DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 reads “and within the perimeter of the battery cell, the anode layer, the cathode layer, and the separator positioned within the sealed cavity.” Which appears to be a typo and has been interpreted to read “and within the perimeter of the battery cell, the anode layer, the cathode layer, and the separator are positioned within the sealed cavity”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the battery cell" in claim 1 line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear what the limitation is intended to mean since it can be interpreted in different ways. If the limitation should read “a battery cell”, then the sealed cavity from line 6 reads as within the perimeter of a battery cell that is newly recited. If the limitation should read “the hybrid battery cell enclosure”, then the sealed cavity reads as within the perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure that was previously recited. For the purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted this limitation to read “the hybrid battery cell enclosure” since the specification refers to battery components as being positioned within a hybrid battery cell enclosure [0045].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the limitation directed to “the anode layer, the cathode layer and the separator positioned within a hybrid battery cell enclosure” is indefinite because it is not clear what structure is required by the claim. Specifically, it is not clear whether the “hybrid battery cell enclosure” is a component of the claimed battery cell or if the phrase “positioned within” refers to an intended use of the claimed anode layer, cathode layer, and separator, for example, to the function of positioning/inserting the battery components into the enclosure. The as filed specification and Figures 2, 3, and 4 refer to a battery cell (11) as including battery cell components (50) that are positioned within a hybrid battery cell enclosure (52) [0045]. The battery components (50) include an anode layer (54), a cathode layer (56), and a separator (58) positioned between the anode layer and the cathode layer [0045]. Based on the specifications and above referenced figures, specifically Figure3, the battery cell appears to encompass both the battery cell components and the hybrid battery cell enclosure. Therefore, the battery cell is understood as comprising the hybrid battery cell enclosure, the anode layer, the cathode layer, and the separator and will be treated as such for the purposes of applying prior art. However, the hybrid battery cell enclosure is not positively recited in claims 8 and 16 and does not hold patentable weight. To overcome this rejection the applicant may consider amending claims 8 and 16 to positively recite the hybrid battery cell enclosure as a component of the battery cell.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 15, The limitation “will exhibit more severe expansion/compression…as compared to other materials” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation “will exhibit more severe expansion/compression…as compared to other materials” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Since no definition or examples are given for the degree of expansion, any anode current collector and anode lead tab made from one of silicone or a lithium alloy will be considered to meet this limitation from claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation in line 2 reciting "the hybrid battery cell" is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 previously mentions “a battery cell”, but “a hybrid battery cell” is not mentioned previously in the claim or in any other claims in the instant application. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted this limitation to read “the battery cell”.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation in line 16 reciting "the hybrid battery cell" is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 previously mentions “a battery cell”, but “a hybrid battery cell” is not mentioned previously in the claim or in any other claims in the instant application. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted this limitation to read “the hybrid battery cell enclosure”.
Claims 2-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected based on their dependence on claims 1, 8, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai et. al (US 11094984) and further in view of Zhang et. al (US 20220231360) which was included in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Ai teaches a pouch battery (battery cell) which has a pouch (hybrid battery cell enclosure) that is formed by two or more discrete portions of material sealed together [column 6 lines 42-52]. The sealed portions of edges of the pouch form an inner portion or a pouch interior portion (sealed cavity) [column 6 lines 52-56]. The sealed portions are described as being along a first side, second side, third side, and fourth side of the pouch which are the four sides (perimeter) of a rectangular shaped pouch [column 6 line 56-cloumn 7 line 9, Figure 3]. The sealed edges correspond to the hybrid cell enclosure being bonded together around a perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure. Ai teaches that a cell may be placed inside the pouch interior portion [column 6 lines 52-56]. A cell includes an anode, separator, cathode, and electrolyte which correspond to the claimed components of a battery cell; therefore, the pouch interior portion is adapted to house components of a battery cell which are an anode layer, a cathode layer, and a separator [abstract, lines 6-7]. Ai teaches that the pouch material is made from a trilaminate material (multi-layer aluminum laminate film) [column 3 lines 17-18]. Ai also teaches that the pouch material is made up of an aluminum layer [column 3 lines 20-21].
Ai teaches a cell portion that includes an electrolyte material, a cathode (cathode layer), and an anode (anode layer), where the electrolyte material may be a liquid, gel, solid, or dry polymer electrolyte and may separate the cathode from the anode [column 3, lines 35-39]. Ai teaches that the electrolyte material separates the anode from the cathode, therefore, the taught electrolyte functions as a separator at least in the case where the electrolyte material is a solid [column 3, lines 40-41]. Alternatively, in the case where the electrolyte is a liquid, there must necessarily be an additional separator provided between the anode and the cathode in order to prevent short circuit. While Ai teaches that other metals may be used regarding the aluminum layer, Ai does not explicitly teach that the aluminum layer is an aluminum alloy metal sheet [column 10 lines 4-8].
Zhang teaches that the pouch cell (battery cell) with the composite case (hybrid battery cell enclosure) [0029], where the composite case has a hard metal substrate that can be made of aluminum or its alloy [0027, 0039]. When the composite case substrate is made up of an aluminum alloy the substrate corresponds to the claimed aluminum alloy metal sheet. It is well known in the art that an alloy of aluminum has a higher strength and hardness than pure aluminum. A battery case made out of an aluminum alloy instead of pure aluminum will be more resistant to damage. The motivation to use this type of hard case it to have a battery with high reliability from the protection of the hard case [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai with the teaching of Zhang to create a battery cell with a hybrid battery cell enclosure comprising an aluminum alloy metal sheet; and a multi-layer aluminum laminate film; wherein, the multi-layer aluminum laminate film and the aluminum alloy metal sheet are bonded to one another around a perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure defining a sealed cavity between the multi-layer aluminum laminate film and the aluminum alloy metal sheet and within the perimeter of the battery cell that is adapted to house components of a battery cell which include the anode layer, cathode layer, and separator positioned within the sealed cavity. The purpose of using an aluminum alloy metal sheet is to create a hard case around the battery cell to protect the internal components.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 9-10, Ai further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 8 as described above. Ai further teaches that the trilaminate material (multi-layer aluminum laminate film) is made up of a first layer (inner layer) that may be formed at least partially of polypropylene, a second layer (middle layer) that may be formed at least partially of aluminum, and a third layer (outer layer) that may be formed at least partially of nylon [column 3 lines 18-22]. Since nylon is a plastic material, the three layers of the trilaminate material taught by Ai correspond to the claimed outer layer, middle layer and inner layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film. The polypropylene first layer can be in contact with the electrolyte and can be a thermoplastic material so as to allow impulse sealing of the pouch [column 3 lines 24-28]. Since the first layer may be in contact with the components of the battery cell that are located internally, this layer corresponds to the internal layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film that is bonded to the aluminum alloy metal sheet around the perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure. Ai further teaches that the sealed portions may be heat-sealed or pressure sealed to cause the upper layer (multi-layer aluminum laminate film) of the pouch to bond or seal with a lower layer (aluminum alloy metal sheet) of the pouch [column 7 lines 5-9].
Claims 4-7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai et. al (US 11094984) and Zhang et. al (US 20220231360) as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and further in view of Otsuka (US 20140106201).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Ai further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 9 as described above. Ai and Zhang are silent on having a flange portion that is folded over onto the multilayer aluminum laminate film.
Figure 2 of Otsuka US 20140106201
Otsuka teaches a battery (battery cell) with a laminated body that has a positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator (components of a battery cell) [0016]. The laminated body is contained in an exterior body (hybrid battery cell enclosure) that is made of laminate sheets [0016]. The exterior body is composed of a pair of laminate sheets which are bonded together via thermal welding (heat sealing) [0007]. Figure 2 of Otsuka shows a cross-sectional view of the battery where a pair of laminate sheets labeled as 14(14a, 14b) are stacked to form a housing space for the battery elements [0044]. Figure 2 shows the lower laminate sheet 14a in contact with upper laminate film 14b where 14a is folded over onto 14b and extends at least partially along the perimeter of the exterior body. When the laminate sheets 14a and 14b correspond to the aluminum alloy metal sheet and multi-layer aluminum laminate film respectively, the protruding portion of 14a corresponds to the aluminum alloy metal sheet with a flange portion that is folded over onto the 14b multi-layer laminate film that extends at least partially along the perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure. The motivation to use this folded flange portion is to better secure the laminate sheets of the battery together [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai and Zhang with the teaching of Otsuka to create a battery cell with a hybrid battery cell enclosure with the overlapping flange portion described above. The motivation for this modification is to better secure the battery cell enclosure and have a highly reliable structure.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Ai and Zhang further in view of Otsuka teach all the limitations of claims 4 and 11 as described above. Ai further teaches that pouch batteries are vulnerable to damage from swelling caused by gas [column 2 lines 17-22]. Ai is silent on the use of a vent to prevent swelling in a pouch battery cell.
Zhang teaches that a vent gas direction is designed in a single cell (hybrid battery cell enclosure), so that when the pressure inside the cell is too high the internal pressure may be reduced and excessive heat in the single cell may dissipate by venting the gas outside the single cell [0004].
Otsuka teaches a battery (battery cell) with a laminated body that has a positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator (components of a battery cell) [0016]. The laminated body is contained in an exterior body (hybrid battery cell enclosure) that is made of laminate sheets [0016]. The exterior body is composed of a pair of laminate sheets which are bonded together via thermal welding (heat sealing) [0007] and further bonded together with a supporting member which has a gripping part used to adhere the cell layers together [0047, 0052]. Figures 7 and 8 of Otsuka show how the rectangular exterior body can have two or three sides where the protruding laminate sheets are joined and folded together to seal the exterior body [0070]. The laminate sheets that make up the exterior body correspond to the aluminum alloy metal sheet and multi-layer aluminum laminate film, which when folded together as described previously in claims 4 and 11 correspond to the flange portion that is folded over which is indicated by element 114 in the figures. Figures 7 and 8 of Otsuka also show how the rectangular exterior body can have one or two sides where the laminate sheets are not joined and folded together and are instead joined together using the gripping or adhesive supporting member which is indicated by element 20. Otsuka teaches that the folded laminate sheet portions are present to reinforce the structure of the battery [0062]. The portions where the laminate sheets are not folded together are not reinforced and can allow for battery elements such as the positive electrode lead terminal and the negative electrode lead terminal to be extracted [0060]. This area, which is not reinforced by the folded laminate sheet, provides a direction where gas can escape for the purpose of reliving pressure from gas formation.
Figures 7 and 8 of Otsuka US 20140106201
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai and Zhang with the teaching of Otsuka to create a battery cell with a hybrid battery cell enclosure where the outer perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure does not include a the aluminum alloy metal sheet with flange portion folded over onto the multi-layer aluminum laminate film, such segment defining a vent. The motivation to have a vent is to allow the directed release of gas to alleviate pressure buildup inside the cell.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Ai and Zhang further in view of Otsuka teach all the limitations of claims 4 and 11 as described above. Ai teaches one embodiment of the pouch (hybrid battery cell enclosure) in the pouch battery (battery cell) that is formed by two or more discrete portions of material sealed together [column 6 lines 49-52]. In this embodiment, the two layers are designated as the upper layer of the pouch and lower layer of the pouch [column 7 lines 5-9]. Figure 3 of Ai shows the upper layer as element 364 and the lower layer as element 366.
Figures 3 of Ai US 11094984
Ai teaches that both upper and lower layers contain an aluminum layer [Figure 3 of Ai] and that either one of or both the upper layer and lower layers are in electrical communication with the cathode [column 8 lines 49-52]. This connection point may be an electrically conductive foam, a clip, a punch pin, a snap, a solder wire, a solder bump/pad, and/or other embedded electrical connectivity components [column 8 lines 41-45]. The aluminum layer of the upper layer corresponds to the middle layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film, and when the aluminum layer of the lower layer is modified with the teachings of Zhang to include an aluminum alloy, the it corresponds to the aluminum alloy metal sheet. The embedded electrical connectivity components correspond to a protruding element. Since Ai teaches both of the aluminum layers of the upper layer and lower layer are in electrical communication with the cathode then the upper layer and lower layer must be in electrical communication with each other. Ai further teaches that the purpose of having the aluminum layers in contact with the cathode is to impart a voltage potential to the aluminum layers so as to prevent the corrosion of the aluminum layers and prevent swelling or expansion of the pouch battery [column 4 lines 10-23]. Since the aluminum layers are coated in an inner polypropylene layer the protruding element must necessarily extent through the polypropylene layer to contact a different element of the battery before creating electrical connectivity.
While Ai does not explicitly teach that the aluminum layers of the upper layer and lower layer are connected to each other through a protruding element, Ai does teach that the two layers and the cathode are in electrical communication. Therefore, there is a limited number of solutions in how to interconnect the three components using known techniques that all lead to the same result of creating an electrical circuit between the above-described components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai, Zhang, and Otsuka to create a battery cell with a hybrid battery cell enclosure wherein the aluminum alloy metal sheet includes a first protruding element extending through the inner PP layer and into the middle layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film, creating an electrical circuit between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the middle layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film. The motivation to connect the layer is to be able to connect them to the cathode layer and prevent erosion and degradation of the hybrid battery cell enclosure.
Regarding claim 7, Ai and Zhang further in view of Otsuka teach all the limitations of claim 6 as described above. Ai further teaches that the cathode of the pouch battery may be in electrical communication with the aluminum layer (aluminum alloy metal sheet) [column 5 line 49-51]. The electrical connection component that Ai teaches can be a clip, a wire, a solder join, a staple, or a weld [column 5 line 56-60]. This electrical connection component corresponds to the second protruding element. The phrase “adapted to” does not limit the claim scope since it suggests or makes optional but does not limit the claim to a particular structure. See MPEP 2111.04(I). Since the second protruding element is capable of contacting the cathode and creating an electrical circuit between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the cathode, the teachings of Ai read on the limitation of “adapted to contact a cathode lead tab of a battery cell housed within the hybrid battery cell enclosure and create a high resistance electrical circuit between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the cathode lead tab.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai et. al (US 11094984), Zhang et. al (US 20220231360), and Otsuka (US 20140106201) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Park et. al (US 20190013509).
Regarding claim 14, Ai and Zhang further in view of Otsuka teach all the limitations of claim 13 as described above. Ai further teaches that the cathode of the pouch battery may be in electrical communication with the aluminum layer (aluminum alloy metal sheet) [column 5 line 49-51]. The electrical connection component that Ai teaches can be a clip, a wire, a solder join, a staple, or a weld [column 5 line 56-60]. This electrical connection component corresponds to the second protruding element. The phrase “adapted to” does not limit the claim scope since it suggests or makes optional but does not limit the claim to a particular structure. See MPEP 2111.04(I). Since the second protruding element is capable of contacting the cathode and creating a high resistance electrical circuit between the elements the teachings of Ai read on the limitation of “adapted to contact a cathode lead tab of a battery cell housed within the hybrid battery cell enclosure and create a high resistance electrical circuit between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the cathode lead tab.”
Ai teaches that the pouch battery (battery cell) includes one or more cathodes and one of more anodes which can be at least partially positioned at least partially within the pouch (sealed cavity) [column 3 lines 35-44]. Figure 1 of Ai shows how the cathode and anode represented by elements, 140 and 142, are extending outside the pouch. Ai, Zhang, and Otsuka do not teach what material the anode lead tab or cathode lead tab film comprise.
Park teaches a pouch-shaped secondary battery (battery cell) with a pouch shaped battery case (hybrid battery cell enclosure) made of laminate sheets that are sealed (sealed cavity) and that contains a positive electrode (cathode layer), negative electrode (anode layer), and separator with the separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0016]. The positive electrode and negative electrode each have an active material applied to a positive electrode current collector and to a negative current collector which corresponds to a cathode current collector adjacent the cathode layer and an anode current collector adjacent the anode layer [0037]. Park teaches electrode leads connected together with electrode tabs and a lead box, the combination of which extend out of the battery case [0016, 0060]. The electrode lead, electrode tabs, and lead box comprise the claimed anode lead tab and cathode lead tab since they are described as coupled to the positive and negative electrodes. The electrode lead extending out of the battery case must then necessarily extend between the laminate sheets of the battery case which correspond to the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the multilayer aluminum laminate film. Park teaches that the electrode lead is made of a material that may include a conductive agent which includes carbon black [0050]. The motivation to use carbon black is to serve as a conductive agent and increase the conductivity of the electrode lead [0049]. Since the electrode lead is part of the cathode lead tab, the inclusion of carbon black in the electrode lead reads on the claimed cathode lead film including carbon black and on the claimed anode lead tab comprising carbon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai, Zhang, and Otsuka with the teachings of Park to create a battery cell with an anode current collector adjacent the anode layer and including an anode lead tab comprising one of graphite, carbon, silicone, tin, lithium or aluminum and extending between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the multi-layer aluminum laminate film out of the sealed cavity; a cathode current collector adjacent the cathode layer and including a cathode lead tab extending between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the multi-layer aluminum laminate film out of the sealed cavity, the cathode lead tab including a cathode lead tab film including one of carbon black or conductive thermally stable polymer beads; and the aluminum alloy metal sheet includes a second protruding element adapted to contact the cathode lead tab and creating a high resistance electrical circuit between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the cathode lead tab. The motivation to use carbon black with the anode and cathode lead tabs is to improve the conductivity of these battery components.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai et. al (US 11094984), Zhang et. al (US 20220231360), Otsuka (US 20140106201), and Park et. al (US 20190013509) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ionescu et. al (US 20220263082).
Regarding claim 15, Ai, Zhang, and Otsuka further in view of Park teach all the limitations of claim 14 as described above. Park does not teach that the anode is made from silicone or a lithium alloy.
Ionescu teaches a battery that can be a pouch cell (battery cell) [0022], with a housing (hybrid battery cell enclosure) that function to enclose the electrodes, electrolyte, separator, and collector [0081]. This enclosure corresponds to the sealed cavity that houses the anode layer, cathode layer, and separator. Ionescu teaches that the anode is made in part of silicone [0047]. The motivation to use silicone in the anode current collector and anode lead tab is to reduce the expansion of these elements and prevent degradation of the battery after repeated cycles [0016]. Regarding the limitation “wherein the anode current collector and the anode lead tab will exhibit more severe expansion/compression during charging and discharging as compared to other materials, such as graphite.”, any anode current collector or anode lead tab made from one of silicone or a lithium alloy is considered to meet the above limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery taught by Ai, Zhang, Otsuka and Park with the teachings of Ionescu to include anode current collector and anode lead tab made form silicone. The motivation to use silicone for these components is to prevent damage to the battery over repeated cycling by reducing the expansion.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai et. al (US 11094984) and Zhang et. al (US 20220231360) further in view of Park et. al (US 20190013509).
Regarding claim 16, Ai teaches a pouch battery (battery cell) which has a pouch (hybrid battery cell enclosure) that is formed by two or more discrete portions of material sealed together [column 6 lines 42-52]. The sealed portions of edges of the pouch form an inner portion or a pouch interior portion (sealed cavity) [column 6 lines 52-56]. The sealed portions are described as being along a first side, second side, third side, and fourth side of the pouch which are the four sides (perimeter) of a rectangular shaped pouch [column 6 line 56-cloumn 7 line 9, Figure 3]. The sealed edges correspond to the hybrid cell enclosure being bonded together around a perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure. Ai teaches that a cell may be placed inside the pouch interior portion [column 6 lines 52-56]. A cell includes an anode, separator, cathode, and electrolyte which correspond to the claimed components of a battery cell; therefore, the pouch interior portion is adapted to house components of a battery cell which are an anode layer, a cathode layer, and a separator [abstract, lines 6-7]. Ai teaches that the pouch material is made from a trilaminate material (multi-layer aluminum laminate film) [column 3 lines 17-18]. Ai also teaches that the pouch material is made up of an aluminum layer [column 3 lines 20-21].
Ai teaches a cell portion that includes an electrolyte material, a cathode (cathode layer), and an anode (anode layer), where the electrolyte material may be a liquid, gel, solid, or dry polymer electrolyte and may separate the cathode from the anode [column 3, lines 35-39]. Ai teaches that the electrolyte material separates the anode from the cathode, therefore, the taught electrolyte functions as a separator at least in the case where the electrolyte material is a solid [column 3, lines 40-41]. Alternatively, in the case where the electrolyte is a liquid, there must necessarily be an additional separator provided between the anode and the cathode in order to prevent short circuit. Ai does not explicitly teach that the pouch battery can be used in a vehicle. While Ai teaches that other metals may be used regarding the aluminum layer, Ai does not explicitly teach that the aluminum layer is an aluminum alloy metal sheet [column 10 lines 4-8].
Zhang teaches that the pouch cell (battery cell) with the composite case (hybrid battery cell enclosure) [0029], where the composite case has a hard metal substrate that can be made of aluminum or its alloy [0027, 0039]. When the composite case substrate is made up of an aluminum alloy the substrate corresponds to the claimed aluminum alloy metal sheet. It is well known in the art that an alloy of aluminum has a higher strength and hardness than pure aluminum. A battery case made out of an aluminum alloy instead of pure aluminum will be more resistant to damage. The motivation to use this type of hard case it to have a battery with high reliability from the protection of the hard case [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai with the teaching of Zhang to create a vehicle with a battery cell with a hybrid battery cell enclosure comprising an aluminum alloy metal sheet; and a multi-layer aluminum laminate film; wherein, the multi-layer aluminum laminate film and the aluminum alloy metal sheet are bonded to one another around a perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure defining a sealed cavity between the multi-layer aluminum laminate film and the aluminum alloy metal sheet and within the perimeter of the battery cell that is adapted to house components of a battery cell which include the anode layer, cathode layer, and separator positioned within the sealed cavity. The purpose of using an aluminum alloy metal sheet is to create a hard case around the battery cell to protect the internal components.
Ai further teaches that the trilaminate material (multi-layer aluminum laminate film) is made up of a first layer (inner layer) that may be formed at least partially of polypropylene, a second layer (middle layer) that may be formed at least partially of aluminum, and a third layer (outer layer) that may be formed at least partially of nylon [column 3 lines 18-22]. Since nylon is a plastic material, the three layers of the trilaminate material taught by Ai correspond to the claimed outer layer, middle layer and inner layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film.
Ai teaches that the pouch battery (battery cell) includes one or more cathodes and one of more anodes which can be at least partially positioned at least partially within the pouch (sealed cavity) [column 3 lines 35-44]. Figure 1 of Ai shows how the cathode and anode represented by elements, 140 and 142, are extending outside the pouch. Ai and Zhang do not teach what material comprises the anode lead tab.
Park teaches a pouch-shaped secondary battery (battery cell) with a pouch shaped battery case (hybrid battery cell enclosure) made of laminate sheets that are sealed (sealed cavity) and that contains a positive electrode (cathode layer), negative electrode (anode layer), and separator with the separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0016]. The positive electrode and negative electrode each have an active material applied to a positive electrode current collector and to a negative current collector which corresponds to a cathode current collector adjacent the cathode layer and an anode current collector adjacent the anode layer [0037]. Park teaches electrode leads connected together with electrode tabs and a lead box, the combination of which extend out of the battery case [0016, 0060]. The electrode lead, electrode tabs, and lead box comprise the claimed anode lead tab and cathode lead tab since they are described as coupled to the positive and negative electrodes. The electrode lead extending out of the battery case must then necessarily extend between the laminate sheets of the battery case which correspond to the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the multilayer aluminum laminate film. Park teaches that the electrode lead is made of a material that may include a conductive agent which includes carbon black [0050]. The motivation to use carbon black is to serve as a conductive agent and increase the conductivity of the electrode lead [0049]. Since the electrode lead is part of the cathode lead tab, the inclusion of carbon black in the electrode lead reads on the claimed anode lead tab comprising carbon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai and Zhang with the teachings of Park to use a carbon black material in the anode lead tab. The motivation to use carbon black with the anode lead tab is to improve the conductivity of this battery component.
Regarding claim 17, Ai, Zhang, and Park teach all the limitations of claim 16 above. Ai further teaches that the trilaminate material (multi-layer aluminum laminate film) is made up of a first layer (inner layer) that may be formed at least partially of polypropylene, a second layer (middle layer) that may be formed at least partially of aluminum, and a third layer (outer layer) that may be formed at least partially of nylon [column 3 lines 18-22] The polypropylene first layer can be in contact with the electrolyte and can be a thermoplastic material so as to allow impulse sealing of the pouch [column 3 lines 24-28]. Since the first layer may be in contact with the components of the battery cell that are located internally, this layer corresponds to the internal layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film that is bonded to the aluminum alloy metal sheet around the perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure. Ai further teaches that the sealed portions may be heat-sealed or pressure sealed to cause the upper layer (multi-layer aluminum laminate film) of the pouch to bond or seal with a lower layer (aluminum alloy metal sheet) of the pouch [column 7 lines 5-9].
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai et. al (US 11094984), Zhang et. al (US 20220231360),and Park et. al (US 20190013509) as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Otsuka (US 20140106201).
Regarding claim 18, Ai, Zhang, and Park teach all the limitations of claim 16 above. Ai and Zhang are silent on having a flange portion that is folded over onto the multilayer aluminum laminate film.
Figure 2 of Otsuka US 20140106201
Otsuka teaches a battery (battery cell) with a laminated body that has a positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator (components of a battery cell) [0016]. The laminated body is contained in an exterior body (hybrid battery cell enclosure) that is made of laminate sheets [0016]. The exterior body is composed of a pair of laminate sheets which are bonded together via thermal welding (heat sealing) [0007]. Figure 2 of Otsuka shows a cross-sectional view of the battery where a pair of laminate sheets labeled as 14(14a, 14b) are stacked to form a housing space for the battery elements [0044]. Figure 2 shows the lower laminate sheet 14a in contact with upper laminate film 14b where 14a is folded over onto 14b and extends at least partially along the perimeter of the exterior body. When the laminate sheets 14a and 14b correspond to the aluminum alloy metal sheet and multi-layer aluminum laminate film respectively, the protruding portion of 14a corresponds to the aluminum alloy metal sheet with a flange portion that is folded over onto the 14b multi-layer laminate film that extends at least partially along the perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure. The motivation to use this folded flange portion is to better secure the laminate sheets of the battery together [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai and Zhang with the teaching of Otsuka to create a battery cell in a vehicle with a hybrid battery cell enclosure with the overlapping flange portion described above. The motivation for this modification is to better secure the battery cell enclosure and have a highly reliable structure.
Ai further teaches that pouch batteries are vulnerable to damage from swelling caused by gas [column 2 lines 17-22]. Ai is silent on the use of a vent to prevent swelling in a pouch battery cell.
Zhang teaches that a vent gas direction is designed in a single cell (hybrid battery cell enclosure), so that when the pressure inside the cell is too high the internal pressure may be reduced and excessive heat in the single cell may dissipate by venting the gas outside the single cell [0004].
Otsuka teaches a battery (battery cell) with a laminated body that has a positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator (components of a battery cell) [0016]. The laminated body is contained in an exterior body (hybrid battery cell enclosure) that is made of laminate sheets [0016]. The exterior body is composed of a pair of laminate sheets which are bonded together via thermal welding (heat sealing) [0007] and further bonded together with a supporting member which has a gripping part used to adhere the cell layers together [0047, 0052]. Figures 7 and 8 of Otsuka show how the rectangular exterior body can have two or three sides where the protruding laminate sheets are joined and folded together to seal the exterior body [0070]. The laminate sheets that make up the exterior body correspond to the aluminum alloy metal sheet and multi-layer aluminum laminate film, which when folded together as described previously in claims 4 and 11 correspond to the flange portion that is folded over which is indicated by element 114 in the figures. Figures 7 and 8 of Otsuka also show how the rectangular exterior body can have one or two sides where the laminate sheets are not joined and folded together and are instead joined together using the gripping or adhesive supporting member which is indicated by element 20. Otsuka teaches that the folded laminate sheet portions are present to reinforce the structure of the battery [0062]. The portions where the laminate sheets are not folded together are not reinforced and can allow for battery elements such as the positive electrode lead terminal and the negative electrode lead terminal to be extracted [0060]. This area, which is not reinforced by the folded laminate sheet, provides a direction where gas can escape for the purpose of reliving pressure from gas formation.
Figures 7 and 8 of Otsuka US 20140106201
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai, Zhang, and Park with the teaching of Otsuka to create a battery cell in a vehicle with a hybrid battery cell enclosure where the outer perimeter of the hybrid battery cell enclosure does not include a the aluminum alloy metal sheet with flange portion folded over onto the multi-layer aluminum laminate film, such segment defining a vent. The motivation to have a vent is to allow the directed release of gas to alleviate pressure buildup inside the cell.
Regarding claim 19, Ai, Zhang, Park, and Otsuka teach all the limitations of claim 18 above. Ai teaches one embodiment of the pouch (hybrid battery cell enclosure) in the pouch battery (battery cell) that is formed by two or more discrete portions of material sealed together [column 6 lines 49-52]. In this embodiment, the two layers are designated as the upper layer of the pouch and lower layer of the pouch [column 7 lines 5-9]. Figure 3 of Ai shows the upper layer as element 364 and the lower layer as element 366.
Figures 3 of Ai US 11094984
Ai teaches that both upper and lower layers contain an aluminum layer [Figure 3 of Ai] and that either one of or both the upper layer and lower layers are in electrical communication with the cathode [column 8 lines 49-52]. This connection point may be an electrically conductive foam, a clip, a punch pin, a snap, a solder wire, a solder bump/pad, and/or other embedded electrical connectivity components [column 8 lines 41-45]. The aluminum layer of the upper layer corresponds to the middle layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film, and when the aluminum layer of the lower layer is modified with the teachings of Zhang to include an aluminum alloy, the it corresponds to the aluminum alloy metal sheet. The embedded electrical connectivity components correspond to a protruding element. Since Ai teaches both of the aluminum layers of the upper layer and lower layer are in electrical communication with the cathode then the upper layer and lower layer must be in electrical communication with each other. Ai further teaches that the purpose of having the aluminum layers in contact with the cathode is to impart a voltage potential to the aluminum layers so as to prevent the corrosion of the aluminum layers and prevent swelling or expansion of the pouch battery [column 4 lines 10-23]. Since the aluminum layers are coated in an inner polypropylene layer the protruding element must necessarily extent through the polypropylene layer to contact a different element of the battery before creating electrical connectivity.
While Ai does not explicitly teach that the aluminum layers of the upper layer and lower layer are connected to each other through a protruding element, Ai does teach that the two layers and the cathode are in electrical communication. Therefore, there is a limited number of solutions in how to interconnect the three components using known techniques that all lead to the same result of creating an electrical circuit between the above-described components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pouch taught by Ai, Zhang, Park, and Otsuka to create a battery cell in a vehicle with a hybrid battery cell enclosure wherein the aluminum alloy metal sheet includes a first protruding element extending through the inner PP layer and into the middle layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film, creating an electrical circuit between the aluminum alloy metal sheet and the middle layer of the multi-layer aluminum laminate film. The motivation to connect the layer is to be able to connect them to the cathode layer and prevent erosion and degradation of the hybrid battery cell enclosure.
Regarding claim 20, Ai, Zhang, Park, and Otsuka teach all the limitations of claim 19 above. Ai further teaches that the cathode of the pouch battery in the vehicle may be in electrical communication with the aluminum layer (aluminum alloy metal sheet) [column 5 line 49-51]. The electrical connection component that Ai teaches can be a clip, a wire, a solder join, a staple, or a weld [column 5 line 56-60]. This electrical connection component corresponds to the second protruding element. The phrase “adapted to” does not limit the claim scope since it suggests or makes optional but does not limit the claim to a particular structure. See MPEP 2111.04(I). Since the second protruding element is capable of contacting the cathode, the teachings of Ai read on the limitation of “adapted to contact the cathode lead tab.”
Conclusion
/N.R.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785