Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 4, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mittal et. al. (United State Patent US 11,262,835 B2).
Regarding claim 1, 9, and 17 Mittal et. al. discloses an electronic device (mobile device) and a method of operating an electronic device and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device comprising (Mittal et. al. col 3, lines 34-41, the external device is HMD as an accessory to a mobile device with a processor and camera as a sensor): one or more sensors; one or more processors; and memory storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the instructions for: obtaining, via a first subset of the one or more sensors, sensor data for a physical environment (Mittal et. al. col 5, lines 5-41); identifying, using the sensor data, an external electronic device in the physical environment (Mittal et. al., Fig. 1A sensors are on head mounted device, HMD); and selecting a subset of the physical environment for a visual search based on a position of the external electronic device (HMD) in the physical environment (Mittal et. al. Fig. 4, col. 7, lines 31-40, col 13, lines 35-37). For clarity, there are two separate electronic devices: an HMD (the external electronic device) and a corresponding mobile device (user’s smartphone, electronic device) that are linked via a communication subsystem. These two electronic devices operate in tandem in order to process the external environment and data. The electronic device is construed as the mobile device linked to the HMD, with sensor data taken from the HMD and the equipped camera.
Regarding claim 2, 10, and 18 Mittal et. al. discloses the electronic device (mobile device) defined in claim 1, the method defined in claim 9, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium defined in claim 17, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: before identifying, using the sensor data, the external electronic device in the physical environment, receiving a trigger from the external electronic device; performing the visual search using the subset of the physical environment; and transmitting content associated with the visual search to the external electronic device (Mittal et. al. col 11 lines 5-17, HMD).
Regarding claim 3, 11, 12, 19, 20 Mittal et. al. discloses the electronic device defined in claim 2, the method defined in claim 10, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium defined in claim 18, wherein obtaining the sensor data for the physical environment comprises obtaining the sensor data for the physical environment in response to receiving the trigger from the external electronic device and wherein the trigger is sent by the external electronic device in response to a gesture detected by the external electronic device or in response to an unsuccessful face recognition by the external electronic device (Mittal et. al. col 11 lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 4, 13, 21 Mittal et. al. discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, the method defined in claim 10, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium defined in claim 18, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: obtaining, via a second subset of the one or more sensors, point of gaze information; determining, using the point of gaze information, whether a point of gaze is within a threshold distance from the external electronic device; and performing the visual search using the subset of the physical environment in accordance with a determination that the point of gaze is within the threshold distance from the external electronic device (Mittal et. al. col 10 lines 21-44 where point of gaze information is gathered via tracking the user’s hand to define a ROI). The threshold distance from the external electronic device determines the field of interest and boundaries of the ROI.
Regarding claim 5, 14, 22 Mittal et. al. discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, the method defined in claim 9, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium defined in claim 17, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: obtaining, via a third subset of the one or more sensors, depth information for the physical environment; determining, using the depth information, whether a physical object is within a threshold distance from the external electronic device; and performing the visual search using the subset of the physical environment in accordance with a determination that the physical object is within the threshold distance from the external electronic device (Mittal et. al. col 6 lines 15-39).
Regarding claim 6, 15, 16, 23, 24 Mittal et. al. discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, the method defined in claim 9, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium defined in claim 17, wherein the first subset of the one or more sensors comprises an outward-facing camera and wherein the electronic device further comprises: one or more displays; and one or more speakers, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: presenting, using the one or more displays, a visual indicator that identifies the subset of the physical environment for the visual search; and in response to selecting the subset of the physical environment for the visual search, presenting, using the one or more speakers, audio feedback (Mittal et. al. col 3 lines 50-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mittal et. al. (United States Patent US 11,262,835 B2) in view of Starner et. al. (United States Patent 9,536,354 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Mittal et. al. discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1. However, Mittal et. al. fails to disclose wherein identifying the external electronic device in the physical environment comprises identifying that the external electronic device is being held by a first hand while a physical object is being held by a second hand and wherein selecting the subset of the physical environment for the visual search comprises selecting the physical object for the visual search.
Starner et. al. teaches wherein identifying the external electronic device in the physical environment comprises identifying that the external electronic device is being held by a first hand while a physical object is being held by a second hand and wherein selecting the subset of the physical environment for the visual search comprises selecting the physical object for the visual search (Starner et. al. Fig. 2B, col 6 lines 34-58, a pointing finger is touching the physical object, a coffee cup to initiate a search).
It is important to the claimed invention to be able to identify physical objects rather than AR objects for visual searches. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Starner et. al. with the teachings of Mittal et. al. so that both AR and physical objects can be identified and searched.
Regarding claim 8, Mittal et. al. discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1. However, Mittal et. al. fails to disclose wherein identifying the external electronic device in the physical environment comprises identifying that the external electronic device is being held by a first hand while a physical object is being pointed to by a second hand and wherein selecting the subset of the physical environment for the visual search comprises selecting the physical object for the visual search. Starner et. al. teaches wherein identifying the external electronic device in the physical environment comprises identifying that the external electronic device is being held by a first hand while a physical object is being pointed to by a second hand and wherein selecting the subset of the physical environment for the visual search comprises selecting the physical object for the visual search (Starner et. al. Fig. 2B, col 6 lines 34-58, a pointing finger is touching the physical object, a coffee cup to initiate a search).
It is important to the claimed invention to be able to identify physical objects rather than AR objects for visual searches. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Starner et. al. with the teachings of Mittal et. al. so that both AR and physical objects can be identified and searched.
Conclusion
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 February 26, 2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668