortage, and provide users with faster service [see Kim, pg. 1, ¶2 lines 1-8].
Regarding Claims 2 and 10,
The combined system of Zhu and Kim discloses the communication device of claim 9.
Zhu further discloses wherein the at least one CSI is measured and obtained in units of sub configuration [see pg. 9, ¶137 lines 1-12, the terminal equipment measures two resources simultaneously, which means that the terminal equipment configures corresponding resources for different ports of the same resource to perform measurement].
Regarding Claims 3 and 11,
The combined system of Zhu and Kim discloses the communication device of claim 9.
Zhu further discloses wherein a downlink channel measurement process for obtaining the at least one CSI is allocated in units of sub configuration [see pg. 7, ¶114 lines 1-5, a CSI report setting (CSI-ReportConfig) includes configurations of multiple pieces of CSI, each configuration corresponds to a downlink transmission power configuration, or each configuration corresponds to an energy-domain element configuration].
Regarding Claims 4 and 12,
The combined system of Zhu and Kim discloses the communication device of claim 9.
Zhu further discloses wherein a maximum number of sub configuration information is included in the CSI report configuration information [see pg. 7, ¶116 lines 1-10, when the number of CSI measurement resources included in the CSI report configuration is 1, the second information is default to indicate that the number of pieces of CSI is 1], and the maximum number of sub configuration information depends on the capability of the communication device [see pg. 7, ¶116 lines 1-10, when the number of CSI measurement resources included in the CSI report configuration is greater than 1, based on a pre-defined rule or pre-configuration information, the second information is default, which indicates that the number of CSI results is the same as the number of CSI measurement resources, or the number of pieces of CSI is 1].
Regarding Claim 5,
Zhu discloses a method of operating a base station in a wireless communication system [see fig(s). 8 & 11, pgs. 10-11, ¶160 lines 1-3; pg. 15, ¶253 lines 1-9, an apparatus or network device “1100” performing a CSI report configuration method], the method [see fig(s). 8 & 11, pgs. 10-11, ¶160 lines 1-3; pg. 15, ¶253 lines 1-9, the CSI report configuration method] comprising:
transmitting channel state information (CSI) report configuration information [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pgs. 10-11, ¶162 lines 1-11, the network device transmits a first resource configuration to a terminal equipment]; and
receiving a CSI report based on the transmitted CSI report configuration information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 11, ¶172 lines 1-4, the network device receives CSI report from the terminal equipment, the CSI report including the first channel state information and/or the second channel state information], wherein the transmitted CSI report configuration information comprises at least one sub configuration information [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pgs. 10-11, ¶162 lines 1-11, wherein the channel state information (CSI) report configuration is used to configure report of first channel state information (CSI) and/or second channel state information (CSI) …].
Although Zhu discloses receiving a CSI report, Zhu does not explicitly teach “the received CSI report comprises at least one CSI obtained in units of sub configuration based on the at least one sub configuration information”.
However Kim discloses transmitting channel state information (CSI) report configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “910”, pg. 15, ¶276 lines 1-4, the UE receives CSI-related configuration information from the network]; and
receiving a CSI report based on the transmitted CSI report configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “930”, pg. 15, ¶287 lines 1-6, the UE transmits CSI to the network based on the CSI-RS and CSI-related configuration information (e.g., first configuration information and/or second configuration information)], wherein the transmitted CSI report configuration information comprises at least one sub configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “910”, pg. 15, ¶278 lines 1-7, the CSI-related configuration information includes at least one of CSI-interference management (IM) resource-related information, CSI measurement configuration-related information, CSI resource configuration-related information, or CSI report configuration-related information], and the received CSI report comprises at least one CSI obtained in units of sub configuration based on the at least one sub configuration information [see fig. 9: Step “930”, pg. 15, ¶288 lines 1-3; ¶290 lines 1-12, the corresponding CSI includes layer indication information based on the corresponding composed channel and layer indication information based on the channel for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the corresponding resource pair].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the transmitted CSI report comprises at least one CSI obtained in units of sub configuration based on the at least one sub configuration information” as taught by Kim in the system of Zhu for providing an advanced mobile communication system with ability of accommodating an increase in traffic, avoid resource shortage, and provide users with faster service [see Kim, pg. 1, ¶2 lines 1-8].
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of Zhu and Kim discloses the method of claim 5.
Zhu further discloses wherein the at least one CSI is measured and obtained in units of sub configuration [see pg. 9, ¶137 lines 1-12, the terminal equipment measures two resources simultaneously, which means that the terminal equipment configures corresponding resources for different ports of the same resource to perform measurement].
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of Zhu and Kim discloses the method of claim 5.
Zhu further discloses wherein a downlink channel measurement process for obtaining the at least one CSI is allocated in units of sub configuration [see pg. 7, ¶114 lines 1-5, a CSI report setting (CSI-ReportConfig) includes configurations of multiple pieces of CSI, each configuration corresponds to a downlink transmission power configuration, or each configuration corresponds to an energy-domain element configuration].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of Zhu and Kim discloses the method of claim 5.
Zhu further discloses wherein a maximum number of sub configuration information is included in the CSI report configuration information [see pg. 7, ¶116 lines 1-10, when the number of CSI measurement resources included in the CSI report configuration is 1, the second information is default to indicate that the number of pieces of CSI is 1], and the maximum number of sub configuration information depends on the capability of a terminal [see pg. 7, ¶116 lines 1-10, when the number of CSI measurement resources included in the CSI report configuration is greater than 1, based on a pre-defined rule or pre-configuration information, the second information is default, which indicates that the number of CSI results is the same as the number of CSI measurement resources, or the number of pieces of CSI is 1].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Li et al. (US 2024/0313920 A1); see fig(s). 1 & 2, pgs. 2-10, ¶30-¶150.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469