Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Couchman et al (US 2008/0143636 A1), hereinafter Couchman. (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, the satellite structure of Couchman (Figures 1-4) would enable a method of operating a satellite system, the method comprising the steps of:
moving a first communications satellite into space from a payload fairing of a launch vehicle 2, wherein the first communications satellite includes a first satellite bus 12, a first antenna array 14.1, and a first actuator (swivel joint 8, Figure 1B); and
increasing, using the first actuator 8, a distance between the first satellite bus 12 and the first antenna array 14 after the first communications satellite has moved into space from the payload fairing of the launch vehicle 2 (para [0031], Figures 2A-2G).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Couchman (Figure 1B, para [0030]) further teaches the step of unfolding a solar panel 11 from the first satellite bus after the first communications satellite has moved into space from the payload fairing of the launch vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1, Couchman (Figure 4) further teach a second antenna array on the first satellite bus.
Claims 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Field et al (US 9,718,566 B2), hereinafter Field.
Regarding claim 11, Field (Figures 1-5) teaches a stack of communications satellites 50 mountable in a payload fairing of a launch vehicle, the stack of communications satellites comprising: a first communications satellite 50; and a second communications satellite 50 on the first communications satellite in the stack, wherein the second communications satellite includes separating structures 54 that separate the second communications satellite from the first communications satellite in the payload fairing, and
the first communications satellite includes a structure 90 that is nested between the separating structures of the second communications satellite (structure 90 disposed on surface of panels 60 of satellite 50 and implicitly nested between stacked first and second satellites).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11, Field (col 2 lines 51-52 teaches that once the payload reaches orbit, each satellite in the stack would then separate from the launch vehicle individually) teaches that the satellites wherein the second communications satellite is configured to be dispensed into space from the payload fairing prior to the first communications satellite.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 11, Field (col 2 lines 53-58) teaches that the structure comprises a solar panel coupled to a satellite bus of the first communications satellite.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 11, Field (col 2 lines 53-58) teaches that the structure comprises an antenna array coupled to a satellite bus of the first communications satellite.
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 11, Field (Figures 1-5) teaches that the separating structures 54 comprise legs coupled to a satellite bus of the second communications satellite.
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 11, Field (Figures 1-5) teaches that the separating structures comprise posts 54 coupled to a satellite bus of the second communications satellite.
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 11, Field (Figures 1, 4-5) teaches that the separating structures 54 of the second communications satellite laterally surround the structure of the second communications satellite 50.
Regarding claim 19, Field (Figures 1-5) teaches a satellite system comprising:
a first communications satellite 50 in a folded configuration; and
a second communications satellite 50 stacked on the first communications satellite, wherein the second communications satellite has separating structures 54 that are positioned on top of the first of the communications satellite, and the first communications satellite is configured to transition to an unfolded configuration after being deployed in space (col 2 lines 51-52).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 19, Field (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the first communications satellite 50 includes a structure 90 positioned between the separating structures 54 of the second communications satellite 50, the structure 90 comprising a solar panel or an antenna array (col 2 lines 53-58).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Couchman fails to further teach the step of moving a second communications satellite into space from the payload fairing after the first communications satellite has been moved into space from the payload fairing wherein, prior to moving the first communications satellite into space from the payload fairing, the first communications satellite is stacked on the second communications satellite in the payload fairing.
Claims 3-7 would have been found allowable for depending, either directly or indirectly, on claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, Field teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 9, except explicitly mention that the second antenna array is configured to wirelessly feed the first antenna array.
Regarding claim 17, Field fails to further teach that wherein the structure is in a retracted configuration in the payload fairing and the first communications satellite comprises an actuator configured to increase a distance between the structure and a satellite bus of the first communications satellite after the first communications satellite has been dispensed into space from the payload fairing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chang (US 5,5052,640) discloses a stack of communications satellites mountable in a payload fairing of a launch vehicle.
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845