DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madara et al. (10,550,971) in view of Hunter (4,297,868). Madara discloses a method of forming a metal tube (24; Fig. 4) having a central axis (60; Fig. 3B), an outer surface (64) and an inner surface (opposite side of 64 across tube thickness 58; Fig. 4) comprising producing a peripheral groove (54; Fig. 4) having a base (80; col. 6, lines 63-64) with a smooth backside surface which is shown as a flat surface in the tube interior (62; Fig. 4) that is opposite the base (80; Fig. 4). Madara discloses forming opposed sidewalls (74,76) spaced from one another across a width (col. 6, lines 57-58) of the groove (54) with a singular structuring (sloped surface 78; col. 6, lines 59-63) about the central axis exclusively on the base (80) of the peripheral groove (54) on the outer surface (64) of the metal tube. Dole does not disclose coating the metal tube. Hunter teaches that a groove (33) is formed in a metal tube (25) prior to coating the tube (col. 5, lines 58-64). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to coat the inner surface of the tube of Madara as taught by Hunter so as to protect the interior of the tube as liquid flows through it.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madara (7,296,451) in view of Hunter (4,297,868) and further in view of Nakane (6,505,493). Madara does not specifically recite that the smooth backside and the opposed sidewalls both extend into the interior of the tube. Nakane teaches (Fig. 3) that a groove (3a) formed on an outer surface of a tube (4) has opposed sidewalls (9,11) and a base (10) between the sidewalls (9,11; col. 3, lines 45-47). Nakane teaches that the opposing sidewalls (7) extend into an interior (8; col. 4, lines 6-13) of the tube (4). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to extend the opposed sidewalls of the peripheral groove of Madara into the interior surface of the tube as taught by Nakane so as to form a deep groove with opposed walls that extend into the interior of the tube.
Regarding claim 18, Hunter teaches that the inner surface of the metal tube (25) is coated (col. 5, line 62).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6-16-2026 have been fully considered. The reference to Madara has been used to respond to Applicant’s amendment requiring that a singular structuring is formed about the central axis exclusively on the base of the peripheral groove.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dole (7,296,451) teaches a method of forming a metal tube (14; Fig. 6) having a central axis (48), an inner surface (74) and an outer surface (70) comprising producing a peripheral groove (114; Fig. 10) having a base (140) with a smooth backside surface (inward bulge; Fig. 10) and opposed sidewalls (116) across a width (138) of the groove (114) with a singular structuring (single curve, col. 9, lines 17-18; Fig. 10) about the central axis exclusively on the base (140) of the peripheral groove (114) on the outer surface (70) of the metal tube.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725