DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0256874) in view of Hasuike et al. (US 2022/0044202).
Regarding claim 1. Chiba discloses an information management system comprising [see para. 0012; a document file perusal system using network, the document file perusal system including a web server and a plurality of file peruser terminals which can conduct mutual communication via a network]:
a first terminal device (10); and a server device (40), wherein the first terminal device includes
a first communication unit that acquires first data from the server device [see para. 0005; the PDF (Portable Document Format) is a document format which is a PDF file or content], an operation unit that receives an operation [see para. 0035, 0039 and figure 2; a CAD data user terminal, a CAD data provider terminal 12, a first web server 30 and a second web server 40 are connected to each other via a network (Internet or an intranet)],
and a first controller that transmits, when the operation unit receives an editing operation on the acquired first data, edit data corresponding to the editing operation to the server device [see para. 0044; CAD data is edited and created by a CAD data editing program. Since the CAD data editing program is incorporated in the CAD data provider terminal, the CAD data created and edited; which corresponds to the terminal transmits edit-related information changes to sever device],
and wherein the server device includes a server communication unit that acquires the edit data from the first terminal device [see para; 0082, 0083 and figures 2-3; a CAD data user "b" attempts to peruse edit second CAD data stored in the first web server, conventionally CAD software of the format B is necessary. In the file perusal system according to the present invention, however, the second CAD data of the format B can be converted to the CAD data of the format A at that time, downloaded, and then edited by using the CAD software for the format A in the terminal; which corresponds to acquires the edit data from the first terminal device],
a storage unit that stores the first data and the edit data in association with each other [see para. 0066; The PDF file creation section reads out the first CAD data from the file storage apparatus and converts the first CAD data to the PDF. The PDF file creation section sends the created PDF file to the response creation section. The response creation section sends the PDF file created by the PDF file creation section to the web server program. The web server program sends the PDF file to the web browser program; which corresponds to storage unit stores the edit data in association as separate files]; however; Chiba fails to explicitly teach a server controller that provides a user with second data obtained by editing the first data stored in the storage unit in accordance with the edit data.
Hasuike discloses a server controller that provides a user with second data obtained by editing the first data stored in the storage unit in accordance with the edit data [see para. 0081, 0085; and figures 6-9the editing right information associated with the document ID is stored in the editing right information memory, the editing right information managing unit transmits the editing right information to the document converting unit. Then, the document converting unit starts a process of generating a revised document file in which the document file obtained is converted in accordance with the editing right information and thereby a revised document file is generated; which corresponds to server controlling generating second data by editing the first data].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chiba and Hasuike before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the document file editing system of Chiba to include the editing page is displayed in differently depending on the user, as taught by Hasuike. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to recognize the need for more efficient editing by sending the changes edit data especially in collaborative or remote scenarios.
Regarding claim 2, Hasuike discloses wherein the server controller [document server] provides a user with the generated second data to by transmitting the generated second data to a second terminal device [see para. 0085 and figures 8-9; If it is determined that the received user ID is the user ID of a subeditor designated in the editing right information, the document converting unit adds, the page retrieved as the last page of the document file obtained. At this time, a user ID as an example of first identification information and a page number as an example of second identification information are included into the last page so that it becomes clear that which user has edited which page; which corresponds to generate the revised document file via the document converting unit and transmits it to another terminal device].
Regarding claim 3, Hasuike discloses wherein the storage unit continues to store the first data and the edit data even after the second data is transmitted [see para. 0079, 0085 and figures 8-9; The receiving unit transmits the document ID to the document managing unit, and thereby the document managing unit obtains the document file stored in the site indicated by the document ID and the document converting unit transmits the document file at this time as a revised document file to the document managing unit, and the document managing unit stores the revised document file in the document memory; which corresponds to document managing unit and document memory maintain original document].
Regarding claim 4, Hasuike discloses wherein the server controller deletes the second data before a connection between the second terminal device and the server device is terminated, or in response to a connection between the second terminal device and the server device being terminated [see para. 0077, 0089 and figures 8- 9; operation of generating a revised document file performed in the document server. After the document file to be edited is displayed through the process, the document file is edited in the client terminal. Then, the operation accepting unit accepts a user operation of transmitting the edited document file to the document server, and the transmitting unit transmits the edited document file and the document ID to the document server and the document managing unit replaces the original document file with the edited document file and stores the edited document file. At this time, the exclusive control that is set to the document file is canceled which corresponds to manage and delete temporary revised document file (second data)].
Regarding claim 5, Hasuike discloses wherein the storage unit stores the first data and the edit data as separate files [see para. 0070; the document converting unit starts a process generating a document file to be edited, in which the document file obtained is converted with the editing right information, so that a document file to be edited is generated. It is assumed that the receiving unit has transmitted the user ID managed by the user managing unit to the document converting unit before this process starts. Also, the document converting unit prepares, in a memory for storing the document file to be edited, the structure of the document file to be edited not including pages].
Regarding claim 6, Hasuike discloses wherein the server controller transmits the first data and the edit data to a second terminal device, and wherein the server controller causes the second terminal device to generate the second data to provide the generated second data to a user [see para. 0042; An edited document file is used as an example of change information representing details of a change. The transmitting unit is provided as an example of a transmitting unit that transmits identification information and change information, a first transmitting unit that transmits first change information, and a second transmitting unit that transmits second change information].
Regarding claim 7, Chiba discloses wherein the server controller causes a browser program of the second terminal device to generate the second data to provide the generated second data to a user [see para. 0084; CAD data stored in the first and second web servers is input to/output from a file sharing space by a CAD data provider from the CAD data provider terminal via the network. The web browser program and CAD data to be provided are already stored in the CAD data provider terminal. From the browser in the CAD data provider terminal, the CAD data provider conducts transfer or deletion of CAD data on the web server by using the HTTP or FTP].
Regarding claim 8, Hasuike discloses wherein the first controller transmits the edit data including difference data indicating a difference between the first data and the second data to the server device [see para. 0042; when the operation accepting unit accepts an operation of selecting the document file from a user, and a document ID of an original document file and an edited document file when the operation accepting unit accepts an operation of transmitting the edited document file to the document server. Here, an example of a document ID may be information indicating a storage site of a document file in the document server. The information indicating a storage site may be, for example, a uniform resource identifier (URI). A user ID is used as an example of identification information identifying an operator. An edited document file is used as an example of change information representing details of a change. The transmitting unit is provided as an example of a transmitting unit that transmits identification information and change information, a first transmitting unit that transmits first change information, and a second transmitting unit that transmits second change information].
Regarding claim 9, Hasuike discloses wherein the difference data includes at least one of a text, a figure, and an image [see para. 0019; using word processor software, spreadsheet software, presentation software, or the like, or a file in a portable document format (PDF) in which an original image may be reproduced without depending on the viewing environment, a “document file” is not always a file generated by digitalizing a “document” including text. For example, graphic data of figures or the like, and image data of pictures, photos, or the like may also be included in a “document file” regardless of whether the data is raster data or vector data].
Regarding claim 10, Chiba discloses further comprising: a display unit; an operation unit; and a second controller that executes a Web browser, wherein the second controller executes the Web browser to display a Web page provided by the server device on the display unit [see para. 0042 and figures 2-3; Each of the web servers includes a web server program and a data file storage apparatus. The web server program analyzes the URL (Uniform Resource Locator) sent from the web browser. If a result of the URL analysis indicates an HTML display request, then the web server program transmits pertinent HTML information to the web browser program. If a result of the URL analysis indicates execution of a conversion program, then the web server program starts the conversion program, delivers information added to the URL to the conversion program, and transmits a web page HTML and so on created by the conversion program to the web browser program], and when a request for viewing the second data is input to the Web page, transmits the request for viewing the second data to the server device, and wherein upon receiving the request for viewing the second data, the server controller displays the second data on the Web page [see. para. 0061 and figures 4-7; the user requests that a details setting view concerning the first CAD data displayed on the web browser program. The web server program analyzes the request issued by the web browser program. Since the request is intended for the conversion program, the web server program sends a request to the request analysis section in the conversion program. Subsequently, the request analysis section analyzes the request issued by the web server program. Since the request is a details setting page creation request, the request analysis section calls the details setting page creation section].
Regarding claim 11, Chiba discloses wherein upon receiving the request for viewing the second data from the Web browser, the server controller generates the second data that is PDF data and displays the second data on the Web page [see para. 0050; as for information transmitted to the web browser program 101 by the web server program, there are PDF data and CAD data besides the HTML code. In the case of the HTML code, the web browser program draws the HTML code on a view in the web browser program according to the HTML agreement. In the case of PDF data, the web browser program calls the PDF file perusal program, and the called PDF file perusal program downloads and displays PDF data].
Regarding claim 12, Chiba discloses wherein in response to the edit data being transmitted from the first terminal device, the server controller displays the second data updated based on the transmitted edit data on the Web browser [see para. 0052; the request analysis section analyzes a request sent from the web server program. If a result of the analysis is CAD data file list page creation, then the request analysis section calls a CAD data file list page creation section, creates a list page of CAD data files stored in the data file storage apparatus by using the HTML, and delivers the list page to a response creation section. The response creation section delivers HTML information thus created and sent to the web server program. The web server program sends the information to the ordinary user terminal, and the web browser program displays the information on the screen].
Regarding claim 13, Chiba discloses further comprising: a second terminal device including a second communication unit and a second controller that transmits the first data to the
server device, wherein upon receiving the first data from the second terminal device, the server controller stores the first data in the storage unit [see para. 0084 and figure 4; CAD data stored in the first and second web servers is input to/output from a file sharing space by a CAD data provider from the CAD data provider terminal via the network. The web browser program and CAD data to be provided are already stored in the CAD data provider terminal. From the browser in the CAD data provider terminal, the CAD data provider conducts transfer or deletion of CAD data on the web server by using the HTTP or FTP].
Regarding claim 14, Chiba discloses wherein the first data is a PDF file generated by a printer driver [see para. 0112-0114; The peruser needs only learn the operation method of the browser and Acrobat Reader. Therefore, it is not necessary to learn a method for operating the CAD program. If a drawing is divided at the time of PDF creation, then the drawing printed easily even in an environment lacking a large-sized plotter. After being perused as a PDF file, the PDF file can be stored and printed, and circulated on the Internet as it is].
Regarding claim 15, Hasuike discloses wherein the second terminal device converts a document file including at least one of a text, a figure, and a captured image
into the first data [see para. 0019; the document server is a computer apparatus that stores a document file on which a user performs viewing, editing, etc. Specifically, the document server stores a file created by using word processor software, spreadsheet software, presentation software, or the like, or a file in a portable document format (PDF) in which an original image reproduced without depending on the viewing environment. A “document file” is not always a file generated by digitalizing a “document” including text. For example, graphic data of figures or the like, and image data of pictures, photos, or the like also be included in a “document file” regardless of whether the data is raster data or vector data. Here, a PC or the like may be used as the document server].
Regarding claim 16, Chiba discloses further comprising: a second terminal device including a second communication unit and a second controller that transmits the first data to the server device [see para 0012; a web server and a plurality of file peruser terminals which can conduct mutual communication via a network, wherein the web server includes a web server program, a conversion program and a data file storage apparatus; a plurality of document files differing in format are stored in the data file storage apparatus; each of the file peruser terminals includes a web browser program and a dedicated file perusal program; if from a file peruser terminal a file peruser orders the web server program in the web server to select some document file stored in the data file storage apparatus and convert the document file to a format corresponding to the dedicated file perusal program, then the web server program orders the conversion program to conduct conversion, and the conversion program converts the selected document file in the data file storage apparatus to the format corresponding to the dedicated file perusal program.
Hasuike discloses wherein upon receiving the first data from the second terminal device, the server controller notifies the first terminal device of reception of the first data [see para. 0099; he client terminal transmits editing information to the document server when updating a document file stored in the document server. Alternatively, a document file may be updated in response to an explicit instruction at an arbitrary time point after editing information has been transmitted to the document server. For example, editing information may be transmitted upon pressing of a button for transmitting the editing information, and the document file updated in accordance with the editing information].
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to recognize the need for more efficient editing by sending the changes edit data especially in collaborative or remote access.
Regarding claim 17, Hasuike discloses wherein the first terminal device transmits the edit data to the server device in response to an operation in which a handwriting mode is turned off [see para. 0091, 0100; the pages for which the user has an editing right and the pages for which the user does not have an editing right may be displayed when the user displays the document file to be edited, and a process for distinguishing both types of pages may be performed. Examples of such a process include displaying the pages for which the user does not have an editing right by using a background color of gray, and presenting a message “this page is not editable” with large and bold characters. Here, performing such a process is an example of performing control to display information indicating that a process of updating data in accordance with change information, which represents the details of a change in a portion, is not performed].
Regarding claim 18, Hasuike discloses wherein the first terminal device transmits the edit data to the server device in response to a predetermined time elapsing since contact between an indicator and a touch panel that is the operation unit was no longer detected [see para. 0080, 0081; the receiving unit transmits the document ID to the editing right information managing unit. The editing right information managing unit determines whether or not the editing right information associated with the document ID is stored in the editing right information memory.
If it is determined that the editing right information associated with the document ID is stored in the editing right information memory, the editing right information managing unit transmits the editing right information to the document converting unit. Then, the document converting unit starts a process of generating a revised document file in which the document file obtained is converted in accordance with the editing right information and thereby a revised document file is generated].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Chiba discloses a server device comprising [see para. 0012; a document file perusal system using network, the document file perusal system including a web server and a plurality of file peruser terminals communication via a network]:
a server communication unit that acquires, from a first terminal device, edit data corresponding to an editing operation performed by the first terminal device on first data [see para. 0005; the PDF (Portable Document Format) is a document format which is a PDF file or content], an operation unit that receives an operation [see para. 0035, 0039 and figure 2; a CAD data user terminal 11, a CAD data provider terminal 12, a first web server 30 and a second web server 40 are connected to each other via a network 20 (Internet or an intranet)]; and a storage unit that stores the first data and the edit data in association with each other [see para. 0066; The PDF file creation section reads out the first CAD data from the file storage apparatus and converts the first CAD data to the PDF. The PDF file creation section sends the created PDF file to the response creation section. The response creation section sends the PDF file created by the PDF file creation section to the web server program. The web server program sends the PDF file to the web browser program; which corresponds to storage unit stores the edit data in association as separate files]; however; Chiba fails to explicitly teach a server controller that provides a user with second data obtained by editing the first data stored in the storage unit in accordance with the edit data.
Hasuike discloses a server controller that provides a user with second data obtained by editing the first data stored in the storage unit in accordance with the edit data [see para. 0081, 0085; and figures 6-9the editing right information associated with the document ID is stored in the editing right information memory, the editing right information managing unit transmits the editing right information to the document converting unit. Then, the document converting unit starts a process of generating a revised document file in which the document file obtained is converted in accordance with the editing right information and thereby a revised document file is generated; which corresponds to server controlling generating second data by editing the first data].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chiba and Hasuike before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the document file editing system of Chiba to include the editing page is displayed in differently depending on the user, as taught by Hasuike. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to recognize the need for more efficient editing by sending the changes edit data especially in collaborative or remote access.
Regarding claim 20 is an independent claim and relates to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program, the program causing a terminal device to execute: Since the features of claim 20 are substantially the same as those of claim 19 except for the category of invention, the same reasoning as in claim 19 applies to claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Noyes et al. (12,432,270) discloses one method comprises subscribing to one or more events occurring in a first document markup application, the first document markup application being a first thin client application, and receiving a notification indicating a modification to a document markup in the first document markup application. A cross-compatible markup object associated with the modified document markup may be extracted and transmitted to a second document markup application, the second document markup application being a second thin client application.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171