DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR CONNECTING MULTIPLE WIRES TO A MATING CONNECTOR AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING THE ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR--.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “ferrule” used throughout the disclosure is used to refer to a housing formed of insulation and not iron or other metal, as the term ferrule is generally understood to mean.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: The term “ferrule” used throughout the claims is used to refer to a housing formed of insulation and not iron or other metal, as the term ferrule is generally understood to mean. The term –housing—is suggested as a more descriptive term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Endo et al. (2024/0186741).
With regard to claim 1, Endo teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “An electrical connector 200 comprising: a ferrule 220 including a ferrule main body including a front end (roughly right end of 220 in figure 3) and a rear end (roughly left end of 220 in figure 3) located opposite to the front end in a first direction Z and a plurality of insertion holes (where cables 300 are inserted into 220 in figure 3) that extend in the first direction Z within the ferrule main body and that respectively open at the front end; and a plurality of electric wires 300 each held in the plurality of insertion holes, wherein each of tip ends (where 310 connect to 21 in figure 14) of the plurality of electric wires 300 is exposed from each of the plurality of insertion holes at the front end”.
With regard to claim 2, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14 and taught in paragraph 4: “wherein the ferrule main body 220 is made of an insulating material (paragraph 4 teaches that ferrule covering the cable being insulating)”.
With regard to claim 3, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “wherein the plurality of insertion holes are formed in the ferrule main body 220 to be arranged side-by-side in a second direction X intersecting the first direction Z”.
With regard to claim 4, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “wherein the plurality of insertion holes includes a first plurality (bottom insertion holes in figure 3) of insertion holes formed side-by-side in a second direction X intersecting the first direction Z, and a second plurality (top insertion holes in figure 3) of insertion holes formed side-by-side in the second direction X and at different positions from those of the first plurality of insertion holes in a third direction Y intersecting the first direction Z and the second direction X”.
With regard to claim 7, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “wherein each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires 300 is located inside each of the plurality of insertion holes at the front end”.
With regard to claim 9, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 7”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “wherein each of the plurality of insertion holes includes, at the front end, a flared portion (shown below) that widens from an inside of each of the plurality of insertion holes toward a front end surface (right end surface of 220 in figure 14) in which the plurality of insertion holes are open”.
With regard to claim 10, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “wherein each of the plurality of electric wires 300 includes a tip end portion (right end of 300 in figure 14) held in each of at least the plurality of insertion holes, and the tip end portion has a uniform outer diameter in the first direction Z”.
With regard to claim 11, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “wherein the plurality of insertion holes have a circular or elliptical shape in a cross section intersecting the first direction Z”.
With regard to claim 13, Endo teaches: “the electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “A connection structure comprising: a board 100; and… wherein the electrical connector 200 is configured to be mounted on the board 100 so that the first direction intersects Z a surface direction Y of the board 100”.
With regard to claim 14, Endo teaches: “The connection structure according to claim 13”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “further comprising a plurality of connection terminals 120 provided on a front surface of the board 100 and corresponding to the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires 300, respectively, wherein the plurality of electric wires 300 are configured so that each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires 300 is electrically connected to each of the plurality of connection terminals 120”.
With regard to claim 15, Endo teaches: “The connection structure according to claim 13”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “further comprising a plurality of connection terminals 120 provided on a front surface of the board 100 and electrically connected to corresponding electric wires 300 among the plurality of electric wires 300, respectively, wherein each of the tip ends of the plurality of connection terminals 120 is located inside a corresponding insertion hole among the plurality of insertion holes (terminals are located within the insertion holes when viewed in the Z direction)”.
With regard to claim 16, Endo teaches: “The connection structure according to claim 14”, as shown above.
Endo also teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “further comprising a frame 41 that surrounds the plurality of connection terminals 120 in the surface direction Y of the board 100, wherein the frame 41 is fitted to the ferrule main body 220 when the electrical connector 200 is mounted on the board 100”.
With regard to claim 17, Endo teaches, as shown in figures 3 and 14: “A method for manufacturing an electrical connector 200, comprising: preparing a ferrule 220 including a ferrule main body including a front end (roughly right end of 220 in figure 3) and a rear end (roughly left end of 220 in figure 3) located opposite to the front end in a first direction Z, and a plurality of insertion holes (where cables 300 are inserted into 220 in figure 3) that extend in a first direction Z within the ferrule main body 220 and that respectively open at the front end; preparing a plurality of electric wires 300; and inserting each of the plurality of electric wires 300 into each of the plurality of insertion holes, wherein each of tip ends of the plurality of electric wires 300 is exposed from each of the plurality of insertion holes at the front end”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. (2024/0186741) in view of Mo et al. (2023/0088210).
With regard to claim 5, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 4”, as shown above.
Endo does not teach: “further comprising a plurality of optical fibers, wherein each of the plurality of electric wires is held in each of the first plurality of insertion holes, and each of the plurality of optical fibers is held in each of the second plurality of insertion holes”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Mo teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “further comprising a plurality of optical fibers 233, wherein each of the plurality of electric wires 221 is held in each of the first plurality of insertion holes (where 221 are held by 22 in figure 5), and each of the plurality of optical fibers 233 is held in each of the second plurality of insertion holes (where 233 are held by 23 in figure 6)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Mo with the invention of Endo in order to connect electrical and optical cables to electrical and optical components (Mo, paragraphs 9-10).
Claims 6, 12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. (2024/0186741) in view of Wu (2006/0079119).
With regard to claim 6, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo does not teach: “wherein each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires is flush with a front end surface in which the plurality of insertion holes are open at the front end, or protrudes outward from the front end surface”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Wu teaches, as shown in figure 4-5: “wherein each of the tip ends 321 of the plurality of electric wires 32 is flush with a front end surface in which the plurality of insertion holes are open at the front end (right end of 16 in figure 5), or protrudes outward from the front end surface (right end surface of 16 in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wu with the invention of Endo in order to connect the tip ends to terminals (Wu, paragraph 33).
With regard to claim 12, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Endo does not teach: “wherein the plurality of electric wires are integrated at least in a region that extends outward from the rear end”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Wu teaches, as shown in figures 4-5: “wherein the plurality of electric wires 311 are integrated at least in a region 31 that extends outward from the rear end (upper end of 16 in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wu with the invention of Endo in order to connect a standard serial ATA cable (Wu, paragraph 33).
With regard to claim 18, Endo teaches: “The method for manufacturing an electrical connector according to claim 17”, as shown above.
Endo does not teach: “further comprising, cutting or polishing tip end portions of the plurality of electric wires so that each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires is flush with a front end surface in which the plurality of insertion holes are open at the front end, or protrudes a predetermined distance outward from the front end surface, after the plurality of electric wires are inserted into the plurality of insertion holes so that each of the tip ends extends outward from the front end”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Wu teaches, as shown in figure 4-5: “further comprising, cutting or polishing tip end portions 321 of the plurality of electric wires 32 so that each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires is flush with a front end surface in which the plurality of insertion holes are open at the front end, or protrudes a predetermined distance outward from the front end surface (right end surface of 16 in figure 5), after the plurality of electric wires 32 are inserted into the plurality of insertion holes (where 32 extend through 16 in figure 5) so that each of the tip ends extends outward from the front end (right end of 16 in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wu with the invention of Endo in order to connect the tip ends to terminals (Wu, paragraph 33).
With regard to claim 19, Endo teaches: “The method for manufacturing an electrical connector according to claim 17”, as shown above.
Endo does not teach: “further comprising, polishing tip end portions of the plurality of electric wires so that each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires is located inside each of the plurality of insertion holes at the front end, after the plurality of electric wires are inserted into the plurality of insertion holes so that each of the tip ends extends outward from the front end”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Wu teaches, as shown in figure 4-5: “further comprising, polishing tip end portions 321 of the plurality of electric wires 32 so that each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires 32 is located inside each of the plurality of insertion holes (where 32 extend through 16 in figure 5) at the front end (right end of 16 in figure 5), after the plurality of electric wires 32 are inserted into the plurality of insertion holes so that each of the tip ends 321 extends outward from the front end”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Wu with the invention of Endo in order to connect the tip ends to terminals (Wu, paragraph 33).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. (2024/0186741).
With regard to claim 8, Endo teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 7”, as shown above.
Endo does not teach: “wherein a distance between each of the tip ends of the plurality of electric wires and a front end surface in which the plurality of insertion holes are open at the front end is 30 μm or more and 600 μm or less”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reposition the tip ends of the electric wires so a distance between the tip ends and the front end surface is 30 μm or more and 600 μm or less in order to hold the tip ends more securely in the insertion hole. Also, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831