DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Machining tool unit; clamping unit, “feed device” in claims 1-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “Machining tool unit”; “clamping unit”, and “feed device” all invoke 112(f) treatment as reciting a means or means equivalent nonce, and being functions with no structure capable of performing the corresponding function, therefore requiring specific support and clarity in the specification. Here, the specification does not recite with particularity any specific definition of any of these units, elements, or ‘devices’ and as such fails to reasonably apprise those of ordinary skill of the scope of these terms. Specifically, the term “feed device” appears to require the incorporation as an essential part of the device a ‘clamping unit’ in order to function as a feed device, but there is no ascertainable boundary to what portion or elements must be present to comprise either the clamping unit OR the feed device. The scope literally cannot be analyzed because it is not clear to what extent the terms are co-extensive.
Claim 4 requires “a tooth contour” which is not shown or described in particular in the disclosure. As a result the nature of this cannot be ascertained, and the claim scope is not reasonably precise as a result. Claim 4 is rejected under 112(b) for this reason.
Claim 5 requires “the press down unit” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6 requires “an auxiliary clamping unit (13) respectively in front of and behind the clamping unit (6)” which is not understood. The figures show two clamping units 13, one in front and one behind;; the nature of the claim is therefore not understood. Is this requiring at least one, or is this requiring two units---. The claim require a unit in front and behind, but the disclosure shows two units. The nature of the Unit should be clarified, or the nature of how many units are being claimed should be clarified. It is additionally not understood if “auxiliary” has meaning beyond an arbitrary naming convention—e.g. would ‘second’ or ‘additional’ be synonymous, or must there be some subjective aspect of auxiliary be ascribed to the clamp.
Claim 11 requires “the cooling unit” which lacks antecedent basis, and is therefore indefinite. Claim 11 requires “essentially constant” which is subjective and therefore indefinite.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “tooth contour” (claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gustavsson (US 4,693,145).
Regarding claim 1 Gustavsson discloses A device (Figure 1, title) for grinding (See title) and/or milling teeth of saw bands (13 figure 1), comprising: a feed device (23 and piston mounted to 25 shown in figure 4, as best understood—see above 112(b) for context) for the clocked feeding of a temporary workpiece (24 is a stack of blades, same as applicant’s; see column 3 lines 1+ discussing the synchronous and controlled feed of the blade blank).
Gustavsson further discloses the temporary workpiece (24) is formed from a plurality of mutually parallel saw bands (column 2 line 52+ ‘stack of steel bands…’). Gustavsson further discloses a clamping unit (25 figure 4) into which the temporary workpiece (24) is clamped (see in figure 4; inter alia column 3 line 1+), and a machining tool unit (1718 figure 4) with at least one machining tool (18) for simultaneous machining of a plurality of teeth of the temporary workpiece (24; column 3 line 13-15), wherein the clamping unit (25) is displaceable together with the feed device (the piston is a feed device since it moves the clamp 25) along a feed direction ((arrows shown in figure 4 showing the movement of 25 from one position to a moved position for repositioning the stack).
Regarding claim 2, Gustavsson further discloses. The device according to claim 1, wherein the clamping unit (25) is arranged on the feed device (the piston which 25 is mounted on—as seen in figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Gustavsson further discloses wherein the press down unit (29 – a hydraulic used to press the clamp part of the clamp 25) for pressing down the temporary workpiece (24) is arranged on the feed device (see figure 4 which shows 29 mounted on 25 on the hydraulic shaft of 26 / the feed unit).
Regarding claim 7, Gustavsson further discloses the machining unit (17-18) has a grinding tool and/or a milling tool (See figure 4).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the cutter of the Gustavsson device has the same type of cutter (dressing tool) within a receptacle, which includes different cutting tools—the different sizes thereof shown in the several figures –including figure 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gustavsson.
Regarding claim 3. Gustavsson further discloses the clamping jaw edges (the surfaces which engage 24 within 25 shown in side view in figure 4 are jaw edges per se) of the clamping unit (25) are oriented along the feed direction (there are shown lines in figure 4 which is evidence of the presence of these edges). Gustavsson does not further disclose and are at least twice as long as a machining width of the machining tool.
The ’edge’ being longer than the machining width is not an inventive concept, but is the selection of a size of a known element. In Gustavsson the clamps laterally hold the blades and clamp them as shown and discussed. The nature of how long those edges are is a matter of routine size selection. since it has been held that changing the size or range of an article is not ordinarily a matter of invention. Appropriate selection of size, weight, ratios, etc. is considered routine, and is typically a matter of design choice. See In re Rose 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and also In re Yount (36 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 775, 171 F.2d 317, 80 USPQ 141. Here, making the clamp bigger or smaller will increase and decrease the friction hold on the blade during movement and during holding—thus the increase or decrease has a plain physical effect that a person of ordinary skill would be able to optimize. Choosing bigger or smaller clamp sizes would have the predictable effect of increasing the load (or the distribution of the load) and increasing the material cost (or decreasing it) according to the amount of force and cost the designer was comfortable with. The relationship being “at least twice as long” is just one small subset of the obvious range for the size here.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gustavsson in view of Duffy (US 4,778,315).
Regarding claim 11, Gustavsson does not disclose wherein the cooling unit (21) for cooling the machining tool (8) comprises a plurality of nozzles directed at the machining tool (8), wherein the cooling unit (21) is displaceable in such a way that a predefined spacing between the nozzles and the machining tool (8) is essentially constant.
It is well known to provide lubrication to machining processes by a plurality of nozzles, which work to lubricate and cool the work during processing, especially during machining or grinding when tolerances are important—because heating of work results in changes to the effect of a machining tool. See Duffy, which shows nozzles (50, 50R2 etc.) for this purpose of moving and applying many nozzles to a machining process. In that context, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply multiple directed nozzles to the Gustavsson devices grinder, since doing so would cool and lubricate the work and ensure dimensional tolerancing was superior, as known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the use of grinding tools for the pricewise grinding of a set of teeth simultaneously is known, as set forth most relevantly above with respect to claim 1 and reference Gustavsson. What Gustavsson lacks with respect to claim 12 is the ability or desire to process the tooth grinding in an incomplete step with two different advance distances. In the context of Gustavsson this would change the nature of the operation—not just cutting a profile pattern repeatedly, but processing a portion of the pattern to be completed in a second pass. This is not a simple division into portions, rather this changes the nature of the processing steps and requires specific kinds of patterns or else additional grinding machining tools not envisioned by Gustavsson or the known art.
Claims 4, 6, and 10 each contain additional subject matter which may render the claims patentable, if the underlying indefiniteness is capable of being sufficiently resolved.
Conclusion
SEAN M. MICHALSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3724
/SEAN M MICHALSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724