Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of a resistance welding system with an energy storage assembly in the reply filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of using a resistance welding system, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 16, 2026.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. See MPEP 608.01.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “The variable voltage control permits greater operability of the electrical resistance welding system by creating a specific weld voltage dependent on parameter, such as a dimension, of the work piece that is to be welded” is a purported merit. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 cites a “second group” and depends on claim 11. The “second group” is introduced in claim 12. Therefore, “second group” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. The examiner will interpret claim 13 as depending on claim 12 instead of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim limitation wherein the voltage range is from 0 volts (V) to about 12 V is indefinite since it is unclear whether 12.5 V would be included in the range. The examiner will interpret claim 6 as “The welding system of Claim 1, further comprising: a user-selected voltage range of the energy storage assembly, wherein the voltage range is from 0 volts (V) to 12 V, wherein the at least one supercapacitor is selectively charged to any voltage within the voltage range.”
Claim 6 is also indefinite since it is unclear whether the voltage range is user-selected or from 0 V to 12 V. Further, it is unknown whether the energy storage apparatus is charged to said voltage or the at least one supercapacitor. If the at least one supercapacitor is two (or more) supercapacitors arranged in series, the voltage across the energy storage assembly and across each individual supercapacitor will be different (Figure 6). The examiner will interpret claim 6 as “The welding system of Claim 1, wherein the energy storage assembly is configured to be charged to a set voltage between 0 and 12 volts”.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “current supplied by the DC power supply, the current having a plurality of selectable voltages, wherein the voltages of the current are selectively chosen based on a parameter of a work piece to be welded by the electrical resistance welding assembly” is unclear because the term “selectively chosen” creates an active method step in the apparatus claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will read claim 7 as “The welding system of Claim 1, wherein the DC power supply is configured to have selectable voltages.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frost et al. (DE 102017125869 A1), hereinafter "Frost".
Regarding claim 1, Frost teaches “an electric pulse generator, in particular for use in a resistance welding system or in a forming device, which is powered by an electricity source and delivers electrical energy via a switching element when required” (Paragraph 10). Figure 1 shows Frost’s circuit diagram.
Figure 1
Further, Frost teaches a direct current power supply: “The electric pulse generator, which can be manufactured cost-effectively, reliably and robustly from mostly power electrical components in a small quantity of a few designs compared to conventional capacitor discharge and magnetizing devices, can be powered with minimal feedback via a naturally commutating rectifier from a 1- or 3-phase AC voltage source or from a DC voltage source with a standardized low voltage up to and including the RMS value of 1000V” (paragraph 14).
Frost also teaches an energy storage assembly comprising at least one supercapacitor: “Electricity is stored in at least one metal-ion cell, designed as a (lithium) ion battery or a (lithium) double-layer capacitor, with a cell voltage of up to 4.2V at a DC voltage in the low-voltage range of up to 120V, which is not dangerous to humans. Electrical energy is released at an approximately constant voltage by partially discharging the at least one metal-ion cell, whereby the voltage decreases within the cell's permissible operating voltage” (paragraph 17). Double-layer capacitors are a kind of supercapacitor (“The term “supercapacitor”, sometimes also referred to as “ultracapacitor”, used here in connection with the present invention, is to be understood as a general generic term for a new group of capacitors, in particular for electrostatic double-layer capacitors, electrochemical pseudocapacitors and electrostatic or electrochemical hybrid capacitors. In addition, double-layer capacitors with the English name "electrochemical double layer capacitor", or EDLC for short, are also included.
Such “supercapacitors” are characterized by the highest energy density and highest capacitance values per unit volume of all known capacitors” (Roedder DE102011056817A1 paragraph 14).
Frost also teaches a switch, as shown in Figure 1. Frost describes the switching element: “An object referred to here as an "electric pulse generator" is a device that absorbs electricity with minimal feedback, stores it with minimal loss, and delivers it to an electrical load as needed via at least one output channel, preferably switchable by means of a chain of components consisting of the power semiconductor components thyristor or transistor” (paragraph 12). Frost teaches a switch that controls the current from the energy storage device between an off-state and an on-state.
Frost also teaches an electrical resistance welding assembly: “an electric pulse generator, in particular for use in a resistance welding system or in a forming device, which is powered by an electricity source and delivers electrical energy via a switching element when required” (Paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 1 shows “the DC power supply is operatively located upstream from the energy storage assembly, the switch, and the electrical resistance welding assembly”.
Regarding claim 3, Figure 1 shows “the energy storage assembly is operatively located downstream from the DC power supply, and the energy storage assembly is operatively located upstream from the switch and the electrical resistance welding assembly”.
Regarding claim 4, Figure 1 shows “the switch is operatively located downstream from the energy storage device as it receives electrical current from the energy storage device, and the switch is operatively located upstream from the electrical resistance welding assembly”.
Regarding claim 5, Figure 1 shows “the electrical resistance welding assembly is located operatively downstream from the switch inasmuch as it receives current from the switch in order to perform an electrical resistance weld on a metal component that is to be joined or welded together”.
Regarding claim 8, Frost teaches “An object referred to here as an "electric pulse generator" is a device that absorbs electricity with minimal feedback, stores it with minimal loss, and delivers it to an electrical load as needed via at least one output channel, preferably switchable by means of a chain of components consisting of the power semiconductor components thyristor or transistor” (paragraph 12). This teaches “the switch comprises at least one semiconductor” since a transistor is a kind of semiconductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost in view of Nagamine et al. (US 2022/0055144), hereinafter "Nagamine", and Roedder (DE102011056817).
Frost teaches “Electricity is stored in at least one metal-ion cell, designed as a (lithium) ion battery or a (lithium) double-layer capacitor, with a cell voltage of up to 4.2V” (paragraph 17). However, Frost does not teach the voltage being selectable between 0-12 V.
Nagamine teaches a resistance welding apparatus with double-layer capacitors and a voltage monitor circuit (7): “The welding machine 1 individually monitors, on every occasion of resistance welding, the voltages of the respective energy storage parts C by the individual voltage monitor circuit 7, and charges and discharges the respective energy storage parts C in a divided manner through individual charging by the individual charge circuit 5 and individual discharging by the individual discharge circuit 6. This makes it easy to match the voltage to the set voltage, so that the set voltage has a smaller error. In addition, this also improves efficiency and makes it possible to shorten the time required for charging and discharging” (paragraph 36). Nagamine also teaches “The individual charge circuit 5 can set the voltages of the respective energy storage parts C in a variable manner in a range from e.g. 0 to 2.5 V” (paragraph 33).
It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the capacitance welder of Frost to include the voltage monitoring and control of Nagamine to shorten the time required for charging and discharging.
However, the device of Frost with the modification of Nagamine only provides control between 0 to 2.5 V instead of 0-12 V. Further, Roedder teaches “In connection with these measures according to the invention, it is particularly advantageous if a storage cascade with several interconnected supercapacitors is used as the capacitor storage device, wherein this storage cascade has a total capacity in the range of 1 to 1,000 Farads with a charging voltage of only a maximum of 120 V” (paragraph 13). Further, the applicant does not show criticality for the range 0-12V “In one embodiment, the voltage may be any voltage between 0 and 9 volts. In another embodiment, the voltage may be any voltage between 0 and 12 volts” (paragraph 92). Based on the teachings of Nagamine and Roedder, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try making the energy storage assembly charge to any required and selectable voltages, including values of 0-12 V. The applicant has provided no criticality to the specific voltages claimed and both Nagamine and Roedder are evidence that there is a reasonable expectation of success and yield to the predictable result of a resistance welding apparatus functioning as intended.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost in view of Roedder (DE 102011056817 A1) and as evidenced by Electronics Tutorials (NPL, 2022).
Regarding claim 7, Frost teaches “from a 1- or 3-phase AC voltage source or from a DC voltage source with a standardized low voltage up to and including the RMS value of 1000V” (paragraph 14). However, Frost does not teach the power supply being configured to allow voltage control.
Roedder teaches a resistance welding apparatus with supercapacitors and teaches “For charging the capacitor storage 6, the charging circuit 10 is advantageously formed by a controllable charging power supply 32, which is preferably a switched-mode power supply with a transformer for potential isolation, which is also individually controlled or regulated by the control unit 14” (paragraph 32).
Electronics Tutorials teaches “a switch mode power supply can provide step-down, step-up and negation of the input voltage using one or more of the three basic switch mode circuit topologies: Buck, Boost and Buck-Boost.” Electronics tutorials teaches the following equations (Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4) relating a transistor switch within the switched-mode power supply and the output voltage:
Figure 2: Buck Circuit Output Voltage Control
Figure 3: Boost Circuit Output Voltage Control
Figure 4: Buck-Boost Output Voltage Control
Therefore, Roedder teaches selectable voltages as all three kinds of switched-mode power supply offer output voltage control.
Electronics Tutorials teaches “Switch Mode Power Supplies, or SMPS, are becoming common place and have replaced in most cases the traditional linear AC-to-DC power supplies as a way to cut power consumption, reduce heat dissipation, as well as size and weight”.
It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the switched-mode power supply of Roedder in the welding apparatus of Frost to reduce power consumption.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost in view of Duncan (NPL, 1996).
Frost teaches a switch comprising a transistor. However, Frost does not teach the transistor being a MOSFET.
Duncan teaches about electronics for audio and teaches that MOSFETs are transistors that can handle high power.
It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the welding device of Frost to use a MOSFET instead of a generic transistor to ensure it can handle high power as would be found in a welding apparatus.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost in view of Roedder as evidenced by Izadian (NPL, 2023).
Regarding claims 10-13, Frost teaches an energy storage assembly containing a supercapacitor. However, Frost does not teach an energy storage assembly containing a plurality of supercapacitors nor does Frost teach a first group of at least two supercapacitors arranged electrically in series with each other. Frost does not teach a first group which includes at least three supercapacitors arranged electrically in series with each other. Frost does not teach a second group of supercapacitors containing at least two supercapacitors arranged electrically in series with each other and in parallel with the first group.
Roedder teaches a resistance welding assembly containing a plurality of supercapacitors. A diagram of Roedder’s energy storage assembly is shown in Figure 5. Roedder describes the plurality of supercapacitors: “the capacitor storage 6 consists of a storage cascade 22 with several supercapacitors 24 connected in series and/or parallel” (paragraph 29).
Figure 5
As shown in Figure 5, Roedder teaches a first group containing at least two supercapacitors arranged electrically in series with each other. Roedder also teaches the first group containing at least three supercapacitors arranged electrically in series with each other. Roedder also teaches a second group of at least two supercapacitors arranged electrically in series with each other. Roedder also teaches the first group being arranged electrically in parallel to the second group.
Izadian teaches that the voltages of capacitors in series add (Figure 6).
Figure 6
Izadian also teaches that the capacitance of capacitors in parallel add (Figure 7).
Figure 7
It would thus have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage device of Frost to include the multiple capacitors of Roedder as described above for the increased voltage and capacitance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Spengler (DE 102016119903) teaches a plurality of capacitors within a resistance welding apparatus. Astle (US 2015/0306698) teaches a double-layer capacitor within a welding apparatus. Baum (DE 102012019393) teaches a resistance welding device. Laser et al. (US 6303894 B1) teaches a resistance welding apparatus. Koyakata (JP 2001096375) teaches a resistance welding apparatus.
/M.H.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761