DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s submission for RCE filed on 04/07/2026 has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 8 and 15. Currently claims 1-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have all been amended to recite, “transmitting a first alert to the NFT creator or rights holder indicating completion of the minting process, wherein the first alert is further transmitted to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions”. Please note that specification discloses sending an alert to the NFT creator or rights holder indicating completion of the minting process (See, Paragraph 0014, “upon completion of the minting process, initiating, via the digital vault, one or more payment transactions to accounts associated with one or more user devices associated with the media content or the NFT in accordance with royalty percentages of the media content; and transmitting an alert to the NFT creator and rights holder associated with the one or more payment transactions to the accounts” and also discloses transmitting an alert to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions (See, Paragraph 00297, “In some examples, based on data stored with the blockchain or the completion of the minting process, the digital vault may transmit a first alert of the completion of the minting process. The first alert may be transmitted to a third party system”). There is no disclosure that establishes that the alert that is sent to the NFT creator or right holder is the same as the “first alert” that is sent to the third party. Correction/Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vijayan (US 2020/0005284 A1), hereinafter, “Vijayan” in view of Caldwell (US 2019/0220836 A1), hereinafter, “Caldwell” and further in view of Robotham (US 2021/0150626 A1), hereinafter, “Robotham” and Nagel (US 2013/0238474 A1), hereinafter, “Nagel”.
Regarding Claim 1, Vijayan discloses a method for initiating a royalty percentage calculation with a minting process of a non-fungible token (NFT) associated with media content, the method comprising:
identifying, via a digital vault, the media content stored and accessible through the digital vault in a request from an NFT creator to utilize the media content in the NFT (See, Paragraphs 0090, 0009 and 0023);
initiating the minting process with the media content that converts digital data associated with the media content into digital assets recorded on a blockchain (See, Paragraph 0065);
in response to the minting process, initiating, via the digital vault, one or more payment transactions to accounts associated with one or more user devices associated with the media content or the NFT in accordance with royalty
Vijayan fails to disclose the royalty percentages of the media content and transmitting a first alert to the NFT creator or right holder indicating completion of the minting process, wherein the first alert is further transmitted to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions and transmitting a second alert to the NFT creator or rights holder associated with the one or more payment transactions to the accounts after transmission of the first alert.
Caldwell discloses a system wherein third-party system initiate payment transactions (See, Paragraphs 0056 and 0071) and royalties are calculated in percentages (See, Paragraph 0054 and 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have, the transactions in the system of Vijayan, to be initiated by third party system in order to support selling and buying of NFTs on multiple third party platforms which would greatly increases the reach of the artists and the content and to calculate the royalties in percentages as taught by Caldwell because calculating in percentages would provide easy to implement solution and would compensate all the stakeholders automatically without any further negotiation of the compensation required in case of the price changes of the NFTs.
Robotham discloses transmitting a first alert to NFT creator or right holder indicating completion of a minting process (See, Paragraph 0098), wherein the first alert is further transmitted to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions (See, Paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0098 and 0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, in the system of Vijayan and Caldwell, a first alert to NFT creator or right holder indicating completion of a minting process), wherein the first alert is further transmitted to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions as taught by Robotham so that the originating organization or alternatively the designated recipient organization is able to calculate the entitlement amount and (in the withholding tax use case) the applicable withholding tax allocated to that non-fungible token based on information supplied by the non-fungible token such as the amount of equivalent fungible tokens (e.g. number of shares held by the account in a security), the country of residence supplied in the non-fungible token, tax treaty category supplied in the non-fungible token, and any other information supplied in the non-fungible token related to calculating the entitlement and any associated tax (e.g., withholding tax) (See, Robotham, Paragraph 0098).
Nagel discloses transmitting an alert to all parties related to content payments transactions to the accounts (See, Abstract and Paragraph 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, in the system of Vijayan, an alert to all parties related to content payments transactions to the accounts as taught by Nagel including the NFT creator and rights holder associated with the one or more payment transactions because this “saves the distributor time, promotes accuracy and ensures royalty contract compliance” (See, Nagel, Paragraph 0020). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to transfer the second alert in the combination after the first alert because NFT is created prior to the processing of payment related to a sell of such NFT’s in the marketplace.
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, Vijayan discloses a digital vault computer system for initiating a royalty percentage calculation with a minting process of a non-fungible token (NFT) associated with media content, the digital vault computer system comprising:
a memory (See, Paragraph 0117); and
one or more processors (See, Paragraph 0117) that are configured to execute machine readable instructions stored in the memory for performing a method comprising:
identifying the media content stored and accessible through the digital vault in a request from an NFT creator to utilize the media content in the NFT (See, Paragraphs 0090, 0009 and 0023);
initiating the minting process with the media content that converts digital data associated with the media content into digital assets recorded on a blockchain (See, Paragraph 0065);
to accounts associated with one or more user devices associated with the media content or the NFT in accordance with royalty
Vijayan fails to disclose the royalty percentages of the media content and transmitting a first alert to the NFT creator or right holder indicating completion of the minting process, wherein the first alert is further transmitted to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions and transmitting a second alert to the NFT creator or rights holder associated with the one or more payment transactions to the accounts after transmission of the first alert.
Caldwell discloses a system wherein third-party system initiate payment transactions (See, Paragraphs 0056 and 0071) and royalties are calculated in percentages (See, Paragraph 0054 and 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have, the transactions in the system of Vijayan, to be initiated by third party system in order to support selling and buying of NFTs on multiple third party platforms which would greatly increases the reach of the artists and the content and to calculate the royalties in percentages as taught by Caldwell because calculating in percentages would provide easy to implement solution and would compensate all the stakeholders automatically without any further negotiation of the compensation required in case of the price changes of the NFTs.
Robotham discloses transmitting a first alert to NFT creator or right holder indicating completion of a minting process (See, Paragraph 0098), wherein the first alert is further transmitted to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions (See, Paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0098 and 0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, in the system of Vijayan and Caldwell, a first alert to NFT creator or right holder indicating completion of a minting process), wherein the first alert is further transmitted to a third party system to initiate the one or more payment transactions as taught by Robotham so that the originating organization or alternatively the designated recipient organization is able to calculate the entitlement amount and (in the withholding tax use case) the applicable withholding tax allocated to that non-fungible token based on information supplied by the non-fungible token such as the amount of equivalent fungible tokens (e.g. number of shares held by the account in a security), the country of residence supplied in the non-fungible token, tax treaty category supplied in the non-fungible token, and any other information supplied in the non-fungible token related to calculating the entitlement and any associated tax (e.g., withholding tax) (See, Robotham, Paragraph 0098).
Nagel discloses transmitting an alert to all parties related to content payments transactions to the accounts (See, Abstract and Paragraph 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, in the system of Vijayan, Caldwell and Robotham, an alert to all parties related to content payments transactions to the accounts as taught by Nagel including the NFT creator and rights holder associated with the one or more payment transactions because this “saves the distributor time, promotes accuracy and ensures royalty contract compliance” (See, Nagel, Paragraph 0020). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to transfer the second alert in the combination after the first alert because NFT is created prior to the processing of payment related to a sell of such NFT’s in the marketplace.
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17, the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 is incorporated and the combination of Vijayan, Caldwell, Robotham and Nagel further discloses wherein data associated with the royalty percentages are accessible through an authentication process (See, Vijayan, Paragraph 0084 as combined with royalty percentages aspect of Nagel).
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18, the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 is incorporated and the combination of Vijayan, Caldwell, Robotham and Nagel further discloses wherein the media content is a song element (See, Vijayan, Paragraphs 0068 and 0069).
Regarding Claims 5, 12 and 19 the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 is incorporated and the combination of Vijayan, Caldwell, Robotham and Nagel further discloses wherein the media content is a complete piece of content comprising multiple elements (See, Vijayan, Paragraphs 0009 and 0065).
Regarding Claims 7, 14 and 21, the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 is incorporated and the combination of Vijayan, Caldwell, Robotham and Nagel further discloses receiving metadata associated with the media content; and storing, via the digital vault, the metadata associated with the media content (See, Paragraphs 0048 and 0092).
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vijayan in view of Caldwell and further in view of Robotham and Nagel and further in view of Steinwedel et al. (US 2019/0355336 A1), hereinafter, “Steinwedel”.
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16, the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 is incorporated and the combination of Vijayan, Caldwell, Robotham and Nagel does not explicitly disclose wherein the media content is generated through a collaboration in creating or revising the media content by a plurality of user devices.
Steinwedel discloses a system wherein a media content is generated through a collaboration in creating or revising the media content by a plurality of user devices (See, abstract, Paragraphs 0006 and 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate, the media content in the system of Vijayan, through a collaboration in creating or revising the media content by a plurality of user devices as taught by Steinwedel in order to support media content by multiple content creator and share the royalties accordingly.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vijayan in view of Caldwell, Robotham and Nagel and further in view of Peters et al. (US 2012/0072608 A1), hereinafter, “Peters”.
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 20, the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 is incorporated and the combination of Vijayan, Caldwell, Robotham and Nagel fails to disclose receiving the media content; and uploading, via the digital vault, the media content to a repository.
However, Peters discloses receiving a media content; and uploading, via a digital vault, the media content to a repository (See, Fig. 1 and also Paragraphs 0033, 0043 and 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive, the media content in the system of Vijayan, and uploading, via the digital vault, the media content to a repository as taught by Peters so that the content creator could simply upload their content to blockchain-based content engagement platform for streaming as well as turning their content into NFTs as already disclosed by Vijayan.
Conclusion
/YOGESH PALIWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435