FINAL ACTION
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/US2022/045826 filed 10/05/2022.
PCT/US2022/045826 is a CON of 17696494 filed 03/16/2022 (PAT 11839669).
17696494 has PRO of 63252752 filed 10/06/2021.
However, at least the subject matters of independent claim 21 including “20% or less by weight…” and “58% by weight…” are not present in the PCT/US2022/045826, parent application of 17696494 or the PRO application of 63252752.
In addition, the following subject matters are not present in the PCT/US2022/045826, parent application of 17696494 or the PRO application of 63252752:
The subject matter of “the at least one high HLB surfactant is a cationic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant” of claim 29;
The subject matter of “about 35% to about 58% by weight” of claim 35;
The subject matter of “10% or less by weight of the composition of at least one cationic water soluble polymer, at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, or any combination thereof” of claim 37;
The subject matter of “sorbitan stearate” of claim 40.
Thus, claims 21-40 will not receive priority filing date benefit of the PCT/US2022/045826, parent application of 17696494, and PRO application of 63252752.
Accordingly, claims 21-40 are afforded the effective filing date of 04/04/2024 (actual filing date).
Status of the claims
This action is in response to papers filed 08/12/2026 in which claims 1-20 were canceled; and claims 21, 23, 25, 27, 28, 33, 35, and 37-40 were amended. All the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
Claims 21-40 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The Examiner has re-weighted all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Modified Rejection
Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – NEW MATTER
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 introduces new matter as the claim recites the limitations: “20% or less by weight of the composition of at least one water soluble polymer,” and “… 58% by weight of the composition of least one low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant.” There is no support in the specification for these limitation as it pertains to the range of “20% or less by weight” as it pertains to the at least one water soluble polymer and the maximum point of 58% by weight as it pertains to the low HLB surfactant. There is no support anywhere in the specification including FIGs 1-4 of Drawings and original claims for the range of “20% or less by weight” as it pertains to the at least one water soluble polymer and the maximum point of 58% by weight as it pertains to the low HLB surfactant. It is noted that none of the emulsion base formulation from FIGs 2-4 discloses 20% by weight of a water soluble polymer or the low end of 1% by weight or 0% by weight a water soluble polymer, which are all amounts by weight encompassed by the broad claimed range of “20% or less by weight.” While FIGs 2-4 of the Drawings provides support for the minimum point of 20% by weight for a low HLB surfactant, there is not support in FIGs 2-4 for the maximum point of 58% by weight for a low HLB surfactant. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the range of “20% or less by weight” for water soluble polymer and the maximum point of 58% by weight for low HLB surfactant. Claims 22-40 are also rejected, as they dependent directly or indirectly from claim 21, thereby also containing the conflicting new matter limitations.
Claim 29 introduces new matter as the claim recites the limitation: “the at least one high HLB surfactant is a cationic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant.” There is no support in the specification for generically “a cationic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant” being the high HLB surfactant. Nowhere in the specification does it disclose or define the generic or genus of “cationic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant” as a high HLB surfactant. It is noted that not all cationic surfactants, anionic surfactants, and nonionic surfactants within the broad genus of “cationic surfactants, anionic surfactants, and nonionic surfactants” are considered “high HLB surfactant.” For example, Dioctadecyldimethylammonium chloride is a cationic surfactant within the broad claimed genus of “cationic surfactant,” yet Dioctadecyldimethylammonium chloride is not a “high HLB surfactant” due to their HLB values being low at around ~3-6. An example for anionic surfactant is sodium stearate, which is an anionic surfactant within the broad claimed genus of “anionic surfactant”, yet sodium stearate is not a “high HLB surfactant” due to their HLB value being about 2.0. An example for nonionic surfactant is glycerol trioleate, which is a nonionic surfactant within the broad claimed genus of “nonionic surfactant,” yet glycerol trioleate is not a “high HLB surfactant due to their HLB value being 0.8. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the generic or genus of “cationic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant” as high HLB surfactant.
Claim 35 introduces new matter as the claim recites the limitation: “35% to 58% by weight of the composition of at least one low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant.” There is no support in the specification for this limitation. It is noted that nowhere in the emulsion base formulations of FIGs 2-4 of the Drawings do they provide disclosure of 35% by weight of a low HLB surfactant or 58% by weight of a low HLB surfactant. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the claimed range of “35% to 58% by weight” for low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant.
Claim 37 introduces new matter as the claim recites the limitation: “10% or less by weight of the composition of at least one cationic water soluble polymer, at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, or any combination thereof”. There is no support in the specification for this limitation. While Applicant has support in the emulsion base formulations of FIGs. 2-4 for 10% by weight of cationic water soluble polymer or at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, there is not support to the breadth of “or less by weight” because “or less” encompasses a % by weight of 1% by weight or 0.5% by weight, which is not supported by the specification including FIGs. 2-4 of the Drawings. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the broad claimed range of “10% or less by weight” for at least one cationic water soluble polymer, at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, or any combination thereof.
Claim 40 introduces new matter as the claim recites the limitation: “sorbitan stearate.” There is no support in the specification for this limitation. Nowhere in the specification including the Drawings and original claims are there disclosure of “sorbitan stearate”. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of “sorbitan stearate.”
As such, the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of claims 21, 29, 35, 37, and 40 at the time of filing of the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Below is the Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments as they pertain to the pending New Matter rejection.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 21: “the limitation "20% or less by weight of the composition of at least one water soluble polymer" is supported by FIGS. 2-4. C10-0 Alkyl Acrylates Cross polymer, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, Chitosan Citrate, Polyquaternium 37, Xanthan Gum are water soluble polymers. Examples 2-7 show that the total percent amount of water soluble polymer ranged from 2% to 4%, Examples 8-13 show that the total percent amount of water soluble polymer ranged from 5% to 10%, and Examples 14-18 show that the total percent amount of water soluble polymer ranged from 5% to 10%. These percent amounts support the claimed range of "20% or less by weight of the composition of at least one water soluble polymer." (Remarks, page 8, 2nd paragraph).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the pending New Matter rejection, none of the emulsion base formulations from FIGs 2-4 disclose 20% by weight of a water soluble polymer or the low end of 1% by weight or 0% by weight a water soluble polymer, which are % by weight amounts encompassed by the broad claimed range of “20% or less by weight.” Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the range of “20% or less by weight” for water soluble polymer” as claimed in claim 21.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 21: “the limitation "about 20% to about 58% by weight of the composition of least one low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant" is supported by FIGS. 2-4. Glyceryl Monostearate (GMS), Stearic Acid, Behenic Acid, Cetearyl Glucoside, Sorbitan Olivate and Glyceryl Tricaprate/caprylate are low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants. Examples 2-7 show that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants ranged from 35% to 58%, Examples 8-13 show that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants ranged from 20% to 45%, and Examples 14-18 show that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants ranged from 20% to 45%. These percent amounts support the claimed range of "about 20% to about 58% by weight of the composition of at least one low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant.” (Remarks, page 8, last paragraph).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the pending New Matter rejection, while FIGs 2-4 of the Drawings provides support for the minimum point of 20% by weight for a low HLB surfactant, there is not support in FIGs 2-4 for the maximum point of 58% by weight for a low HLB surfactant. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the maximum point of 58% by weight for low HLB surfactant.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 29: “Support for the limitation "a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant" can be found in the present specification at page 14, paragraph 1 which states, in part, "Cationic Emulsion Bases can be made with cationic and /or nonionic water soluble polymers." Support for the limitation "an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant" can be found in the present specification at page 11, paragraph 5 which states, in part, "Anionic Emulsion Bases can be made with anionic and /or nonionic water soluble polymers.” (Remarks, bottom of page 10 to page 11).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the pending New Matter rejection, nowhere in the specification does it disclose or define the generic or genus of “cationic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant” as a high HLB surfactant. It is noted that not all cationic surfactants, anionic surfactants, and nonionic surfactants within the broad genus of “cationic surfactants, anionic surfactants, and nonionic surfactants” are considered “high HLB surfactant.” For example, Dioctadecyldimethylammonium chloride is a cationic surfactant within the broad claimed genus of “cationic surfactant,” yet Dioctadecyldimethylammonium chloride is not a “high HLB surfactant” due to their HLB values being low at around ~3-6. An example for anionic surfactant is sodium stearate, which is an anionic surfactant within the broad claimed genus of “anionic surfactant”, yet sodium stearate is not a “high HLB surfactant” due to their HLB value being about 2.0. An example for nonionic surfactant is glycerol trioleate, which is a nonionic surfactant within the broad claimed genus of “nonionic surfactant,” yet glycerol trioleate is not a “high HLB surfactant due to their HLB value being 0.8. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the generic or genus of “cationic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant and a nonionic surfactant” as high HLB surfactant.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 35: “the limitation "about 35% to about 58% by weight of the composition of at least one low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant" is supported by FIG. 2. Four ingredients, Glyceryl Monostearate (GMS), Stearic Acid, Behenic Acid, and Glyceryl Tricaprate/caprylate are low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants. Example 2 shows that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants is 58%, Example 3 shows that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants is 58%, Example 4 shows that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants is 48%, Example 5 shows that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants is 48%, Example 6 shows that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants is 37%, and Example 7 shows that the total percent amount of low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactants is 35%. These percent amounts support the claimed range of "about 35% to about 58% by weight of the composition of at least one low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant."” (Remarks, page 12).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the pending New Matter rejection, nowhere in the emulsion base formulations of FIGs 2-4 of the Drawings do they provide disclosure of 35% by weight of a low HLB surfactant or 58% by weight of a low HLB surfactant. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the claimed range of “35% to 58% by weight” for low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant. With respect to Example 7, it is noted that contrary to Applicant’s allegation, the total percent amount of low HLB surfactants was 90% by weight (55 wt% cetearyl alcohol + 27 wt% glyceryl monostearate + 8 wt% stearic acid). Thus, as discussed above, it is maintained that FIGs 2-4 of the Drawings do not provide disclosure of 35% by weight of a low HLB surfactant.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 37: “the limitation "10% or less by weight of the composition of at least one cationic water soluble polymer, at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, or any combination thereof" is supported by FIG. 3. Chitosan citrate is a nonionic water soluble polymer while guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride and Polyquaternium 37 are cationic water soluble polymers. Example 8 shows that the total percent amount of nonionic water soluble polymer is 0% and the total percent amount of cationic water soluble polymer is 5%, Example 9 shows that the total percent amount of nonionic water soluble polymer is 0% and the total percent amount of cationic water soluble polymer is 10%, Example 10 shows that the total percent amount of nonionic water soluble polymer is 0% and the total percent amount of cationic water soluble polymer is 10%, Example 11 shows that the total percent amount of nonionic water soluble polymer is 0% and the total percent amount of cationic water soluble polymer is 10%, Example 12 shows that the total percent amount of nonionic water soluble polymer is 0% and the total percent amount of cationic water soluble polymer is 10%, and Example 13 shows that the total percent amount of nonionic water soluble polymer is 5% and the total percent amount of cationic water soluble polymer is 0%. These percent amounts support the claimed range of "10% or less by weight of the composition of at least one cationic water soluble polymer, at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, or any combination thereof."” (Remarks, bottom of page 12 to page 13).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the pending New Matter rejection, while Applicant has support in the emulsion base formulations of FIGs. 2-4 for 10% by weight of cationic water soluble polymer or at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, there is not support to the breadth of “or less by weight” because “or less” encompasses a % by weight of 1% by weight or 0.5% by weight, which is not supported by the specification including FIGs. 2-4 of the Drawings. Thus, Applicant does not have possession of the broad claimed range of “10% or less by weight” for at least one cationic water soluble polymer, at least one nonionic water soluble polymer, or any combination thereof.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 40: “[w]ith respect to sorbitan stearate, Applicant has revised Claim 40 to delete this term.” (Remarks, top of page 15).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that “sorbitan stearate” is still recited as part of the low HLB surfactant for claim 40. Thus, “sorbitan stearate” has not been deleted as alleged by Applicant.
As a result, for at least the reasons discussed above, the New Matter rejection is maintained, as the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of claims 21, 29, 35, 37, and 40 at the time of filing of the instant application.
Maintained-Modified Rejections
Modification Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26, 28-30, 32-35, 37, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong (US 5,296,166) in view of Dhingra et al (US 2018/0021349 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Leong teaches an emulsion composition comprising a hydrophilic thickening agent (a water soluble polymer); a fatty alcohol such as lauryl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, myristyl alcohol or behenyl alcohol; and emulsifiers including sorbitan oleate (low HLB surfactant; HLB ~4.3) and polysorbate 80 (high HLB surfactant; HLB 15) (Abstract; columns 1-9; Examples 7-29). Leong teaches the emulsion composition is a uniformly dispersed mixture (Abstract; columns 5-9; Examples 7-29). Leong teaches the fatty alcohol such as cetyl alcohol is present in an amount of about 55% by weight or less based on the total weight of the water immiscible phase, and the hydrophilic thickening agent (i.e., hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, carbomer, xanthan gum, carboxymethyl hydroxypropyl guar, etc.) is present in amount of about 15% by weight or less based on the total weight of the water immiscible phase (Examples 7-29). It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the weight % amounts of water soluble polymer and fatty alcohol in an emulsion base composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
However, Leong does not expressly teach the amounts by weight % of the low HLB surfactant and the high HLB surfactant of claim 21.
Regarding the amounts of the low HLB surfactant and the high HLB surfactant of claim 21, Dhingra teaches an emulsion formulation comprising a lipophilic surfactant (a low HLB surfactant) and a hydrophilic surfactant (a high HLB surfactant), wherein the amount of lipophilic surfactant is from 15% to 65% by weight and the amount of hydrophilic surfactant is from 5 to 37.5% by weight (Abstract; [0031]-[0034], [0062]-[0065]; [0114]-[0135]; claims 1-8).
While Leong teaches low amounts of the low HLB surfactant and the high HLB surfactant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the concentration/amount of the low HLB surfactant and the high HLB surfactant to higher amounts as claimed in claim 21. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because as discussed above, Dhingra teaches for an emulsion formulation that is uniformly dispersed, the amount of lipophilic surfactant is from 15% to 65% by weight and the amount of hydrophilic surfactant is from 5% to 37.5% by weight, which are ranges that not only overlaps the low amounts disclosed in Leong, but also overlaps the claimed ranges as recited in claim 21. Thus, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the weight % amount of low HLB surfactant and high HLB surfactant in an emulsion base composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Leong teaches suitable hydrophilic thickening agent includes hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, carbomer, xanthan gum, and carboxymethyl hydroxypropyl guar (columns 8-9; Examples 7-29).
Regarding claim 24, Leong teaches the fatty alcohol is cetyl alcohol or stearyl alcohol (column 10, lines 53-61; Examples 7-29).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Leong teaches the low HLB surfactant is sorbitan oleate (column 11, lines 4-21; Examples 7-29).
Regarding claim 28, Dhingra provide the guidance for using stearic acid as a lipophilic surfactant (a low HLB surfactant) ([0105]-[0108] and [0201]).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, Leong teaches the high HLB surfactant is polysorbate 80 (a nonionic surfactant) (column 11, lines 4-21; Examples 7-29).
Regarding claim 32, Leong teaches the surfactants and thickener in the water immiscible phase create hydrate structures (Abstract; columns 7-9).
Regarding claim 33, as discussed above, Leong teaches the hydrophilic thickening agent (i.e., hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, carbomer, xanthan gum, carboxymethyl hydroxypropyl guar, etc.) is present in amount of about 15% by weight or less based on the total weight of the water immiscible phase, and Dhingra for optimizing the amount of lipophilic surfactant from 15% to 65% by weight and the amount of hydrophilic surfactant from 5% to 37.5% by weight. Based on the combined guidance from Leong in view of Dhingra, the weight ratio of surfactant relative to the hydrophilic thickening agent encompassed a weight ratio range which overlaps the claimed weight ratio range of about 9:1 to about 30:1. Thus, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the ratio of surfactants to water soluble polymer in the emulsion base composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
Regarding claim 34, Leong teaches the emulsion is a nonionic emulsion (columns 4-5; column 7, lines 16-34).
Regarding claims 35, 37 and 39, as discussed above, Leong teaches the emulsion composition is a uniformly dispersed mixture (Abstract; columns 5-9; Examples 7-29). Leong teaches the fatty alcohol such as cetyl alcohol is present in an amount of about 55% by weight or less based on the total weight of the water immiscible phase, and the hydrophilic thickening agent (i.e., hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, carbomer, xanthan gum, carboxymethyl hydroxypropyl guar, etc.) is present in amount of about 15% by weight or less based on the total weight of the water immiscible phase (Examples 7-29). As discussed above, Dhingra for optimizing the amount of lipophilic surfactant from 15% to 65% by weight and the amount of hydrophilic surfactant from 5% to 37.5% by weight (Dhingra: Abstract; [0031]-[0034], [0062]-[0065]; [0114]-[0135]; claims 1-8). Thus, based on the combined teachings of Leong and Dhingra, the amounts of fatty alcohol, hydrophilic thickening agent (water soluble polymer), lipophilic surfactant (low HLB surfactant), and hydrophilic surfactant (high HLB surfactant) as taught by Leong and Dhingra overlaps the claimed ranges for fatty alcohol, water soluble polymer, lipophilic surfactant (low HLB surfactant), and hydrophilic surfactant (high HLB surfactant) as recited in claims 35, 37 and 39. As discussed above, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the weight % amounts of fatty alcohol, water soluble polymer, low HLB surfactant, and high HLB surfactant in the emulsion base composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong (US 5,296,166) in view of Dhingra et al (US 2018/0021349 A1), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Carter et al (US 2014/0309154 A1).
The emulsion base composition of claim 21 is discussed above, said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Regarding claim 31, Carter teaches a emulsion composition comprising fatty alcohol, surfactants (emulsifiers), and thickening polymers (i.e., carbomers, xanthan gum), wherein the surfactants are selected from the group consisting of anionic, nonionic, cationic, amphoteric, and mixtures thereof, and wherein the surfactants have an HLB 6-16 ([0007], [0016]-[0018], [0039]-[0079], [0164]-[0165], [0182]-[0185]). Carter teaches sorbitan stearate as one of the suitable surfactants, and distearyldimonium chloride (distearyl dimethyl ammonium chloride) as one of the suitable cationic surfactants ([0042]-[0043] and [0049]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate distearyldimonium chloride as the high HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Carter provided the guidance to do by teaching that aside from polysorbates, cationic surfactants (emulsifiers) such as distearyldimonium chloride is also suitable for use as the high HLB surfactant so as to produce a cationic emulsion (Carter: [0042]-[0044] and [0049]-[0056]). Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to other known high HLB surfactants including cationic surfactants (emulsifiers) such as distearyldimonium chloride, and use them as the high HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 36, 38, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong (US 5,296,166) in view of Dhingra et al (US 2018/0021349 A1), as applied to claims 21, 34, 35, 37, and 39 above, and further in view of Arditty et al (US 2010/0278770 A1) and Carter et al (US 2014/0309154 A1).
The emulsion base composition of claims 21, 34, 35, 37, and 39 are discussed above, said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Regarding claims 36, 38, and 40, Leong teaches an emulsion composition comprising a hydrophilic thickening agent (i.e., hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, carbomer, xanthan gum, and carboxymethyl hydroxypropyl guar); a fatty alcohol such as lauryl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, myristyl alcohol and behenyl alcohol; and emulsifiers including sorbitan oleate (low HLB surfactant; HLB ~4.3) and polysorbate 80 (high HLB surfactant; HLB 15) (Abstract; columns 1-9; Examples 7-29).
Arditty teaches an emulsion composition comprising fatty alcohols, surfactants, and water soluble gelling polymers, wherein suitable fatty alcohols include lauryl alcohol, myristyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, isostearyl alcohol, palmityl alcohol, oleyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol (a mixture of cetyl alcohol and Stearyl alcohol), behenyl alcohol, and suitable surfactants include polysorbates such as polysorbate 60 ([0040]-[0065], [0224]-[0272], [0199]-[0205], [0289]-[0313]).
Carter teaches a emulsion composition comprising fatty alcohol, surfactants (emulsifiers), and thickening polymers (i.e., carbomers, xanthan gum), wherein the surfactants are selected from the group consisting of anionic, nonionic, cationic, amphoteric, and mixtures thereof, and wherein the surfactants have an HLB 6-16 ([0007], [0016]-[0018], [0039]-[0079], [0164]-[0165], [0182]-[0185]). Carter teaches sorbitan stearate and glyceryl monostearate as suitable surfactants, and distearyldimonium chloride (distearyl dimethyl ammonium chloride) as one of the suitable cationic surfactants ([0042]-[0043] and [0049]-[0056]).
With respect to claim 36, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate cetearyl alcohol as the fatty alcohol and sodium stearate as the high HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Arditty teaches that aside from cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol is also suitable for use as the fatty alcohol (Arditty: ([0040]-[0065], [0224]-[0272], [0199]-[0205], [0289]-[0313]), and Carter teaches that aside from polysorbates, sodium stearate is also suitable as the high HLB surfactant (Carter: [0042]-[0045] and [0049]-[0056]). Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to other known fatty alcohols including cetearyl alcohol and other known high HLB surfactants including sodium stearate, and use them as the fatty alcohol and the high HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 38, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate cetearyl alcohol as the fatty alcohol and distearyldimonium chloride as the high HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Arditty teaches that aside from cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol is also suitable for use as the fatty alcohol (Arditty: [0040]-[0065], [0224]-[0272], [0199]-[0205], [0289]-[0313]), and Carter teaches that aside from polysorbates, cationic surfactants (emulsifiers) such as distearyldimonium chloride is also suitable for use as the high HLB surfactant so as to produce a cationic emulsion (Carter: [0042]-[0045] and [0049]-[0056]).Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to other known fatty alcohols including cetearyl alcohol and other known high HLB surfactants including distearyldimonium chloride, and use them as the fatty alcohol and the high HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 40, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate cetearyl alcohol as the fatty alcohol, sorbitan stearate or glycerol monostearate as the low HLB surfactant and polysorbate 60 as the high HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Arditty teaches that aside from cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol is also suitable for use as the fatty alcohol, and also provides guidance for using polysorbate 60 as the suitable nonionic surfactant (Arditty: ([0040]-[0065], [0224]-[0272], [0199]-[0205], [0289]-[0313]). Furthermore, Carter teaches that aside from sorbitan oleate, sorbitan stearate or glyceryl monostearate are also suitable for use as the low HLB surfactant (Carter: [0042]-[0045] and [0049]-[0056]). Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to other known fatty alcohols including cetearyl alcohol, other known low HLB surfactants including sorbitan stearate and glyceryl monostearate, and other known high HLB surfactants including polysorbate 60, and use them as the fatty alcohol, the low HLB surfactant, and the high HLB surfactant, respectively, in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“neither reference teach or suggest the limitation "40% to 55% by weight of the
composition of at least one fatty alcohol." Leong is cited for teaching a fatty alcohol present in an amount of about 55% by weight or less based on the total weight of the water immiscible phase based on examples disclosing the use of cetyl alcohol. Although not made clear by the Examiner, it appears that Example 23 is used as justification for this teaching. Example 23 discloses that the water immiscible phase comprises between 1.50 and 10 parts by weight isopropyl myristate; 3.00 parts cetyl alcohol, USP; 0.10 parts propylparaben; 0.10 parts sorbitan oleate; 0.10 parts Polysorbate 80; 0.5 parts hydroxypropyl methylcellulose and 0.10 parts wheat germ oil. It appears that the Examiner has taking the lowest part for each component (5.4 parts) and divided the 3.0 parts cetyl alcohol by this value to arrive at the 55% or less amount cited.” (Remarks, page 19, 1st paragraph).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As indicated by Applicant, the lowest part for each component (total amount of all components when isopropyl myristate is 1.5 parts = 5.4 parts) of the water immiscible phase from Example 23 provides for the amount of cetyl alcohol to be about 55% by weight. It is noted that the highest part for each component (total amount of all components when isopropyl myristate is 10 parts = 13.9 parts) of the water immiscible phase from Example 23 provides for the amount of cetyl alcohol to be about 21% by weight. Thus, at least Example 23 from Leong teaches amount of cetyl alcohol is about 55% by weight or less, and particularly as calculated above, from about 21% by weight to 55% by weight, which is a range that substantially overlaps the claimed range of “40% to 55% by weight.” Thus, contrary to Applicant’s allegation, Leong does teach and provide guidance for optimizing the amount of a fatty alcohol (cetyl alcohol) to an amount in the range of 40% to 55% by weight because as discussed above in the pending 103 rejection, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the weight % amounts of fatty alcohol in an emulsion base composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
Applicant argues:
“the presently claimed emulsion base composition is not just a water immiscible
phase but an emulsion composition comprising both a water immiscible phase and a water soluble phase. Example 23 of Leong is a modification of method of manufacturing an emulsion described in Example 20. The last step of this method is the addition of deionized water sufficient to bring the total weight of the emulsion up to 100 parts. This means that the resulting emulsion composition described in Leong has only 3% by weight of cetyl alcohol. Thus, Leong does not teach the limitation of an emulsion base comprising 40% to 55% by weight of the composition of at least one fatty alcohol because this reference only teaches 3% by weight of a fatty alcohol.” (Remarks, page 19, 2nd paragraph).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. The recitation of “emulsion base composition” as recited in the preamble of independent claim 21 does not require that the composition is an emulsion, as “emulsion base composition” can be an base composition or in other words, a concentrate, that is used for combining with water (an aqueous phase) to form an emulsion. Furthermore, the emulsion base composition as recited independent claim 21 does not recite or require “a water immiscible phase and a water soluble phase” as focused by Applicant. Thus, the total amount disclosed in Example 23 would be to the total amount of the water immiscible phase, in which the water immiscible phase reads on the claimed “emulsion based composition.” As such, as discussed above, it is maintained that at least Example 23 from Leong teaches amount of cetyl alcohol is about 55% by weight or less, and particularly as calculated above, from about 21% by weight to 55% by weight, which is a range that substantially overlaps the claimed range of “40% to 55% by weight.” Thus, contrary to Applicant’s allegation, Leong does teach and provide guidance for optimizing the amount of a fatty alcohol (cetyl alcohol) to an amount in the range of 40% to 55% by weight because as discussed above in the pending 103 rejection, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the weight % amounts of fatty alcohol in an emulsion base composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
Applicant argues:
“Dhingra is completely fails to disclosure fatty alcohols at all in its self-emulsifying formulations let alone any percent weight range of fatty alcohols. Thus, Dhingra also does not teach the limitation of an emulsion base comprising 40% to 55% by weight of the composition of at least one fatty alcohol.” (Remarks, page 19, 3rd paragraph).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. Dhingra was only used for teaching and providing guidance on the claimed amounts of low HLB surfactant and high HLB surfactant of claim 21. As discussed above, the claimed fatty alcohol and amounts thereof were taught by Leong. See pages 23-24 of this office action, said pages being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Applicant argues:
“Leong and Dhingra, alone or in combination, do not render the presently claimed subject matter obvious because there is no apparent reason to modify and/or combine the prior art elements in the manner claimed.
[T]he emulsion products produced by the method disclosed in Leong are dilute,
water-continuous emulsion products where the surfactants are present at fractions of a
percent relative to the final composition. Leong expressly teaches that the reduction of the percent amount of an emulsifier in its methods enables the amount of oil phase used to be decreased to less than 10% of the total weight of the emulsified product. As such, the resulting emulsion products contain 90% or more of water. Leong teaches that this high-water content/low oil content emulsion is cheaper to produce oil and less irritating than products currently manufactured according to existing techniques. As such, there is no reason why a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to modify water-continuous emulsion products of Leong to include 20% to 58% by weight of the composition of at least one low hydrophilic/lipophilic balance (HLB) surfactant and 7% to 30% by weight of the composition of at least one high HLB surfactant simple because Dhingra discloses self-emulsifying compositions comprising 5% to 37.5% by weight of a water-soluble (hydrophilic) surfactant and 15% to 65% by weight of a water-insoluble (lipophilic) surfactant.” (Remarks, page 20).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed in the pending 103 rejection, both Leong and Dhingra are drawn to formulating emulsion compositions, thereby are in the same field of invention. Thus, Long and Dhingra are properly combined to render obvious Applicant’s claimed invention. As discussed above in the pending 103 rejection, Dhingra teaches for an emulsion formulation that is uniformly dispersed, the amount of lipophilic surfactant can be as low as 15% to as high as 65% by weight and the amount of hydrophilic surfactant can be as a low as 5% to as high as 37.5% by weight, which are ranges that not only overlaps the low amounts disclosed in Leong, but also overlaps the claimed ranges as recited in claim 21. Thus, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As discussed above, Dhingra established that the amount of lipophilic surfactant can be as low as 15% to as high as 65% by weight and the amount of hydrophilic surfactant can be as a low as 5% to as high as 37.5% by weight and still form a uniform dispersion, there providing adequate guidance for optimizing the concentration/amount of the low HLB surfactant and the high HLB surfactant to higher amounts in Leong to amounts as claimed in claim 21.
Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the weight % amount of low HLB surfactant and high HLB surfactant in an emulsion base composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II). Applicant has not shown by objective evidence criticality of the claimed ranges in achieving a result that is unexpected or not appreciated by the prior arts. In the absence of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, it is maintained that Leong and Dhingra are properly combined to render obvious the claimed amounts of low HLB surfactant and high HLB surfactant by routine optimization.
Applicant argues:
“the self-emulsifying compositions of Dhingra are anhydrous formulation
concentrates of lipophilic surfactants, hydrophilic surfactants, and phytosterol esters that
contains no preformed water phase. The addition of water, like an aqueous phase of a typical emulsion would destroy the self-emulsifying characteristics of the compositions of Dhingra. Furthermore, the lipophilic surfactants, hydrophilic surfactants, and phytosterol esters taught by Dhingra are specifically selected to spontaneously emulsify into a fine microemulsion or nanoemulsion when diluted in an aqueous environment of the small intestine after oral ingested by an individual. The surfactants serve to solubilize the drug which helps reduce the food absorption effect, enhances lymphatic absorption (bypassing first-pass metabolism), and produces more consistent serum drug levels, all of which improve bioavailability of the drug. Thus, the purpose of the surfactants disclosed in Dhingra are for a completely different purpose than the oils used in the water immiscible (oil) phase of Leong.” (Remarks, page 21, 1st paragraph).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above, both Leong and Dhingra are drawn to formulating emulsion compositions, thereby are in the same field of invention. Furthermore, and contrary to Applicant’s allegation, Dhingra teaches the emulsion composition concentrate is added to water and forms an emulsion, and thus, Dhingra are not anhydrous formulations. Thus, it is maintained that Long and Dhingra are properly combined to render obvious Applicant’s claimed invention.
As a result, for at least the reasons discussed above and below, claims 21-40 remain rejected as being obvious and unpatentable over the combined teachings of the cited prior arts in the pending 103 rejections as set forth in this office action.
New Rejection
Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong (US 5,296,166) in view of Dhingra et al (US 2018/0021349 A1), as applied to claims 21, 25 and 26, and further in view of Cosmetic Ingredient Review (“Safety Assessment of Sorbitan Esters as Used in Cosmetics.” Published date: 18 September 2014, 25 pages).
The emulsion base compositions of claim 21, 25 and 26 are discussed above, said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Regarding claim 27, Cosmetic Ingredient Review teaches sorbitan oleate and sorbitan olivate are known sorbitan esters used in cosmetics as surfactant and emulsifying agent (pages 2 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate sorbitan olivate as the low HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because as discussed above, Cosmetic Ingredient Review provided the guidance to do by teaching that aside from sorbitan oleate, sorbitan olivate is also known to be suitable for use as the low HLB surfactant. Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to other known fatty sorbitan esters in the prior art including sorbitan olivate and use them as the low HLB surfactant in the emulsion of Leong in view of Dhingra, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11839669.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Patent ‘669 significantly overlap with the subject matter of instant claims, i.e., while the claims in the Patent ‘669 being method of making cosmetic emulsions, the cosmetic emulsions made are substantially the same in structure as the instantly claimed emulsion base composition drawn to having at least fatty alcohol (i.e., cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol), at least one low HLB surfactant (glyceryl monostearate), at least one high HLB surfactant (Distearyldimethylammonium Chloride, Polysorbate 60, Cetearyl Glucoside, Polyglyceryl 10 Stearate), and a water soluble polymer.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over U.S. Patent No. 11839669.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Applicant respectfully requests abeyance of this obvious-type double patenting rejection until allowable subject matter for the present application is indicated.” (Remarks, page 22, last paragraph).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that Applicant's request to hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance is not a proper response because a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an objection or requirements as to form (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.111(b) and 714.02). Accordingly, the double patenting rejection as set forth in this office action is maintained for the reason discussed above and pending the filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOAN T PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613