DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanishi (US 2021/0401393), and further in view of Sabol et al. (US 2011/0013220) hereinafter known as Sabol.
With regards to claim 1, 13-14, Kawanishi discloses X-ray imaging system and control method [0001] capable of performing X-ray imaging by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry and general imaging, the X-ray imaging system ([0002]; FIG. 1) comprising:
an radiation generation units/apparatuses ([0027]; radiation generation units/ apparatuses; 114A) capable of individually emitting a plurality of radiations having different energies ([0044]; “…a plurality of substances (e.g., soft tissue and bone tissue) that form an object using a plurality of radiation images obtained by different radiation energies…”), and
the hardware processor (control unit 211) of calibration controls the execution or execution of image processing [0072] of the dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry [0002] is performed or when capturing of the calibration image is determined to be necessary [0072].
Kawanishi discloses a Radiology Information Systems (RIS), Picture Archiving and Communication Systems (PACS), Hospital Information Systems (HIS) and further discloses a network 120 that can transmit/receive radiation images, patient information, and the like [0028]. Also, the reference teaches of a portable radiation generation unit [0030]. Also, the reference discloses a display unit 112 that displays imaging examination information, imaged radiation images, various kinds of information, and the like [0029]. Finally, the reference teaches of a status obtaining unit that obtains as current operation information of the radiation imaging system [0085]. Finally, the reference teaches of a storage unit 215 that stores setting information relating to an operation log of the radiation imaging system [0042].
Kawanishi do not specifically disclose;
an X-ray emitter
a portable X-ray detector that captures an X-ray image based on an X-ray emitted by the X-ray emitter;
a hardware processor that provides, under a predetermined condition, a first notification related to capturing of a calibration image by the X-ray detector.
Sabol discloses systems and methods discloses for managing autonomous detector and imager subsystems communicating as nodes on a network (Abstract). Sabol discloses a portable digital detector ([0028]; FIG. 2; 22) that may operate autonomously from a radiation source 12, such as an X-ray tube [0027][0064]. Sabol further teaches of a detector subsystem 32 that includes diagnostic circuitry which can determine an operational status of the said detector subsystem 32. During examination procedure, the detector subsystem 32 notifies the application server, via the network interconnection 102, the operation status of the subsystem. The operational status can be information of an exposure event may be prevented during an examination when the detector subsystem 32 is not ready and/or capable of functioning properly [0047][0066]. Further, the imager subsystem 30 and detector subsystem 32, the application server 62 may be utilized for dual-energy imaging [0045][0057] and for obtaining calibration data [0045][0064].
In view of Sabol, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art to modify the dual-energy X-ray imaging system’s network and communication units, of Kawanishi, with a portable x-ray detector and an application server capable of transmitting notifications relating to the operational status of the imaging system. The motivation is to gain a mobile x-ray detector utilizing network communication servers/processors that can transmit notification messages relating to the operation status of the imaging system and information on whether the detector is not ready and/or capable of functioning properly based on obtained calibration images/data.
With regards to claim 2, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, discloses the X-ray imaging system according to claim 1, wherein the calibration image is an image captured by the X-ray detector in a state in which no subject is present between the X-ray emitter and the X-ray detector. (Kawanishi; [0093]; “…calibration is executed prior to imaging for bone mineral amount measurement and the pixel value of the calibration image and the pixel value of the preset reference image are compared.”) (Kawanishi; [0072]; “The control unit 211, based on comparison of the difference between the pixel value of the calibration image and the pixel value of the reference image and the threshold range set for determining whether the temperature state of the radiation tube is stable, controls continuation of calibration execution or execution of image processing for obtaining the amount of substance that forms the object using a plurality of radiation images”)
With regards to claim 3, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, discloses the X-ray imaging system according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor determines whether or not capturing of the calibration image is necessary, based on a change in a state of the X-ray emitter (Kawanishi; [0061][0063][0072] in view of the claim 1 rejection)
With regards to claim 4, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, discloses the X-ray imaging system according to claim 3, wherein the change in the state is a change in a period from previous capturing of the calibration image to capturing of a subject image. (Kawanishi; [0085]; The status obtaining unit 216 obtains the operation duration of the radiation imaging system 100 as a duration,…”; [0086])
With regards to claim 5, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, discloses the X-ray imaging system according to claim 3, wherein the change in the state is a change in a distance between the X-ray emitter and the X-ray detector. (Sabol; [0064]; “Example of properties of the imager subsystems 30 that may be maintained in the list 182 of imager subsystem properties include, but are not limited to, does the source, e.g., X-ray tube, … does the source translate … to enable tomosynthesis acquisitions,…”)
With regards to claim 7, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, disclose the X-ray imaging system according to claim 3, wherein, when the hardware processor determines that capturing of the calibration image is not necessary, the hardware processor does not provide the first notification. (see the rejection of claim 1)
With regards to claim 8, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, disclose the X-ray imaging system according to claim 1, wherein an association between capturing of the calibration image and capturing of a subject image is changeable. (Kawanishi; [0073])
With regards to claim 9, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, disclose the X-ray imaging system according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor causes a notifier provided in an X-ray imaging controller that controls X-ray imaging and/or an imaging stand to execute the first notification. (see the rejection of claim 1)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 6, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, do not disclose the X-ray imaging system according to claim 3, wherein the change in the state is attachment or detachment of the X-ray detector to or from an imaging stand.
With regards to claim 10, Kawanishi, in view of Sabol, do not disclose the X-ray imaging system according to claim 1 wherein
the hardware processor determines whether a subject is present on an imaging stand, and
the hardware processor further provides a second notification that the subject is present on the imaging stand when the subject is present on the imaging stand at a time of capturing the calibration image.
Claims 11-12 are objected due to dependency on objected base claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Millioni De Carvalho et al. (US 2021/0259649)
Akahori (US 2014/0119500)
Kelly et al. (US 2022/0225957)
Kuwabara et al. (US 2014/0211922)
Highnam et al. (US 2012/0189175)
Haase et al. (US 2021/0153836)
/HUGH MAUPIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884