Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Here, where the applicant asserts that the combination of Yun and Knappenberger is unclear in regards to reading upon the limitations of claim 1, additional explanation is provided here. Specifically, the applicant requests clarification in regards to what forms the chamber through which the injection port extends. Here, the chamber through which the injection port extends is the internal cavity. Claim 1, as written requires a housing having a plurality of sides and defining an internal cavity, and a guide member positioned within the housing and defining a chamber positioned in the internal cavity. Accordingly, all that is required by claim 1 is that the bounds of the chamber are at least partially defined by the guide member, and that the chamber is positioned within the internal cavity. As the guide member made obvious by Knappenberger extends into the internal cavity, if the volume of the internal cavity is considered to also be the chamber, then as the guide member defines part of its bounds, the guide member can be considered to define the chamber positioned in the internal cavity, as is required by the claim.
Additionally, where the applicant asserts that the scope of the amended claim 20-26 is not read upon by the prior art, this argument is not found to be persuasive, with a rejection of the amended claims in view of the prior art presented in below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/01/2026, 03/17/2026, 10/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 comprises the limitation “a hardened adhesive material occupying 15% or less of a volume of the internal cavity”. The specification provides support for the fluid occupying fifteen percent or less of the volume (Paragraph 0057).
However, the volume occupied by the adhesive prior to hardening is not necessarily the same volume occupied by the hardened adhesive, particularly in view of figure 9G which depicts the adhesive fluid on the battery cells and electrical components, and figure 9H which depicts the hardened adhesive fluid, with figures showing the fluid and hardened fluid occupying different volumes (See specification paragraph 0059 for detail regarding figures 9G and 9H). Accordingly, it is not clear that at the time the application was filed that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention wherein the hardened adhesive occupies 15% or less of a volume of the internal cavity.
The same rationale applies to claims 21, 22, and 23, which require that the hardened adhesive material occupies 10% or less of the volume of the internal cavity, 5-15% of the volume of the internal cavity, and 2-5% of the volume of the internal cavity. The specification provides basis for the fluid occupying five to fifteen percent of the volume (Paragraph 0058), ten percent or less of the volume (Paragraph 0058) and 2-5 percent of the volume (Paragraph 0058), but is silent in regards to the volume occupied by the adhesive once it is in a hardened state. Accordingly, it is not clear that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention wherein the hardened adhesive occupies 10% or less of the volume of the internal cavity, 5-15% of the volume of the internal cavity, and 2-5% of the volume of the internal cavity.
Additionally, Claims 21-26 are rejected as a result of their dependence on claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (KR2019107900 A, with English equivalent US PGPUB 20200411924 A1 used for citation reference purposes).
Regarding Claims 20-23, Yun is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a battery pack assembly (Abstract, “a battery cell assembly having a plurality of battery cells…”) comprising a housing having a plurality of sides and defining an internal cavity (Paragraph 0044, “A module case 300”; Figure 1, module case 300), a plurality of battery cells received in the internal cavity (Abstract, “Having a plurality of battery cells…, “a module case which receives the battery cell assembly…”), and battery electronics received in the internal cavity (Abstract, “A module case which receives the battery cell assembly and the mounted sensing assembly; Figure 1, sensing assembly 200).
Yun further discloses a battery pack interface is supported by the housing and is connectable to a device (Paragraph 0068, “And includes an external connector or input/output terminal”). This interface is depicted in Yun’s figure 1, where it is supported by the structure of the housing.
Additionally, Yun discloses structure which comprises an injection port supported by the housing (Paragraph 0085, “The battery module 20 has injection holes 312 on the module case 300, i.e., in the top plate 310”) where the injection port comprises the injection holes 312 on the module case 300 as well as the surrounding faces of the module case which surround and define the injection port. Additionally, the injection port includes one or more channels positioned on one or more sides of the housing, here the holes 312 located on a top side of the housing. The channels are a subcomponent of the injection port, thereby resulting in structure where the holes 312 which pass through the module case 300 are the channels, the channels being portions of the injection port, each channel connecting the internal cavity to an exterior of the battery pack (Paragraph 0085, “to inject the thermally conductive adhesive into the module case 300.”).
Here, Yun discloses structure where the injection point is configured to direct a fluid comprising adhesive material from the exterior of the battery pack into the internal cavity (Paragraph 0085, “to inject the thermally conductive adhesive into the module case 300.”).
However, Yun fails to disclose a specific embodiment wherein the fluid is present and is configured to occupy 15% or less of a volume of the internal cavity. However, the injected fluid occupying a specific portion of the internal cavity is not positively recited as a part of the claimed battery pack. Here Claims 20-23 require a port configured to direct a fluid comprising adhesive material from the exterior of the battery pack into the internal cavity, wherein the fluid is configured to occupy 15% or less of a volume of the internal cavity. Accordingly, this language requires an injection port which is configured to direct a fluid, where the fluid is configured to occupy a specific volume. As such, the language of the claim does not require the battery pack to further comprise the fluid, or require structure wherein the fluid is injected into the battery pack to occupy a specific percentage of the volume.
Accordingly, where the fluid is not positively recited, and the injection port of Yun is capable of injecting any amount of fluid, it is capable of injecting a fluid that reads upon the limitations of 20-23, where it is capable of injecting a fluid which is configured to occupy 15% or less of the volume of the internal cavity as is required by Claim 20, 10% or less as required by claim 21, 5-15% as is required by claim 22, and 2-5% as is required by claim 23.
Regarding Claims 24 and 26, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 24. Additionally, Yun depicts structure where a portion of the volume of the internal cavity is unoccupied space proximate to the battery contacts 220 and 210, shown in Yun’s figure 8.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 24. Additionally, though Yun is silent in regards to the specific value of the volume of the unoccupied space of their battery, they do disclose that energy density is a primary desirable parameter for secondary batteries (Paragraph 0003, “Due to their frequent applicability to various products and their electrical properties such as a high energy density, secondary batteries are not only commonly applied to portable devices, but universally applied to Electric Vehicles (EVs) or Hybrid Electric Vehicles (HEVs) that are driven by an electric driving source.”). Accordingly, where unoccupied space reduces the energy density of a battery, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make the unoccupied volume of the battery as close to 0% as possible, while still satisfying its presence as is it is depicted as being present in figure 8 of Yun. Therefore, Yun’s disclosure makes obvious an unoccupied space above, but approximately 0%, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR2019107900 A, with English equivalent US PGPUB 20200411924 A1 used for citation reference purposes), in view of Knappenberger (US 20180131053 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yun is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a battery pack assembly (Abstract, “a battery cell assembly having a plurality of battery cells…”) comprising a housing having a plurality of sides and defining an internal cavity (Paragraph 0044, “A module case 300”; Figure 1, module case 300), a plurality of battery cells received in the internal cavity (Abstract, “Having a plurality of battery cells…, “a module case which receives the battery cell assembly…”), and battery electronics received in the internal cavity (Abstract, “A module case which receives the battery cell assembly and the mounted sensing assembly; Figure 1, sensing assembly 200).
Yun further discloses a battery pack interface is supported by the housing and is connectable to a device (Paragraph 0068, “And includes an external connector or input/output terminal”). This interface is depicted in Yun’s figure 1, where it is supported by the structure of the housing.
Additionally, Yun discloses structure which comprises an injection port supported by the housing (Paragraph 0085, “The battery module 20 has injection holes 312 on the module case 300 , i.e., in the top plate 310”), the injection port including one or more channels positioned on one or more sides of the housing, here located on a top side of the housing (Paragraph 0085, “The battery module 20 has injection holes 312 on the module case 300 , i.e., in the top plate 310”), each channel connecting the internal cavity to an exterior of the battery pack (Paragraph 0085, “to inject the thermally conductive adhesive into the module case 300 .”).
Here, Yun discloses structure where the injection point is configured to direct a fluid comprising adhesive material from the exterior of the battery pack into the internal cavity (Paragraph 0085, “to inject the thermally conductive adhesive into the module case 300 .”), where the fluid is configured to cover a portion of the battery cells and or a portion of the battery electronics (Paragraph 0096, “the thermally conductive adhesive 400 having a thermal conductivity of 3 W/mK is also uniformly included on the upper side of the battery cell assembly 100”).
However, Yun fails to disclose structure which comprises both a guide member positioned within a housing and defining a chamber positioned in the internal cavity, as well as structure wherein the injection port extends through said chamber. Therefore, we look to Knappenberger, which is an analogous art to the instant application disclosing a method of temperature regulation for a battery cell (Abstract, “The invention relates to a method for the temperature regulation of battery cells”) comprising the injection of a liquid into a space surrounding the battery cell (Abstract, “thereof, characterised in that a temperature control medium flows around the electrodes”). Here, Knappenberger discloses structure which comprises injection portions that impart a fluid by means of extended outlet openings which act to guide the fluid to its destination (Paragraph 0040, “As illustrated in FIG. 4 by means of arrows, the temperature regulation devices 4001, . . . 4003 respectively distribute the temperature regulation medium supplied through the inlet openings 4101, . . . 4103 to the outlet openings 42011, 42012; 42021, 42022 or 42031, 42032 and guide the distributed temperature regulation medium from the outlet openings”). Here, based on this disclosure of direct delivery of the fluid, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply said structure of extended ports which extend into the internal cavity, which is the chamber to the invention of Yun, thereby resulting in structure wherein the injection ports extend through the chamber, rather than terminating at the bottom face of the top face of the housing, where the injection ports are surrounded by the extending walls of the invention of Knappenberger, which are therefore guide members positioned within the housing, in that they are attached to a bottom face of the top face of the housing. Accordingly, where they then act to define a segment of the bounds of the region in which the fluid is injected into, they therefore act to define a chamber positioned in the internal cavity.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses structure where the housing includes a top housing portion (Paragraph 0055, “The module case 300 includes the top plate 310 ,”), and a bottom housing portion (Paragraph 0055, “the bottom plate 320 and the side plates 330”), and wherein the top housing portion includes the injection port (Paragraph 0085, “The battery module 20 has injection holes 312 on the module case 300 , i.e., in the top plate 310”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 2. Additionally, Yun discloses structure where the bottom housing portion includes a battery cell holder configured to retain the plurality of battery cells within the internal cavity, here the bottom plate 320 (Paragraph 0094, “the bottom plate 320”). Here, the bottom plate 320 has a surface in a facing relationship with the top housing portion, where Yun’s figure 1 depicts the bottom plate 320 facing the top plate 320 via the bottom plate’s top surface, where the top surface is the surface which supports the battery electronics. Additionally, Yun discloses structure where an instance of the fluid is configured to cover a portion of the surface (Paragraph 0094, “A thermally conductive adhesive 500 having a thermal conductivity of 3 W/mK is applied to the lower side of the battery cell assembly 100 , the module case 300 is made of Al, and a heat transfer path from the battery cell assembly— 100 to the thermally conductive adhesive— 500 to the bottom plate 320 is formed.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses structure wherein the battery electronics includes a printed circuit board (Paragraph 0067, “The sensing wire 230 connects the first busbar frame assembly 210 and the second busbar frame assembly 220 . The sensing wire 230 may be provided as a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB).”), and battery contacts extending therefrom, where the battery contacts are a first and second busbar frame assembly (Paragraph 0067, “The sensing wire 230 connects the first busbar frame assembly 210 and the second busbar frame assembly 220”). Additionally, Yun discloses structure wherein the battery pack interface includes a terminal block enclosing the battery contacts, the first busbar being enclosed by the front cover 340 (Paragraph 0068, “The first busbar frame assembly 210 may be positioned in front of the battery cell assembly 100 , and may be coupled with the front cover 340”), and the second busbar being enclosed by the rear cover 350 (Paragraph 0069, “The second busbar frame assembly 220 and the first busbar frame assembly 210 may be positioned facing each other with the battery cell assembly 100 interposed between, and the second busbar frame assembly 220 may be coupled with the rear cover 350 at the rear of the battery cell assembly 100 .”). Additionally, Yun discloses structure where the fluid is configured to cover a surface of the printed circuit board, as depicted in Yun’s figure 8, where the fluid 400 covers a side surface of the printed circuit board 230.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation that requires that the covered surface of the printed circuit board is on an opposite side of the printed circuit board from the battery cells, with the printed circuit board being positioned above a middle of the battery cells, as shown in figure 6, with the fluid covering sides of the printed circuit board, as shown in figure 8. Accordingly, the fluid covering a side of the printed circuit board is covering an opposite side of the printed circuit board from a subsection of the plurality of the battery cells which can be considered as the plurality of battery cells.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses structure wherein the housing includes a longitudinal axis extending therethrough, depicted in their figure 9 as being the longest axis of the battery housing. Additionally, Yun’s figure 9 depicts structure where each of the one or more channels extends along an injection axis, each injection axis being the direction which the through hole extends through the top plate 310. Additionally, the injection axis extends at an angle relative to the longitudinal axis, where an angle must be present as a result of the injection ports extending towards the battery body from the top plate, in a direction which is different from the longitudinal axis. Where the longitudinal axis and an injection axis are different, there must be an angle between them.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses structure wherein the battery electronics includes a printed circuit board (Paragraph 0067, “The sensing wire 230 connects the first busbar frame assembly 210 and the second busbar frame assembly 220 . The sensing wire 230 may be provided as a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB).”), and wherein an end of one or more channels of the injection port is positioned proximate a surface of the printed circuit board (Paragraph 0089, “Particularly, a plurality of injection holes 312 may be provided along a direction that forms an angle 0 to 30° with a direction in which the sensing wire 230 runs. The injection holes 312 provided along the direction that forms an angle of 0 with the direction in which the sensing wire 230 runs represents the injection holes 312 being formed in parallel with the sensing wire 230”), depicted in Yun’s figure 10, which depicts a proximate position of the injection ports 312 relative to the sensing wire 230 which is a flexible printed circuit board, being on an opposite side of the printed circuit board form the plurality of the battery cells, with the port being positioned above the board while the cells are positioned below.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses structure in which the fluid includes a thermally conductive silicone encapsulant (Paragraph 0063, “The thermally conductive adhesive 400 is a cooling adhesive that allows heat transfer, and may include thermal resin. The thermal resin is not limited to a particular type, but may be one of a thermally conductive silicone-based bond,”).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, as discussed above Knappenberger makes obvious structure wherein the guide member is configured to direct fluid from the injection port, which is the aperture extending through the interior of the guide member, to other portions of the internal cavity (Paragraph 0040, “As illustrated in FIG. 4 by means of arrows, the temperature regulation devices 4001, . . . 4003 respectively distribute the temperature regulation medium supplied through the inlet openings 4101, . . . 4103 to the outlet openings 42011, 42012; 42021, 42022 or 42031, 42032 and guide the distributed temperature regulation medium from the outlet openings”).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, where the guide member of Knappenberger is a ring shaped member as shown in Knappenberger’s figures 4 and 5, said ring-shaped member is placed on the surface of the injection port of Yun, as discussed above. Accordingly, where the ring-shaped guide member extending from the surface of the injection port apertures, where said apertures are shown in Yun’s figure 9 as being positioned at an inner surface of the top side of the housing, the guide members are therefore ring-shaped walls which extend from an inner surface of the top side of the housing.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 6. Additionally, where Knappenberger makes obvious structure wherein the guide member extends from the apertures 312 of Yun, the guide members are therefore spaced from the printed circuit board, based on the placement of the apertures 312 shown in Yun’s figure 10.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 6. Additionally, Yun discloses structure wherein the chamber is adjacent to the printed circuit board 230, as shown in Yun’s figure 10, as well as their figure 8, which shows that the fluid 400 which fills the chamber is adjacent to the printed circuit board 230.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 17. Additionally, Yun depicts structure, shown in their figure 8, where the chamber (occupied by their thermally conductive adhesive 400) is positioned between the battery pack interface and a space adjacent to the printed circuit board within the internal cavity. Here, the printed circuit board 230 extends through the whole internal cavity, and therefore any space that is adjacent to the printed circuit board that is separated from the interface by the chamber could be considered to read upon the requirements of the instant claim, even though there are portions of the printed circuit board which are adjacent to the interface.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, where Knappenberger makes obvious the addition of a guide member to each injection port aperture, there is therefore a guide member attached to each aperture, which results in a plurality of guide members being present.
Claim(s) 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR2019107900 A, with English equivalent US PGPUB 20200411924 A1 used for citation reference purposes).
Regarding Claims 20-23, Yun is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a battery pack assembly (Abstract, “a battery cell assembly having a plurality of battery cells…”) comprising a housing having a plurality of sides and defining an internal cavity (Paragraph 0044, “A module case 300”; Figure 1, module case 300), a plurality of battery cells received in the internal cavity (Abstract, “Having a plurality of battery cells…, “a module case which receives the battery cell assembly…”), and battery electronics received in the internal cavity (Abstract, “A module case which receives the battery cell assembly and the mounted sensing assembly; Figure 1, sensing assembly 200).
Yun further discloses a battery pack interface is supported by the housing and is connectable to a device (Paragraph 0068, “And includes an external connector or input/output terminal”). This interface is depicted in Yun’s figure 1, where it is supported by the structure of the housing.
Additionally, Yun discloses structure which comprises an injection port supported by the housing (Paragraph 0085, “The battery module 20 has injection holes 312 on the module case 300, i.e., in the top plate 310”) where the injection port comprises the injection holes 312 on the module case 300 as well as the surrounding faces of the module case which surround and define the injection port. Additionally, the injection port includes one or more channels positioned on one or more sides of the housing, here the holes 312 located on a top side of the housing. The channels are a subcomponent of the injection port, thereby resulting in structure where the holes 312 which pass through the module case 300 are the channels, the channels being portions of the injection port, each channel connecting the internal cavity to an exterior of the battery pack (Paragraph 0085, “to inject the thermally conductive adhesive into the module case 300.”).
Here, Yun discloses structure where the injection point is configured to direct a fluid comprising adhesive material, prior to hardening, from the exterior of the battery pack into the internal cavity (Paragraph 0085, “to inject the thermally conductive adhesive into the module case 300.”).
In regards to the limitation which requires a hardened adhesive material occupying 15% or less of a volume of the internal cavity, Yun fails to disclose a specific embodiment wherein the fluid is present and is configured to occupy 15% or less of a volume of the internal cavity. However, Yun recognizes the volume occupied by the thermal adhesive as a result effective variable, through their disclosure that energy density is an important variable in determining the structure of a secondary battery (Paragraph 0003, “Due to their frequent applicability to various products and their electrical properties such as a high energy density,”), thereby teaching that an increase in volume occupied by hardened thermal adhesive results in a decrease in in energy density, as well as resulting in an increase in heat flux, through disclosing that the hardened thermal adhesive allows for heat transfer (Paragraph 0063, “The thermally conductive adhesive 400 is a cooling adhesive that allows heat transfer”). Therefore, the volume occupied by the hardened adhesive material is a result effective variable, which one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the application would be motivated to modify via routine experimentation to optimize energy density, and heat flux.
Accordingly, it would be obvious to try each percentage variation of volume occupied by the thermal adhesive, in the process of determining the optimal combination of energy density, heat flux, and volume occupied, thereby making obvious the ranges required by claims 20-23, which are 15% or less of a volume of the internal cavity, 10% or less of a volume of the internal cavity 5-15% of the volume of the internal cavity and 2-5% of the volume of the internal cavity.
Regarding Claims 24 and 26, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 24. Additionally, Yun depicts structure where a portion of the volume of the internal cavity is unoccupied space proximate to the battery contacts 220 and 210, shown in Yun’s figure 8.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Yun makes obvious the invention of Claim 24. Additionally, though Yun is silent in regards to the specific value of the volume of the unoccupied space of their battery, they do disclose that energy density is a primary desirable parameter for secondary batteries (Paragraph 0003, “Due to their frequent applicability to various products and their electrical properties such as a high energy density, secondary batteries are not only commonly applied to portable devices, but universally applied to Electric Vehicles (EVs) or Hybrid Electric Vehicles (HEVs) that are driven by an electric driving source.”). Accordingly, where unoccupied space reduces the energy density of a battery, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make the unoccupied volume of the battery as close to 0% as possible, while still satisfying its presence as is it is depicted as being present in figure 8 of Yun. Therefore, Yun’s disclosure makes obvious an unoccupied space above, but approximately 0%, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitations of the instant claim.
Conclusion
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725