DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 6/25/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no search burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different groups/subgroups or electronic resources, or employing different search queries). Further, the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanchfield et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0115870) in view of Schoch (WO 2016/062673, see machine translated version) and Tovani et al. (US Patent No. 5,827,022).
Regarding claim 1, Stanchfield et al. teach an aircraft floor assembly for use with an aircraft subfloor (page 1, paragraph [0010], page 11, paragraph [0143]), the aircraft floor assembly comprising an underlayment layer disposed on top of the aircraft subfloor (page 1, paragraph [0014]); the underlayment layer comprising an adhesive configured to adhere to the aircraft subfloor (page 3, paragraph [0062]); and a decorative layer on top of the underlayment layer (page 1, paragraph [0014], page 3, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Stanchfield et al. fail to teach wherein the underlayment layer comprises a first magnetically responsive material and the decorative layer comprising a second magnetically responsive material configured to couple the decorative layer to the underlayment layer. However, Schoch teaches a floor assembly (paragraph [0002]) comprising an underlayment magnetic layer including a first magnetically responsive material (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), wherein a second magnetically responsive layer is coupled to the first magnetically responsive layer (paragraphs [0005], [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the magnetic layers of Schoch in the underlayment layer and decorative layer of Stanchfield et al. in order to make it possible to exchange different floor coverings (Schoch, paragraph [0005]).
Stanchfield et al. fail to teach wherein the underlayment layer is cut to dimensions of the aircraft subfloor to allow access to compartments below the aircraft subfloor. However, Tovani et al. teach an aircraft floor assembly (col. 1, lines 5-10, 35-60) comprising an underlayment layer that is removable to provide access to a region underneath the aircraft subfloor (col. 2, lines 27-45).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subfloor of Tovani et al. in the floor assembly of Stanchfield et al. in order to provide a lightweight and durable aircraft interior (Tovani et al., col. 1, lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 2, Stanchfield et al. teach wherein the decorative layer is selectively removable to provide access to the underlayment layer (page 1, paragraph [0014], page 3, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Stanchfield et al. fail to teach wherein the assembly further comprises an underlayment sublayer provided between the first magnetically responsive material and the decorative layer. However, Schoch teaches a floor assembly (paragraph [0002]) comprising an underlayment magnetic layer including a first magnetically responsive material (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), wherein a second magnetically responsive layer is coupled to the first magnetically responsive layer (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), wherein the assembly comprises an underlayment sublayer (paragraphs [0005], [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the underlayment sublayer of Schoch in the assembly of Stanchfield et al. in order to make it possible to exchange different floor coverings (Schoch, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Stanchfield et al. teach wherein the underlayment layer comprises a closed cell board (page 10, paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 5, Stanchfield et al. fail to teach wherein the underlayment sublayer is configured to couple to the decorative layer by magnetic attraction. However, Schoch teaches a floor assembly (paragraph [0002]) comprising an underlayment magnetic layer including a first magnetically responsive material (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), wherein a second magnetically responsive layer is coupled to the first magnetically responsive layer (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), wherein the assembly comprises an underlayment sublayer (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), wherein the underlayment sublayer is configured to couple to another layer by magnetic attraction (paragraphs [0005], [0006])
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to magnetically couple the decorative layer of Stanchfield et al. to the underlayment sublayer of Schoch in order to make it possible to exchange different floor coverings (Schoch, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Stanchfield et al. do not disclose wherein the decorative layer comprises a decorative material providing at least at least a 0.45 coefficient of friction. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in coefficient of friction involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the coefficient of friction of Stanchfield et al. in order to reduce cost (Stanchfield et al., page 1, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Stanchfield et al. do not disclose wherein a thickness of the decorative layer is between 0.45 inches and 0.85 inches. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in thickness involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the thickness of the decorative layer of Stanchfield et al. in order to provide for different finished floor thicknesses (Stanchfield et al., page 9, paragraph [0127]).
Regarding claim 8, Stanchfield et al. teach an aircraft floor assembly for use with an aircraft subfloor (page 1, paragraph [0010], page 11, paragraph [0143]), the aircraft floor assembly comprising an underlayment layer disposed on top of the aircraft subfloor (page 1, paragraph [0014]); and a decorative layer on top of the underlayment layer (page 1, paragraph [0014], page 3, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Stanchfield et al. fail to teach wherein the underlayment layer comprises a first magnetically responsive material; an underlayment sublayer and the decorative layer comprising a second magnetically responsive material configured to couple the decorative layer to the underlayment layer. However, Schoch teaches a floor assembly (paragraph [0002]) comprising an underlayment magnetic layer including a first magnetically responsive material (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), an underlayment sublayer (paragraphs [0005], [0006]), wherein a second magnetically responsive layer is coupled to the first magnetically responsive layer (paragraphs [0005], [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the magnetic layers of Schoch in the underlayment layer and decorative layer of Stanchfield et al. in order to make it possible to exchange different floor coverings (Schoch, paragraph [0005]).
Stanchfield et al. fail to teach wherein the underlayment layer is cut to dimensions of the aircraft subfloor to allow access to compartments below the aircraft subfloor. However, Tovani et al. teach an aircraft floor assembly (col. 1, lines 5-10, 35-60) comprising an underlayment layer that is removable to provide access to a region underneath the aircraft subfloor (col. 2, lines 27-45).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subfloor of Tovani et al. in the floor assembly of Stanchfield et al. in order to provide a lightweight and durable aircraft interior (Tovani et al., col. 1, lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 9, Stanchfield et al. teach wherein the decorative layer is selectively removable to provide access to the underlayment layer (page 1, paragraph [0014], page 3, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Stanchfield et al. teach wherein the underlayment layer comprises a closed cell board (page 10, paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 11, Stanchfield et al. do not disclose wherein a combined weight of the underlayment layer and the decorative layer is less than three pounds per square foot. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in weight involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the weight of the underlayment layer and the decorative layer of Stanchfield et al. in order to reduce cost (Stanchfield et al., page 1, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Stanchfield et al. do not disclose wherein the decorative layer comprises a decorative material providing at least at least a 0.45 coefficient of friction. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in coefficient of friction involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the coefficient of friction of Stanchfield et al. in order to reduce cost (Stanchfield et al., page 1, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, Stanchfield et al. do not disclose wherein a thickness of the decorative layer is between 0.45 inches and 0.85 inches. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in thickness involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the thickness of the decorative layer of Stanchfield et al. in order to provide for different finished floor thicknesses (Stanchfield et al., page 9, paragraph [0127]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 7/24/2026