DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 06/25/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 11, 15, 17, 18, 20 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/25/2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as “1. (Currently Amended) A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more antennas; and
a processing system that includes one or more processors and
one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors processing system configured to cause the UE to:
receive configuration information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations, wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, indicates a respective subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), from a set of SSBs, that are mapped to random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) associated with that PRACH configuration,
wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, separately indicates one or more other parameters relating to PRACH transmission, the one or more other parameters including one or more of: power control, retransmission, or PRACH preamble usage; and
transmit a PRACH transmission in an RO associated with a PRACH configuration of the plurality of PRACH configurations in accordance with the configuration information.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 102 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See COZZO et al. (US 20220287103 A1; hereinafter as “COZZO”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI et al. (US 20230029663 A1; hereinafter as “ABEDINI”, provided in IDS) in view of COZZO et al. (US 20220287103 A1; hereinafter as “COZZO”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to ABEDINI unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 1, ABEDINI teaches,
A user equipment (UE) (== see fig. 1: UE 120a or Fig. 7 Network Node 705) for wireless communication (see fig. 1: where UE 120 is in wireless communication with Base Station/BS 110a: [0090]-[0091], [0029]-[0032]), comprising:
One or more antennas (UE with antennas: [0044]);
a processing system that includes one or more processors and
one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors processing system configured to cause the UE to (Some aspects described herein relate to a network node (==UE) ) for wireless communication. The network node may include a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory.: [0007], [0036]; processors in with memories : [0123]-[0125]);
receive configuration information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations, wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, indicates a respective subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), from a set of SSBs, that are mapped to random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) associated with that PRACH configuration (aforesaid UE or Network Node 705 in Fig. 7 element 715, “receive configuration information (==PRACH configuration in claim ) indicating an association of SSBs to sets of ROs. For example, network node 705 (==UE in claim ) may receive one or more SSB bitmaps that indicate which SSBs are associated with each set of ROs.”.. In this case, network node 705 may receive a first SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated (==subset of SSBs) with FD ROs and a second SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated with HD Ros (==subset of SSBs): [0094]; “In some aspects, network node 705 (==UE in claim ) and network node 710 (==BS) may be a UE 120 and a base station 110,”: [0090]; also see fig. 5 element 505, “ As shown by reference number 505, the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. In some aspects, the random access configuration information may be transmitted in and/or indicated by system information (e.g., in one or more SIBs) and/or an SSB, such as for contention-based random access”: [0075]); and
transmit a PRACH transmission in an RO associated with a PRACH configuration of the plurality of PRACH configurations in accordance with the configuration information (see fig. 7 element 720, aforesaid UE or Network Node 705 transmits to Network Node 701/BS RACH message : “ As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 720, network node 705 may transmit a RACH message. For example, network node 705 may transmit a RACH message in accordance with the configuration message received from network node 710”; “ For example, network node 705 may determine that the RACH preamble is associated with a particular subset of ROs, and may use a timing offset (e.g., applied to N_TAoffset) associated with the particular subset of ROs (and another timing offset for another RACH preamble transmission using another subset of ROs). Additionally, or alternatively, network node 705 may transmit on an RO based at least in part on an association with an SSB. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RO is included in a particular subset of ROs associated with one or more SSBs, and may transmit in the RO based at least in part on the association with the one or more SSBs (and may transmit in another RO of another subset of ROs based at least in part on another association with another one or more SSBs).”: [0095]; “ , the UE 120 (==UE in claim ) may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, or a RAM preamble). ”: [0076]).
While ABEDINI teaches, “receive configuration information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations” ;
ABEDINI does not expressively disclose:
wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, separately indicates one or more other parameters relating to PRACH transmission, the one or more other parameters including one or more of: power control, retransmission, or PRACH preamble usage.
COZZO, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, separately indicates one or more other parameters relating to PRACH transmission, the one or more other parameters including one or more of: power control, retransmission, or PRACH preamble usage (UE receives PRACH Configuration Information from Network Deivce/gNB/eNB: “ A method of operating a user equipment (UE) includes receiving first information indicating a first partition of physical random access channel (PRACH) resources into a first group and a second group. A first PRACH transmission using a first PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources indicates a first set of features for the UE. A second PRACH transmission using a second PRACH resource from the second group of PRACH resources indicates a second set of features for the UE. ”: [abstract]; UE is provided PRACH Configurations for “first and second PRACH resources partitions”. Aforesaid PRACH resource for retransmission : [0113]; “ a partition of PRACH resources is associated to a UE type (for example, a PRACH resources or preambles partition A is for RedCap UEs and a PRACH resources or preambles partition B is for non-RedCap UEs, or to a UE capability, for example, a PRACH resource partition A is for UEs supporting a coverage enhancement (CE) feature or a group of CE features and a PRACH resource partition B is for UEs not supporting the CE feature or the group of CE features of partition A), for PRACH retransmission after the initial PRACH transmission the UE uses the same PRACH resource or a different resource from the same partition. A PRACH resource can comprise one or more PRACH preambles associated to one or more ROs, wherein the mapping between PRACH preambles and ROs can be a 1-to-1 or a 1-to-N mapping. Alternatively, initial PRACH transmission and PRACH retransmission can be resources from different partitions. For example, when a UE is provided a configuration for a first and second PRACH resources or preambles partitions, wherein the first PRACH resources or preambles partition is associated to non-CE features and the second PRACH resource partition is associated to CE features, if the initial transmission with a PRACH resource from the first partition fails, the UE can use a PRACH resource from the second partition for retransmission. Whether initial PRACH transmission and PRACH retransmission use same or different PRACH resources from different PRACH resources or preambles partitions can be configured in SIB.”: [0119]; [0121]-[-0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above recited limitations as taught by COZZO. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide resource selection for a physical random access channel (PRACH) for flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, and so on. : (COZZO; [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 2, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, includes a respective bitmap that indicates which SSBs, of the set of SSBs, are included in the respective subset of SSBs (aforesaid UE/Network Node 705 receives “one or more SSB bitmaps that indicate which SSBs are associated with each set of ROs.” : [0094]).
Regarding claim 3, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein for each PRACH configuration, the respective bitmap includes a plurality of bits, with each bit, of the plurality of bits, indicating whether a respective SSB, of the set of SSBs, is included in the respective subset of SSBs that are mapped to the ROs associated with that PRACH configuration (“ network node 705 may receive a first SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated with FD ROs and a second SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated with HD ROs. Additionally, or alternatively, network node 705 may implicitly derive the SSBs associated with HD ROs (e.g., based at least in part on the SSBs that are associated with FD ROs or a default configuration, among other examples). In some aspects, a size of the SSB bitmap may be based at least in part on a quantity of SSBs. For example, the size of the SSB bitmap may be equal to a maximum quantity of SSBs (L max) or a quantity of actually transmitted SSBs.”: [0094]).
Regarding claim 6, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, indicates a respective SSB-to-RO mapping that maps the respective subset of SSBs to the ROs associated with that PRACH configuration ( “ network node 705 may transmit on an RO based at least in part on an association with an SSB. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RO is included in a particular subset of ROs associated with one or more SSBs, and may transmit in the RO based at least in part on the association with the one or more SSBs (and may transmit in another RO of another subset of ROs based at least in part on another association with another one or more SSBs).”: [0094]-[0095]).
Regarding claim 7, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the plurality of PRACH configurations includes:
a first PRACH configuration that indicates a first subset of SSBs, from the set of SSBs, that are mapped to ROs associated with the first PRACH configuration, and
a second PRACH configuration that indicates a second subset of SSBs, from the set of SSBs, that are mapped to ROs associated with the second PRACH configuration ( “network node 705 may determine that the RACH preamble is associated with a particular subset of ROs, and may use a timing offset (e.g., applied to N_TAoffset) associated with the particular subset of ROs (and another timing offset for another RACH preamble transmission using another subset of ROs). Additionally, or alternatively, network node 705 may transmit on an RO based at least in part on an association with an SSB. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RO is included in a particular subset of ROs associated with one or more SSBs, and may transmit in the RO based at least in part on the association with the one or more SSBs (and may transmit in another RO of another subset of ROs based at least in part on another association with another one or more SSBs).”: [0094]-[0095]; “ . For example, the base station may configure a first set of ROs with a first configuration (e.g., a first set of resources or a first periodicity, among other examples) for a first mode of operation (e.g., half duplex (HD) RACH) and a second set of ROs with a second configuration (e.g., a second set of resources or a second periodicity, among other examples) for a second mode of operation (e.g., FD RACH). The base station may transmit multiple indications to configure the multiple sets of ROs (e.g., a first configuration message to indicate a first set of ROs for HD RACH and a second configuration message to indicate a second set of ROs for FD RACH).”: [0085]).
Regarding claim 9, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
The UE of claim 7, wherein a first RO, of the ROs associated with the first PRACH configuration, overlaps with a second RO, of the ROs associated with the second PRACH configuration, and
wherein a frequency offset is associated with the first RO or the second RO based at least in part on a value of a first index associated with the first PRACH configuration and a value of a second index associated with the second PRACH configuration (“ In some aspects, different timing offset values may be applicable to different ROs. For example, network node 705 may apply a first timing offset in the configuration information to a first set of ROs of a first type and a second timing offset in the configuration information to a second set of ROs of a second type (e.g., the timing offsets may be beam-dependent). In this case, network node 705 may identify an association of timing offsets to sets of ROs based at least in part on an association of timing offsets to SSBs. For example, network node 705 may receive information identifying a first association of timing offsets to SSBs and a second association of SSBs to sets of ROs, and may apply timing offsets to sets of ROs based at least in part on the first association and the second association. In some aspects, network node 705 may derive an implicit set of ROs to which to apply a timing offset. For example, a first group of ROs may overlap with downlink or bidirection (BD) symbols, and network node 705 may associate the first group of ROs as a set of ROs for FD RACH. Similarly, ROs overlapping with configured downlink resources (e.g., SSB resources or PDCCH resources) may be associated into a set of ROs for FD RACH. In this case, network node 705 may identify a timing offset explicitly indicated for FD RACH ROs, and may apply the timing offset to the implicitly derived set of FD RACH ROs.”: [0092], [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
The UE of claim 7, wherein a first RO, of the ROs associated with the first PRACH configuration, overlaps with a second RO, of the ROs associated with the second PRACH configuration (overlap : [0092]-[0093]), and
wherein the first RO or the second RO is dropped based at least in part on a value of a first index associated with the first PRACH configuration and a value of a second index associated with the second PRACH configuration ( “ The base station 110 may schedule different signals on overlapping time resources with random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs). ”: [0064]; “ As another example, for an FD UE 602, the FD UE 602 may be configured to receive a downlink signal on overlapping time resources with which the FD UE 602 may transmit a RACH message (e.g., RACH message type-1, as described in more detail herein). As another example, for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) deployments, a distributed unit (DU) cell may have ROs that overlap with communications (e.g., transmission or reception) by a co-located mobile terminal (MT).”: [0084]; NOTE: if overlap, one of RO is dropped; {0093]-[0094 ).
Regarding claim 11, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
wherein the processing system, to transmit the PRACH transmission, is configured to cause the UE to: transmit the PRACH transmission in a selected RO, from a set of ROs associated with the plurality of PRACH configurations, that is associated with a detected SSB ( “ In some aspects, network node 705 may transmit a RACH preamble using a timing based at least in part on a received timing offset. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RACH preamble is associated with a particular subset of ROs, and may use a timing offset (e.g., applied to N_TAoffset) associated with the particular subset of ROs (and another timing offset for another RACH preamble transmission using another subset of ROs). Additionally, or alternatively, network node 705 may transmit on an RO based at least in part on an association with an SSB. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RO is included in a particular subset of ROs associated with one or more SSBs, and may transmit in the RO based at least in part on the association with the one or more SSBs (and may transmit in another RO of another subset of ROs based at least in part on another association with another one or more SSBs).”: [0095]).
Regarding claim 12, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches the invention of claim 11 as set forth above. Further, ABEDINI teaches,
The UE of claim 11, wherein the selected RO is a next available RO associated with the detected SSB from the set of ROs associated with the plurality of PRACH configurations ( “ In some aspects, network node 705 may transmit a RACH preamble using a timing based at least in part on a received timing offset. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RACH preamble is associated with a particular subset of ROs, and may use a timing offset (e.g., applied to N_TAoffset) associated with the particular subset of ROs (and another timing offset for another RACH preamble transmission using another subset of ROs). Additionally, or alternatively, network node 705 may transmit on an RO based at least in part on an association with an SSB. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RO is included in a particular subset of ROs associated with one or more SSBs, and may transmit in the RO based at least in part on the association with the one or more SSBs (and may transmit in another RO of another subset of ROs based at least in part on another association with another one or more SSBs).”: [0095]).
Regarding claim 18, ABEDINI teaches,
A network node (see fig. 7: Network Node 110/ BS ) for wireless communication (see fig. 1: where UE 120 is in wireless communication with Base Station/BS 110a: [0090]-[0091], [0029]-[0032]), comprising:
one or more antennas; and
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network node to: (BS with Antenna, processors, memories with communicate with UE : processors in with memories : [0123]-[0125]):
transmit configuration information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations, wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, indicates a respective subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), from a set of SSBs, that are mapped to random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) associated with that PRACH configuration (aforesaid UE or Network Node 705 in Fig. 7 element 715, “receive configuration information (==PRACH configuration in claim ) indicating an association of SSBs to sets of ROs. For example, network node 705 (==UE in claim ) may receive one or more SSB bitmaps that indicate which SSBs are associated with each set of ROs.”.. In this case, network node 705 may receive a first SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated with FD ROs and a second SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated with HD ROs: [0094]; “In some aspects, network node 705 (==UE in claim ) and network node 710 (==BS in claim ) may be a UE 120 and a base station 110,”: [0090]; also see fig. 5 element 505, “ As shown by reference number 505, the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. In some aspects, the random access configuration information may be transmitted in and/or indicated by system information (e.g., in one or more SIBs) and/or an SSB, such as for contention-based random access”: [0075]); and
receive, from a user equipment (UE) (==Network Node 705 in Fig. 7 / UE ), a PRACH transmission in an RO associated with a PRACH configuration of the plurality of PRACH configurations in accordance with the configuration information (see fig. 7 element 720, aforesaid UE or Network Node 705 transmit to Network Node 701/BS RACH message : “ As further shown in FIG. 7, and by reference number 720, network node 705 may transmit a RACH message. For example, network node 705 may transmit a RACH message in accordance with the configuration message received from network node 710”; “ For example, network node 705 may determine that the RACH preamble is associated with a particular subset of ROs, and may use a timing offset (e.g., applied to N_TAoffset) associated with the particular subset of ROs (and another timing offset for another RACH preamble transmission using another subset of ROs). Additionally, or alternatively, network node 705 may transmit on an RO based at least in part on an association with an SSB. For example, network node 705 may determine that the RO is included in a particular subset of ROs associated with one or more SSBs, and may transmit in the RO based at least in part on the association with the one or more SSBs (and may transmit in another RO of another subset of ROs based at least in part on another association with another one or more SSBs).”: [0095]; “ , the UE 120 (==UE in claim ) may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, or a RAM preamble). ”: [0076]).
While ABEDINI teaches, “transmit configuration information indicating a plurality of physical random access channel (PRACH) configurations, wherein each PRACH configuration”;
ABEDINI does not expressively disclose:
wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, separately indicates one or more other parameters relating to PRACH transmission, the one or more other parameters including one or more of: power control, retransmission, or PRACH preamble usage.
COZZO, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, separately indicates one or more other parameters relating to PRACH transmission, the one or more other parameters including one or more of: power control, retransmission, or PRACH preamble usage (UE receives PRACH Configuration Information from Network Deivce/gNB/eNB: “ A method of operating a user equipment (UE) includes receiving first information indicating a first partition of physical random access channel (PRACH) resources into a first group and a second group. A first PRACH transmission using a first PRACH resource from the first group of PRACH resources indicates a first set of features for the UE. A second PRACH transmission using a second PRACH resource from the second group of PRACH resources indicates a second set of features for the UE. ”: [abstract]; UE is provided PRACH Configurations for “first and second PRACH resources partitions”. Aforesaid PRACH resource for retransmission : [0113]; “ a partition of PRACH resources is associated to a UE type (for example, a PRACH resources or preambles partition A is for RedCap UEs and a PRACH resources or preambles partition B is for non-RedCap UEs, or to a UE capability, for example, a PRACH resource partition A is for UEs supporting a coverage enhancement (CE) feature or a group of CE features and a PRACH resource partition B is for UEs not supporting the CE feature or the group of CE features of partition A), for PRACH retransmission after the initial PRACH transmission the UE uses the same PRACH resource or a different resource from the same partition. A PRACH resource can comprise one or more PRACH preambles associated to one or more ROs, wherein the mapping between PRACH preambles and ROs can be a 1-to-1 or a 1-to-N mapping. Alternatively, initial PRACH transmission and PRACH retransmission can be resources from different partitions. For example, when a UE is provided a configuration for a first and second PRACH resources or preambles partitions, wherein the first PRACH resources or preambles partition is associated to non-CE features and the second PRACH resource partition is associated to CE features, if the initial transmission with a PRACH resource from the first partition fails, the UE can use a PRACH resource from the second partition for retransmission. Whether initial PRACH transmission and PRACH retransmission use same or different PRACH resources from different PRACH resources or preambles partitions can be configured in SIB.”: [0119]; [0121]-[-0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above recited limitations as taught by COZZO. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide resource selection for a physical random access channel (PRACH) for flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, and so on. : (COZZO; [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI in view of COZZO and further in view of CHRISTOFFERSSON et al. (US 20230389080 A1; hereinafter as “CHRISTOFFERSSON”).
Regarding claim 4, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches claim 1 as shown above. ABEDINI in view of COZZO does not expressively disclose: The UE of claim 1, wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, includes a respective information element (IE) for indicating the respective subset of SSBs.
CHRISTOFFERSSON, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, includes a respective information element (IE) for indicating the respective subset of SSBs ( “ A new information element (IE) ssb-perRACH-Occasion is added therefore for configuring the mapping relation between SSBs and ROs in case SSB-preamble-mapping-free is configured. This is needed since SSBs or beams can be mapped to different ROs to achieve RACH load balance purpose.”: [0135], [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHRISTOFFERSSON. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce preamble collision probability and/or with low latency in the event of beamformed communication. (CHRISTOFFERSSON; [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches claim 1 as shown above. ABEDINI in view of COZZO does not expressively disclose:
wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of one or more enabled PRACH configurations of the plurality of PRACH configurations, wherein the processing system, to transmit the PRACH transmission, is configured to cause the UE to:
transmit the PRACH transmission in a selected RO from a set of ROs associated with the one or more enabled PRACH configurations.
CHRISTOFFERSSON, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of one or more enabled PRACH configurations of the plurality of PRACH configurations, wherein the processing system, to transmit the PRACH transmission, is configured to cause the UE to:
transmit the PRACH transmission in a selected RO from a set of ROs associated with the one or more enabled PRACH configurations ( “ the wireless communication device 12 selects any SSB. Once the SSB has been selected, the wireless communication device 12 indicates the selected SSB to the radio network node 14 by selection of a random access preamble and/or PRACH occasion (RO) depending on the configuration.”: [0103]; [0067] : [0072, [0061], [0059]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHRISTOFFERSSON. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce preamble collision probability and/or with low latency in the event of beamformed communication. (CHRISTOFFERSSON; [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, ABEDINI in view of COZZO does not teaches,
The UE of claim 15, wherein the indication of the one or more enabled PRACH configurations includes a bitmap that indicates whether each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, is enabled or disabled.
CHRISTOFFERSSON, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The UE of claim 15, wherein the indication of the one or more enabled PRACH configurations includes a bitmap that indicates whether each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, is enabled or disabled (“ According to these embodiments, the random access configuration 18 may be enabled or disabled, e.g., on a dynamic or semi-static basis”: [0072]; “ he IE ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB is absent to indicate the feature of SSB-preamble mapping free is enabled; otherwise, the feature is disabled. In order to allow the radio network node 14 to be able to reconfigure the feature for a PRACH configuration, the condition associated with the wireless communication device 12 needs to be updated from “Need M” to “Need N” or “Need R” (indicating that the previously received value is discarded).”: [0131]-[0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHRISTOFFERSSON. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce preamble collision probability and/or with low latency in the event of beamformed communication. (CHRISTOFFERSSON; [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, ABEDINI in view of COZZO do not teaches,
wherein the processing system is further individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a change to the respective subset of SSBs indicated in a PRACH configuration of the plurality of PRACH configurations.
CHRISTOFFERSSON, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the processing system is further individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a change to the respective subset of SSBs indicated in a PRACH configuration of the plurality of PRACH configurations ([0134]-[0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHRISTOFFERSSON. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce preamble collision probability and/or with low latency in the event of beamformed communication. (CHRISTOFFERSSON; [0006]).
Claims 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI in view of COZZO in view of AGIWAL et al. (US 20210051708 A1; hereinafter as “AGIWAL”).
Regarding claim 5, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches claim 1 as shown above. ABEDINI in view of COZZO do not expressively disclose: The UE of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is included in a system information block type 1 (SIB1).
AGIWAL, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is included in a system information block type 1 (SIB1) (RACH configuration is included in S1B1 : [0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by AGIWAL. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide a communication method and system for converging a fifth generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G).. (AGIWAL; [0006]).
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI in view of COZZO and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20230103863 A1; hereinafter as “WANG”).
Regarding claim 8, ABEDINI in view of COZZO teaches claim 7 as shown above. ABEDINI in view of COZZO do not expressively disclose: The UE of claim 7, wherein the ROs associated with the first PRACH configuration do not overlap with the ROs associated with the second PRACH configuration.
WANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The UE of claim 7, wherein the ROs associated with the first PRACH configuration do not overlap with the ROs associated with the second PRACH configuration (“ the RO does not overlap with a set of consecutive symbols before an initiation of a next channel occupancy time where the UE does not transmit. In one example, a candidate SSB index of the SSB may correspond to the SSB index provided by the ssb-PositionsInBurst in the SIB1 or in the ServingCellConfigCommon.”: [0068] ; “ In another rule, if a UE is provided with a tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, an RO in a PRACH slot may be valid if the RO is within the UL symbols; or the RO does not precede an SSB in the PRACH slot and starts at least N.sub.gap symbols after the last DL symbol and at least N.sub.gap symbols after the last SSB symbol, where N.sub.gap is provided in Table 6 below, and if channelAccessMode=semistatic is provided, the RO does not overlap with a set of consecutive symbols before an initiation of a next channel occupancy time, where there should be no transmission. In one example, the candidate SSB index of the SSB may correspond to the SSB index provided by the ssb-PositionsInBurst in the SIB1 or in the ServingCellConfigCommon.”: [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by WANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improvements in transmitting a Configured Grant (CG) Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) in wireless communications. (WANG; [0003]).
Claims 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI in view of COZZO and further in view of Han et al. (US 20260075658 A1; hereinafter as “Han ”, which has a priority date May 14, 2023).
Regarding claim 13, ABEDINI in view of COZZO do not teaches,
The UE of claim 11, wherein the detected SSB is mapped to ROs associated with multiple PRACH configurations of the plurality of PRACH configurations, and wherein the selected RO is an RO associated with a PRACH configuration, of the multiple PRACH configurations, with a largest number of SSBs in the respective subset of SSBs.
Han, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the detected SSB is mapped to ROs associated with multiple PRACH configurations of the plurality of PRACH configurations, and wherein the selected RO is an RO associated with a PRACH configuration, of the multiple PRACH configurations, with a largest number of SSBs in the respective subset of SSBs (see fig. 7: Mapping relationship with SSBs and RO : “In S101, after selecting an SSB index, the terminal device determines, based on a system message sent by the network device and the selected SSB index (each SSB corresponds to one beam (for example, a millimeter-wave beam), and the terminal device may select an SSB with maximum SSB received power (that is, select a beam with maximum SSB received power) from a plurality of received SSBs, and use an index of the SSB with the maximum received power as the selected SSB index; and this process may be referred to as SSB index selection by the terminal device), a random access occasion (RACH occasion, RO) associated with the SSB index. The RO may be understood as a time-frequency resource used by the terminal device for random access (that is, for preamble sending). The network device preconfigures an association relationship (a mapping relationship) between an RO and an SSB index. An RO is selected from the RO associated with the SSB index for preamble sending. For example, the preamble (preamble) may be referred to as a random access message 1 (Msg1). After determining the time-frequency resource (RO), the terminal device selects one preamble sequence on the selected RO (a maximum of 64 preambles can be transmitted simultaneously on one RO, and the terminal device selects one preamble sequence from the 64 preamble sequences), and sends the preamble sequence to the network device. The preamble sequence is carried on a physical random access channel (physical random access channel, PRACH).”: [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by Han. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve preamble received power and improve a coverage capability. (Han; [0099]).
Regarding claim 14, ABEDINI in view of COZZO do not teaches,
The UE of claim 11, wherein the detected SSB is mapped to ROs associated with multiple PRACH configurations of the plurality of PRACH configurations, and wherein the selected RO is an RO associated with a PRACH configuration, of the multiple PRACH configurations, with a smallest number of SSBs in the respective subset of SSBs.
Han, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The UE of claim 11, wherein the detected SSB is mapped to ROs associated with multiple PRACH configurations of the plurality of PRACH configurations, and wherein the selected RO is an RO associated with a PRACH configuration, of the multiple PRACH configurations, with a smallest number of SSBs in the respective subset of SSBs (see fig. 7: Mapping relationship with SSBs and RO : “ As shown in FIG. 4, the subframe includes two PRACH slots. Each PRACH slot includes six small blocks, and each small block is one RO (one RO includes two OFDM symbols, one slot includes 14 OFDM symbols, and remaining symbols are not shown in FIG. 4). In other words, one PRACH slot includes six ROs.”: [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ABEDINI in view of COZZO to include the above recited limitations as taught by Han. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve preamble received power and improve a coverage capability. (Han; [0099]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411