Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner notes that all 112 rejections are overcome due to claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caulfield et al (US 2017/0183377 A1) and Crombie (US 2004/0220432 1).
Caulfield teaches a method of producing carotenoids (abstract) from a biomass.
The biomass is distiller’s grains, see p 17.
The process includes adding, monitoring, and adjusting the heat, pressure and time for extraction. See p 16. This is done to optimize whatever is wished from the extraction process, see p 28-29. The amount of feedstock used increase the amount of product yield.
The solvents used include water and other solvents such as alcohols, see p 14,20. The product is subject to further refinement such as separation, fractionalization, and centrifugal force. See p 34-38.
Caulfield does not specifically state that the water is supercritical, that is being liquid at a temperature above its atmospheric boiling point.
Crombie teaches a method of extraction of carotenoids using supercritical fluids. See abstract. The fluid includes water, see p 33-34 and example p 57. The carotenoids include zeaxanthin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the supercritical method as found in Crombie in the invention of Caulfield. Caulfield already calls for varying temperature and increased pressure. This has the advantage of being effective for getting carotenoids from plant material, especially zeaxanthin.
In the alternative Crombie is evidence that an obvious variant of the method of increased temperature and pressure to get carotenoids as taught in Caulfield is supercritical water. Caulfield already teaches water as the solvent, and use of increased temperature and pressure.
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Caulfield et al (US 2017/0183377 A1) and Crombie (US 2004/0220432 1) and Englert et al (US 2016/0083766 A1).
To see what Caulfield teaches please see above. Caulfield does not specifically state what carotenoids are present in the distiller grain.
Englert teaches a method of producing Carotenoids from distiller’s grain and/or corn. See abstract and p 25. This includes lutein or zeaxanthin. See abstract and P.7.
Englert is used here to show that an obvious variant of the carotenoids production found in the process of Caulfield when using corn or distillers grain is one with lutein and/or zeaxanthin. The carotenoids are present in such feedstocks and the purpose of both inventions is to obtain carotenoids.
In the alternative it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use to process of Caulfield to produce the carotenoids lutein and/or zeaxanthin as found in Englert. The purpose of the process of Caulfield is to produce said carotenoids, and these carotenoids are found in the used feedstock.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCIS C CAMPANELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771